(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx:
hahah i nv use the thongs. i use hands. haha
my maid almosted sterilised his teether last time. *faint*

esther:
i only use normal detergent.

bx:
i use those magic cooker to cook also. quite fast. 1st soak grains in hot water (put into the thermal pot). 1/2 hour, take out, add stock and boil for 15 min... put in again. then it will be nuah enough when u wanna feed liao. but i will add in the cold puree and boil for a short while lah. coz mine is thawed / frozen puree ma.. still cold cold

re donation

this organization was reported in the papers. so quite reputable one.

i will email to ask for a prioritized list of items needed.

garfield:
count me in

sunny,

ya, i will do tat, my hb and cousin cant stand me. haha.. but ok la, lately i close one eye lor, drop 2 to 3 times, dun clean. keke...

is it hassle 2 clean abc mat? i jz wipe the surface.

re : bumper mat.

i wanted so much 2 buy leh! but due 2 space constraint (ABC mat at least can stacked half), no choice. wait till i get back 2 my own home and if got 2nd bb, 1st ting 2 buy is the bumper mat!

jass,

u soak the rice in hot water ah? die liao, i soak in tap water leh all this while. then i pour away the water and boil them in stock.

hot water better or can use tap water?

bx,

actually i've been tinking did i do the correct way of THROWING away the water tat is used 2 soak the rice. i mean, there will be "nutrients" in the rice rite? (i been adding brown rice 2) keke...

re : magic cooker.

ya, realli like magic, but cant buy tat leh. hb will faint. haha...

bx,

ya! but then i more concerned on her nutrient intake cos her milk intake been dropping... dropping... dropping... sigh... dunno hw 2 mk her drink more milk.

esther
i find it hassle to clean ABC mat leh. and that time, when i cleaned got small pieces peeled off from the mat, then i decided to get bumper mat liao. that time, my gal was 6 mth old. and now, it's still her play area with my boy.

garfield
ok, i go back and look for good condition/new stuff. any deadlines?

wow.. gar, tutevand bx.. u all have a lot of bottles!!! Do u all actually use all of them??

Let me see, i only have

3 small avent (150 ml)
2 medium one (260 ml)

all non BPA free..

everytime go out only bring 1 medium ( store water)

1 small for milk ( after every feed will wash, I quite bo chup mummy but will just rinse w hot water b4 make milk)

and 1 other small bottle for water.

Thats all.

esther/bx:
i bought the big one to 'ow' soup for dinner lah. so no need to boil for 3-4 hours. save money and the small one came with it. i was thinking of getting the tiger jar till bkkgal mention abt her thermal cooker then i vaguely remember i have that in my storeroom!

actually its ok to use the water which u soak the rice as the nutrients are in the water. thats y when we wash the rice huh.. cant wash to many times / too long.

esther:
my fren say use hot water is faster if u soak the rice lah. but if left out in the open the hot water will be cooled water pretty soon oso ma. dunno leh.. i oso try try wan haa~

bx: u are using slow cooker to cook?

jass,

haha.. yeah! tis wkend will try hot water 2 soak. keke...

my slow cooker nw almost gg 2 collect dust liao. but slow cooker aso gd.

Christmas Donation to Blessings in a Bag

I have written to ask for a prioritized wish list so that we can focus our donation efforts. Will also advise deadlines.

The organization does not accept $$ donations, so do not worry - your $$ will not be misused hehe....! Items donated should either be used (in good condition) or new.

Collection will probably be play dates since that is the most convenient for everyone right?

Please indicate your name if you are keen to donate:
1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass

jeannie,
the reason i have so many is bcos i used to prepare everything for my mom so that
a) she doesn't need to sterilize anything
b) she doesn't need to worry about pouring out EBM (everything is pre-poured into the Avent bottles)

so, when bb was small, i would have
- 4 feeds of EBM (all poured into 4 avent bottles ready to heat) in the fridge
- 2 bottles standby for preparing FM if needed
- 2 bottles for water (in case one is dirtied)

jeannie,
now i'm only using the bpa free ones so i only have 4 milk bottles. in the past have more because my sis gave me, oh and i also use the big one for pumping when i need to use my manual pump. actually 4 is not a lot right i think...quite normal no ? :p

Prioritized Wish List

I have a reply from the organization! This is their reply:

In my opinion it may be easiest for you to choose a particular "blessing bag" to make - eg to make a school blessing bag:

Using a large bag enclose the following NEW items:
writing books
1 ruler
1 box of colored pencils
1 box of crayons

OR 1 pencil box filled with the following items:
5 blue/black pens
5 pencils
1 pencil sharpener
1 eraser
1 pair of safety scissors
You can pass them to us in bulk if you wish cos we try to discourage the use of plastic bags.

But from what's been coming in from the public lately, I can tell you what we need most:
1. Kids clothing/ Babies clothing (in good condition)
2. Educational books and toys (most needed!!!)
3. Story Books (for kids and teens)
4. Bandaids/First aid kits (this hasn't been donated at all)
5. Blankets

<font color="0000ff">Do mummies have a preference whether to donate blessing bags (must be NEW items) or just the 5 items that are needed (need not be new?)</font>

I have written to ask for a prioritized wish list so that we can focus our donation efforts. Will also advise deadlines.

The organization does not accept $$ donations, so do not worry - your $$ will not be misused hehe....! Items donated should either be used (in good condition) or new.

Collection will probably be play dates since that is the most convenient for everyone right?

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal

Garfield: Another option is that we can contribute and pool a sum of money and we can buy those items which they most needed!

Re: Magic Cooker

I also soak brown rice and new rice in hot water for half an hr cover with a plate. Then boil the rice for abt 20 mins before putting into the magic cooker. As the porridge portion is not much, therefore I will fill the top portion with hot water to maintain the heat. Really save gas and electricity as I do not have to reheat the porridge again. When Julian is old enough I still can convert the cooker to cook soup.

During Isetan sales saw lots of aunties and young mummies grabbing the cooker.

Re: Bottles
I think i also have alot, have not really count how much! =p

BD Bash
I dun mind helping to organise but this period until early next year is very busy for me at work.

Bottles
wow, Gar, you really have ALOT! I have only 2 Avent non-BPA which K uses regularly and 1 BPA free one. The rest are NUK bottles that I use to contain BM.

Sterilising
Can we stop sterilising now that they are quite old? My steriliser is taking up precious countertop space and electricity is going up. Wondering if can stop already or not. actually, it doesn't make sense since I let K touch all kinds of surfaces and then she ends up sucking her fingers when I'm not watching. :{

Donations
Yes, count me in! I prefer to give the items they want e.g. bandaid, clothes. Feels more personal than to buy the other stuff in bulk leh..but I'll go along with consensus.

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. Bkkgal

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. dor11

re:b bash
bkk, yaya.. we can set up a committee for this.

Feb Babies Birthday bash
date:7 or 14 feb(pls indicate your preference)
amt to pay : $30 per family(includes catering, birthday cake, 1 goody bag for baby)

please indicate your interest
1)dor11(both dates ok)
2)Cheryl(both dates ok)
3)tongtong (both dates ok)
4)vine_gal (both dates ok)
5)Qingling (7th ok, cos 14th is Heidi's actual)
6) abcdisney (bth date ok but where is the place har? which part of singapore?)
7) apple79 (both ok)
8)happymum2b(both ok)
9)garfield9 (both ok)
10) Artemis (prefer 7 cause 14 is Valentine's Day :p By the way, can Danica join since her BD only in March?)
11) stephie (both ok)
12) Jeannie ( prefer 7th feb)
13)eliaw(tbc)

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. dor11
8, cheryl

Hi, Bx

Saw the photos; Thanks very much for photos and funny captions. Hehe... fond memoments of my gal playing with other babies.

My gal was super cranky at your playdate; guess that she played too hard at Jeannie's house. She fall asleep just after we went into car----very rare for her.

Tute,
Last time when we prepared to leave at bkk's playdate, you reached. .... didn't chat much. I feel your way of solving problem is very similar to my hubby's. Enjoy reading your postinngs for some time.

Westie playdate at Qingling's hse at Jurong West St 25 (very near NTU!!)

(pls vote which date better)

15th Nov
1. Stephie
2. joeey

29th Nov
1. cheryl
2. Stephie
3. Jass
4. Yen
5. tubao

Feb Babies Birthday bash
date:7 or 14 feb(pls indicate your preference)
amt to pay : $30 per family(includes catering, birthday cake, 1 goody bag for baby)

please indicate your interest
1)dor11(both dates ok)
2)Cheryl(both dates ok)
3)tongtong (both dates ok)
4)vine_gal (both dates ok)
5)Qingling (7th ok, cos 14th is Heidi's actual)
6) abcdisney (bth date ok but where is the place har? which part of singapore?)
7) apple79 (both ok)
8)happymum2b(both ok)
9)garfield9 (both ok)
10) Artemis (prefer 7 cause 14 is Valentine's Day :p By the way, can Danica join since her BD only in March?)
11) stephie (both ok)
12) Jeannie ( prefer 7th feb)
13)eliaw(tbc)
14)tubao

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. dor11
8, cheryl
9. xiaoyun

i think my PIL there got quite a bit of new blankets. but they are quite bulky. how to go about it?

playdate cum mini xmas celeb @ 6/8dec @ seng kang (tute's home)
1)jass
2)vine_gal
3) dor
4) abcdisney
5) cheryl
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9
8) Artemis
9) xiaoyun

re: magic cooker/tiger food jar
i tried to make barley water with tiger flask.
it really turns out good.
i am going to get the tiger food jar.
can anyone share with me if there is any good deals? thanks

Xiaoyun

Can wait for xmas sales. They shd have good deals at isetan or taka bah. I'm waiting for isetan pte sale! cos dec sales got even more discount! =P

Haha, I think I win Gar hands down. I have even more bottles. Same reason as Gar because I had to do everything for my MIL because she doesn't know/or no time to transfer milk to Avent bottles. Plus I have 4 pumps including 2 Avent Manual ones so the total tally is:
1) 9 Avent 125ml bottles
2) 2 Avent 260ml (which I have not used)
3) At least 3 pigeon bottles (different sizes, came free with my sterilizer but never use)
4) At least 8 Medela bottles (excluding 6 that are from my friend's PIS) :p

Gar, I'm keen to donate too.

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. Bkkgal
8. kitsune

Tute, I can't make it for your playdate cos I'll be in HKG during that period. Sorry. :p

re: barley water with hot flask
goodbb,
at night, i put barley in water.
bring it to boil.
transfer into hot flask.

tada... can drink it next morning.
if you want an even softer barley, pour the water and barley out, boil it again.
transfer into hot flask.

very easy and time saving.

playdate cum mini xmas celeb @ 6/8dec @ seng kang (tute's home)
1)jass
2)vine_gal
3) dor
4) abcdisney
5) cheryl
6) happymum2b
7) garfield9
8) Artemis
9) xiaoyun
10) apple79

Prioritized Wish List

I have a reply from the organization! This is their reply:

In my opinion it may be easiest for you to choose a particular "blessing bag" to make - eg to make a school blessing bag:

Using a large bag enclose the following NEW items:
writing books
1 ruler
1 box of colored pencils
1 box of crayons

OR 1 pencil box filled with the following items:
5 blue/black pens
5 pencils
1 pencil sharpener
1 eraser
1 pair of safety scissors
You can pass them to us in bulk if you wish cos we try to discourage the use of plastic bags.

But from what's been coming in from the public lately, I can tell you what we need most:
5. Blankets

Do mummies have a preference whether to donate blessing bags (must be NEW items) or just the 5 items that are needed (need not be new?)

Garfield:- I have no preference but think buying things they need is better?

Christmas donation to Blessings in a Bag

Thanks mummies for your warm response and suggestions. Let's go with what is needed most. These are:
5. Blankets

We can
a) Donate used (good condition) items - Collection by Garfield at playdates or gatherings
b) Pool a sum of money to buy new ones - how to go about it?
We leave it to individual preference if you want to participate in (a) and/or (b) ok?

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. Bkkgal
8. dor11
9. cheryl
10. xiaoyun
11. Kitsune

Xiaoyun,
thanks for your offer of PIL's blankets =) how come he has so many? i don't mind going to his place to collect. let me know ya?

kitsune,
wow...yes yes you win you win!! i think in terms of number of pumps you also win =)

if ever PILs give you pressure to stop BF - just show them your inventory of pumps and say already invested need to depreciate over a longer period otherwise bo hua =P

Hi bkkgal,

No problems about coming this evening or tomorrow evening. In fact, I am working from home this Friday so you can come anytime then too.

RE : Milk bottles

Non BPA-free 4 oz : 6
Non BPA-free 9 oz : 10
BPA-free 4 oz : 4
BPA-free 9 oz : 6

I make all the milk bottles in the morning so that my maid only has to put it in the warmer. I use 3 4 oz ones to warm up EBM for cereal and 2 9 oz ones for Danica's milk feeds. The rest are extras just in case or came free with the sterilisers and warmers. :p I also bought the Newborn Starter Kit and a 3 pack of 9 oz non-BPA free for standby previously. I also use the 9 oz for expressing cause I find them more stable then the 4 oz.

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. Bkkgal
8. dor11
9. cheryl
10. xiaoyun
11. Kitsune
12. Artemis (I hardly got anything that is not used so I guess have to contribute cash to purchase stuff?)

Hi Andrea,

I bought my Endo Thermal Magic Cooker (1.8 l) for S$39 at Isetan private sale.

Christmas donation to Blessings in a Bag

Thanks mummies for your warm response and suggestions. Let's go with what is needed most. These are:
5. Blankets

We can
a) Donate used (good condition) items - Collection by Garfield at playdates or gatherings
b) Pool a sum of money to buy new ones - how to go about it?
We leave it to individual preference if you want to participate in (a) and/or (b) ok?

1. Garfield
2. Esther
3. Sunny
4. Apple
5. Jass
6. Vine_Gal
7. Bkkgal
8. dor11
9. cheryl
10. xiaoyun
11. Kitsune
12. Artemis
13. Qingling

I don't mind to join in to pool a sum of money to buy the things, don't really have much things to donate (adult things have but kids things not so much, but i will try to find some unused stationary