(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re:milk intake,
Same here ! my son finishes around 500ml per day? And according to my pd that's not enough leh... she asked me to give more cereal rather than porridge coz more nutritious...anybody has the same comment from any pd? i'm a bit confused coz she say milk intake for my son should be around 750ml which is like a lot ! he never drink that much in the first place...

re: porridge/cereal,
i realised a lot of you give 3x now...i'm still giving 2x with additional 1x fruits in the afternoon....should i increase ?

jeannie:
its ok to put everything in. coz got taste ma. use stock is to let the porridge be tasty too

Who I still have not transfer funds? XiaoYun and Artemis is it? No time to track back the thread. Too fast, now too busy at work. Fighting fire now. Logging off now.

tute:
I'm also @ 2 times / day. in fact just started 2 times / day 1.5 weeks back. matthew is also taking abt 500ml of milk per day.

i think its ok coz their main diet is still milk.

Stock
when u use stock, is it the stock soup that you cook for adults' soup, with salt/soya sauce already added in it or just plain stock without anything added?

Re : Milk

I brought up the issue 2 my PD, he says it's ok 2 drop cos nw we intro solids, so naturally will drop 1 or 2 feeds (Depends on hw many solids ur bb has). I told him my bb ave per day oni drinks 450ml? or 480ml. He said no pro..

But then, being a mummy, definitely wan my bb 2 drink more cos i observe my bb's milk intake been dropping.. lowest is 60ml!

tute,

me 2. nw oni 2 porridges (sometimes cereal 4 dinner). Am tinking 2 intro morning cereal as breakfast 4 my bb.

as 4 fruits, nw i try 2 increase her fruits 2 twice a day. one in mid morning after her morning nap. the other after her afternoon nap.

bkkgal:
i used the plain soup w/o adding salt / soy / sugar / meatball / fishball. erm... hee we put a lot of ingredient and boil abt 2-3 hours. so no need to add salt / sugar / soy suace. only added meatball and stuff to make it a little saltish for adult

orh ok...i gotta teach my helper to do the same. she very "si2 pan3" one. adult food means adult food. bb food = boring, bland porridge. i even have to measure out the amt of rice to boil, how big a piece of meat to put in. every day i have to check if she's doing the right thing. yday i discovered to my horror, she gave my girl porridge from the day before!

tute,
what your PD say about cereal/porridge is something that i would like to hear.
cos this lazy mama don't bother to cook porridge for her. :p

re: porridge
seems like quite a no of u steam and mash the veg before adding to the porridge. think i will try doing that. now i just cook with the porridge and remove it when i am serving the porridge coz it's not soft enuf to be eaten.

RE : porridge

I normally buy chicken or pork bone and boil for 45 minutes. Then remove the bones and use the stock to cook porridge. I just chop all the ingredients (normally carrots, pumpkin, spinach, sweet potato, wolfberries and chicken/pork if no time to buy fresh vegetables will use frozen mixed vegetables instead :p), including rice, into small pieces and throw in to cook. Normally, another 15 minutes all done and I will pour into the Tiger food jar for later consumption.

RE : Healthy Times BP

I will be getting the updated item list and expiry dates by this Saturday. Will post it here then can start already. :p Can try to hit $250 again for the 15% discount?

today is cheryl's birthday... haha let wish her a wonderful birthday! happy 27th birthday cheryl, have lots of fun w ur vernon and hubby ok
haha ur hubby is so sweet to get u a really nice ring

RE : maid woes

Recently, my maid has been claiming that Danica doesn't want to eat her solids. Ask her why she said maybe Danica doesn't like to sit in the Bumbo seat. This morning, I asked her to feed Danica earlier. She prepared the cereal and puree and I could hear Danica start protesting. I checked the temperature of both and they were ice cold. I asked her whether she heated up the EBM and puree. She said yes. Then I asked her to show me again what she did. She totally did not take into consideration the amount of EBM and puree she was giving. As long as the container is warm, she think can already (Danica is quite picky about the temperature of her food, last time drink EBM also like that :p). By then, Danica want to sleep liao and my HB scolded her. This is not the first time this happened. ARGH!!! What must I do to drill it into her head?

cheryl,
happy birthday.
wow.. still so young...

artemis,
ya.. temperature plays a part too.
so, how to ensure that the temperature of the cereal is warm enough to feed baby through out the feeding session?

xiaoyun
i once came across this warming dish which you put warm water at the base and the food is on top of the base. so can keep the food warm during feeding.

artemis:
maybe u can tell her how long to heat up the EBM? or tat she has to swirl the bot rd and rd to test the temp.
for me i will put bb's food on a metal dish / bowl. since the food will turn cold v quickly, when it is not warm liao i will get helper to put the dish/bowl into a bowl of hot water. this will heat up the portion

<blink><font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">H</font><font color="0000ff">A</font><font color="ff6000">P</font><font color="aa00aa">P</font><font color="119911">Y</font> <font color="ff6000">B</font><font color="0000ff">I</font><font color="ff0000">R</font><font color="aa00aa">T</font><font color="119911">H</font><font color="0077aa">D<font color="ff6000">A</font><font color="119911">Y</font>, <font color="aa00aa">Cheryl</font> <font color="ff0000">!!</font></font></font></blink>

My workplace left only chinese, Indians and others.. all muslims go home liao.. so good.. i also want to go!!

But anyway.. Selamat Hari Raya!!

Heating up baby food

My MIL will keep the porriage in a termal flask after its freshly cook...that will help to keep the porriage warm while u scoop the amount u want to feed first...if baby wants more than we scoop again lor..better than using hot water (will turn cold fast) or electric warmer ...

Electricity bills is going up again this coming quater....life is difficult man!!!

Hi Xiao Yun, jass1408,

I rather give hot and blow to the right temperature so that do not need to reheat again during the feeding process.

Allahmah, I am using the Avent IQ bottle and food warmer. Only need to set the container type, the temperature of EBM/food currently (room, refrigerated or frozen) and the amount. I must have shown her like 7 - 8 times already but she still just anyhow wack only. Told her the Avent cup must set the warmer to cup mode but so many times I catch her setting it to bottle mode. GRRR...

artemis:
sigh... not their kids, think helpers dun care wan. hahah erm.. mayne they oso dun really pay so much details even if its their bbs. i oso scolded mine @ least 5 times before the info gets into her head.

Blessed Birthday Cheryl!

XiaoYun transfer funds already

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiao Yun Spree
Amount S$25.68
Transaction Reference 1908620942

XiaoYun,
Can you pass my items to Artemis tonight? She's collecting from you, right? I had told Artemis about this. Anything just sms me. Artemis have my hp number.

Artemis,
Thank you for your help.

corn
do you need to puree the corn (if u cook it in porridge), or is it easy to mash? i would think the "skin" is a bit harder like pea skin?

fish
my guide says 6-8 months can give cooked, soft mashed fish, my MIL already started giving bb in the porridge

bx
E is the same, prefers cereal! i can't feed him porridge with much success, first few times he even puke! only my MIL can, so i let her, haha.. i feed him cereal he finishes up everything.

jass
u so good at feeding all kinds of things! keep it up!

warming up food
i use microwave these days, i have no patience to wait sometimes, plus sometimes make already it's not warm enough, and bb already making noise

isobellies, your hubby is a dentist right? Can you please give me his clinic's contact no and his name? Will PM you the details and my hp number. Thanks.

iso
if you want to give the corn, you have to put the puree through a sieve to get smooth puree without the skin. corn is good because it's very high in fibre. can help ease constipation

jass.. matthew improved so fast.. now can crawl so well.. my ger.. still trying to push her butt.. she gets so irrittated w urself for moving backwards instead of forward and she cries... so funny..

wah, no time to log in after being sahm! hehe.

jass/xiaoyun, i had 10 days of leaves to offset only. but i requested for early release! which my boss approved :p cuz i told him i wanna go back to KL ma. so dont need to serve notice!! hehe

xiaoyun, done!
To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiaoyun
Amount S$2.96
Transaction Reference 1908656546

xiaoyun, you going back to msia? i'm going back on Thursday!

pamper active sales: carefour warehouse sales cheaper, 59.90 for 4 packs.

re:tumble tot

shaun went for trial already on Saturday! he enjoyed it alot, cux can crawl around. but i din sign uip. just brought him there to play for fun only hehe.

heinz: is the heinz teething rusk safe??? heard artemis said channel news asia got report on this brand issit?

re: veg stock
i used sweetcorn, carrot, burdock, tomato, chinese wild yam(shanyao). it's sweet and tasty! shaun ate the porridge cooked with this stock with tofu, broccoli,sweet potato and ginger. he likes it! i gave him at 10.30am, he slept from 12.15pm until now wor!! think the porridge made him real full!