(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute / jeannie / bx:
er... little jet plan selling @ $12 per tray. cheaper. try sms her. i email her but it takes ages (a few days) for her to get back. sms she will reply like within a day.

artemis:
er.. wat is freeze burn? i sometimes put in sandwich bag then tie a knot leh... can or not huh? so far bb eats everything leh.

re: bb cubes:
hm... actually hor, the ones artemis got is really cheap. think can consider wor.

jass mei
wah, 3 months! that's good.. i freeze mostly in case no time to make fresh.

the little jet plane cubes are really good because you can microwave them or put them in hot water to heat up. i would think that using a normal ice cube tray would be more messy and harder to take out and heat?

artemis,

for HT cereals:
To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$29.35
Transaction Reference 1921927239

isobellies
once freeze u jus take them out like ice. U jus take the number of cube u wan and put into another container to microwave

Artemis, are the brightlings toys here yet?

FREEZING:
how to know if tupperware can 'tahan' freezing? i got a lot of tupperware (various brands from lock n lock to tupperware to cheapo $2 daiso ones).

The Daiso ones have some moulded instructions usually in Jap but they state the temperature range the container can 'tahan'.

sigh. u all really very hardworking. i haven't pureed a finger for ruth yet - weekend i just feed her jar food/cereal/milk. Sometimes iwill take those jar applesauce, 'soak' her cereal puffs inside n put in the Pigeon food warmer until the puffs are soggy. she loves it.

The pigeon food warmer is really useful. I never thought i would say this. heh. I'm skeptical to microwave cuz scared the nutrients will be gone.

ABC
oic. i still find the food cubes more convenient

lezy
what kind of cereal puffs? sounds interesting! and applesauce is the one specifically for baby?

i love the microwave man, so fast. the food warmers take forever :D

jeannie,
jass just sms me the contact no of the littlejetplane lady. u want me to order?

gar,
u there? how many u want? hopefully can get in time for the playdate at bkk's.

the wan artemis mentioned is good. i have one something like that. but i thought i can get individual cubes so that i can heat up straightaway.

today will go buy some freezer safe containers and ziplocs

oops... i got no microwave at home.. time to get one!!

Artemis.. actually how do i noe how much is the shipping?? if i order US 250 worth of stuff then = to sin 400 already leh.. even before shipping added.. so i must must give how much allowance to shipping?

bx: hmm... i actually bought the 2oz one from 1 of the bp recently. then saw littlejetplan sells the cubes in 1oz. so was thinking if need the smaller capacity one. or should i get one more 2oz one. ;p

i fed nicole pumpkin puree (her 1st puree) and started her on spinach puree this week. she totally not interested in the spinach puree.... when we fed the pumpkin puree, she was like gulping down...

i should hv fed her the spinach puree 1st, cos the pumpkin one is really good !! heehee

nowadays bbs so smart... sigh...

sure.. bx.. can help me order 1 2 oz.. wnana try .. but think i go and get some cheaper variations too...

can we microwave tupperware?

sigh.. i think i need to get a mircowave first lor..

jeannie,
ok. i wait awhile more to see if garfield wants to tompang the order.

re: spinach puree
din manage to do it successfully. i can't seem to blend it properly. anyone knows the steps to do it?

sweet potato puree
i oso din manage to blend it. once blended, it came like a plasticine. very sticky. anyone has this experience? do u boil or steam it?

Hi qingling,

Yes, the desitin creams have arrived.

Hi crystal,

If I'm not wrong, the 4 times only applies to storage of EBM. So I am using those extra that I have used more than 4 times for EBM.

bx
spinach u got to steam then blend

sweetpotato
add water when blend. May hv small lump but so long is small is ok.

Will heating up via microwave causes lose in nutrients?

tupperware can microwave. In fact a lot of bb utensil now can be microwaved

crystal,
the avent cups i oso use them to heat up purees now. also use to store my bb's soup stock, biscuits etc. very handy. last time when i store ebm i oso used many times before i recycle them for storage purpose.

anyway i saw that the latest ones from Philips - Avent state that can use until signs of wear and tear instead of the previous "discard after 4x".

Hi jeannie,

I forgot to take into account that the US exhange rate go up. Like that I think US$220 is maximum purchase value. Should try to leave about S$100 for international shipping charge. If really light items, S$80 sometimes okay. You may want to check out the rate from xe.com before deciding.

RE : Spinach Puree

Danica doesn't really like the taste of spinach alone so I puree with potatoes. I steam the potatoes and spinach then just blend.

RE : Sweet potato puree

I normally steam then add in a bit of the water from the steamer to the container before blending. I will continue to add water until I get the consistency I want.

re: sprees
my hb just signed up for dunno which bank credit card then get an account with BDL. but we r so clueless how to go about doing it.

anyone of u make frequent purchases on ur own instead of organising sprees? i wanna learn from u?

bx
me lor. hahhaa... when merchant ask u for address jus gv them BDL address. I am jus abt to get things from gap and ON cos free shipping.

bx
depends. If after steam still hard then i dun include the stem. If not i will include

Hi jeannie,

Go wet market can ask the vegetable seller to cut out a slice for you. You only need to specify for baby. Sometimes, NTUC also cuts up pumpkin slices for sale.

thanks abc and artemis for ur tips on pureeing spinach and aweet potato

abc,
u usually spend how much at gap/ON? it is free domestic shipping right? international shipping charges depends on the parcel size/weight? usually estimate how much shipping charges u incur?

abc.. where got free shipping?? ON?? u always use BDL har?? why not vpost har?

i doing my own spree for my colleagues now.. anyone wanna join?? this is my 1st time doing.. so unless u dun mind to take risk..dun dare to ask u all cause too many spree queens here paiseh.. :p

now i reaches US 180 liao.. think will do spree 2.

Artemies.. really thank you for the info.. super helpful.

i receive email got freeshipping is spend US$75 but then now i hv abt $90 stuff but duno why they say not enuff. ANyone has the same email? BDL cheaper ley. No base charge. Now i knw another promo is spend $150 then got free shipping. I got $90 liao. Nd $60 more. Anyone wan combine? heehe...code OCT150. Until 16 oct only.

Btw who has the newletter abt the SHIP2YOU for free shpping on US$75 har? can enlighten me? I get from both gap and ON

wah this online shopping thing getting chim for me to digest. i really sua ku wan...

abc, later i free i go take a look see if i got anything to buy from ON/gap. yesterday just joined another overseas spree to buy clothes for my bb.

Hi ABCs' mummy,

US$75 must all be from OldNavy.com to qualify.

RE : Spinach puree

According to the vegetable seller auntie, the stalk only fibre while the vitamins in the leaves. Plus, the stalk contributes to its strong taste more than the leaves so she taught me to remove all stalk, even the hard part on the leaves.

wah.. bx.. u are one shopping queen too.. i am trying to control til i go us next yr.. and also i want a boy next time.. so all the clothes will be wasted.. so have to control a bit liao

Hi, bkkgal
Yah, confirm hb n bb will also come. Transfer money to you tonight.

Garfield + hb + bb
Dor + bb
Mrs Loh + bb + hb (hb-kiv)
Jeannie + hb + bb
Artemis + hb + bb + maid
Xiaoyun + hb + bb
crystal + bb
abcdisney + 2 kiddos + maid (kiv)
bx + hb + bb
happymum2b + #1 + bb + maid (kiv)
emoments + bb
tute + hb + bb
blueginger+bb+hb?
eliaw+bb+maid?
snowbelle+hb+bb
leila+bb+hb?
tubao+bb+hb
vine_gal+bb+hb?
June+bb

Hi lezy,

They just arrived at Borderlinx. But I think the shipping charge will be significant cause the volumetric weight is 20kg!!!
Not sure why they used such a big box.

jeannie
go ahead. Of which mean i cannot use the US$75 code liao. Sigh.. now i nd $60 more. If not prob jus save $ dun buy liao. hahaha...

Oh btw forgot to add.. if u r into nice nursing tops head down to suntec cloud9. They hving closing down sales and their clothes are really cheap at only $10-15 each. Pants n skirt all 50% off even the dress./ Personally i boguth 3 tops and a skirt

RE : Healthy Times BP

Please check that your orders are correct and transfer the corresponding amount to my POSB Savings account: 109-37121-1 if you have not done so. I will be ordering based on Excel file so please check items and quantity and revert by 2 p.m. otherwise it will be as per the Excel file.

mime_msexcel.gif
Healthy Times BP 8 October 2008
Healthy Times BP 20081008.xls (28.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

very fast just for the past 1hr or so.

bx
you have to put the puree through a sift after that to get really smooth ones. i did that and cheryl did take it. dunno if i spell correctly, the sift is something with tiny holes, those used to separate liquids and solids. that is how is works for peas and corns too because of their shells.

i only used the leaves. did not use the stems

wah, so many posts i see until blur liao.

fresh fruit / vegetables,
i don't puree at all. just steam and mash with fork. does anyone know how long i can keep the fruit / vegetables (before steaming) in fridge?

bx,
i think you go ahead and order first. cos i don't puree stuff, not sure if the bb cubes will be white elephant or not. sorry =P

i'm crazy over the "lock&amp;lock" containers. Got quite a no at home. Hee...

Normally I would cut half of the potato and keep the other in plastic bag and put it in the veggies compartment of the fridge. I dunno if tis is the rite way anot.

There's one time i peel the all potato skin but i oni half of the potato. So i put the remainder in the container and keep in fridge. The next time the potato was still fresh. Din oxidize or turn brown.

crystal,

hw do u keep the veggies? cos bb oni eat little, so i do the traditional way is 2 put them in plastic bag &amp; put in the veggies compartment. is it correct?

most pple do tat rite? but is it the best way? last time single, dun care hw the veggies is being preserved. nw got bb liao, hv 2 think of her nutrition intake.

Nw i store the spinach in the freezer 2 reduce the nitrates forming.

jeannie:

pumpkin puree
oh i bought those pre-cut &amp; wrapped ones from 1 of the organic shop near my office. abt 1/4 of the whole pumpkin. can last for a week.

the organic shop near my office is going to shift to cuppage plaza... now dunno where to get the vege/fruits..

am thinking of making sweet potato puree next!

my gal actual spit the spinach puree out... i tasted it myself... err... its very leafy taste.. hahaha

bx:
the ljp not so fast. think will not be able to make it for sat playdate. probably all in all takes abt 1 week.

jeannie:
pumpkin can buy cut ones from market or ntuc

btw, not every tupperware can microwave. need to make sure its able to microwave-able wor. coz plastic ma...

bx:
for pumpkin, i either steam / bake / boil. its very starchy. need to thin it with water or milk. same w other starchy food like potato / sweet potato.
what do you mean when you say you are not able to blend it properly? i wash, cut and steam (stems and leaves) then blend tog w some water.

jeannie:
sweet potato queen, can i ask you which type of sweet potato has purple flesh huh? how to fidn those? tot of letting matthew try purple ones hee~ which type of sweet potato is nicer? did you mention the japanese sweet potato - the purplish skin &amp; yellow flesh?

crystal:
when you use a sift hor... the puree that you get will it be too watery? i find my very watery leh.. more like juice, so end up i pour everything back and just blend longer haa~