(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re hb
i wonder if some hbs are more hands off cos we are from the generation where most of our fathers are also q hands off and let the wife do all the work - so subconsciously they see this and think that that's how it's supposed to be?
on top of that i know my hb and his bro are super spoilt cos their mum does everything for them, but after some "training" at least my hb more proactive now. his bro will only watch tv when he's over and expect everyone else to do all the stuff, not just for things for their 2 yr old.

Gar - yes, but i will be using the concierge service.

qingling,

wait for me ! i think i wanna order some stuff..
must close by today huh ? i jsut realise u ordering from bday direct

oh..just saw Dor's msg...aiya..cannot ah...SAD leh..i wana order the balloons...
..can try try u think..maybe random some can?

qingling,
cannot...
cos my friend wanted to order n deliver to her friend address then from there ship to sg.
also cannot.
think there is some licence issue.
can try...if can help me to order balloon too!
hee

qingling,
re: birthday direct
remembered we discussed abt this earlier ?

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

As of April 11, 2008, we are no longer able to ship to any freight forwarder, individual, or company that would have the intent of shipping or taking our merchandise outside of the United States of America. Our products are only licensed to be used and sold within the United States of America. We are not an export company. Per cancellation policy, should we become suspicious that your order may be shipping to a freight forwarder, individual, or company that would have the intent to ship or take our merchandise outside of the United States of America, the order will be cancelled and a cancellation notice sent via email.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

I think they will reject your order if they know u hv the intention to ship the items out of USA.

Maybe you can look at other website to order the balloons.

qingling,
hmm...maybe can consider ordering from bday express then? collection not as many as bday direct though...

so sad
wanted to order the wall deco and baloons.

re:bday theme,
hmm...think i settle the theme to be sesame street (tho my hb thinks it's more of my obsession rather than cayleb's) heheh...

BkkGal: Ya think men really cannot multitask. I tested many times already. He really cannot do a few things at the same time.

Hmm Chinese audio book : - i have one to recommend also --- its called WAWA ER GE
Its a board book that comes with a CD (Recommended by a right brain training centre when i went for the talk) This book can be found at popular. But I bought it at Malaysia popular though.

my ger's theme will be strawberry shortcake... hehe.. got the banner, birthday hats, table cloth from the holland v. party shop.. ( not the modern one, i mean the uncle one. on the grd floor).. surprisingly they have quite a bit of party ware..

Gar.. not sure abt winnie the pooh though... i can helo u check if i go there.

they have mylar balllons too.. 7-8 bucks.. including helium gas and weight.. i think i just get from there.. anyway my party quite small...they charge 2 buck if u just want to pump gas...

iso/garfield,
i am actually have mixed feeling for the 4day week.
happy: i can have more time with my bb and myself
sad: i have less income
but i am more happy than sad. :p

hai... rumours are everywhere now...
another one is that they will cut short the working hour everyday and keeping the 5 day work week.
that's very bad.. as my traveling time from home to office is 1.5 hr. means, i got to spend 3 hrs on the road then work 1.5 hour++ less everyday. if cannot finish work/attend meeting, my working hour is still not changed while my pay is 20% less

if they really implementing this, it's time for me to change job already...

joeey,
good that you receive the parcel.
stamp: 3.35 (you saw the stamp is 2.55? i didn't get to see the stamp as the staff help me paste it on the box. the receipt they gave is 3.35)
registered post: 2.24
box: 2.75

jeannie,
ok thanks! ya my mom has trained my gal to sayang winnie the pooh now. if i change to another theme, my mom will #($&amp;@)(#$*&amp; me (although secretly, i wanted a baby sesame street theme)

tong tong
i think you are giving more varieties to your bb leh. i always gv the same kind of food, brocolli, carrot, tofu, potato, pumpkin, spinach, avocado, yogurt, kiwi, nectarine, worfberry. i feel so boring. haha... what else you gv? i haven't started flaxseed 'cos lazy to grind. :p

Jeannie, sorry busy fighting fire at work as usual. Never reply your post until now. Winterwear, bought from old navy during spree, long johns from Winter wear (or is it winter world) at Eastpoint cos it's near my workplace. Long sleeves and long pants, fleece jacket (bought from the Carter's spree Artemis organised long time ago, haha).

Oh I see, the egg yolk must mix into the porridge first. I'll try that then. Sometimes, I don't have pork at home cos forget to get from in laws, maybe can cook plain porridge then mix with egg yolk?

Gar, my FIL bought a lot of Chinese books recently but they are meant for children not babies, too many words, not enough pictures, not board/cloth books. But haven't seen them reading to her yet, think the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. Haha. I also read to my gal once in a while only. Get hubby to do it when we can't make her sleep at night so might as well let her learn something. haha. She loves those lift the flap books but I don't really dare to let her play cos she'll tear it up. :p

XY, oh ya, your workplace at woodlands, you are bedok res, very far lar. Have you tried looking for job at SSMC? There's a wafer fab near my home at Tampines ave 10 too but forgot the name. :p

Oops, I haven't started planning for RaeAnne's first birthday yet and she's born in Jan. Think will have small celebration bah. She actually had a big full month celebration plus me lazy to plan.

dor,
so sad...just found out about that spree and looks like the lady is closing

anyone wants to organise a spree eitehr from partypro or ezpartyzone ? i don't mind organising but dunno how to order using concierge :p

sunny,

me actually lazy too, so din buy flaxseed to buy, but got flaxseed oil instead. hehe. as for the grain,i give the usual 5 grains. so bb repeats the food everyday hor? can eat carrot and pumpkin everyday or not? cuz heard eat too much will be yellow?
i think i also give other green veg like caisim and those veg i eat, celery,sweet potato, asparagus, big raisin(soak overnight),3 treasure powder. and for soup hor, i gave him whatever soup i drink but give those beofre i add salt. is your boy ok when you give veg? soemtimes the porridge smell very green and my boy hor, like take so long to finish kke. if sweet porridge hor like sweet potato one, he can finish very fast!
think cham liao, he like tasty food liao..

and also , there was once my mum gave wolfberry for consecutive few days then my boy lost voice leh. coarse coarse voice, very heaty. so now i only give a alternate days or when the porridge is very green.

happy - i was thinking if can try luck..hmm..but it seems that its not even possible..i wanted the princess theme, but i can't find it on any other website that is as nice as birthday direct

RE: husband
my husband is one that is not proactive at all. i need to tell him to help me do these and that. he dont have plans as well on weekends, so i have to do some planning. if no plans, then go back to my mom's place. he is that kind of old school thinking that woman should take care house, children and hubby. sighs. though he is not very helpful but i am very happy that he loves my girl alot and willing to spend on her no matter what. he simply loves my girl so much.

RE: egg yolk
cheryl is coming 9.5months but i still have not intro her yet. probably would try this weekend liao.

RE: birthday supplies
i placed my orders with PMM for birthday direct. however i tink she is still waiting for more orders to close. so i dunno if the spree is able to proceed because i seriously need the supplies as well. so keeping my fingers crossed that it would worked out as she has conducted many sprees and is a old hand at that.

RE: loose stools
cheryl has been having that this few days. however only happened if my mom feed her yogurt. so i told my mom to restrict feeding her yogurt once in every 2 days.

RE: ladies night out
count me in! i have not party for sometime liao. though i so young but seriously feel like an auntie le. but no alcoholic drinks for now. stick to cocktails and jucies? LOL

RE: porridge stock
i also not very creative lei. her porridge always consists of threadfin, pork and some vege. her stock is use fish bones (BIG ones) for it. very nice. my mom started this. maybe some mummies can try too ?

RE: playgroup/trial classes
since i have going to have #2 next yr and don tink my dad can handle an active toddler and an infant by then, i have decided to enrol cheryl into cherie hearts childcare which is just behind my workplace. so she could come work with me everyday and goes home with me. after subsidy is $450. the pricing considered okay anot ? but considering it's very convenient for me to pick her up.

tongtong
oh ya, forgot that i gv green peas, too. taste nice. keke...
wah.. you gv 3 treasure powder, too! i didn't leh. what's inside the 3 treasure powder liao har? ya, don't gv carrot and pumpkin everyday. my mil said bb will be yellow. i try not to loh. but if everyday need to gv one red colour veg/fruit, i don't know what else can gv leh. probably i should add beetroot.

my boy ah? he eats whatever we gv. so far, i have not noted he got preference of food or not. but definitely, he hates sour fruits. that day, i gv nectarine which was a bit sour, he kept pushing away my hand. haha.. but i still let him finih it. 'cos don't wanna let him be choosy abt food. :p

oh... didn't know wolfberry can be so heaty. i will watch out about this.

tongtong
wolfberry is "kei chi"? maybe i shld ask my MIL to try. her porridge v boring one, one slice of fish, and ONE vege (peas, cai xim or pumpkin). how do you give the flax seed oil? and asparagus must puree? i love cooking for bb! :D

cooking egg
can't remember if i mentioned but just to share i scrambled one yolk with some cheddar cheese (those kraft singles type of cheddar ones, but president brand) and of cos some formula milk. bb loves it!

XY
i find my job really boring and the environment not so family friendly, but don't dare to quit in case i can't find anything else. i guess a job now better than no job..

Eggs:- Ytd my MIL put some egg yolk in the porridge for my girl to eat. The first meal was okie. The second evening meal, my girl vomitted all the porridge out... Think she really cannot take eggs...

just wondering if some mummies here did let your bb try taking salmon ?

i have tried baked salmon with cheese for cheryl. wow she was so active that the entire day she only napped 20min. wake up super early and slp super late. makes everyone so tired for the entire week. but she really love the baked salmon in orange juice with cheese puree. but salmon kept her very awake. so just sharing if mommies wan to intro salmon, maybe be prepared for super hyperactivity! heehee.

iso
it's really nice, even i myself love it. however super hyperactivity. must be able to bear with it else the adults would be cranky. LOL. but i would stop salmon for the time being though it's so rich in nutrients but seriously need to consider the hyperactivity factor!

sunny,

oh, green peas hor, there once was i took out all the peas from the snow peas, very time consuming leh. and i havent started giving frozen peas yet wor. you reminded me hehe. i going to get the frozen peas this week.
3 treasure powder consists of wheatgerm, lecithin and nutritional yeast.
'
yaya, i gave beetroot before too. once i add in porridge the porridge turn red. the other time is to make stock using betroot. must give red veg everyday ah? i also give red capsicum and yellow capsicum, considered red veg?
hah, ya sour fruits. we gave nectarine yesterday, his face so sour too! haha. but hor, he still eat wor. he will only push water away using his hand. sour fruit he still eat happily with sour sour face hahaa

iso: yea wolfberry is kei chi.flaxseed oil hor, after porridge ready, put less than 1 teaspoon of oil into the porridge and mix. asparagus, my aunty hor, she blends the asparugus together with all the grains in blender first before cooking leh.
wah scramble egg with cheese! i wann try too! keke

xy: very hard to find job now wor in view of current financial turmoil. u see hor, i stay at north yet get a job at central. you stay at east yet get a job at north. so gao xiao hor

Amazon Spree #5 - Sharing pool confirmation

Jeannie, have taken out your name as per your request.

Following mummies, can you confirm your orders?
1.xiaoyun- One fish two fish red fish blue fish
2. Yen - Dr.Seuss's ABC (An Amazing Alphabet Book)
3.dor11-Dr.Seuss's ABC (An Amazing Alphabet Book)
4.leila - Dr.Seuss's ABC (An Amazing Alphabet Book)
5.apple79- Mr Brown can Moo.. can you?
6. Leila - Hippos go berserk

As these books qualify for the 4 for 3 promotion, I would like to suggest that the value of the free book be divided equally by the number of books ordered, and then the savings will be deducted off the cost of your item ordered.

Eg. Value of free book = US$6
Total num of books ordered = 6
Savings per book ordered = US$6 / 6 = US$1

If the book you are ordering costs US$5, the nett cost to you will be US$5 - US$1 = $4

crystal
aiyah tot Cheryl and Andrae can be schoolmates next time.

Cherie Heart i heard is very commercialise. They r open by SAF officers... i knw that becos i knw the CEO of carpe diem...

hi xiaoyun, have made the transfer.

From Account DBS Savings Plus
033-7-065095
To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 XIAOYUN9
Amount S$8.34
Transaction Reference 1992767132

tongtong
thanks for all the tips! i haven't tried any capsicum yet, but think i will soon, those are also v sweet.
frozen green peas, Wattie's brand is the best. some others not so fresh looking or

crystal
ok, maybe feed for lunch then, haha. i didn't know salmon can make bbs hyperactive, but better to be safe than sorry, haha.

crystal
they go more for $ bah.. but my friends who place kids in cherie heart feel is not gd. i cannot gv u comments cos i din put arielene in cherie hearts before.

garfield.. thanks for taking out the books!

crysttal.. my mil used salmon to cook porridge once.. and gwen hated the porridge.. i think the salmon smell too strong when used to cook porridge. Can i check what cheese and yogurt did u use for cheryl?

Re: yougurt
which yougurt are u all using.. i cant find the yoplait for babies.. only found 6 joined together ones mini version or really the big bucket one.. can anyone advice?

RE: baked food
my hse super not well-equipped.. no oven for baking.. no blender...and i also dunno what flaxseeds are.. aiyoh.. i think i quite lousy like as a mummy...

gar/dor,
for pooh theme i found this website, online shop in sgp...looks like quite cheap as they are having promotion : http://www.partybundles.com/
quite nice range too...

jeannie,
u can get those small oven toaster and try baking small pieces of salmon there? i think when gwen's older dun even need to use blender... but i haven't tried giving fish to cayleb coz we're not big fish fans ourselves...so far only give chick meat, chick liver, cheese and egg yolk in terms of high protein food :p

qingling, i already ordered my stuff through the link that dor gave...u may want to look through some other websites like ezpartysupply and partypro ?

jeannie
u r not a lousy mummy, i'm sure a lot more bbs get less love than gwen

yoghurt, my PD said plain yoghurt (for adults) is fine too. the flavoured ones no good because too much sugar. but plain is v sour so you can add in your own fresh fruits?
other than the yoplait for babies, i found another organic baby one (which is even more ex than yoplait!!) at the new marketplace at fusionpolis.. but think i'll buy plain ones from now on. cheaper :p

tute
cayleb like the liver or not? i haven't tried any liver although i read that you can give from like 6 months. most adults already don't like the taste, i can't imagine bbs will like it, haha..

jeannie,
i oso think i am a lousy mummy. not as advanced in preparing food as the mummies here.

re: loose stools
i finally decided to bring ashlynn to the pd as she pooed like 5-6 times ytd. this morning already pooed twice by 9am. lucky no signs of dehydration. dr just prescribed some powder medicine for her stomach. oh ya, and he said the 2 upper teeth will be out soon! he can feel the swollen gums and the mould of the teeth thru the gums. so excited to see more teeth.

jeannie, dont say that, many of us are first time mum so all still learning , and we learning from each other mah!

re: yoghurt
yea i saw one organic baby yoghurt from organic shop at dempsey hill. dunno 3+ or 5+.

bx: did you ask doc whether the loose stools are caused by teething?