(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Its been a long time i didnt log in..i was at M'sia for smtm. Glad that all mummies having a good time during the gathering. I m a SAHTM... Really so busy & depressed smtm at home alone when taking care bb. Would like to gain & share more experience on taking care baby...

Jass,

I read about you cooking nuah porridge using your thermal pot... I want to learn also!

Can let me know the ratio of rice : water? And what kind of rice you use? (I have the long grain basmati rice)

jeannie, am here. On and off sneak in to take a look.

I just joined the Feb 08 mummies facebook group. A bit blur how to do it. Thanks to Cherly, I managed to do it haha very lousy man..

Hi casa, it must be tough taking care of baby alone. Maybe you could join in the gatherings, there are a few SAHM here i think. Although I would love to spend more time with my girl, but i think i can't stay at home whole day with a baby. So salute to all SAHM.

jass... yar lor.. so quiet..

u in office har?

apple.. what u doing har.. may i ask?? must come join us on sat!!! wanna see ur baby..

casa.. i think i can understand.. think u must find some personal time for urself.. can place baby at in laws or parents for a few hrs?? but if u think on the positive side u get to be there at ur baby';s every milestones... and ur baby will love u...

Re: Baby preference

Yesterdae i was so upset caus emy baby wanted my hubby to carry and not me... I mean she doesnt mind me.. but when she sees my hubby will fly to him think cause my hubby always carry her and pat her to sleep.. still i am upset.. sigh.. thinking is it cause my in laws keep pointing my hubby's pic to her ( they have a big family portrait in the living room, i am not in the pic) I was so upset that i even cried..
i thot babies are suppose to like mummies??

Hi jeannie, what do u mean what i doing ah? I eating snake loh ahhaha . I will be coming this sat unless I am still sick................

Baby preference :-
Maybe its your baby mood? I find my baby sometimes squeal in delight when i come home. Other days she will turn and take a look at me when i come home before turning her head away to do whatever she is doing (eg watching TV) machiam bo chup her mummy.

apple no.. i mean what u working as?? ur job.. its already obvious u eating snake lor.. hehe :p

i hope it is only one off .. so upset.. somemore my in laws add in and say.. baby want papa dun want mama.. super sianz... but she recently has been behaving like that.. upset..

jeannie
i'm sure it's a phase, dun worry so much. on the good side, u can have more time to yourself, anything just ask your hubby to do? :D

casa
are you home alone all the time? possible to get a helper? it's not easy to look after bb by yourself.. i'm a SAHM too for the last 8 months until next week, i love being at home with bb! but then, i have either ILs or my own mum to help out.

apple
why u say u can't stay home alone w bb leh?

isobellies.. u starting work?? where?? helping hubby??? welcome back to the workforce..

Thats what my MIL says.. more time for myself..
kao_confused.gif
just ask hubby to do..

Thks apple & jeannie,

My hubby is wrkg in shipping line. So he will be away for few days smtm. Yet i have a hyperactive bb boy...so quite tire lor. But of course cherish & appreciate every moments i hv with him ;)

Hardly to hv own time now, coz my both in-laws are quit old already. So, where ever me & hb go, we will sure bring our bb 2gether...

Apple,
Thks for inviting me to the gathering.. sure i would like to join if i have the right time. sure i can meet more frds there ;)

jeannie:
ya lor in office.

lefthander:
2nd attempt @ cooking porridge actually. trial and error wor haha~

i use 2 tablespoon of rice grains is to 200ml of hot water to soak for 1 hour (i place the pot inside the endo thermal cooker). after that, to boil for 20 min. then keep in thermal cooker for 2-3 hours. ta da!!! very nuah porridge. then before i want to feed bb, i'll add stock and veg puree and cook till boil. i dunno what rice to use.. anyhow go and buy organic white rice.

casa:
hello
welcome to the thread
what is smtm huh?

hi casa,

dun worry, u r not alone. i'm not a SAHM though, i hv 2 handle my gal most of the times too. quite stress and tiring.

had some difficult moments too but kept telling myself 2 be +ve.

oh we aso go out or do things as a FAMILY of THREE.

isobellies.. y u selling the high chair.. ethan doesnt wanna sit?? I see... u have bought quite a bit of stuffs for him hor.. :p correct me if i am wrong...did u mention u got a mc claren stroller.. volvo har.. good or not??? i am looking at a lightyweight one to bring overseas..

me here too!!!

jass, i cant make it for yr playgroup bash...

anymore outing coming?

hi, what happen to our birthday bash?

jeannie:
i used to feel like tat too. but i guess, daddies are suppose to be the more 'fun' pple, as they spend lesser time w bb, but when they play w bb, they are more likely to go all out & come out w new games (ok.. maybe its old games.. but since they play w bb less frequently, bb may find it more xing xian). i'm sure its a passing phase... now matthew is also ok w my liao. i used to whine that boys are suppose to me mumm's boy but he is a daddy's boy. he will look for me when he has practical needs like chnage diaper, drink milk, mum mum... w daddy, its just play.

Jeannie:- haha yah..loh....hmm maybe should say taking a break every now and then instead of eating snake.... haha
Anyway, I am working as an Accountant.

Isobellies :- Dunno leh, I can't stay at home. I must go out. Probaby becos I stay with my inlaw.. so less freedom when home?

Casa: Its also my first gathering with them if i go this sat since I gave birth. I went for gathering once when I was preggy.

Hi esther,

Ya, true. Giving birth bb is not difficult but taking care bb really need alot of energy & especially patience.

jeannie,

re baby preference.

though i take care of my bb most of the times, somehow, my gal prefers her daddy. mk me jealous sometimes. i hv 2 be a silly clown 2 mk her laugh, while her daddy dun hv 2 do much. she will laugh out LOUD.

yar.. what abt the birthday bash.. actually can we get someone to perform.. flash cards.. and play music.. to entertain all the babies??and toddlers??

can get decorative stuffs from birthday supplies?

casa:
giving birth is difficult ya. @ least it is for me - contractions for 1.5 days before i give birth. but its a one off thingy. looking after bb is tiring and on going.. hahaha but then for both, we will enjoy the fruits of our labour.

casa, jass,

i njoy being preggy and giving birth leh. ok ok, i was on epi but @ the minmium amt. wanted 2 feel the contractions. fun was my feeling tat time but hor when i miss out the correct breathing technique, pain like hell! still rem i told my hb i dun wan 2 be a heroine (without epi) haha

jeannie
u very sharp hor, can remember a lot of things, heehee. my E sweats A LOT, so the high chair is far too warm for him. my friend recommended me to buy this but it's like my worst buy ever. think the ikea $25 one would have been much better. sigh!
yah i got a volo, i like it! it's so light and easy to use, but only 1 sitting position. i had the quinny zapp before that and didn't like it at all, also 1 sitting position and so hard to open, so am much happier with the volo. mine is the 06 or 07 version tho, the latest one the seat is a bit different, maybe u go check it out? i bought mine $158 from baby's hyperstore. think they still selling.

this thurs i going to start work in a marcom agency, similar to what i used to do. boohoooooooooooooooooooooo. i much rather stay at home w E

apple
oh i know what u mean, i also live w ILs, sometimes bb and i always in my room cos my nephew also around (and terrorizing the house)..

Jass,

what time is the gathering? i will discuss with hb..hopefully he is not wrkg that day. By the way, can my hubby join as well?

re: birthday bash

i think this is the last post by cheryl on the birthday bash.. hope i hv not missed anyone out..

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Feb babies Bday Bash
date: 7 feb 09/14 feb 09
venue: function room @ glassroots' club
rental: $214, food: TBC, decoration: TBC, BB door gifts: TBC
for 50-80pax
time is 11am - 3pm

1) cheryl + family
2) dor + family
3) Happymum2b + family
4) Vine_gal + family
5) Garfield
6) Elicia
7) tongtong + family
8) jeannie (7th feb can?, i will be overseas for half yr from mid feb onwards)function room(buffet from lemongrass vry good)
9) Thankful
10) Crystal ( 7th feb is good. cuz 14th feb is cheryl's exact bdae, will throw a party at home )<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

jeannie,
u planning to go hongkong in dec? bringing gwen?
me not bringing, but somehow hb and i r still having 2nd thoughts.

dun be sad over gwen's preference. i'm sure it just so happen tat she prefers papa last nite. share wif u something i find hilarious. u teach physics rite? today i invigilate the physics o level prac. someone ask for bunsen burner for the electricity experiment! he wants the burner to light up the bulb. keke...

casa:
you can come after 12.30pm. let me know if you are coming for lunch. hubby is welcome of coz
if its convenience, pls bring some food for pot luck if you are coming for lunch ok

esther:
i tahan abt 1 day before i gave in to epi... then during labour, epi ran out. i got phobia man... when nurse wanna present bb to me i dun even wanna see haa~

re: birthday bash
aiyah, both dates i cannot confirm leh. (coz i forget my wedding date.. cannot rem 7 feb / 9 feb... shhhh.. dun tell my hubby)
but hor 14 feb... got surcharge bo? valentine day wor.

bx.. u must be joking??? where got such blur students somemore taking pure physics??? u should laugh.. hahaha.. in front of him... i am the cpe for prac on thurs..

i booked tickedts liao.. going with my in laws.. so hopefully things will not be as bad.. trying to test out to prepare for our super Long flight next feb... if its me and my hubby only.. i dun think i will bring her.. erm.. a bit difficult leh but i think kitsune also bringing raeanne this nov or dec.. when u going??

isobllies so only 1 position? ok.. must go check out then.. 158 is quite cheap ... can buy..

isobellies:
wah.. going back to work liao lor jie... bet you will be missing bb ethan a lot coz you are so used to having him ard.

jass,
no lah. tell him no need to use that.

jeannie,
erm... private candidate. hee... i going on 28 nov to 01/02 dec. we r going on our own. think i am going to miss her a lot. when r u going?

jeannie
yah, i also think 158 q cheap, but that's for the older version, the new one i think more ex lah

jass mei
yah, nothing beats staying at home
but this co. q nice, they let me do part time, mornings only for 1 month to adjust..

isobellies:
wah, quite nice hor. but will you be v bz? coz marcom quite hectic wan rite.

dor:
so poor thing wor.. sayang~ ask germaine to jia you wor. think pri sch start liao right w all those oral, listening compre... germaine p2 huh?

jass
yaya.. gg to miss all the fun
ya germaine in pri 2...
dun think she is stressed at all... still jumping around...

sunny: wow! 800ml so much ah! shaun only drink about 500 only.plus i have to take out the teats and let him drink from bottle! like drink from cup like that. then will spill so much to his neck. hais.. he prefers solid more wor. so how? help!!!!

and water, he doesnt like to drink from bottle! must feed using spoon. so jialat.

when i'm back to sg, shaun will stay in KL lor. then when mum feels like going to sg, then will bring shaun over and stay until she bored then go back to KL again. to and fro like that la. if shaun in KL i will travel back every weekend. if not once every 2 wks.

dor: gervaise started to stand up and cruise around already right? so how u managed ah? shaun also trying to stand up all the time but after that will fall. i cant afford to let him crawl and stnad all the time leh, and keep him in walker. how do you manage ah?

does your bb flip when you are dressing him or changing his diaper? I perspired so much after battling with my bb over diaper change! ended up i have to use both my legs to press on his legs so that i can put on the nappy. really tired!!!

hi jeannie,

u going US?think maclaren cheaper there?i also thinking of maclaren to bring overseas,but wonder how the stroller will be like after being thrown by the airport staff

hi tong2,

my gal also like that,wonder next time can walk,how to wear diapers?

tong,
ya..he is super mobile now.. he will stand when he has the chance... cos my mum is the main caregiver...so i salute her...
imag when i have my dinner.. he will stand by my chair...

re: bb flip when you are dressing him or changing his diaper
tong, i too have this problem.. heehee... i use my leg to press on his too! so now when gg out, i use pull up..

Goodbb,
I have travelled several times with my Maclaren. No problem..Very sturdy and can withstand all the throwing about by the airport staff.

If don't want to check in with luggage, can push stroller all the way till departure hall. Near x-ray counter, pass to the airport staff and they will load it on the plane for you.

it is not easy changeing his diaper... now tat i m alone. worst. need to give toy to distract

vernon also stand alot , crawl alot... haha

hi tongtong,
yes, my bb same here...always likes to flip over when changing diaper or dress him up after bath. smtm need 2 person to handle him. My son cant really drink now, he prefer mum mum than neh neh...he has a bad habit that always left 20ml milk. Then i will feed him thru the bottle without teat or using spoon ;(

tongtong
he drinks from cup now? wow... impressive!
if he's growing well, just follow his cue bah. some babies just don't like milk. then, for your solid food, need to make sure that there is food with calcium added in.

for changing diapers, my boy also wants to flip here and there, what i do is to take a toy in front of him to attract him to stay put for a while. so, got to be fast in action when changing diapers. haha...

wow... weekend parents... very tiring. jia you!!!

esther
i bought the book from a mummy in the forum. you can try kinokuniya, i saw it there before.
for the tiger food jar, did you boil it 1st before you pour into the jar? or is it because some of your ingredients are cold and uncooked when you put into the jar?