(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Discrimination: MY HR said i only entitled to 2 day childcare, and not the 6 days!! i tot the additional 4 days can claim from governemnt? no??

lezy
Yes it horrible to see her scratching non stop especially when she scratches too hard, there will be scratch marks with some blood!

tongtong
my hubby checked with his HR about the 6days childcare leave too. HR said that the additional 4days is up to the company, whether to give or not to give =\

gals.. i went to the mp on the <font color="aa00aa">extending of CDA to Jan-Aug babies</font>. The feedback is postive.

The writer is very supportive of our call..
The MP say he is going to raise this situation to the minister-in-charge..

Gals please go and meet your MPs. . This will work.. What i did was that i brought with me one of the well-draft letters and then ask them to read before proceeding.. I think after reading my letters they are more clear on what we are requesting.. I am sure they will empathise with us

re: child care leave
tongtong,
you mean the child care leave is up to the employer to decide one?
or, only bb born after 17 Aug this will be entitled to 6 days child care leave for this year?
what? what? what?
i am very agitated now.

garfield, no mense doesnt mean cannot conceive leh. so can still strike even when you are bf or no mense!
wah cool, want no 2 liao. seriously i think i cant cope! hehe.

brown rice cereal: i started shaun with brown rice yesterday and he loved it!

jar food: how long can we keep the jar food for? the healthy times jar food din state wor. after openeed, how long can we keep?

Andrea: my son's had once rashes outbreak due to eczema, cuz i tink he is sensitive to durians that i had eaten. i tried applying probiotic which i think got some effect leh. but his rashes on face last for i think 3 weeks. very long. if it's not becuase of durian, it could be after jab. he doesnt have fever but have rashes.
so far aloe vera cream works for his face, but his fold part all doesnt work. only P

andrea: Shaun's fingernails very sharp, even i have trimmed till cannot trim liao, and ended up scratching his head when he wanna zz.. alreay got bleeding scratch all over his head..

xiaoyun, i also not sure about the childcare leave leh... anyway i took the 2 days liao. the rest if they dont wanna give then forget it./ since i going to tender my resignation soon too..

gar
i agree!! i would like to see the govt "pressure" (ok, more like educate) employers more to change their work styles and to be more understanding, hee. but i think that's only wishful thinking on my part.

lezy
i think if i can get more sleep i'll be ok. i had a really easy pregnancy, so i'm looking forward to being pregnant again! but it's the lack of sleep that makes me slow, forgetful, and physically tired...

iso/lezy,

I had an easy pregnancy too. but taking care of bb after delivery was once a nigtmare for me . I hadnt been sleeping through whle night peacefully for 7 mths liao... although i lookin forward to pregnancy again but definitely not now. cant cope financially, physically and mentally..

iso/tong,
my pregnancy was also quite smooth (no hiccups) that i think my gynae abit bored (no challenge la).

Delivery also 'missed him' cuz he stepped out for meeting and i suddenly dilated. Even no time for episiotomy.

i abit sian of pregnant state becuz cannot sleep on tummy...something which i like a lot and eases my back.

also i have bad back...which will act up once in awhile during pregnancy but generally ok otherwise.

<font color="ff0000">Hi,thanks to all who have supported our first petition,sorry it did not work out. Now we are just going to focus on the $6k CDA account to be extended to all children born in 2008. For those who have PM me, please PM me again your hubby's name and IC number. We need more signatures! So far, there has been positive feedback from the MPs we have met. A group of us are going down to meet PM and Teo Ser Lek (Minister in charge of baby bonus) We need more signatures to show them, please circulate and ask your friends also to send in their <font color="0000ff">names, IC number and husband's name and IC numbers</font> thank you very much for everyone's help and support!</font>

i've got an extra set of Pigeon MagMag (Stage 1, 2, 3) bought at Taka fair.
Would like to let go. $14.90.
Anyone interested?

tong
yah!! pregnancy is easy, it's looking after that's the tough and tiring part! but hopefully when i have no.2 i will already have moved out and get a maid, then i can ask the maid to help for night feeds. now my MIL expect me to do, even though she wakes up abt 5+ (bb also wakes up around then) every morning to go market and do housework. i find the mornings especially shack for me.

lezy
haha ya me too, i think pple like us are "easy" money for gynae, no need to do too much!

Feb MTB gathering
feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept?

1) dor
2) cheryl
3) tongtong ( if it's not on 30th/31st)
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
6) garfield (except 30th)
7) stephie (if i can make)
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b
11) kitsune (I'm keen, 6 sept better)
12) lezy (depending on schedule. agree if shopping centre hb can go. :p)

xiaoyun,
yes, arielle is v near too! please remember to jio me =) we shld start a mini playgroup =) my hubby's classmates' kids go swimming or attend some lesson together every weekend. i find that a v nice idea!

lezy,
ME ME ME!!! i'm born 73, and yes body is definitely not the same. i've started exercising as i think that helps to balance the body and improve blood circulation. feel much better actually.

hee hee...can bring ruth to gathering? sounds like arielle and ruth sama sama v eager to make friends. arielle seems lost/confused/frustrated when the other babies dun respond to her "friendly gestures". so maybe ruth and arielle will hit it off!

jass,
hee hee...can imagine what a protesting shriek sounds like. your matthew v good leh, can sleep through so well. envious!

tong,
is it? thot no mens means no ovulation?

iso,
actually govt can take the lead in providing part time jobs to civil servants. i craft mission statement - TO BE THE PREFERRED EMPLOYER FOR PROFESSIONAL WORKING MOTHERS!!

garfield,

i heard when we dont have mense, we will still ovulate. maybe you try for #2 now and see whetehr can conceive while you are still bf? hehe

Re: Japanese sweet potato..

My baby poo.. green poo after that.

Oscar.. maybe ur baby a bit allergic to sweet potato cause it helps to pass motion. Think too strong for her.. but at least now u noe she cant take too much of it.

jass.. my baby likes to eat everything leh.. except for readymake pumpkin and beef puree fro Heinz.. yucks.. taste really quite bad.

Jass and goodbaby.. jap sweet potato has purple skin.. super sweet. Very nice to eat even for adults.

Re: solids.

My baby taking 2 tablespoonful of cereal daily usually during lunch time plus 1 heinz rusk ( split into 3 parts thru out the whole day) plus puree ( alternate evenings/weekends). So far i think this schedule is ok. now only sweet potato and apple.. but on off she will taste whatever we eat.

Re: baby's weight
kitsune .. my baby also din gain much weight.. now abt 65 cm and 7.2 kg. snowbelle.. ur baby big leh.. must be very chubby..

Re: friendly baby?

Erm.. my baby dosnt really like other babies.. she prefer adults leh. Garfield and Lezy.. its good that arielle and ruth are so friendly.. mine no reaction when see other babies.. hehe.. she a bit "atas" siah.

I also want to have playdate.. think the nearest babies will be isobellies??? stephie?? But sigh.. quite difficult to meet.

Isobellies.. where u stay?? u going fidgets on wed???Btw, i lost the thread.. can pm me or post here?? Thanks k.

Very busy this period.... catch up with u all!!

andrea.. take care.. k. I noe how torturous it feels to see ur baby like that. Must be very tough for her too. Try to keep her clean and dry and get a second opinion if necessary.

re:gathering
Can meet on 13 sep?

Jeannie,
West side bb seems fewer than sengkang side hor. Shawn n gwen are so near each othr yet don't even meet once. :p

yar lor.. stephie.. cause by the time i reach home its abt 9pm.. will u be ard?? and during weekends.. i dun think u come over hor.

Today i may go home earlier.. wanna watch tv.. can pop by say hi!
next week lor.. 1 week hoiliday.. i bring gwen up to play w jumperoo.. hehe..

oops.. i mean play with shawn! paiseh.. and also let her try jumperoo.. but actually i tried 2x else where.. confirm.. she doent noe how to jump. Din she still doesnt noe.. she can jump....

Andrea,

U staying near AMK? Otherwise can collect from me @Yishun after this week. I can pass you some of the calming cream, you try first. Calendula din work on Gracelyn till I tried the calming one. Now I use calendula on my face...Using baby's ka-ching cream on face...

Ovulating? Yup...I had my 3rd child while still breastfeeding my number 2 and not having menses. Talk abt that. Dun play-play...if really dun wan, must use protection.

Celebrated her half-year coming of age...here's my 2knights &amp; a princess...made her headband myself.

1666519.jpg

And the ice-cream bowl which obviously went into her brother's stomaches...

1666520.jpg

haha..so cute.

i'm waiting for my mum to relent on the 'shoes' pantang mentality. sigh. no matter what nice clothes i buy for ruth, also look weird if dun have shoes.

for now i have to be contented with nice socks.

amy:
wah.. ur ger got 'earthquake' for birthday! looks so yummy but she can see, cannnot eat so ke lian.. hahaha next time ba gracelyn
hehe good leh, she can look into the cam. my boy alwyas give me the 'stunt' look.

stephie:
hey... i'm west side too... er... west northen lah.

jeanie:
hey my matthew is as 'ataz' as ur gwen... hahahah they can be gd fren. he only play w adult.. and play when he wants to play.. otherwise he will look grouchy.

re: gathering
can i bring maid &amp; bb? quite excited... nv meet u gers before. hee~

i wonder y, nowadays matthew loves to sleep halfway then flip &amp; zzz on his tummy. hubby is quite worried. scared tat matt might suffocate or something. i ended up wake everyhour to flip him back. coz he will eh eh then flip &amp; zzzzz.... i'm a walking zombie liao.

amy,
wow so cute!! amazing how you cope with 3 hee hee...

thanks for the warning re protection! tong trying to help my hb ah *kekeke*

jass,
invest in a baby movement monitor. it senses baby's breathing and movement and will sound off if anything is amiss. then you can sleep in peace.

gar
heheh. actually i think these days being civil servant is not bad. one of my friends said her colleague was allowed to take 1 years sabbatical to follow his wife to the states while she take her masters. in some companies, even MNCs, where got heard of such thing as a sabbatical?!

xiao yun
wow, the 1st photo is so nice!! and the bb girl so cute..

jeannie
PM you

Jass, dun worry abt the flipping if your Matthew is able to turn his head by himself. Somehow they know how to adjust when they are uncomfortable if they can turn their heads liao.

I used to fret when my first child did that and like you, dutifully woke up in the middle of the night to flip him back. Now? no need...experience has shown me that they can do it by themselves, But for younger babies, advisable to flip for them. Infact, they tend to sleep better on their tummies.

Eating ice cream? I let her try a bit. She liked it. I reckon she will develop a sweet tooth like her mummy.

Sabbatical? Yup...I took 1.5 years to accompany my hubby in States few years back. I knew of a fellow civil servant who took 3 years. Every year wrote in lor.

Garfield,
3's never a crowd...My kids sort of compliment each other. All have their own personalities but can be quite a handful when my number 2 switches on his 'monkey mood'. Chatters non-stop and very hyper. I worry he is ADHD. I counselled a few kids w such issues and they have those symptoms. My number one is also mildly dyslexic. Thank God discovered earlier so it helps in the conditioning part.

amy,
muahaha...ok i will draw inspiration from folks like yourself and kelly with 3 kids!

btw, how does one detect if a kid is ADHD, dyslexic, autistic etc. ah? will the PD pick up during routine checks or do we need to go through some kind of formal checkup?

I usually refer them for formal checkup once they are school-going. Now still too young...observe them when they turn 30 months and after.

Autistism should be able to diagnose earlier when the child starts to communicate. Dyslexia is best picked up when the child starts to write or when he uses language. I quote this more from my experiences and cases w them. Maybe different for every child.

amy...too expensive la. moreover erm..i can ask my mum to make if she can be bothered. :p

actually these crochet stuff are expensive both becuz of the materials and the labour. My mum done bags for me before and the materials not cheap. plus the time taken also plays a big part.

so ya, i can understand why they charge so much but i really cannot bring myself to pay that kind of money for something ruth will use for only awhile.

Lezy, I also think expensive but can't be helped. I only know how to do simple handicraft and jewellery-making. Not into knitting. Maybe I should start learning so as to make for her and choose the colors I wan? Hmmm...

garfield,
my ears got itchy so now i know y. u mentioned my name here. hahaha!!

amy
how did u tell tat ur #1 is midly dyslexic? i worry 4 my #1 too cos ben's dyslexic cos i scared he kenna too. wat do u mean by "conditioning" huh?

kelly
*wave* long time no see!

hee...you still interested in amazon spree? i may be starting spree #4 in sep. PM me if you're keen okie?

Kelly, conditioning is mostly in the way he writes and allow him to remember things in a unique way. They can't visualize things in the normal way so somehow communications and writing suffer.

I know because I was also a victim. Used to have poor self-esteem because of that.

Lol...that's why Ben can excel in what he likes to do best. See what he has done for my tank. And hor, tell him I never get to start my Deltec yet> can see if he knows anyone who can help me? Tank's being cycling for more than 2 years liao. Every month electricity bill almost S$300+.

Lol...now must dig out my 'rusty' skills, 6 months of not working actually creates a memory lapse...
kao_embarrassed.gif

First, monitor his social behaviour w his peers. What would you observe? If privy, then call me tonight. I going out now.

re: crochet/ knitting:
was knitting a blankey for matt... haha till now my handicraft i think can onli cover up to his knee.. or perhaps calf. i'm terrible w such things. 2 yrs back i tried to crochet a bb cap for my god daughter... still stuck 2 the fifth row coz i made so much mistakes. she is now 1.5 yrs old liao lor... i burnt a hole in my pocket buying the materials &amp; needles which is not cheap. buy liao, nv complete... sigh!

re: dyslexic
ya.. this grp of children need to be taught in a different way due to the way they rem things / words. i used to teach tuition during school days and there's this girl (quiet a guai girl) i taught, i suspected she is dyslexic / have prob learning as she does so poorly that she can't even pass P1. but mum beg the sch to promote her to P2. sigh... i think this will make learning worse for her. told her mum that probably she need a different approach of teaching but her mum refuse to recognise the problem. sigh... another boy i taught got slight dyslexic as well but v smart.

gathering
if bringing bb, hb will go as bb sitter.
if not bringing bb, hb dun go. Have to look after bb at home :p

Dorothy,
Thot u wanna have No 3 when you are expecting your No. 2?
U change a new job? What job?

Tongtong,
2week ago, my gal oso bite me when i latch her on.
My gal even pulled while biting to my nipple and shaked her head.
Just unlatch him and said sternly into his eyes,"NO! Mummy dun like it". After a while latch on again. Repeat it every time he bite u.

Amy
Broccoli oso create "wind"

eb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept or 13th Sept

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin (6 sep)
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b

Dorothy, Garfield,
My hb oso give my gals nick. Her nick is Chou Dan Dan (rotten egg).

Oscar,
Put the milk powder into milk powder dispenser before sleep and pour the milk powder into the milk bottle in the middle of the night.

Dorothy,
You still have two legs for them to hold on.

Garfield,
For your info, you will ovulate even though you are still bf. So still have to take extra protection if you are not ready for it.

Andrea,
Hope Hillary get well soon. Calming cream is very good for ezcema

Lezy,
We are same age leh. I'm still very energetic, bt I lost to my gal. She is more energetic than me.
Come on.... We are Dragon. WE are strong. Hehhehe.
bt teeth ache, so need to take more calcium.

Feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept (Sat) or 13th Sept (Sat)

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin (6 sep)
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b
11) leila

bb biting
ah....my son lagi worse...crawl towards me and sink his 2 teeth into my thigh!!!! And i was really really caught unaware!!!! First and Last time!!!!!!

tongtong
I don't mind sharing the jumperoo. When r u renting it?

garfield
i want to join amazon spree too!!!!

bluegin,
thks for the reminder...hee...lucky never try anything funny!

leila,
can can. quick PM me before allocation gets fully taken up

re: milk powder in the middle of night, thanks for your responses.. i will try &amp; let u all know whether i manage to prepare before baby screams the house down. anyway better learn, my BM supply reducing fast &amp; baby looking at my breasts like 'err wat is this'?

re: crochet/knitting - this was my greatest love before baby came along. I even have a hobby room -but now convert to maid room liao. missed the post on what you're trying to crochet/knit, but if u need advise, just PM me. I still knit a little nowadays, provided i have enuff sleep

re: baby playdates, I've been posting in other threads on any SAHMs in the East that want to meet up during weekdays, for coffee + baby socialising. Trying to arrange weekly. If anyone here keen, let me know..

re: sept gathering, can count me in..
Feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept (Sat) or 13th Sept (Sat)

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin (6 sep)
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b
11) leila
12) oscar

bluegin, heehee
i need my legs to walk.. ya ya... still wan no.3 but got to wait til i confirm first.
ya... change job. ofc at tampines pt... can meet for lunch....

oscar
re:bb playdates
me!me! stay in the east!!!1
i dun mind if it is a sat instead... can jio bx n bluegin also.

amy
re:electricity bills
sigh... guess what my hb gg to start a 6-feet marine fish tank