(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

wow, thankful....that is a very good news leh!

Artemis, there is a ongoing BP now for FP Rainforest jumperoo...$185 leh. ;)

CDA...think for now can oni be used for medical bills and childcare related expenses rite? is it new news that can be used for school enrichment soon?

kitsune,
going to...don't laugh...but i can't remember bb's BC number

Hi jeannie,

Tomorrow I'll be going my in laws place for dinner. Before 3:30 p.m. can? Or Sunday?

RE : Petition

I already submitted my particulars. :p Like I said have better than don't have so support lor.

tong,
you can email first.

Click on the link so that it is the hottest topic and channel u will report it
http://www.xin.sg/yourviews/story.php?comment=81829

Support this thread
http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/defau...tid=404&threadid=1204&forumtype=posts

Updated list of email address and phone numbers

1. Asiaone Forum
http://forums.asiaone.com/index.php

2. MCYS

BB Hotline (local) - 1800-253-7707
BB Hotline (overseas) - +65-6253-7707

Elizabeth Yee
63548422 Deputy Director the Baby bonus department

Jasmine Leong
Assistant Director, 63556378

3. Reach

4. CNA Forum
http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?t=170786

5. Today News paper

6. PMO
http://www.nps.gov.sg/feedback.htm

7. Xin.sg
http://www.xin.sg/yourviews/story.php?comment=81829

8. Parenthood
www.family.gov.sg_mnp

Hotline 18002332229

bx: if this is ur 1st child, then lugi $6000 in the cda. coz this is an account which u can put money for ur bb for his 'educational' use. govt will now match dollar for dollar till a cap of $6k for bb born after 17 aug. tats for 1st child. during our bb's time, 1st child not entitled.

This is a draft email by one of the mummies

Dear Sirs,

We are a group of mothers who have given birth from 1st Jan to 16th August 2008. We are heartened that our Government is sincere, open and receptive to suggestions to improve the enhanced incentives together. While we greatly appreciate our Government's act of graciousness to extend the benefits to babies born from 17 Aug onwards, we hope that the goodwill can be also extended to all babies who are born in the year 2008. The extension of the date has missed out the majority group of 2008 babies who were born between 1 Jan 2008 and 16 Aug 2008.

We cannot help but feel that we have been “penalized” for being responsive citizens who have heeded our Government’s pro-baby call but delivered just a couple of months before 17 Aug 2008. We lose 20 days of quality time to nurture our children and our children have been split into the “haves” and “haves not” in terms of the CDA account for no apparent reasons except that they chose to come out slightly earlier. This disparity will be even greater when the child is schooling. Whether a child is born in Jan 08 or Sept 08, they will be going to school at the same time but their CDA funds will be varsely different. For many families, the additional baby bonus in baby and CDA account goes a long way in terms of providing quality care and education during their child's early years. Will this disparity in terms of their quality of care/education translate into disparities in terms of the child's ability to keep up with children of the same cohort?

For the maternity leave, the extra 4 weeks will mean more bonding and nurturing with our children which will, in turn translate into a more responsive, healthier and intelligent workforce. We understand that it is difficult for the employer to give us additional one month of maternity leave but we hope to be able to enjoy the extra 20 days of maternity leave as flexible leave to be taken till our children is 1 year old.

A lot of us are still juggling between taking care of a baby and contributing to the workforce. These additional flexible 20 days maternity leave and financial incentives will aid us greatly. It will help to ease our burden and in doing so, also make us more receptive to having more children.

Singapore has always prided itself on providing all citizens equal opportunities. It will be very sad if the enhanced parenthood package results in inequality instead. We sincerely appeal to our Government to hear our call and understand our concerns.

garfield.. pm them liao.. dun mind leh if can benefit from it..just try lor but if dun have also ok lah.

artemis.. can b4 330.. i will msg u k.. thank you!!

very happening on the thread..

if the pri school is like what jgal said:
"School may plan for more expensive CCA cos' most babies will have bb bonus when they are pri 1."

I will be sian too.
in other words, all the $ given by government will soooner or later go back to government's pocket?

just like the childcare subsidy will go to child care centre's pocket.

then we are still not benefited at all.

i have signed in the petition,really hope the govt will listen to us this time and show that they do care for us and we are not forgotten

I know some mummies are wondering why Jan-Jul08 mummies kicking up a fuss. actually, with this new policy change, babies in 2008 fall into 3 categories:
1. 1st born, Jan-16Aug, no CDA
2. 1st born, 17Aug onwards, have CDA
3. Subseqent borns (ie 2nd, 3rd, 4th child etc), have CDA

Apart from category 1, all other babies will have CDA dollar matching by govt. Hence, the concern.

I know that for babies born before 1Jan08, the a similar situation exist. So for 2007 babies, there are 2 categories:
1. 1st born, no CDA
2. Subsequent born, have CDA

The difference is that ALL first borns in 2007 do not have CDA.

<font color="ff0000">Thanks for everyone's support! I have sent out an email to PMO and MCYS with 150 signatures. Will be waiting for their reply. Let's keep our fingers crossed and pray. In the meantime, in case we need to rally again, please PM me your name, IC number, bb BC number and DOB and child order if you wish to join this petition. Rest assured your details are kept in confidence</font>

good evening mummies,

do you encounter problem after changing bb's teat?
i've recently change to stage 2 NUK teat for bb. but she seems to have difficulty in drinking milk with the new teat. she sucked for a few seconds, then will need to rest for a while. then sucked another few seconds, then need to rest again. she took very long to finish 150 ml.
when i change her teat back to stage 1, she can finish 150 ml at one go.

another problem that i encountered is that she still doesn't like to drink water. not sure if i should add some glucose into the water. i am afraid that she will have constipation. she has not poo for 2 days already.

xiaoyun
i let bb drink water (abt 40ml) mix with abt 5ml of gripe water every day in the morning. Somehow it helps with constipation. Its not too sweet as I mix with a lot of water but a little taste that he will always finish it up. During the day, I jus let him drink what he can.

babyhope,
what's the function gripe water? can drink when she has no other problem (cos i haven't confirm that she has constipation)?

xiaoyun,
arielle also drinks diluted gripe water every day. i mix 1 teaspoon with 40ml water.

ever asked PD before, she say no obvious problems also can drink. gripe is supposed to expel gas/wind as well as aid indigestion, soothe tummy discomforts.

can try giving unsweetened barley water also. arielle is ok with water she takes up to 100ml a day. but i think she prefers barley =)

yar, gripe water can drink every day. I give to my boy after he past 1 month. But always diluted with water.
My boy dun take as much water as arielle though. He only drinks prob abt 50ml-70ml per day. So far, will poo once-twice a day. At most is 2 days never poo.

garfield,
barley water, then means got to boil everyday. very hardworking le..
i would probably go and get gripe water and try. quite worry that she doesn't drink water. now, my MIL already accepted the mindset that bb don't need water. (we kept physcho her about it when bb is < 6 mths). she's now cannot remember to feed bb water. jiat lat. got to physcho her again. :D

last time when bb is tbf, i didn't go and count the number of days she not poo poo. after starting her on solid, got to count her poo, got to remember feeding her water. more and more things to worry..

Hi, Nagsterak, I believe you can start since your baby is already 6 months old. But best to replace slowly with 1-2 feeds, follow instructions on the can of FM.

Artemis, sms you, can I collect my loot from you tomorrow after I knock off? Sorry for late notice, had to ask hubby first and he came back close to midnight. :p

Hi gals, somewhat feel a bit upset abt not getting that '4th' month of paid maternity leave...but my princess redeems all...seeing her smiles and coo-coo-ga-gas...

XiaoYun, that may be the case of teething. my gal also experiencing now. She is teething now...when I cleans her gums and tongue, I can feel those hard parts. Teeth will be erupting next so they tend to feel itchy and using the teats to massage the gums.

Now my gal's also using my nipples for relieving her itchiness...she used to take a bite and that made me yell out in pain. I would always speak sternly to her and 'flicked' her cheek. After a few times, Thank God, she learnt her lesson liao.

U can also try giving her diluted rice water from the porridge that u cook.

My gal has regular bowels and it also somehow eliminates her heat rash, most prob due to the fact that she can poo.

I stopped giving gripe water from my second child onwards as I was told it contains some alcohol contents, dun know true or not but I rather not take the risk.

Jeannie, OCBC's CDA package is better. I received the Baby Bonus Card, quite useful. There's discount when you flash the card. I intend to use it when I register her brother at Little Skool House or Learning Vision next month. u can view details here...

http://www.ocbc.com.sg/personal-banking/mightysavers/blog/benefits/index.html

There's also higher saving rates if u opt for the OCBC CDA Extra account.

Lol... I getting to sound like their staff.

I have 2 tins of 900g Friso 2 to let go, bought at $30 willing to let go at $55 for both, free delivery if you stay north/northeast. tks
sms me at 97630681

Haha, Gar, I can't remember Baby's IC too, ended with only 6 digits so something very wrong. I had to call my hubby to check. I blame it on the fact that I was in pain and totally exhausted during my first 2 days at KK so hubby settled baby's registration. Hee.

good afternoon mummies,
the last post i read is from Amy indicating that gripewater contains alcohol. after getting permission from PD today, i bought glucolin.
but bb still doesn't like water, maybe i put too little.

she hasn't poo for 3 days (include today). quite worry.

and i intro cauliflower in her meal today.