(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeannie:
haha nowadays matthew's fave game is chasing the milk bottle
he is still creeping ard leh, he seems to lazy to learn to crawl proper as he still gets to where he wanna goes. we wear socks for him as and when, then he will push himself using his hands.

ya.. today v quiet... missed all the bb.. looking forward to the next play grp.

isobellies, thanks for the contact. None of the branches in the east, but will call and check.

Gar, called Borders, the book is $77.95 but must go down to the store and put $15 deposit before they will order for me. So mafan. :/

yeah... tong tong u are so lucky, no need to do hand over haha~ now can relax and be SAHM for a while. when are u starting work?

jass.. same here.. i also miss seeing all the babies.. think they must have grown quite a bit.. gwen weighed more now.. abt 7.5 kg.. so happy.. she seemed to have grown taller too.

I think babies also a bit lazy.. they noe how to find easy way out..

wah.. bring her to botanic gardens.. i stay quite near but seldom go.. brought her once there where she was 1 months plus old.. wow.. that seemed to be a long time man..

jeannie:
my matthew becomes thinner liao. cannot even see his san chen rou when bathing liao~ haha relaised i have not increase his cereal amt since 6 mths. think will increase this week haha~ wanna join us tm? i'm going w my hubby & matt's god ma w her bf. hehe~ i have nv been to botanical garden in my life...

cheryl.. SAME!!! Gwen started calling papa.. and baba.. abt 1 month plus ago.. only occassionally she says mama.... now she also say.. gege..gaga..eee.. and all sorts..She is a "naggy" ger.. like to talk not keen in moving though..

i thinking of bringing her swimming at my SIL place..

Wah.. u sure or not??? actually its not surprising i wouldnt have gone there if i dunno my hubby.. used to go running there... sigh time to start running soon!!!

hey.. u must increase for Matt leh.. boys need more energy.. i think somemore he can crawl liao.

My ger actually not fat.. biut she got chubby face.. hehe.. all e rest of her body quite slim.. but got the Pui pui face and "pinchable + edible" cheeks. My hubby always "eat" her cheeks!!

jeannie: hahah aunt do massage. not bad leh. hahah but dbs card got promo leh... 1 hr massage + 20min heat rub $138 for 2 pax

RE : diapers.com.sg

In order to prevent Danica from having potential naked butt problem, I will be ordering the items today. Please update if you want to get anything.

1. GOO.N Premium Diapers M44 - 1 pack (bkkgal)
2. Cooling Gel Sheet Box 12 - 1 pack (Xiao Yun)
3. cooling gel sheet box 12 - 1 pack (crystal)

re: pampers active sales alert

last sun, i bought 2 packs of Pampers active (M size, 68pcs per pack) @ $45.95 from NTUC..
think this price is v comparable to the previous sales at Giant..
din buy much tis time as i still hv a few cartons from my last purchase during Giant sales..

re: healthy times
fairprice xtra has quite a bit of Barley cereal.

thankful,
noted.

tongtong,
so, how long are you going to stay in malaysia this time round? 1 month until you start work?

re: nepia
2 packets for $28.95

re: apricot
anyone knows how to prepare apricot for baby? btw, i bought the dried kind - organic one w/o preservative.

re: avocado
do you know if i can freeze the avocado puree?
must add milk? will it turn brown after freeze?

re: flaxseed
i bought a packet of flaxseed, would like to let my gal have it when she's 8 month.
how much should i give each time?
if i grind it and add into cereal/porridge, will it give her the 'sua sua' texture?

re: bb calling papa
my gal call da da da....

re: porridge
my MIL prepared porridge with stock from sweet corn, carrot, onion, and lean meat.
after that add fish for taste.
bb doesn't like it.
i think she's picky about the texture rather than the taste.

re: avocado
found the answer for myself.

<font color="0000ff">Freezing Avocados:
I would always freeze in avocado in slices and then take out a slice, mash it up and then serve. The browning seemed to be less than when I mashed/pureed it!

xy: yea, will stay in KL for 1 mth till i start work.

xy: i think wholesomebbwebsite stated how to freeze avocado.. as for flaxseed, max 1 tablespoon or 3 teaspoon per day. cannt give too much. not sure about the sua sua texture lei, cuz i going to oil instead of flaxseed meal.

carrie picky abt the texture, ie the porridge must be smooth smooth?

xy: the cereal and CB item here already? when can my hubby collect from u? i paid u the shipping fee for all already hor?

xy:
not sure abt apricot thou... but for raisin hor its to --> plump them by letting them sit briefly in a hot liquid to soften, and then cutting them up

its so quiet here today... have u gers all gone home?

jass/tongtong,
thanks for the info on flaxseed, avocado, and apricot.
found the method of cooking dried apricot from wholesomebabyfood also - the method that jass mentioned.

tongtong,
cereal is here. but CB stuffs not here yet. collect next Monday for the cereal, can?

i'm here too!!

just went to ntuc to buy spinach, tofu, carrot for preparing porridge tomorrow

anyone can advise how to add spinach to porridge?

bx
i add it to the cereal. porridge i din put so much ingredients like you ladies. this week cheryl's porridge is threadfin and carrots as the stock. she is still taking in the porridge only not the ingredients.

purees i usually add into the cereals. cuz my mom don like the idea of putting frozen-then-thaw purees into her fresh warm porridge. but somehow she is okay with putting into the cereals??? LOL

bx:
undertsand fr xy tat: it's not inadvisable to be eaten with beancurd. These two eaten together will make people lack of calcium. so, just avoid cooking tofu and spinach at the same time. once the oxalic acid (in spinach) is broken down, no problem to eat it together with food with calcium

re:feeding
i got to battle with my son when feeding him solid! he cant sit still and eat. must play something . if his hand is empty, he will be frustrated. anyone having same problem?

tong
i got the same prob. and when you give her something to play, straightaway she will put it in her mouth and smear with the food. after smearing with food, she will happily throw it on the floor. haiz. i'm just patiently waiting for her to start wanting to feed herself.

tongtong,
same problem here...we always play sth on tv e.g.baby einstein vcd or sesame street or some kids music video to distract him or give him some toys...he'll get grumpy when he sit in the high chair for too long (and it is a long process to complete his feed)

Hi tongtong,

Danica will only sit still if the food is to her taste. If not, she will throw tantrum by crying and arching back in the Bumbo seat.

ya also got same problem with sitting still, my bb also wants to put toys into his mouth, but sometimes i am fast enough to shove the spoon in before that, haha!

freezing avocado
mine still seems to turn brown (just slice only, not puree/mash yet), but maybe i left it too long before freezing it... maybe will try again

bx/crystal ok thanks! maybe will try corn next

kitsune :D

iso,

you may wish to take note of this:

"During the first year of baby's life, it is very important that baby receive all the nutrients possible. Corn really has very little nutritive value. It is comprised mostly of starchy carbs. and is considered an "empty" calorie food for the most part. Waiting to introduce corn in favor of a more nutrient dense food may be a better option. Yet another reason to hold off on corn is that it is particularly difficult to digest and as we all know, it tends to pass through the system in the same form that it went into the system. "