(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jass..aiyoh.. sweet potato queen har.. :p.. i do it often..cause its the simplest thing to do!! hehe

I buy those purple skin and yellow flesh.. sweeter.. but that time i bought from ntuc.. kept for 1 week.. and to my horror!!! got worms inside.. so be careful k.

crystal.. i too lazy to sift it.. hehe.. just add 1 sppon milk powder and stir.. since my ger drinks so little each day.. everytime i make puree will try to add in 1 spoon milkpowder... its quite smooth after adding water.. dun need sift.

I think G prefers food w texture.

wah.. all of u . ur hse super well equipped.. jass u can even bake pumpkin..!!

My hse only got toaster oven.. no more liao..wah.. u mena u all cook quite a bit at home?

crystal,
thanks for the info.

jeannie,
hee..arielle also prefers food with texture. she doesn't take puree, so i mash with fork through a sieve.

jass
mine is not watery lei. sometimes still very sticky. probably because i din add water during the puree process.

sweet potatoes
have to scrutinise properly before buying. dont buy those with holes because it meant worms has invaded it. buy from markets must be more careful because if's it broken or the flesh kena eaten deeply, it meant rats had eaten on them.

i know all the vegetables very well and how to keep them because my hb and fil are vegetables wholesaler thats why i know what kinds are good and fresh, which are 'old' vege that have been kepy for long and how to keep them properly to last longer.

vine_gal
let me know soon ok? I already went ahead to place order for catering liao...

Artemis
Yes ok! we can contra!

jeannie:
erm... no leh. coz last time microwave my dad win fr lucky draw give me one. buy oven coz i like to bake simple things like apple crumbles. hee~ havent use it in ages except to 'hang' stingray

crystal
wow, any more tips? where are good places to buy?
also, sometimes when u overcook it turns yellow right, is it "bad" to eat it then?

diana
cold storage also got some organic stuff? even NTUC these days got (esp the bukit timah Finest). my place also got an organic store but a bit troublesome for you?

artemis
thanks! will wait for your pic for the tiger jar and flask!

Btw, I realised most of the food i am giving Hillary is orange like, pumpkin, carrot, sweet potato.. wondering how much is too much. Anyone knows?

I dont puree food for her. I merely grate them and steam them and mix with the cereal. So far so good =P

i heard of a Taka fair going on from Thur to Sun, so maybe those who r interested to get the Tiger food jug can go down take a look.

"NTUC BABY CUBE" container:
i just bought...$3.06 per container. It has a cover, and individual compartments are bigger than the normal ice-cube one. Now i'm ONE step closer to making purees. *s-l-o-w*

ISO...i using the Healthy Times Cinnamon Apple Puffs. The pigeon food warmer ok leh...takes about maybe 5 minutes for me to warm up her food.

but if from freezer maybe much longer la...

ARTEMIS...so very sorry. I will transfer tonight to u. i owe u a lot of money for HT!
re: brightlings...wah shit....looks like no savings after all!>??!? idiots.

GAR, must remember to wrap the veggies in newspaper to prevent loss of moisture and keep in the veggie compartment lor. That is old-fashion way i learn from my parents. that way can keep max 1 week i think. more than that usually you'll start to see some 'discoluration'/drying up.

But if you talking about cutting up one part and saving the other for another day - i think max 2 days in the fridge even if u put in container.

JEANNIE,
got stuff at home (oven, microwave, toaster oven, toaster, blender)..but never use nowadays. When preggers got cook but now..... maybe i shud start baking for baby....must go see what can baby eat that's baked! if too much, i can offload to some of u? hehehe.

SPINACH:
dunno if u all doing this...but when we cook spinach (for adults), before cooking must peel off the 'layer' of hard skin from the stems. Spinach is very tedious to prepare in huge quantities cuz of this step. If not then the stem will be hard hard one.

I think i better start to puree veggie with fruits. it will be more tasty that veggies alone. ALso cuz i think my ruth needs abit more fibre. Now just eating porridge (with threadfin n some small amount of veggie) and cereal, her poop sometimes hard hard one but so far she dun cry or what.

I was told too much beta carotene is no good for the babies. Their skin can turn orangee.

(Before my wedding, I ate just broccoli and carrots everyday and my skin was a little orangey. So yeah, I think it can happen to the babies who are much more delicate than us.)

Playdate@bkkgal's

In case some mommies missed out the updates, I'm posting here again:

Melrose Catering: $9 per pax
No GST, $30 delivery

MENU
SinChow Bee Hoon / Yangzhou Fried Rice (choose 1)
Curry Chicken with Potato
Lemon Fish with Tartar Dip
Sweet & Sour Pork
Assorted Mixed Vegetables
Nonya Sambal Prawn
Otak Otak / Salad Yu Tiao (choose 1)
Chicken Wings
Har Kau / Siew Mai / Fish Balls (choose 1)
Sago Honeydew
Fruit Punch

Comment: MIL catered from Melrose before. The review was good - portions alot for mini buffet and food quality was good value for $$.

Total: $9 x 30 (min pax) = $270 + $30 delivery + $20 rm charge = $320

Some mommies did not confirm with me yet whether their hb/maid coming. I will place orders for min 30 pax first.

If you all dun mind, I will also unilaterally make the food choice, unless someone feel strongly abt a certain dish (do let me know by PM).

Finally, to make things simple, can I request that those coming to transfer $10 per pax to me first?

DBS Savings Plus 029-7-058683

Pls PM, email or sms me when done ok? cos this thread moves so fast, I can't catch up if I go away for meeting.

bkk...
i open half a jar of (Gerber) applesauce and put the puffs inside (the pigeon food dish that comes with the food warmer). then i put the dish into the warmer and let it heat up abit.....stir stir so that everything gets part of the applesauce.

then after about less than 5 minutes, it's soft liao.

(i'm damn lazy-hassle-free person. but now that my hubby has FINALLY SUCCESSFULLY helped to bath baby on his own...maybe i have more time to do some nicer makan for baby!)

lezy
ooh ok thanks!

jeannie
hey i didn't see your msg abt my blog, only just saw it when i was clearing my emails.. anyway godzilla is my nephew, he comes to my (actually ILs, since i live w them) place every day. he is 18 months and v boisterous, to say the least. since 1 yr he can already "scold" people - i m v apprehensive abt having #2 bb so soon becos of him!!! E is v curious abt him but v often will also cry because godzilla screams and shrieks a lot. aiyo..

jass. thanks. i think bathing baby is quite a lovely experience - esp cuz ruth loves her bathtime. it is part n parcel of having a baby and caring for him/her.

i tell him he should not miss out on such experiences. that doesn't mean i dun do anything. just means that we can now share the load.

but dunno how long it will last. the last time i complimented him on 'successfully' clearing poop on his own (cuz i had to work late and he had no choice!), he never quite cleared poop again.

But he enjoys holding her on the potty.

BTW...share with you all. i haven't put her on bumbo for long time. yesterday put her in, she immediately poop (in her diapers of course).

my hubby say jialat..she so used to potty now that sit in bumbo (which is also about 'sunken in' like potty) will maybe signal to her that it's poop time!

with regards to orange food (pumpkin, carrot..), please don't give more than 2 meals each week for our babies. That's what my fren's pd recommends after he saw that the palm of her bb is slightly orangy.

Iso..thanks..i'm also trying to read now. i dunno if i'll be able to manage ruth if put her behind alone with nobody. i have yet to try going out with her alone with me driving. that's why i thought of putting her in front.

(my car only 1 airbag - for driver - so i'm cleared of the airbag consideration. but well..see how...thanks!!)

lezy..actually that day you at jeannie's you were asking me whether i drive with bb E alone, when i was still using his infant carrier, a couple of times i put him in the front, cos sooo much easier, can make sure his pacifier is in, and he can see me. not good but made my life easier, haha.

but now we've switched to the older child seats so i think he can see me so he's q ok. but sometimes he still looses the paci, so i think i should clip it to him. i can JUST about reach back and pop it into his mouth from the driver's seat, but i'm careful to keep distance from the car in front or put the car in N and not D in case it moves forward! hee..

jass,
my blender "jiao3 bu4 dao4" the spinach. i think i put too little inside the blender. so all just remain stuck under the blades.

re: sweet potato puree.
so must add water. no wonder mine like a ball of plasticine.

bx:
hee i everything oso add abit of water one. coz mine is normal blender (jug), hence can only blend wet stuff. some too dry will get stuck. like i do pear puree.. cot pear got a lot of water liao, i add very little water so the chunks get stuck very easily. so just add more water / FM to thin the portion. and tats y i freeze. coz too small amt hard to blend w my blender.

Hi Andrea,

Sorry for the delay. Here it is. By the way, it's selling for S$59 and the food jar is 1.2 litres while the water flask is 0.35 litres.

1773727.jpg

qingling,

re orange coloured food

if not more than 2 meals per week, then wat else can we give ah? taking into account our babies (for example) take 2 meals each day, tat means 14 meals per week.. I run out of ideas on veggies to give le...

RE : Orange coloured root vegetables

I give once a day every other day. I think as long as not a lot should be okay? I don't think sweet potato has beta carotene. It should be pumpkin, carrots, squash. But sweet potato also cannot give a lot or will have diarrhoea. :p

Hi Esther,

Can still give brocolli, spinach, cabbage, turnips, potatoes, onions.

RE : storage of vegetables

For green leafy vegetables, I normally soak them in water so that they look fresh before putting back into the plastic it came with to store into the vegetable compartment of my fridge.

For others, I normally buy on the day I want to cook and the rest I puree and freeze.

artemis

just paid. pls check and confirm. thanks! do also let me know how to self- collect

08 Oct 2008 07:31 PM Singapore

Your transaction is completed.
You may wish to print out a copy of this confirmation for your reference.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 artemis
Amount S$11.74
Transaction Reference 1922509420

Bx, jeannie, I just tried ordering from Ralph Lauren using BDL recently. Total amount about USD200. Hope I don't kenna gst.

ABC, I put both billing and shipping address as BDL address, correct or not ah? :p Love the design & portability of Medela Freestyle pump, how come never see it before? :p When I have another one, will sell away my Medela PIS and mini electric plus and get that.

Artemis, I have the Taka brochure too, thought it's only a water jug, is it the food jar that we can use to cook?

Isobellies, loot from your hubby's spree?
Don't sell lar, each one represent a 'xin yi' from him leh. ;) By the way, I called your hubby's dental clinic but they said they don't have endodontist, gave me a number to call but that dentist too far away, in Camden. Went to a Tampines dental clinic and they gave me referral letter to a endontist in wheelock place but until now, still can't fit me into for appt. Slow man!

kitsune
haha ya loh. but these 2 really not my style leh, so i finally got his approval to sell them
better than just sitting in my house.. the guy at camden is a really funny guy, he's the most entertaining dentist i've ever met, but think he's q fully booked also..

btw i kpo and went to google medela freestyle since i've never heard of it either. so nice! i also want :p

Iso, ya they are all very full cos end of the year liao, everyone rushing to use up dental benefit. Not like me, one consultation, one xray, benefit gone liao. Sometimes, teeth so painful, got to take 2 panadol before can sleep. But I really "bu she de" to extract molar.

Hehe, coach bag, can't help you. I just saw their new Madison collection, very pretty, but some Coach bags very heavy, I'm reluctant to buy unless I'm sure I can handle it. Still got a coach bag in 'cold storage'. Waste money! :p

Artemis

Healthy Times BP
Is is too late to place my order now? If not, I would like to place the following.... else nevermind.

Teddy Puffs Apple/Cinnamon Cereal (5.95)
Hugga Bear Honey Graham Cookies (5.61)
Hugga Bear Cinnamon Cookies (5.61)
Vanilla Arrowroot Cookies (4.76)
Vanilla Teethers (4.76)
Total: 26.69

kitsune...i use the healthy times apple cinnamon puffs. but have to soak for a few minutes minimum on heat - cuz they are quite tough.

i tried giving her direct before.....but it took her very very long to eat them...cuz she need to 'suck on them' for quite some time before she can swallow.

re: hubby bathing baby
i thought it would never happen!!!

Haha, I know what you mean. My hubby considered quite 'zi dong' but also took him relatively long to bath for baby alone cos had me and MIL to do it when I was on ML.

We don't dare to give biscuit to bb. Tried giving heinz biscuit but she'll bite and all will crumble. Afraid she'll choke on the parts. We'll try to dig the big parts out of her but she'll complain. End up nowadays we break into very small crumbs then feed her.

I have the pigeon bottle warmer too but it has never been used. Will try your method then. Not keen to sell it cos don't think can get a good price for it. Where to buy HT apple puffs? :p

Hi kitsune,

I am not sure if it can cook but I use it to keep Danica's porridge warm. I believe sunny was the one who said it can be used to cook porridge. It's number 6 on the Tiger page.

Hi emoments,

I actually ordered already. Will try to squeeze in for you if I'm free tomorrow.

Danica is having high fever. Just now at PD hit 39.4 degrees and she was all quiet and obedient (so unlike her). Taking her temperature every hour now.

kitsune...i dunno i hardly see the apple puffs except at selected 'premium' places i think.

i bought through the HT BP that artemis is coordinating.

ARTEMIS!! Oh dear...hope danica gets well soon! must sayang her a lot now. poor thing. when ruth fell sick, she ate less, drank less, slept less. very mild-mannered and sian sian. lost weight too..

now she's put it all back though - face getting rounder my hubby says.

Artemis,
Sorry... transfered only now... here's the detail.

To Account: POSB Savings 109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount: S$11.74
Transaction Reference: 1922943208

artemis
oh wow, so high! poor girl!! how did she get the fever?

kitsune
i saw also, i so tempted to buy, haha. but i only buy the fabric ones, otherwise so heavy! esp now w baby, already breaking my back.. i like the new range cos those got tote handles as well as can sling across, convenient if u have baby to lug around!

Artemis,
So high... Is it some virus attack?

Tiger food jar,
Saw the Tiger food jar on offer the other day at Taka. I wanna get one but the sales lady told me the food jar on offer is another type not the one in the pic... ended up I just bought a bigger water flask... Actually hor... which type of Tiger food jar is better? Saw quite a few diff model there...

Poor Danica, hope her fever subsides soon. Must be very tiring for you and hubby. Should take turns to rest. If not, will be drained tomorrow morning.

Lezy, I see, guess I missed the boat then unless Artemis is willing to squeeze in my order. If yes, I'll buy 1 pack to try.

Iso, I like the side sling, that's why like this series. haha.