(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

the only time i use a X teat is when i cut up bb's old teat so tat he can drink the super thick friso comfort for constipation. somemore must cut up till very big.

Y teat is actually suitable for those breastfeeding babies? Cos during BF, only have milk when suck. It is supposed to not drip when u turn the bottle upside down.

Pigeon L teat for 6 mths plus to 7 mths onwards according to the sales lady when i first bought the bottle.

Cherly, maybe u can upgrade to straw? My girl only like to chew the sprout one but change to straw, she love to drink water from there. Anyway the straw is for 8 mths plus onwards i think.

hmm when we first give her the straw, she put her mouth there and give us a blur look.... then we show her the sucking action and make sucking sound in front of her and then she start to suck and happily drinking away....

Hmm maybe different baby diferent but just try ba.

I got a friend who buy all sorts of cups for her son but he is still drinking from bottle and teat even for water even though he is already 1 yrs plus coming 2 yrs old.

Cherly :-Not sure leh, i only use the sprout for a short while only and switch liao cos since she already past 8 mths.... the sprout she don't like. Maybe u use the sprout for a while maybe one to two weeks then swtich over ba? Maybe u be surprised your son will skip the sprout and start sucking from straw.

apple/cheryl

ur magmag is orange one or other color? wat the difference between the 3 difference colors? i saw orange, blue and green?

U have the mug? If so just change the top will do.

My mug cannot close properly liao cos this Amanda like to throw and throw until it spoil....

apple, are u asking me?

if yes, i do hv one but at bb sitter's place.
she told me cayenne dun like straw. but i intend 2 get another one 2 train her.

tat y tues i wen 2 shop ard, saw different colors, wonder wat is the diff so din buy.

Esther: yah I am asking u

Dear mummies :- I have a problem cos my girl drinks two times a day (180ml) per day. At night if she din sleep or wake up, she will take one more feed, otherwise she will sleep through.....If i try to feed her in her "semi-coonscious state", she will make a big fuss and refused to drink. If i try to feed her earlier before she sleep(she eat every 4 hourly), she will fuss and drink a little only....... and the nurse was saying i have to give her more milk for her growth (calcium) although her weight is good...

apple,

i tink u shdn't worry so much on her milk intake. i tend 2 worry till Cayenne's PD told me it's alright 2 drop milk intake. it make senses rite when u replace 1 milk feed wif 1 solid. so definitely milk intake will decrease. i knw some weaning books say bbs must hv tis much of milk etc. but am sure as long as our bbs r active and cheerful, shdnt be a ting 2 worry abt.

Amanda not bad liao. drink 180ml! Cayenne oni 120ml. at most 140ml if gd mood.

if u worry, u can get supplements. i got them for Cayenne. (colostrum and multi-vitamins oil) keke...

PD say give her nutrients from food sources...

haha.. i can understand. i aso worry initially. but nw i c Cayenne can eat, sleep well. tis is more than wat i wish 4. as 4 milk intake, i give up alreadi... she wan, she drinks, if not, i wont force her liao.. Cayenne got a fiery temper man! jz like her name! Spicy! haha...

cheryl,
hahah think just the 2 of us leh. coz we stay nearer to cck ba. shall we go early early? dunno wat time they open hor

just manage to type sth today. been a silent reader for past few days coz i was on course and once reach home, well you all would know

cayleb still having loose stools, think confirm diarrhoea when this morning he had 2 watery stool again. so brought him to see pd and was given medicine to kill bacteria plus pd asked me to change to soy milk for a while... at least until he's better but breast milk is ok. if he doesn't want soy milk, then can give normal formula but dilute to 50% of usual consistency.

Hmm...think Cayleb lost weight due to this, as I've been giving him slightly diluted formula plus he's been super fussy during lunch/dinner so his weight when we measure morning is only around 8kg, while his length sis 72.5cm

anyway....

gar,
i transferred to you just now for amazon spree. thanks !

re: playdate,
is there anyone whose coming who can lend a bumper mat for the playdate next sat? i only have 1 and it's the smaller one so definitely won't be able to fit so much babies inside :p

also, extra toys are more than welcome...coz i've got some but not sure sufficient or not... :p

re:jumperoo,
hmmm...i rented for a month, that was the period when c was learning to crawl and c hates it after he manage to crawl here and there. I think bcoz when i put him in jumperoo then he can't move around and he likes to be mobile...

Hi mummies, long time no post!
Anyone mix cereal into formula milk to feed their baby from the BOTTLE? My mum has been encouraging me to do so, so that my girl will not get hungry easily. I know its not recommended by PDs but the old folks have been doing this.

Andrea

My caregiver did that to Davier, she added cereal to EBM in a bottle, cut the teats bigger and feed Davier. She said it's easier as initially Davier refused to eat solid. But during weekends, I'll continue spoon-feed him as I wanna him to learn to eat from spoon.

I think my caregiver also stopped now cos Davier refer spoon feed now.

tute
the playdate at yr house is 6 dec or 7 dec? if 6 dec then i cannot make it.

garfield
if the playdate is on 6 dec then i not going for playdate. Will try to collect the stuff from u at bugis mrt. :)

My bb has almost recovered from his hfmd, left a few rashes on his hands and feet. He's taking his normal intake of milk and porridge since Friday, so that's a relief for me. PD gave Dentinox teething gel for his mouth/tongue ulcers so as to numb the pain, seems pretty effective.

A side note, when bb is sick, we need to sterilize his toys daily and change the bedsheets more frequently, in case the virus comes back again. I tried to "sun" his toys too.

Mummies, enjoy your weekends with your babies

Joeey, that's a relief. Great that your baby has recovered.

Tute, Caleb is tall.
RaeAnne is only 65cm according to PD although when we measured ourselves, she's about 69cm. Don't know why such a big discrepancy. :p

Amazon Spree #5 - Payment update

Payment received with thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>To Pay (Item cost)</TD><TD>Remarks</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apple79</TD><TD>32.50</TD><TD>Less cheapest book costing US$5.99</TD><TD>PAID </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leila</TD><TD>23.14</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tute</TD><TD>26.24</TD><TD>Less cheapest book costing US$3.99</TD><TD>PAID </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esther</TD><TD>56.79</TD><TD></TD><TD>PAID </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happymum2b</TD><TD>139.47</TD><TD></TD><TD>PAID </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Gar, received the shoos shoos today. Thanks.

The pix looks nicer than the shoes though, I find it a tad hard compared to the other shoos shoos I saw at Mothercare. Wish I had splurged on the other regular price design I liked instead of being so cheapskate, hee. :p

hi pp... so upset that a singaporean had died in the mumbai attacks..Just found out that she was my school mate in jc.. differnt faculty but same batch.

sigh.. y is the world so complicated??? y must the terrorists be like that and using some religion as an excuse.. hate it...

hwei yen.. RIP..

hi all....am now in hongkong airport lounge - missed my flight cuz late for boarding (long story). damn fed up. had to make a lot of calls to get a new flight - plus spend a LOT of money to get new tickets since our initial tickets are only valid for that flight. It's like close to impossible to get any useful help from the airport counters here.

miss my baby so much.

i kind of enjoy my holiday but i don't think i will ever take another holiday without baby. it's hard to relax if baby is around i guess, but without baby, i also miss her a lot and keep thinking of her and how much i'm missing out on her life and worried if she will miss me.

Mumbai terrorists: i was quite shocked cuz so many days here no internet, no newspaper. Log into my blog just now and saw 2 of my friends separately posting about their friend being a victim of the attacks. Was so shocked. Very sad cuz she looks like she had quite a life going for her and just married only somemore. Sigh.

can't wait to get back to SGP tomorrow afternoon. sigh. pure stupidity caused us a lot of money and precious time.

esther,
thanks...hoping he can get better soon and start drinking normally.

kitsune,
me too ! when i measure at home, cayleb was 74cm but turns out only 72.5 at the clinic :p

abcmummy,
the playdate is on 6th dec...initially 8th but my hb need to go back to work on the 8th so push it earlier to the 6th.

apple
my PD said that bbs should be drinking about 600mls a day, if not should try to supplement with cheese or yoghurt.. my bb also some days hardly drinking 600, so i try to put it in his cereal. wonder if i should try a different type of forumla to see if he's more receptive. hmm

the pigeon mag mag straw top, can just buy the straw top only without the whole entire mag mag cup? so far i haven't seen in NTUC/Carrefour, yet to check out the dept stores..

Joeey:- Good to hear that your baby has recovered! It must have been a tiring period for you.

Isobellies :- yah i heard that they should be drinking this amt.I think as long as she is able to drink 3 feeds now I am more than happy.

Yes u can buy the tops only to change.. I just bought a replacement straw top from NTUC over the weekend

jeannie
tho i do not know hwei yen, felt so sad when i read the news.
btw, ur posting to facebook is published in today's paper?

iso,
saw the straw top only for mag mag cup. think about $5-8.
john little, kiddy palace has.

lezy,
aiyoh..
hope you are here now and have a good rest... long weekend is coming.

tute,
can post details for this Sat's playdate?
what time?
PM you my contact liao.

xy/dor,
here's the details...

playdate cum mini xmas celeb @ seng kang (tute's home)

- date/time : 6 dec/1pm-5pm
- food : potluck
I'll be ordering curry in a bread from golden pillow plus preparing indonesian salad + drinks.
- gift xchange : $15 budget for the little ones
- bumper mat : does anyone have a bumper mat to spare ? i only have one, but usually cayleb just crawl around the house...so if you don't mind that then we can do without an extra one :p
- toys : i think i've got quite a few toys but if you'd like to bring some then more than welcome

- address : i'll msg you my address by today

1)jass
2)vine_gal
3) dor
4) nicole
5) cheryl
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9
8) Artemis
9) xiaoyun
10) apple79
11) eliaw

may i know other than bx, who needs to stop by my place to pick up stuff ? i can sms you my address..

RE : Long sleeved bib

In anticipation of the mess that Danica will make through self feeding (she already manages to do it very well even when we spoon feed her :p) I am thinking of getting long sleeved bibs. Anyone wants to join me? Babycenter is having a very good deal on Silly Billyz ones. (http://store.babycenter.com/product/bottle+-+solid+feeding/bottles+-+nipples/long+sleeved+bib+-+closeout.do) I will be closing this TODAY.

RE: drugstore.com spree

Anyone else got orders I hope to order by TODAY too.

Hi there!
My baby is born in Feb too! Would like to join this forum!

our bbs' birthdays are coming soon! in about 2 months or so.. Anyone got any great plans to share? :p

Sorry to barge. But need to check if anyone is organising any Bargain Balloon spree? Can let me know if any? Urgently need to get some balloons for my niece's birthday in end Dec. TIA.

qingling,
i am here...

ok. let me say something...

re: vivocity giant free delivery service
please take note, it's now no longer $100 for free delivery entitlement. changed to $200.
we purposely went there to get something and it's now changed to $200. had a hard time to get extra $100 worth of items.. hai...

ya extremely quiet today.

Like to check with u girls, how does happybellies cereals compare to healthytimes?
I think Nestle has cereals that are textured and in stages but not the other brand of cereals right?

apple,
so far, i tried Heinz, Healthy Times and Happybellies.
happybellies cereal is more fragrant and smooth than other brands. it has higher nutritional value compared to healthy times for the same amount of cereal.
since it's smoother, don't think it has the texture you mentioned at different stages.

price wise, Happybellies is more expensive and due to it's big packaging, the shipping cost is high too.