(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Collected my loot from Artemis today! All the Carters clothes are so lovely and material is so soft. The 18mth fleece jacket and pants set fit her nicely, sleeves are slightly long but it's fine cos I can roll up the sleeves with a bit allowance for her to grow into it in Dec. Can't wait to try my lilypadz too, used up too many pigeon breast pads so far. Thanks, artemis for organising the BabyCenter and Kidssurplus spree.

Xiaoyun, long time ago, during our parents time, gripewater contained alcohol, that's why babies sleep so well after taking it but they have already taken alcohol out of the ingredients. So, don't worry, can give.
See the last discussion point on gripe water at this url http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/health/wind/

Goodbbb, so disappointing, sigh, too bad the first group of mummies made noise before us. Can understand why the govt refuse to keep changing implementaton dates. Looks like all of us with babies born from 1 Jan to 16 Aug got to work harder to make up the $6k in our babies' non existing 'CDA' account.

Oh...nowadays gripe water is alcohol-free? Have not held a bottle for years since I was last shown the ingredients.

XiaoYun, try avocado, broccoli or blended mung beans? They are fiber rich. Should help in moving the bowels.

Try not to intro cauliflower yet. I remembered my mum saying that it is considered 'wind' food. Asparagus is a better bet but blended or mashy for the time being till ur child has teeth. It's a good source of folic acid too.

<font color="ff0000">Permanent Part-time female ladies bag promoter wanted at Robinsons Centrepoint. Work a few days a week (Wed &amp; Fri, 4pm to 930pm) $5 per hour with commission. Able to speak English and Mandarin preferred. Interested, please email [email protected] with your full name, contact number and relevant work experience.

Isobellies, mine also mah, that's why so tempted, maybe buy some clothes as gifts for baby shower/parties, got a few to attend in Sept/Oct. Haha.

free fm
any mummies want promil or enfagrow for 6-12 months? my friend gave to me, they're freebies from her PD, so the small size packet/tins. FOC to feb mummies or your friends, cos i use similac
pick up at tanjong pagar or clementi

finally, my gal pooed after 4 days.. phew. such a relief for me.
however, she's very cranky today. not sure is it because of the jab yesterday or not be able to poo after so many days...

here's the update of her stats @ 6 months
height: 65 cm
weight: 7.05 kg
head circumference: 43 cm

amy,
thanks for your advise. only realise that cauliflower cause gas and it's advised to intro to bb after 8-10 months. wonder why my PD recommended her to me.

re: feed water
my gal still doesn't like water. i tried to put in milk bottle, magmag. she just doesn't like.
in the end, i used spoon that i fed her with rice cereal. then she can take a few spoonful. crazy gal..

Haven't posted for such a long time... need some advise on what type of solid foods you are now feeding your babies.

I started with single foods like rice cereal, apple puree, pear puree etc and only gave them to my baby for 'play play'. But after a while I realised she really doesnt' like her milk anymore. Then PD recommended giving her a lot more solids. So I started cooking porridge (with pork &amp; carrots) for her. And she LOVES it.

But now my mom says that she needs porridge lunch + dinner else not 'full' since she not drinking much milk. What are you feeding your babies? Is porridge for lunch &amp; dinner everyday ok? I was thinking that for lunch maybe pureed vegetables/fruits and then porridge for dinner - but like that, a LOT of work. Anyone want to post your weaning menu for a week to share?

oscar,
welcome back.
can't advise you on weaning menus as i only started last weeked too.. :p

re: bb smile
talked about her crankiness in my previos post. she woke up giving me lots lots of smile.
after change her clothes, she laying on her bed, turning her head right, left, right, left... whenver she saw me, she will give me big big smile. so rewarding...

forget about all the unhappiness. nothing beats her smile to me... :D

Xiaoyun, just received the photos. Carrie so pretty, I haven't brought my bb to the pool yet. :p

Oscar, I thought PDs usually advise that babies after 6mths still get bulk of nutrition from milk. Mine is like this, everyday the same, repeat for 1 week.
8-9am - 2 small tablespoonful of brown rice cereal
12-1pm - 125ml of EBM
3-4pm - 125ml of EBM
6pm - Heinz whole grain cereal (2 small tablespoonful)
730-8pm - latch on
9:30-10:30pm - latch on (last feed)
2-3am - latch on
5-6am - latch on
ILs starting to add small snacks of fruit after cereal feed like mashed apple or banana.

kitsune,
thanks for the compliments.
she cried when i put her in the pool. most probably i didn't hold her tight enough. :p
must remember to hold RaeAnne tight when going into the pool. Transfer her to float only when she's comfortable with the environment.

didn't have enough reaction time to look at RaeAnne just now.

kitsune,
how long did it take for RaeAnne to increase to 2 tablespoons of cereal per feed?

My gal has been on 2 teaspoons for 2 weeks already. Tried feeding more but she gets impatient so net amount still 2tsps only.

gals
when's the gathering? what time and where? hope i can join this time. :D

re: solid
i would be giving my boy solid food this wednesday. as a 2nd time parent, i still feel v excited abt it. haha... and i took 1 day leave for this. :p

sunny
u and other mummies are so wei da. i didn't take leave leh. only started solid for my boy on the weekend where he turned 6 mths. keke :

xiaoyun
glad to hear that carrie has poo-ed. can sense your relief. u brgt carrie for a swim? 2 wkends ago, my bro in law held my boy on his arms and let him played with water in the swimming pool. shawn seemed to enjoy playing with water with his legs. when i told my mum that, she commented "it's lunar 7th mth, better don't let bb swim/play water in swimming pool". though it's pantang, i'll still bear that in mind. just one more week and it'll be lunar 8th mth liao. will dong till then

feb08 mum gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
3) tongtong ( if it's not on 30th/31st)
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
6) garfield (except 30th)
7) stephie (if i can make)

oscar:
this is my menu for matthew. he is also more interested in solids then milk so i have decided to only feed him 1 feed of solids. probably to increase to 'lunch &amp; dinner' by 7th mth.

7.30am: 180ml FM
11am: 125FM + 2 tablespoon rice cereal + 50ml puree (so far tried broccoli, sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin) - this week's menu: spinach
3pm: 150ml BM
6.30pm: 180ml FM
8.30pm: snack time: either bb rusk / fruit puree / fruit juice (so far tried avocado, pear, white peach, nectarine, plum, apple, grapes, prune)
10.30pm: 180ml FM

haha matthew loves the chinese pear drink that i made... he can finish 75ml 1 shot! so happy

garfield:
it took me quite long (abt 2-3 weeks) to intro 2 tbsp of cereal to matthew as i made the increase v gradual. started w 1/2 teaspoon, increase 1/2 teaspoon of cereal every 2-3 days. i'll reduce the milk for him as i increase cereal.

stephie:
ya... i'm oso quite gian to bring bb for a swim. but i wanna go to a normal bb pool leh... not those tub wan hahahah. besides the 7th mth thing, its quite rainy recently too...

xiao yun:
if bb has constipation next time, u can feed her w prune / pear. quite effective.
anyway i heard 2-3 days poo onces quite ok. hee~

re: gathering
when will tat be??

feb08 mum gathering
date: sept ok??? prefer sat???

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle

feb08 mum gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun

stephie,
yup. i brought her to normal pool swimming. it's in 7th month. so, i extermely careful and quickly tuck her into the float. and this made her cry. :p

jass,
thanks the advice. did you boil the pear before making it puree?

feb08 mum gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny

stephie
not wei da lah. giving myself an excuse to take leave. haha...

Xiaoyun, RaeAnne small eyes and skinny like Mummy lor. Hee. Next time let our two gals have a playdate lar, then we can have more time to chit chat too.

Stephie/Jass, me too, waiting for 7 month to be over actually prefer heated pool but the Aqua ducks trial seemed to have died down?

Gar, took nearly 1 month since we started solids a few days before RaeAnne turned 6 months. I say for long time to feed more but ILs were not confident of feeding more cos my gal will make the want to puke face if you force her to take more. Then recently, when hubby commented again, they said she's taking the 2 of "mixed veg rice white tablespoon" liao.

kitsune,
2 mixed veg rice tablespoon ah. very big le!!

normally how many hours you going to stay at your parents' place each time you visit them? can come my place play.

feb08 mum gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2be

feb08 mum gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b

Is this gathering just for mummies only ? or mummies + babies ?

feb08 mummies gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b

Is this gathering just for mummies only ? or mummies + babies ?

gathering,
i think we leave it open so those who want to bring babies can bring. those who want "time off" don't need to bring. how about that?

re: feb08 mummies gathering

i wanna go too.. but dunno can make it bo. can let me noe the date and time once confirm?

xiaoyun:
ya... i skin &amp; cut into parts then steam w some water. haha i tot it will be gd coz think my mum say pear drink is gd for adults kinda good for our lungs... i fig, it will probably be gd for bb too lah.

i would love to join gathering if time/schedule permits. Ruth is ready to make friends!!!

(she gets very excited when she sees other babies/toddlers!!)

jass mei
wah how u make fruit juice? use those food processors?

i think my bb has not been drinking enough, these days can only drink max 120 at one go, last time could drink up to 160, and been waking up at 4/5 am when last time can sleep till 7/8am! i'm so sleepy... thinking maybe i should cut down to 1 feed on solids a day and not 2? hmm :S

cheryl
if my hb joins, he would be most likely be the babysitter while i chat with you gals. haha.... that happened to him when i went for gatherings with other mummies in the other thread.

jas.. i staret to introduce japanese sweet poatto to her yester!! SHe super love it... i must admit.. i also love the jap sweet potato.. really taste quite good...

BX.. my hubby will go if i going... hey so this sun onz???Finally my ger broke record.. drank 180ml of milk at 7pm yester and at 9.30 pm ate 2 tables spoons of sweet potato!!Think today she will poo big time!! cause ate the sweet potato...

xiaoyun,
My bb seems very big size compared to yours... hopefully she won't become obese when she grows up.

height: 70 cm
weight: 9.75 kg
head circumference: 43 cm

gathering,
I think my hb and bb will be going... if I leave them at home, sometimes she may cry until no one can pacify her... then my hb will unintentionally leave voice mail with her crying sound in my hp... then I'll feel bu an and rush home... so safer to bring all of them out :p