(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Jass & esther,
Not sure if bf help to slim mummy, But I'm slimmier after gave birth. OR it could be due to take caring of bb. I dun know. But my friend put on weight when bfing.

Oscar
So cute the bootees!! Can u teach me how to knit?

Hillary
I oso find it wasteful cos bb keeps dropping the rusk n gotta throw. At home I pick up blow n give her but outside gotta throw cos not hygienic

Andrea,
could be teething.
When Channet is teething, I had to wake up every 3 hours at night.

tongtong,
I pump formula at abt 9pm ~ 10pm, channet 10.30pm all the way until 6am or 7am the next morning.
the rest of the day all bf.

1. sunny - boy - 6m - 9kg - 72cm
2. tongtong - boy - 6m - 9.1kg
3. xiaoyun - girl - 6m - 7.1kg
4. happymum2b - girl - 6m 3w - 7.2kg
5. cheryl - boy - 7m 2w - 9.3kg (tat is when 5mth measure 1) now duno how long
6. lezy - girl - 6m 3w - 8.1kg / 70cm
7. dor11- boy - 7m 2 w - 9.8kg(at 6mths old.. think now got 10kg ba)/68cm
8. kitsune - gal - 7m 2 w - 7.6kg (featherweight)
9. Thankful - gal - 6m 2w - 9.735kg / 69.4cm
10. andrea - gal - 6m 2w - 8kg / 71cm
11. tute - boy - 6m - 7.5kg / 69cm (think featherweight also)
12.. sweetpea - boy - 6m2w - 7.03kg
13. bluegin - gal 6m - 7.5kg / 72cm

esther,
+wave+

jass/esther
re:ba ba
me too!!! i did lost all my weight gain due to bf.. but then bf made me eat a lot.... think my tummy is coming up.

bkk - of cos, whenever you're free, just buzz me. can teach the basics in 1 afternoon. and i hv spare yarn & needles. but beware, i have taught many pple who became addicted and blame me.. lol

if anyone keen on more knitting related stuff, can also go look at my blog. http://iroiroknits.blogspot.com Used to spend loads of time updating it, now hor, no time liao..

hi ladies...

it's been a long long while since i logged on and posted, how's everyone?

changed a new job, more stressful and no time to visit forum weekdays...weekends are busy doing housework,catching up with baby...

Baby's Porridge
Can i ask if it's ok to add "seasoning" to porridge, as in soy sauce/sesemme oil (a bit) to marinate the meat that goes into the porridge?

mil says how can cook without adding seasoning to the meat/fish that goes in to making the porridge...but i read reports that sodium is bad for babies at this age?

im so stressed...cos mil was really angry with me over this, told me off and threatened to not help me take care of bb because i commented the porridge was 'too tasty'. i dun want to be the bad person and get into arguements with her but yet im so fearful of my son's future health which we can't see the immediate effects now. i dun want to offend her cos afterall i do respect her.

after a whole weekend of tension (2 weekends ago), she asked her own friends and came back to say she agree should not add salt to porridge...but then she dun see SOY SAUCE/SEASEMME OIL as the 'same idea' as salt.

anyhow, i know she has been trying very hard to cook bland porridge for bb as much as she can stand it...but yesterday when i went home earlier and caught bb having his evening porridge, i could see the porridge was 'darker in colour' (inference: added soy sauce to the meat) than the bland bland porridge (no seasoning added to the meat) that was cooked over the last weekend when i was at home. and i could smell the seasemme oil smell too.

and i also could see bb enjoyed the 'tastier' porridge much better. cos he could barely finish the bland bland weekend porridge and it took very long to feed him while he just seem to to lap up yesterday's dinner.

how...any advise? is seasoning ok or a total no no?

i just feel so victimised...i have no intention of offending anyone, only wanted to protect my child the best i can. yet i get scolded/blamed... n the final straw is bb seems to prefer the 'bad things' that im trying to protect him from?

piggletail,

i've the same dilemma before, but i'm in an easier position as i have the argument with my mom.

initially to avoid having a big argument with my mom, i just resort to buying instant cereals (packet ones) and ask my mom to feed my baby that. i bought different kinds of cereals so that he's not bored. but now i manage to convince my mom (with the help of my sis) and basically use chicken stock to cook the porridge without the additional seasoning and it's quite yummy still.

maybe you can try cooking the porridge during one weekend using some stocks (saw some mummy here uses fish stocks) and try feeding them to your son? if he can finish then your mil can probably take the cue that it's ok for babies to take a more bland porridge ?

pigletail
for me, seasoning below 2 yo is a no-no. same as yours, my mil used to be quite unhappy abt my 'instruction' of not putting seasoning and oil into my gal's food. for very long time... then, until one day, her friend told her not to put seasoning and oil into bb's food till 2 yo, 'cos this will make bb picky on food in future. then, only she agrees my view totally.

does you mil like to read magazine? probably you can try to borrow the magazine from the library which talk abt preparing food, and let her read? i usually do that whenever i know that there would be disagreements on ways to taking care of bb.

piglettail
like sunny, i also hope to not give any seasoning for as long as possible, but i can understand where you're coming from cos my MIL also mentioned that day that for my nephews she will sometimes put a bit of flavouring. but it's scientifically proven that their kidneys aren't so developed yet, so salt is not good, so i just told her i "prefer" to give as little salt as possible. maybe you can ask your PD and tell her what your PD says?

jass
your veg puree, u put them into cereal or feed alone? i also running out of ideas, haha. i heard all kinds of leafy veges also can, so i guess the chinese ones also can?

tute
sometimes my boy will protest like don't want milk, but when i finally get him to start drinking milk, he will finish everything. funny hor?? sometimes really dunno what to do :p

piglettail,
long time no see! nice to hear from you again.

just wanted to share how my mom cooks the porridge. not only no seasoning, but it's vegetarian (for now).

she uses a combination of potato, pumpkin, carrot, sweet potato, peas and uses the slow cooker to cook. no salt, no seasoning. the porridge is actually v fragrant and sweetish (instead of savoury). my baby loves it and eats 3 chinese tablespoons or more each time.

maybe you can experiment some no salt, no seasoning recipes during the weekend when MIL is not around. find the one that bb likes, and then cook it when MIL is around one day to show that bbs can find "healthy" porridge yummy too =)

bx.. u still bf?

Jass.. i just joined you in the rank of "stopping Bf mummy" I closed shop today already.. just pump a bit to clear the milk, only abt 60 ml for whole day.. pathetic.. will pump alt days to slowly stop.

I bf.. also not slim one.. sigh..Ester.. same as u, i got the ba ba genes lor.. jass u looked ok to me lor.. where got fat... but bx and stephie.. u all are slim.. envy envy..

14. snowbelle - gal - 6m3w - 9.7kg / 70.5cm (measured at 6m)

jeannie,

i still pumping twice a day.. 300 + ml per day...

y the sudden decision to stop? I wanna stop but dunno how to... feel engorged if i pump once a day. some suggested to not clear the breast when i pump but i can't bring myself to do it. just feel guilty somehow. so waiting for ss to drop everyday.

u not ba ba ah. just nice

bf = slimdown? NAH!
It's an excuse for me to snack! :p Everytime I see a sinful dessert, I say, oh nevermind lah, bf-ing mah, I can afford it! hehe, 6 mths later of bf-ing, still the same. jialat rite? I'm in baba camp :>

Piglettail
My porridge is only half as yummy as the other mommies who use stock. I just use plain white rice with peas or carrots or pumpkin, and usually just 1 other ingredient but it's sweetish so my girl likes it.

Sigh...you know how you think you got it all down to pat and then a milestone comes along and messes it all up? yeah. that's what happened. Like the last time with the growth spurts which threw the routine out of whack.

Last night, woke up 3 times. I think she's teething and flipping at the same time. Applied the teething gel...dunno if it works..but I tasted it was sweet, so I think maybe it helps to soothe. Supposed to have analgesic but I couldn't feel it. Once or twice, I found her on her tummy tucked away in one corner of the cot.

oh well, just to tell ourselves that it'll pass, hopefully sooner than later. I'm a panda today :p

Btw, eastern mommies, are we still meeting for Sat playdate?

sweetpea
ya, toasting brown rice helps to cook it partially. usually i'll prepare a batch of toasted brown rice and store the excess in airtight container for future use. i need at least 45mins to cook unprocessed brown rice till it's nua nua leh. how come u only need 20 mins ah? what type are u using? i was using the brand song he previously.

jass
for me, think the weight loss is due to bfg too. i eat quite a lot as i gets hungry easily due to bfg (think i munch at 2 hrs interval on ave). am now 2kg less than pre-pregnancy weight. dunno why, my hip seemed to have shrank cos all my hip hugging jeans/pants became very loose and i needed to alter the fastenings in order to wear them. this didn't happen when i had my girl.

imo, having smaller, more frequent meals help in reducing weight. when we starve ourselves, we tend to overeat at the next mealtime. having smaller, more frequent meals will condition our stomach such that we can only take in small qty at a time since the stomach is so used to this small amt of food. the down side is that when we go for buffet, will get very bloated cos our stomach is not used to having so much food at one go :p

my fren took quite a while to revert to prepregnancy weight (more than a year i think). so it can be done, just need more them. you come across as a very sporty person to me. for me, the only 'sport' i do is walking. even when pregnant, i walked a lot too. hence, i guess it helped in my wt loss too.

bkkgal
me guilty of indulging in sinful desserts cos i'm bfg (i eat cake almost everyday)! must consciously remember to cut down on snacking when i stop bfg :p

Hi 5! 2 all the "ba ba" mummies! No offence hor. At least I knw I'm not the oni one tat cant slim dwn. Hee...

re bf. I aso eat more when i bf. I dun eat tat much during preggy time. My gf told me bf tends 2 get hungry easily.

I aso stopped bf last fri (official closing ceremony), was very sad, cried abit 2! *shy*

I did gradually stop by reducing the no of pumps. Total took me 3 wks 2 stop.

Though sad, I feel I'm much happier nw as I more time 4 my darling & I dun hv 2 worry my ss will drop and the need 2 pump. Very stressful leh.

I jokingly tell hb tat i dun wan bf if gg 2 hv a 2nd bb. Keke... ;p

Piglettail,

Where bb's health is concerned, u shdnt compromise. Ur hb agrees wif u or ur MIL? If he agrees wif u, then ask him 2 speak 2 his mum. Jz like wat u say ur MIL threaten not 2 take care of ur bb rite, u can always get a bb sitter or last option send 2 infant care.

IMO, i felt tat elders shdnt always use "threaten", if we give in, we'll be @ their mercy, tat means in the future, we hv NO say in our kids' matter.

Sorry 4 being 2 direct. I jz hate 2 c elder using "threatening" tactic.

one of my gf uses soy sauce (she say abit, jz 4 taste) which i tink otherwise. She aso give her sweet drink which i not shdnt be so early lor.

our bbs sure hv their fair chance 2 eat/drink salty/sweet stuff when they grow up. So wat's the hurry??

I read the weaning book, it says "we might tink the food is bland, but bb's taste buds r more sensitive than ours, they will find the bland food very tasty!"

bx,

u feel engorged if reduce 2 1 pump? Initially hw many times u pump? I called my LC she say by nw, we shdnt feel engorged liao as compared 2 the 1st 2 mths. Our bodies r tuned liao. which 4 my case is true. i reduce my pumps 2 3 time, i oni feel tingling sensation, abit sharp pain (seldom though). No engorgement. Then every wk reduce by 1 pump.

good morning mummies,
interesting discussion yesterday, cannot catch up liao.

welcome the new mummies joining too..

piglettail,
welcome back.
really pei fu you. i remembered your previos job is already quite stressful. and now you are even more busy with the new job.

oscar,
the booties are nice.
and you have got so many yarns!!!
1 question, is the photo taken by DSLR?

re: vege/fruit for bb
she has tried:
carrot
pumpkin
cauliflower
brocolli
green peas
spinach
banana
papaya
apple
pear
avocado

i didn't follow the 4 days rule. just anyhow, cos i don't have the patience :p

re: bb crawl
she crawls everywhere and likes wires the most!!

Sat playdate, 13 Sep (This Sat)
Time: 3pm+ onwards

Venue: Eastern side
If about 4 to 5 babies + parents can go to Garfield's house at Katong. If > 4 babies need to source for other venue (paiseh, my house not v big hee hee)

Maybe we start with who's keen and then decide from there?

1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal

I realize most mummies let their bbs tried alot of veggies/fruits liao. So envy!

Mine (started on porridge 2 wks ago) oni had pumpkin, potato, carrot, spinach.

And apple 4 snack. So boring!

Quickly chop seat!!

Sat playdate, 13 Sep (This Sat)
Time: 3pm+ onwards

Venue: Eastern side
If about 4 to 5 babies + parents can go to Garfield's house at Katong. If > 4 babies need to source for other venue (paiseh, my house not v big hee hee)

Maybe we start with who's keen and then decide from there?

1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. xiaoyun

garfield
when you prepare porridge for A, did you dump all the vege into the slow cooker to let them cook? how much rice to use huh? thanks =)

andrea,
ya i finely grate the veges and put together with the rice anda water into slow cooker. takes about 2 hours. but some mummies say better to steam or puree the veges and stir in once the porridge is ready.

i use about 2 to 3 tsp of rice only haha...like playing ma sark ma sark (hee hee)

Stephie..I dunno the brand leh..its my MIL who bought it and grind it. The finely ground rice seem to cook very fast leh..like after adding water, but to a boil, then it will become a paste in a few minutes.Then we just leave it to cook for about 20 min and keep adding water if not it will dry up.

Teething rusks - I gave my baby Heinz Rusk. One day when my mom and dad were taking care of him..htye found he had chomped off a 5 cents size piece of rusk in his mouth! since then we do not dare give him liao..though he enjoys it. Scared choke leh

14. snowbelle - gal - 6m3w - 9.7kg / 70.5cm (measured at 6m)
15. isobellies - boy - 5M3W - 6.88kg / 63cm

how come u all know the 7M plus stats? u got bring bb to the PD? maybe i shld just drop by my PD to see how heavy he is now, heh..

re: teething rusk
i think i will use Amy's method by cutting some carror, etc and store in the fridge.
whenever bb needs it, just give them 1.
i looked at the ingredients of the teething rusk on the market, most of it contains sodium.
since we are trying to avoid as much salt as possible, we should avoid it too.
just my 2cts.

bf
i think my tummy only went down after i stopped bf! but i dun think i'm going to lose any weight liao, although i've lost some mass. guess it doesn't matter how much it is on the scales, as long as people don't ask if you're preggers again :p

teething rusk

i've given up on them. ruth gets VERY frustrated biting n biting n having nothing to eat!

we just give her biscuits/cookies etc. Find that she doesn't really choke - cuz if something is big, she will like suck on it slowly until it's nuah nuah then she will chomp chomp abit and swallow.

Then she will want another piece ASAP!

I think that's quite smart...and i think i have a very impatient girl.

morning mummies

oscar - cute booties! i also wish i have this flair for knitting..but..

bf-i officially stopped 2 weeks ago..now i have time to sleep early and spend more time with my gal..= much happier

crawling/flip - Hmm..either i tink my Heidi only loves jumping..she dun flip, neither has she shown signs of wanting to crawl..how ah.

Qingling,
Ruth is the same. She only likes to sit upright.

My mum says some babies don't like to crawl or be on tummies. They also don't like flipping.

They will eventually 'crawl' with their butts dragging on floor (imagine sitting upright, hands behind and pushing to the front, legs will 'walk' while butt on the floor)...and learn to walk immediately.

So well, i think ruth may be on that path. I'm fine if she doesn't flip. But when i put her on floor to sleep at night, she will push with her legs such that in the morning, her upper body is on the floor liao.

garfield
need to ask another stupid qn =P u add in so many variety of vege but in very small amt right? then what do u do to the balance of the vege? keep and cook another day or what huh? i scared to throw away so much balance food.

mummies! i have enfapro stage 2 (400g) expiring Sep or Nov 2009 ( cant rememb). Anyone wanna exchange with me?I want similac stage 2. thanks!

any mummy's baby sleeps in "yao yao"?

any way 2 revert back 2 sleeping soundly in cot? my gal nw seems got difficulty sleepin in cot.

she can sleep a while then flip over.

my gal can crawl.... BUT backwards. haha...

andrea,
no lah not stupid. i had the same qns too. i buy organic veges when they are available, and they usually are packed in small quantity. so can buy like one carrot at a time =)

each type of vege i add about quarter palm size. the balance keep to cook another day.

i'm not so on the ball in terms of introducing new foods cos i follow the 4-day wait rule (my baby susceptible to allergies). so by 4 days usually can finish cooking.

esther,
ya, maybe not so much of engorgement, but there is unpleasant feeling if i dun pump out.

re: porridge
gave bb some yesterday for the first time but she reject!! dunno what's wrong. later in the day gave her rice cereal she gobble all up.

re: crawl
bb started crawling abit yesterday! very happy. yeah!! but it means more work from now on. need to keep a constant lookout for her.

andrea: my mum will keep some portion of the veggie for my bb, the rest cook for our own consumption.

crawl: Shaun can crawl forward now,(used to be backward)very fast from one end to the other end when he sees books. TOYs: he is not interested, will not motivate him to crawl. when he grabs hold of the book, he will tear all into pieces and eat!! *faint*

esther: shaun naps in yao lan(sarong) and mattress at night. it's just auto that he doesnt like to be in yaolan at night leh. strange.

Thankful: Yea i intro similac stage 2 liao. usually gives shaun the last feed before zz. but very sayang leh, got to throw the balance cuz i din give him everyday as i forgot sometimes. and must discard within 4 weeks! i started to give so that he is ok with FM when he is back to KL with my parents.

water: i gave him water yesterday night when he ngek ngek at 1.30am. he sucked so fast! think within 2 minutes and continued zz. so now i know how much he sucked when i latched him previously liao.. about 40ml only hehe.

Dor: vaise eats his meal in stroller ah! shaun eats his in the walker. the walker also very dirty! must wipe everytime lor..

bx - i think they need some time to get used to new food ;)..soon they will gobble up your porridge too.

i so anxiously waiting for Heidi to crawl too..she can lift her butt up a little, but she just dun seem to want to move..haha..

qingling,
i purposely put things she is interested in in front of her, then when she tries to reach it, i pull it further and further away. she will wriggle to try to reach it. so slowly train her to crawl.

hope she will eat her porridge soon. actually it is cooked by my mil. i ask her is it too coarse ot too bland? she like offended. opps! keke...

oh butt up means abt 2 crawl? my bb always butt up, but go "go tan" (backwards) keke... nw can see my bb interested 2 grab hold of things in front of her. I aso put abit further so tat she can learn 2 move 4ward.