(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Just trying my luck...

1st playdate for feb west mummies ( easterners are welcomed)
Date: 14 Sept, Sunday
Venue: Jeannie's hse at Holland/Coffee Club/ COffee Bean?
Time: 1-3 pm?? or lunch time?

jass/dianaz/stephie/isobellies/lezy???

Hi, cheryl

Is it ok to add our names to the gathering on Fri? Think I can only confirm then. I miss Marche's food leh but baby hates the car seat, very difficult to coax for long car rides. :p

Cheryl, agree, at least grumble and he'll do it including night feeds, so better mai hiam lor.

Jeannie, don't think I have your a/c no. can you please PM me?

Oscar, yes yes welcome!

Garfield, AM or PM oso can...can you all indicate preference for timing? i'm flexi...

PROPOSED PLAYDATE/SHOPPING EXCHANGE PARTY
Date: TUES 9 SEP
Time: 3-4 pm?
PLACE: BKKGAL's place

Name:
1) bkkgal
2) Garfield9 (will try to take leave)
3) happy (will kiv)
4) lezy (kiv)
5) dawn (kiv)
6) oscar

kitsune,
arielle used to hate the car seat. now, she "tolerates" it. hang her favourite toy, recite her favourite nursery rhyme, distract her by feeding / drinking water. and she can tahan longer trips.

bkk,
mornings are better for me, cos arielle's longer nap is usually in the afternoon so i would rather not disturb that. is that ok with you? say about 10-ish onwards?

jeannie
i can't agree more abt the preparing part and hb just show up and carry baby, wahaha. mine is a bit worse in that i even have to help HIM get ready (he is super switch off once he leaves his work place) and i can do everything but still always must wait for him. peng san :p

playdate, sundays my hb doesn't work so don't think he will want to meet up (plus i'll have to get everyone ready :p) so i think asking him to go BJG is q an effort already, haha. if meet on other days (sat?) better for me

hi lezy,

u can check wif ur mum how to steam porridge?
put in a bowl and then water below to steam?what ur mum put inside to steam with the porridge?wait for the porridge to be cooked then steam it?
cos i only noe slow cooker

re:eastpoint
is near simei mrt station

re:playgroup
garfield, so is next sat huh?

bkkgal, i will love to join but cant.

Gar, I did provide her with lots of toys but don't know why she just doesn't like this car seat. Anyway, after reading the "What to expect in the First Year" and they recommend taking the car seat home to let baby sit in it and getting her conditioned. So ask hubby to take out and bring to ILs place. True enough, she started whining and stretching her hands out for 'bao bao' once we strapped her in. Bo bian had to take her out. Then, had an idea. I put her dolly inside the car seat and strapped dolly in. Then we told her we are bringing dolly to gai gai. MIL was carrying her then, when she saw dolly sitting in her car seat, she start to make noise and reach out in the direction of the car seat liao. So, we took out dolly and strapped her in, then give her dolly to play, this time, she sat in it for 10 mins before making noise again. WAH, told hubby our daughter possessive man, even though she doesn't want it, she wouldn't let dolly have it either. hehe.

kitsune,
aiyo raeanne so cute!!! but it's a brilliant idea on your part!!! keep up the "training" to make her used to the seat =) making progress already

Jeannie, transferred $7.83 to you, trans ref: 1869656108.

Gar, ya lor, these two days, she has been doing things that surprises me, yesterday, she bian zui when hubby wants to leave her behind at the photo studio, and today when I can see her possessive streak about her car seat. Haha. When we brought her home just now, we left car seat at MIL's place cos still need hubby to continue training tomorrow. She looks curious and surprised when she got into the car cos car seat missing so the backseat look different. She reached for the side where the car seat used to be and explored the different corners. I told her dolly borrow your car seat, must share share ah, tomorrow then we take the car seat back from dolly so that you can sit in it.

hee hee...the bian zui bit sounds so typical girlie! confirmed daddy's girl next time. she just needs to bian zui and her daddy will be wound round her little finger liao

ok, i prefer PM....morning always lots of things to do! hee hee.

PROPOSED PLAYDATE/SHOPPING EXCHANGE PARTY
Date: TUES 9 SEP
Time: 3-4 pm?
PLACE: BKKGAL's place

Name:
1) bkkgal
2) Garfield9 (will try to take leave)
3) happy (will kiv)
4) lezy (kiv)
5) dawn (prefers PM)
6) oscar

re: porridge
i havent tried porridge yet....dunno how to cook that. but tomorrow will experiment trying to cook those soft mushy porridge like chok. Bought Endo Thermo pot from BP....will collect soon...n hopefully cook the porridge nicely.

re: joint pain
Thankful, i reduced pumping to once a day liow...so prob by this week can stop. wondering by how little milk we pump can we stop? if everyday we pump still got milk...the next day must pump?
i still taking glucosamine but low dosage, once a day.

stepie, dunno leh....oni these few days then start to have this pain one. sit down on floor to feed the kids, then after 10 minutes, cannot get up liow...even get up, kneecap v painful, like frozen like that...so cannot stand straight, must shuffle like old woman to the kitchen. *sigh* hopefully this is temp. maybe i din wear warm enuff during confinement....

re:wrist pain...
i also have this as i hurt my wrist during pregnancy, got worse after giving birth as have to carry the kids.
went to chinese sinseh last month....wahseh, really painful....he did a "gua sa", (using a flat piece of stone to "gua" my whole hand until quite bruised) ...terrible experience but seems better after that.

dawn, are you the one with twins?

gar, 10-ish is ok but i'm afraid Kate will want her nap then. She's usually better behaved after her long lunchtime nap.

oh ladies, i have a cat at home. do you mind? the cat is quiet and will usually go and hide if visitors come. i try to keep my place as fur free as possible with daily vacuuming and lots lint rollers. hope no one has allergies *cross fingers*

dianA,
if possible, try not to operate lor... coz it will still come back... maybe you can do more hand exercise... if really cannot then acupuncture lor... still better than operation...

isobellies,
day time still ok for my hb... coz bb less cranky, only night time is a nightmare... now I'm trying to train my hb how to handle her at night...

hihi..
was so busy tat i haven't logged in for a long time! i wanna go gathering!! but this saturday i might have to stay home because we doing some minor renovations, and my whole family out of town.. shucks.. i'll let u gals know if i can make it..

re: playdates
i'm keen on eastside playdates on wednesdays! can make it a regular thingy.. who's keen?

re: solids
my many attempts to feed solids have failed terribly.. carter's doesn't really enjoy feeding with a spoon.. he doesn't like fruit juice either! sigh sigh..

re: UTI
today went for follow up checkup.. finally can stop the antibiotics!! hurray.. still need to go back in Oct and next year Feb for follow up again..

hi xiaoyun,

$150 then can have free delivery at the expo sale?or $100 can have free delivery?
what are the items worth buying there?got pigeon teats there?

Wow...so many posts to catch up today. Been kept busy eversince I start printing and laminating the Montessori materials. Din realise that there were so many pages. I'm only 20% done and already used up 6 packs of 80 pages cardstock paper.

Xiaoyun, u went JL's expo sale? Any good buys? I looking for the efanatal pills. The omega 3 & 6 capsules that enrich BM. Did u happen to see them?

Contemplating to attend tis Saturday outing as I go to Vivo often. But abit 'paiseh' as my whole family will be there. So need abt 6 seats. Guess I will gatecrash you gals then? Enjoy... kekeke...

Restlessness on car rides?
I used to make some primitive steering wheel, clutch, mirror on a piece of felt cloth and attached it to the back of the driver's seat. Somehow it helps to sustain my boys' attention span. For gals, now dun know what to make? So far only thought of mirror. Any contributions?

Oh Jeannie, the trumpet socks lady sent me an email this morning stating that she has sent out my items. How abt yours?

hi amy,

where u buy the Montessori materials?

hi kitsune,

tiny love has a toy like a steering wheel etc to keep bb entertained during car rides

oh...I ordered w the 120 mummies spree thingy lor. The materials look good. Realised some of them had been used in my class lessons liao.

Guess a lot of work went into the production.

jeanie, i'm trying to get hb to learn to bath baby, but he is too blur and problem is he doesn't think so! So he never put in effort one. even put bedsheet also he cannot be bothered about which is the correct side liao. sigh. really abit sian sometimes. when i chide him and say he can 'live in a dump' he will feel offended - but i told him that's the truth - looking at his previous place. he used to blame it on his nanny (whom he used to stay with) but i think her lousy habits rub off on him until he also dunno.

got one time she poop and i had to work late. my parents went out so left ruth with him for awhile. he call me in office and ask me what time i go home. i said it's irrelevant. he has to clear her poop la! how to wait until i go home!

if he pack bag, surely forget something.

i hope with the baby, he can grow to realize that the only constant in this world is change and he should stop complaining everytime something has to change. we have to keep learning to keep with pace of the world.

dressing up - i'm quite bo chup - always have been. if i could, i'd be in t-shirt jeans my whole life. i don't like 'dresssing up' at all.

but that doesn't mean i don't like to spend abit of time to look neat.

but even then, like u all lor, every damn thing also have to do. where got time. sibei sian.

even sterilise bottle also lazy. wash a bib or cloth also cannot. he can just leave a soaked bib/washcloth in the bathroom pail for a whole day.

i really beh tahan such things. bah.

aiyah..i dun wanna complain liao. cannot stop if i keep going on.

re: hubby
my hubby oso not auto wan. so far he only bathed bb once or twice when we were just discharged from hospital. he keep telling me it's ok to stop pumping (so that i can free up time to take care of bb?) if i ask him to take care of bb, he will just leave her on the bumper playmate to play while he surf net or watch dvds. he oso neber help with the baby's laundry. i must start screaming or crying before he will help.

i wish he will take more initiative... sigh...

wow.. the thread was so active last night.. =P

eliaw,
re: UTI
yeah!! glad to hear that..

re: solids
u r not alone.. erlene oso doesn't seem v keen on solids.. so far we have tried giving her Heinz puree & porridge, but she will "pui" it out..
nevertheless, we will try again..

amy,
u r so creative, can make your own toy to entertain ur kids during car rides.. =P

goodbbb,
i m interested in the steering wheel u mentioned..
where can i get it ? tiny love is a place/shop ?

happymum2b
tiny love is a brand for bb toys. can be found in major departmental stores.

lezy
pour out ur "buay-songness" in forum. letting out better than keeping it to yourself. must fa xie fa xie sometimes. at least now we know we are not alone. majority of the daddies are the same.

stephie,
thanks for the info..

will go look for it as ervin loves to play with steering wheel so much, & sometime will cry if we pull him away as hb need to start the car.. =P

snowbelle,
i've never try nestum with condensed milk cos i don't like condensed milk. :p
you are not rojak pie. you are Singapore Pie! Yeh!! :D

re: JL Expo sale
goodbb,
$150 is to have free delivery at JL (regardless expo sale or normal day).
items worth buy is the Pureen ABD washing powder. :p no pigeon there.

amy,
i didn't go and check on the supplements section. saw quite a bit of supplements.
yes, there is omega and fish oil. not sure about the efanatal that you are looking for.
there are also Charles & Keith shoes. 16.90, 19.90 per pair. is that good buy?
also some toddler stationery, books and toys.
they are all standard expo sale items. if you have been there, then you will know.

re: hb
lezy,
don't feel sad. i'm with you.
already set an SOP for him to wash and sterilise bottle every night. but he still doesn't follow.
kick once then move once. in the end i give up.
nowadays only expect him to put bb to sleep after i wipe her and feed her.
so, my expectation for him is to carry and entertain bb only.

re: menses
argh...
mine came yesterday. and it's heavy heavy flow.
although i didn't feel any cramp, but very tired.
how come the color is fresh red?

kitsune,
RaeAnne is so clever and understand so much things already.
my gal still very bochap.

steering wheel toy
v-tech also carries! i bought one too =)

bkkgal,
timing, ok lah i guess PM is better since you, dawn, and oscar prefer that. i'll play by ear first okie?

mummies:

is egg-white discharge normal during brestfeeding?

the discharge indicating that i ovulate?

will menses follow soon?

cloudme,
i've got more egg white discharge 1 week + ago and i am still tbf.
i think i did ovulates.
and i've heavy menses flow now.

HBs:

Thanks for all the sharing - hope your HBs dun come to this thread to read!!! hah.

I guess I just wish he will be more 'handy'. I see my god bro (in melbourne) brought the baby back from hospital already know how to bath baby! mine until now only sit and watch (like a few times) or hold camera and say she so cute.

i ask my mum...my daddy how? she say all men sama sama. Only know how to play wif baby. But my hb...he play only awhile, after that he will be like BX hb, put in rocker/whatever and make her watch tv with him!!! (i got no objection to her watching tv...but i cannot imagine if i had to put her with him for a whole afternoon - die liao lor!)

i'm most annoyed when she happens to be in a mega wailing (at the top of her lungs) state and i'm trying to pacify her. He'll walk in and 'scold' her.

I'm like - why u scold her!?!? You don't even know what's happening and you scold? I expect him to try to 'take over' and pacify her.

Sometimes we switch from me to him and back to me, ruth will stop crying. it's weird.

i read that egg-white, mucus-like discharge means you're 'fertile'.

btw, this idiotic BABYCENTRE is like having sale all year round! i beh tahan keep receiving emails from them. argh.

but i must stop. cannot buy anymore for this year!!!

glucosamine
===========
Dawn,
That time I pump twice a day. That's why pharmacist said cannot prescript to me. If it's pumping one day, maybe can.

Stated from website:
Pregnancy & Breastfeeding

Glucosamine is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding due to lack of scientific evidence.
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/glucosamine/NS_patient-glucosamine

10 - Glucosamine is not recommended for use during pregnancy or breastfeeding.

Due to a lack of scientific evidence in this area, it is recommended that glucosamine be avoided during both pregnancy and breastfeeding.
http://osteoarthritis.about.com/od/alternativetreatments/a/glucosamine.htm

XiaoYun,
My menses also bright fresh blood. 1st and 2nd day changes sanitary pads like free. Always full and overflow.

Good morning mummies !!

Andrea/snowbelle/dawn: think maybe really need to go for acupunture. but 1st hv to blindfold me.... ;p

i tink acupunture "less" painful than gua sa right ?? i can't stand pain... that time tui na i almost want to kick the sinseh to london...

Jeannie: oopz... :x 14th sep sun am bring my bb for her pnemococcal jab ah, dun tink can make it for the gathering... any response so far?

oh no... just found out I still have 2 packs of diapers in L size and my bb cannot fit in L already !!!! ...........

they really do grow fast... really hope i can freeze this period for awhile cos since i went back to work... she seemed to be growing even faster !!

after she knows how to flip, she starts to crawl, then walk then slowly she may not even want us to carry her anymore....

i soooo miss h

oh no... just found out I still have 2 packs of diapers in L size and my bb cannot fit in L already !!!! ...........

they really do grow fast... really hope i can freeze this period for awhile cos since i went back to work... she seemed to be growing even faster !!

after she knows how to flip, she starts to crawl, then walk then slowly she may not even want us to carry her anymore....

i soooo miss her during her initial months...

hopefully PM's speech asking the men to get more involved has its effects. our birth rates depend on the guys helping out also. if garment wants women to produce AND go back to work as well, the guys really need to help out ALOT MORE. and garment needs to drum in this message in their heads! maybe MCYS needs to run more campaigns, ads etc. hahaha.

In this regard, I really take my hat off to our mother's generation. Mom had to take care of us, go to work, come back, fetch us home, look after our needs, put us to bed, do housework and next day the drill starts all over. All this without domestic help! My father didn't even dare to carry me until I reached 1 years old. He said I was too soft and scared that he'll hurt me which I think it's just a load of crap for getting off the hook! Our hubbies are already considered an improvement from version 1.0 (our fathers). hahaha.

Garfield, oohhh...thanks....so we set for 3pm? I'll PM you all my addy.

Gar, ya lor, she confirmed daddy's girl. I dote on her so much but she craves for Daddy's attention/approval. So unfair. :p

Xiaoyun, don't know if she's clever but definitely has a sensitive soul. Hee.

Thanks for the tips on steering wheel. Actually hubby did buy a fabric padded one, must go dig it out liao.

bx, kitsune &lezy
wanna ask u how u find baby jumper gym? is it good? can both parents accompany the baby? What their activity?thanks

Kitsune, I like your tricks to make Raeanne jealous of her dolly in car seat. I will use it on Kate cos when we put her in the pram, she will cry until like wanna die. In the shopping centre, pp think we guai dai hai zi!! So far, i've been pointing to other babies and saying "see, other bb sit in there, why can't you?".

hi cheryl,

will be bringing my son & helper along on tis sat.. hb will join later.. almost whole kampong will be gg.. =P

Feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept (Sat)
time: 12.30pm outside the restaurant

1) dor + bb (Marche)
2) cheryl + bb + hb (Marche)
3) tongtong (marche)
4) bluegin + bb + hb
5) snowbelle + bb + hb (marche)
6) garfield + bb + hb
7) stephie + bbs + hb (Marche )
8) xiaoyun + bb + hb (Marche)
9) sunny + bb + toddler + hb (marche)
<font color="aa00aa">10) happymum2b + bb + son + helper (marche)</font>
11) leila + bb +hb
12) oscar + bb + hb
13) Artemis + bb + maid
14) tubao + bb + hb
15) Thankful
16) jaslyn + maid + bb
17)qingling + hb + bb
18) Lezy + hb + bb (any restaurant is ok wif me)
19) Vine_gal + bb (marche)
20) bx + hb + bb (marche)

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis Soh
Amount S$30.00
Transaction Reference 1870399069

Artemis,
Just managed to trf funds to you. Sorry for the delay.