(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: spinach
bx,
jass already answered for me regarding the tofu part.
thanks, jass..

i steam, puree then add in cereal. my gal doesn't like it. not sure what's the problem. will try again by just puree it and add milk to the consistency she likes.

re: avocado
iso, really still turn brown ah?
i just throw slices from 2 avocados into freezer leh.
bought the bright green color one last monday, and it turned brown and soft today. so, got to think of a way to preserve it.

xiao yun,
i tried putting avocados and putting lemon juice on it b4 putting into freezer, still turns brown and tastes not as good. So, what i do now is i cut up the avocado into half, scoop half out for my son's immediate consumption and the bal half (with pit and skin), i leave it in a airtight container in the fridge for consumption the nxt day. i find that it tastes and looks better.

btw, jus curious, u put spinach into ur bb's cereal?

iso,
i cook celery with porridge. When it's cooked, celery is pretty soft and i notice my son is able to grind it down like he does with his carrot bits.

happy first children's day to all babies tmr ! :>

hi lezy,

thanks for passing to my hb the hairclip,hehe,my bb's children's day present :p

leila,
i tried soaking sliced avocados in water with lime juice and put in fridge. it still turn a bit brown. taste wise is the same to me. but i need to keep it for longer period of time. hence, i tried to freeze it.

and yes, i put spinach into cereal. in fact, i throw whatever i want to let bb try into cereal. not a big rojak. but 1-2 ingredients each time. :p
this is what i did for my own porridge too. throw everything inside. and my hb said i am cooking porridge for dog. :D

hi Mummies,

I have the following NEW books for sale.
Great ideas for feeding your babies.

1754527.jpg

1)Title: First Foods: Expert Advice and Easy Recipes by Dieticians for Parents of 6-24 month olds
Author(s) Samantha Thiessen, Pauline Chan, Anna Jacob, Janie Chua, Wong Yuefen

Usual Price: $27.85 , Selling: $22

1754528.jpg

2) Title : Feed Your Child Right: The First Complete Nutrition Guide for Asian Parents (Revised Edition)
Author(s) Lynn Alexander, Yeong Boon Yee

Usual Price: $37.45, Selling: $30

Bundle: $50 for both books.

Text 96510417 or PM me if interested.

Self collect.
Pick up point:
Weekdays: Outram to Serangoon MRT stations, Redhill to Clementi MRT Stations
Weekends: Punggol or Sengkang

leila
ok i'll try!

XY, yah that one slice (even got skin still left on it since it's one end of the avocado) still turn brown, i will try again
yours turning brown, u mean the unopened skin? thanks for the info on the corn!

esther, were u the one asking about organic pasta? i just bought bellamy's from cold storage, the ones for bb 8months+, they having an offer. think i will keep it for when he's a bit older though.

thanks xiaoyun and jass for answering the tofu & spinach question.

jass,
ya, let's hope the weather will be fine today. me bringing ashlynn to cycling. inspired by u and jeannie

enjoy ya picnic!

Morning mummies, Happy Holidays!

Iso,

Not me. But appreciate the info. Guess will try pasta when my bb turn older 2.

My bb sitter been giving my bb "guo diao", mee suan on and off. Jz 2 let her try bit.

Bx,

u bringing ur bb 2 cycling? Err... Hw ah? I'm curious.. Maybe i can try next time. Hee...

any mummies have those 2 weaning books that the girl is selling? wondering if they're good, i think i've seen them at border's before.

i just bought some baby yoghurt (baby yoplait) for E yesterday, will try and feed him some today

jeannie
now i know why u always log in, cos your computer at home in such a convenient location, haha!

esther
mee sua? wah interesting!

jass & westie mummies
my place there got an organic store, just bought my HT barley cereal from there if you can't find it anywhere else
it's $6.90 but i always go there to look see or ask about things so the lady give me at $6.55, not bad hor! not as good as BP but more convenient

www.simplicity-living.com.sg

HAPPY CHILDRENS' DAY !

baby cheryl just slept. heehee. went to amk hub ntuc to grab pampers active and some pigeon wet wipes. for pampers active L is $45.95 for 2packs. each pack is 60pcs. XL is $45.95 for 3packs. each pack is 34pcs. so i happily grab 6packs of XL active. piegon wet wipes is $9.85 for pack of 3. there are alot more things on sale cuz it's the baby fair for the ntuc.

by the way, i have some enquiries. hope some mummies can help me.
some mummies from other thread advise not to give too much carrots because there might be an overdose of beta-carotene which is not good for the liver and might cause damage. but i always (or almost everyday) uses carrots though organic ones as the stock for cheryl's porriage lei. she is not taking the carrot physically but only the 'jing hua'. is this considered giving too much which might cause harm? any mummies use carrots everyday too or most of the time ?

iso n xy,

may i knw why u ladies don't feed more of the avocado to ur bbs instead of freezing it?? wonder is it detrimental to bb's health if i do??

tongtong
is it because shaun is not hungry yet? i am quite lucky that both of my kids behave quite well during meal time i.e. can sit still until they finish their meals most of the time. though they will get distracted but they still can finish the food quite fast.

if they are not concentrating on taking the food, i will keep the food away after a few attempts of feeding and try later.

A mummy shared her experience in one of the TV programmes b4. she said she would keep the food away until the next meal if her kids did not concentrate on eating. she would really let the kids get no food/snacks till the next meal, regardless of whether their kids get hungry 'cos she does not want to let her kids develop a habit of having snacks more than the main meal. 'cos some kids will snack a lot but eat very little during main meal. but, i think our bb is still too small to try this strategy lah.

i am against in switching TV programme or any shows during meal time to let the kids sit still 'cos if the kids eat while watching TV, it will affect their digestive ability meaning it's not good for the system and they can't fully absorb the nutrient. same as adult.

crystal
is there any reason that you give carrot to your gal everyday? 'cos of the taste or nutrient that you want to let your gal have? To me, nutrient is more important than the taste. So, I try to give more variety of food which are suitable for them to take at their age.
for the overdose of beta-carotene... can't help you much, i think it's better to check with the doctor.

xy,
on ur comment on corn, do u mind me asking ur opinion on which foods have more nutritious value for bbs now till 1 yr old? cos' i notice i get "tired" of cooking the same stuffs for bb over n over again that i end up try g to intro more n more different foods that r 'acceptable' to bb's age gp.

porridge - wow, all mummies cooking yummy porridge. i just throw in all things into the slow cooker.. seems like not very tasty ya..i better try to make some stock for porridge on weekends too.

porridge recipe - please share your recipes. already am running out of varities :p

shanyao - is this shaped like a branch/stick that is sold in the market?

sunny
it's because of both taste and nutrients i think. i once used pumpkin for her stock and she dislikes it so much. so i used back carrot and she is taking it so happily. carrot is just one of the ingredients i use for the stock. i do give her a variety as well but just that carrot is definitely one of it. so i just worry

Morning ladies.

Sunny,

I agree wif ur stand on NO TV, & food later if they appear not hungry. I tries 2 "create" fun & relaxed meal time 4 my bb. So far, my gal is well behaved during meal times 2.

I din really prepare stock lately. As I realized, the taste of the original veggies in the porridge is very nice and yummy. Esp I started to steam as per some of the mummies do here. Steaming really can bring out the flavor of the veggies. Nice! Nice!

Crystal,

U can try to steam pumpkin and add 2 the porridge. It will be tasty and sweet. I tried sweet potato porridge the other day. Sweet too. My gal loves both porridges.

I tried 2 mk the small "silver" fish stock 4 the porridge, then mashed pumpkin (after steam) into the porridge. Well, the taste is not sweet as compared to pumpkin porridge alone (meaning no stock preparation at all).

Amazon Spree #4 - Payment

Could the following mummies make payment to my POSB Savings account 032-73860-5 and PM me your payment details? Thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td>Crystal</TD><TD>59.27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leila</TD><TD>41.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tu Bao</TD><TD>70.88 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Crystal, you can add another SG$4.04 to the amount above (for the munchkin feeder) so total is SG$63.31)

leila:
maybe u can mix and match? esp those items which your bb has tried before. for me, i'll keep track of food bb has eaten before than mix

eg:

Fruit:
Orange, Apple, Banana, Mango, Peach, Plum, Prune, Rambutan, Durian, Pear, Grapes

Food (puree / mashed):
Carrot, Spinach, Heng Cai (Chinese Spinach), Yam, Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, Potato, Pea, Cabbage, Broccoli

Soup base for porridge / rice powder:
Pork, Chicken, Ikan bilis powder, Cabbage, Celery, Water Cress, Corn

sunny:
me too. for me its a No-No for toys / TV / running (or rather cawling abt) abt @ meal times. and no toys during tv hours / bathing hours. only 1 thing @ a time... wonder if next time he can multi task... haha~

isobellies jie:
i have got a book on bb weaning recipe... but they are all ang moh recipe like erm... no porridge.. but its v potato / sweet potate / yam based. basically, its to combine those veg they suggest and cook w FM. nothing ma i find hee~

does Ethan likes the yogurt?

crystal:
maybe u can try other base for stock like add ikan bilis / yam / potato / sweet potato / cabbage / corn? all these taste quite nice too. maybe u can add carrot w other veg when u cook so tat the amt u used is not so much?

bx:
haha how was your cycling trip? ashlynn enjoy it?

leila:
think its ok to give more avocado, but since i give it as a snack in between meals, i will not give so much lah, so will have extras to keep.

jass
the amount of carrot i used is only two small sticks. cuz organic baby carrots comes in very small portion. wont affect so much right cuz it's only 2 small sticks? sighs

so how was your pinic on sat ?

crystal:
the picnic was fun... heheh matt was trying to 'climb' up and down the slope as we were at a spot where the ground is sloping hee~ 1st time to botanic gardens for matthew, hubby and me. cery crowded wor.

crystal,
sorry paiseh...it's vine gal hahahah.....sorry. cos your nick and her name same. confused!!!

Amazon Spree #4 - Payment

<table border=1><tr><td>Vine Gal</TD><TD>59.27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leila</TD><TD>41.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tu Bao</TD><TD>70.88 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

jass
ya ang moh ones a bit different from what we feed our bbs, so one of the books looks q interesting cos got local (or asian?) authors.

crystal
not just bbs, but adults also can have overdose on carrots. there's also some advice against carrots too early on www.wholesomebabyfoods.com

leila
i find one avocado is too much for 2 feeds even, so prefer to keep it. i haven't tried cutting avocado in the morning and keeping in fridge till afternoon so not sure if that would make it brown also..

all u mommies very li hai le...started cooking porridge PLUS cook with stock somemore

my boy still having cereals as i no time to cook yet, but hope to start soon. Does anyone cook porridge without throwing in the veg? e.g can i puree spinach separately and only add into the porridge only when feeding time? thinking that should not cook veg for too long, in case nutrients reduced?

advice pls?

yanyen:
i cook rice powder... then when its almost done, i'll add in the puree. coz i freeze puree in batches and use them when i need

For avocado, how ur prepared the puree? do we hav to stim/cook? How u choose the avocado as well?
Heard that it is easily turn brown/ or oxidised, so hav to feed baby once prepared.

hi andrea,
yes, it was nice meeting u &amp; hillary..

hillary is so sweet, kept smiling..
can i mms u the pic we took yest to the local hp # ? or u wan me to email u ?
r the stuff correct ? hope hillary can still fit in the clothes.. lol

isobellies jie:
i think it will turn brown if u dun freeze asap wor. coz i used avocado when i wrap sushi long long ago... it turned brown when i put in fridge. not sure if tats the natural process / is it tat fridge is not cold enough.

qoo san:
no need to steam / cook. can give fresh , just mash can liao

i will choose those bumpy green ones if i dun wanna give immediate.. wait fot them to turn brown and soft then its ripe liao. ya.. like banana, need to feed asap.

jass,
okie, cos the other time i bot 3 avocado, all turn black when i cut open, i aso dun know is spoit already or too ripe, so throw all 3 away. vry sim tia cos avocado quite ex and my baby no chance to eat.
Will try buy one again fr her to try.

<u>Stock for porridge</u>
may I know how ur prepare the stock? Is thsi the same as the stock sold in supermarket and pple buy it for adding in steambaot soup? Isn't that unhealthy? cos too salty and wth MSG.

Hi Xiaoyun,

Have transferred to you payment for the Happy Bellies cereal + Brightlings Station.

Thanks so much!

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiao Yun
Amount S$44.85
Transaction Reference 1912244063

Hi Artemis,

Are you still doing the BP for Healthy Times? I have about $80 worth of orders, if you are organizing, I will tong pang to try to hit the $250 to qualify for 15%.

But hor, I am hopping to be able to collect during our playdate on 11Oct. do you think it's possible?

Let me know ok? thanks!

DRUGSTORE SPREE UPDATE
(Avent BPA free bottles, Munckiin feeder, Munchkin Medicator)

Thank you for all the payments. Orders placed already!

Hi Crystal,
I wasn't sure if you still wanted the Munchkin feeder. I ordered one for you, but if you dont' want it is ok I'll take over that. If you want it, please transfer SG$4.04 to me. Thanks

Do you grind the porridge before cooking? If not, how to make it fine? For me, even after 1 hour of cooking, the porridge is still not fine enough to give to baby direct. Any tips??

qoosan:
erm.. ripe avocado's flesh has a greenish a little yellow buttery look. er... sometimes when i forget abt my avocado... it will be brown till almost black. hee~ but if inside looks and smells nornal i still feed.

not the same stock. coz those got salt and msg i think. its the stock we made ourselves w ingredients like carrot, pumpkin...

garfield:
erm.. if crystal dun wanna the feeder, can i take over? its the one u put fruits into it to let bb suck and 'bite' wan rite?? coz i forget to order fr u hee~

sgwave:
you can try soaking the rice grains in water for abt 1/2 hour before cooking. 45 min for brown rice. i have not started porridge for bb, but this is wat i do when cook porridge for myself.

esther,
we rented a bike with attached baby seat in front.

re: porridge
esther, u din cook stock. u just cook plain porridge and put in steamed and mashed pumpkin izit?

jass,
aiyoh, ashlynn din enjoy. sob.. we returned the bike in less than an hour. somemore it started drizzling. after that we went shopping and she seemed happier. She prefers the aircon to the sun. like her mummy...

jass,
no prob if crystal doesn't want it i can let you have it. hope to receive the items soon so that can pass to all of you at next play date!

you know hor, last weekend no play date right? felt so quiet....think i'm "addicted" to play dates liao hehe

oh, btw, wanted to share. for mummies looking to buy child safety gates, you may want to check out the ikea one. it's white, costs $69, and best part is don't need to drill to secure (so no ugly holes in your walls!!)

i didn't have the chance to research brands / options, so there may be other good / cheaper ones. but very happy with the ikea one that i've just set up

garfield
um, i gt the fresh feeder already. you can let jass have it. i only need the medicator from you. thanks so much ! will tt you tonight as token is at home.

qoosan
not that kind of stock. it's too salty and high in MSG. what we meant by stock is boil water and add the vege to cook. then use the 'water' ie the stock to cook the porridge.

Lentils
Moms who wanna try lentils, this is the advice from a fren:

"try to get your hands on split red lentils (masoor dal). its the fastest to cook and easiest to digest. just boil in water for about 5 min until soft. u can mush further after that. can also cook it with rice to create a porridge.

another option is split mung beans without the skin (mung dal) - they're yellow in colour with the green outer bit removed. they take about 10-15 min to boil i think (i use a pressure cooker so my timings might be a bit off. basically cook till soft).

having written this tho, just remembered that proteins are suggested after 8-9 months, so u might want to wait a bit.."

cheers, bkkgal