(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Porridge preparation
1).What to put in the porridge?
2).Do you put salt in the porridge?
3).what kind of vegetables can we put in porridge?
4).Do you put dry scallop? Ikan bilis?

apple
ya.... the texture is not same as the rabbit brand brown rice kind.. haha.. i like thick thick texture... haha... ok will try again next time

esther...
u are not the only kiasi mummy.... i also gif vernon colostrum plus multi-vits... i m quite scare when he kana running nose or coughing.. haha

esther/ qingling/bx
i am 3months plus plus now coming 4months already. going to enter 2nd trimester liao. byebye to 1st trimester. heehee.

bx
so the pt cleaner comes in to do what? wipes windows, mop floor, wash toilets etc? do they do your laundry ?

esther
i also used washing machine to wash clothes. every 2days washed once. bb clothes will wash when she go back my mom's place on weekdays so in time for weekends when she is back.

porridge
have to ask hb to help look after my girl on weekends when i am cooking the porridge for her. cuz need constant stirring in order the porridge will not nuah as a lump. i nvr use slow cooker or what, using gas to cook.

milk intake
cheryl is taking 210ml of milk every 4 hourly. one day drink abt 4 times like that. and with in between porridge for evening, cereal for lunch.

esther
the nestle porridge not nice lei i tink. got once i not in time to cook manually so used that cuz i bought for back up. it smells super super nice but taste quite awful. i tink home cooked one is the best. heehee.

ronroo
so far i use pork to cook the stock.... can use chicken also
no salt... i think can put spinach or carrot and alot more..
i put dry scallop also....

crystal: wow your girl eat well and drink well according to standards.

Cherly: rabbit one even thicker?? I tot this one already thick and is happy that its not watery. So sua Ku

Esther : no need to cook. Just add water or milk only. There is a BP now i think for this.

cheryl,

same! i super scare she kena sick. super discomfort 4 her. and hard time 4 me aso. keke

crystal,

oh no nice ha.. keke. ya mummy's homemade porridge still the best!

apple,

dun need cook ah. gd leh. so can bring out, dun hv 2 prepare porridge. like yest, i hv 2 go out early morning, i woke up 5plus 2 prepare porridge!
cant get it in SG? which BP link? can link 2 me?

ronroo,
u can cook stock separately. like cheryl say, u can use pork or chicken. i personally put in veg like carrot, corn, cabbage, wolfberries and onions. i throw in a few ikan bilis at times. i cook one week supply and freeze it. everyday will use a cup to cook the porridge.

cheryl,
what ingredients u put in ur pork stock? u oso cook porridge twice a day for vernon?

bx
i dun alway cook porridge for him, most of the time he eat brown rice, at infant care, they gif him other kind of food like mee sua...

crystal,
the pt helper does these:
weekly
vacuum and mop the floor, wash toilets, i think wipe some furniture, wash the bathroom mats.
fornightly
wipe windows, wash fans, wipe the glass/mirrors ard the hse.

i didn't ask her to do the laundry but i requested her to iron but she said she doesn't do ironing
she offered to change bedsheets for us though.
i actually just got the helper recently, so i guess this is what she does.

Crystal, your girl can take alot...210ml every 4 hourly + 2 porridge in between...that is very good appetite... Does Cherly wakes up at night to drink?

cheryl,
u use the rabbit brand brown rice?

iso,
nope, i throw away the veg. coz very soggy liao. hb always complain it's a waste. but i am worried that if i cook the porridge with plain water, she will reject. i think i will continue with the stock method until she can take some seasoning.

as for the stock, i will store in the avent via cups. 7 cups each time (1 week supply). one cup just nice to cook her one-meal portion.

Gap baby sale@Isetan, 4th Fl, Event Hall
50% off
Additional 10% for 3 pcs and more.
Alot of newborn sizes but managed to buy some toddler clothes for 12-18 mths and 2 yrs.

Avent via cups,
I have excess supply from previous spree cos may be stopping BF soon. Anyone needs? Have 2x 10pack 180ml to let go.

re porridge,
i think my mom really doing it the hard way man. she cooks the porridge fresh 2x a day using fresh ingredients (one meat or fish + 2 or 3 types of vege).

hmm...i must intro to her this frozen stock method. easier for her!!

cheryl,
u buy the instant one or the one must cook? did u buy with ikan bilis and yangshen or plain one? i quite keen to try this.

esther,
ya lor...end up i also "lao lu ming" cos i dunno any other method. my weekend schedule revolves round my porridge making schedule eg. must cook by X time for porridge to be ready by Y time to bring out or be home to feed baby. hai....

cheryl,

vernon likes the rabbit brand? cayenne doesnt like it at all. i bot the one wif ikan, smell nice! but i dun like the taste. in the end, throw away the whole tin.

gar,

haha. hi 5! actually i din prepare stock. all natural flavors frm the meat/veggies. taste yummy aso leh. i at most spend half ah hr preparing the porridge & then i jz throw it into the food jar for later consumption.

esther,
yeah...intake not bad but gotta put extra effort to make him drink ! i.e. during the day we carry him in a sling so he gets drowsy then give him milk, usually a half an hour process. only at night he will lie down willingly and drink his milk (usually can drink quite a lot around 120-180) and the process takes around 1 hour :p Otherwise he will only drink 50-60ml...

bx,
Umm...cooking porridge is my mom's doing now... but i know she usually cook the base porridge at one goal for about 3 days "stock". Then she will cook the porridge "side dish" separately coz we now give meat so it will take longer to cook. This one she will usually cook enough for 1 day coz Cayleb will protest if we give him the same thing over and over again. And just before Cayleb's feed she will heat up the porridge using the side dish's stock to make the porridge more fine and flavourful. Then mixed with the pureed side dish... Been doing this for the past 2 weeks and Cayleb is really taking it well as we now start putting challots, garlic, spring onion and celery inside his porridge (atm we stop giving him vegie + fruits so he's purely on plain porridge with meat/egg)

gar, esther,
cooking porridge can be so time-consuming. somemore i use slow-cooker. each time needs abt 3 hrs. if i cook twice, my slow cooker will be perpetually working all day long. i resort to cooking only once. that's y now trying to find a good cereal for her other meal.

re: fruits
any idea i can feed bb fresh fruits like apples and pears wihout steaming it now?

garfield
my mum does it that way too. fresh instead of using frozen stock. i suggested to my mom previously but she still prefer using fresh stock.

ronroo
her last night feed is at 9.30pm. would wake up for milk only at 6.30am. so considered sleep through i guess.

bx
nowadays i give apple directly but very minimal serving to her. so far so good. i very long nvr steam fruits liao. now usually her snacks would be yogurt.

BX
I feed Hayden banana without steaming it. In fact we should not heat banana because of nitrates. For all other fruit i steam it because Hayden does not like cold food. But sometime we scoop a little but of papaya to him while me and my husband eating papaya...As long as he sees the food from our plates...then he get excited and willingly eating it...Ha Ha Ha...Baby....

bx,

i never steam fruits at all. started giving Cayenne apple when she was abt 4mths plus. no pro.

been giving her apples, pear, banana, papaya, plum, nectarines, rose apples

bx,
since start, i didn't steam the fruits for her unless want to serve with dried apricot.
now no need to puree for her somemore. she will bite it with her 4 teeth.
easier for me, but must watch out if it's too big pieces for her to swallow.

bx, i think most babies dun like to stay inside the playyard for v long. must on and off pop in to play with them. i think crystal has given the updated price by cheong choon, went up by about $15 in oct.
i was deciding whether to buy in sept, by the time i wanted to buy in oct, price already went up. anyway, i got 2nd hand one.

My MIL also use slow cooker and cook two meals at one go. normally she cook early in the morning and it will be just in time for her lunch. I find slow cooker convenient though it consume electricity and cook very slow.

BX : MY mil ask me to stop steaming pear and apples. She say she will scrap the fruits using those metal scraper......

Ytd she also show us how she feed my baby banana. We were a bit surprised. Amanda just bite directly from the banana and start chewing. So funny.

esther, crystal,
ya i think old folks always prefer fresh to frozen / refrigerated food. they always say "cold" la....*faint* for me, i dun quite understand cos will cook until boiling what, how come still cold leh? =P

bx,
wow your slow cooker is really quite slow. mine takes 1.5hrs on high setting. you use auto setting?

apple,
ur mil cook 2 meals at one go. once the porrige is cooked, one portion can serve for lunch immediately, how about the other portion? where she store to keep warm?

dropping in to say hi
, havent been here for a long time casue I've been SO busy! Esp now is school holidays, so my older DD not in school. In between juggling them both, plus meals for everyone and bringing them out daily (cant stay at home, too boring for them and me, we'll all go mad lol!) plus regular housework, I dont have much time left to keep up with the talk. So fast hor? Our bbs turning 1 in no time!

Do u guys bring bb to those mall shows? Apparently my bb enjoys them! We've been to barney, sesame street, tweenies, mr Men and hello kitty so far (actually it was for my older DD, but turns out my bb loves the shows too, so all the better!). All v professional, surprisingly high standards!

Fruits- I've never thought of steaming it (heat kills the nutrients?), so far I give only fresh.

BX: store either in the slow cooker and reheat during dinner time or store in tiger food jar if I am going out.

Mine also super slow cooker need abt 3 hrs as well...

gar,

haha.. i think "cold" food the old folks refer 2 is the "liang". for example, i hv heard frm some pple say cannot give cold porridge 2 bbs. cos it will create wind in their tummies. of cos the cold here doesnt mean cold porridge from fridge. initially i din knw, so nw hv 2 race wif time 2 make sure the porridge still warm when feeding Cayenne.

re :slow cooker

i so long din use slow cooker liao. very time consuming though convenient. abt 3 hrs. got once i dunno hw 2 gauge Cayenne's feeding time, in the end, porridge cooked for 6hrs! turned watery liao.

James intake:

Wake Up: Latch On
Breakfast:Cereal with Fruit. Sometime he will want milk before his morning nap
Lunch: Porridge with protein and/or vege.
Afternoon: Milk 170ml, with Fruit or Biscuit
Dinner: Porridge with Protein and/or Vege, Fruit as Supper Snack
Before Sleep: Milk 170ml

Porridge preparation
1).What to put in the porridge?
I cook proteins like pork in the porridge, but for tofu/fish/beans/egg yolk I cook separately.

2).Do you put salt in the porridge? No salt for babies!

3).what kind of vegetables can we put in porridge? Brocolli/cauliflower/pumpkin/carrot/spinach/tomatoe/sweet potato/potato/green peas.

4).Do you put dry scallop? Ikan bilis.
Think not so good as they are preserved and salty. Will try using fresh white bait next week.

Crystal,
Yes, consider sleep through the night. Hayden still can not sleep through the night. Not sure is it because the feed before bed is too little for him. He latch on so i am not sure how much he drink. I pump at 5pm at work before i feed him at 9:30pm. So about 4.5 hrs of milk stored. I do not have much milk. So i would suspect about 120ml. I think this is low hor...

re: food
matt is on milk strike again. for the past week he is only drinking less than 300ml milk per day. totally not interested. he can go hungry for long. even if he take like 70ml of milk @ 1 time, he can still tahan more than 4 hours and wont cry becoz he is hungry. dunno y.

bx:
should be ok to feed fresh fruits liao by now.

re: lumpy food:
i realised when i cook the porridge a bit more lumpy, matt will kinda of like chew the food. if its very nuah he will just swallow. hahah dunno gd or bad coz lumpy food makes the feeding time very long.

tute,

hw come take so long 2 drink the milk leh? interval got stop anot? cayenne if good mood, finishes her 130ml in jz 5mins or so.

re : chewing

i tink we shd prepare the porridge more lumpy so tat our little ones can learn to chew? i bot heinz biscuits, let cayenne hold and she will bite and chew.

re: lumpy food
jass,
I would prefer to intro lumpy/big piece food if possible.
think i read somewhere that it helps the speech development?
also, read for somewhere that the chewing action helps to prevent the teeth becoming too big. my gal now has big big bunny from teeth. don't wish her to have crooked teeth like mummy next time.

but, she still likes smooth and runny cereal. hence, i try to let her bite on fruits, soft cooked barley grains, etc.

esther,
i intro healthy times teether biscuit over the weekend. it's very hard. you just let her hold and bite?
my gal lazy leh, doesn't like to hold her food. doesn't hold milk bottles too...

XY
my MIL also say that bbs who like to eat are likely to speak more/early, but dunno how true.

jass
could he be teething? did u change milk recently? ya i also find that lumpy takes longer, more ma fan for us, haha, but think it's good for them lah.

bx
how u usually steam? i've been boiling all along cos i lazy, heehee..

isobellies jie:
erm.. no idea leh,i changed FM but we have been feeding him a various brands as and when leh. haa~ probably teething... but its something i told myself many times.. but till now no sight of his other teeth??!

xy:
matthew likes thick cereal. in fact for i used nestle cereal, the recommended portion is to use 30ml water per tsp of cereal. but i can use abt 6-8 tbsp w 30ml - 50ml of water. yup i add puree too but the puree is not that runny. as i try not to add much water when preparing puree.

esther,
yeah...interval will stop and we have to play with him or i'll read story book to make him more sleepy then try again... so this process will repeat until he completely doze off or totally refuse... i know it's not a good thing but if i don't do this end up he only drinks very little milk. as my hb puts it, c is simply not interested in his milk... he won't even cry if after 4 hours we don't give him milk...