(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx:
pazy leh.. nv latch on liao. only maybe after last feed he still dun look satisfied. i will lacth.. but i will pump before feeding him for last feed. so nothing left oso leh. yup. pumps 3 time everyday.

perhaps u can prepare the FM liao then add in the EBM to get the amt u feed bb? just a suggestion, i used to do tat when i have super limited supply during 1st mth.

re: teething rusk
hahah i was so excited tat i went ntuc during lunch to buy this hee~ but its fr 6mths onwards.. so i'll probably give him after 6 mths. coz looking @ teether, no matter wat its still kinda plastic / rubber material. dunno good a not as he chew so hard.
1561422.jpg

bx,
yeah...i suspect it's because i drink more when i'm in office ? but then still very early to tell...just hope it remains this way for at least another 1.5 month...then will reach 6 month

artemis,
i joined the 4th july spree... but it's ok, i'm in no rush to collect the flashcards... will just collect together if u dun mind

btw, i work beside plaza sing...if u want i can help to buy the blender...

BX,
I was told to mix the FM into 60ml of water. Warm up your frozen EBM. Then mix both into the bottle. Forget to ask whether applicable for every feed a not. Have not try yet. Will try when she hit 6mths.

re: pumping,

bx, my ss also drops. sometimes i can only yield 500 to 600ml for a day. but the ss fluctuates . sometimes even dropped below 500ml, *faint*. but sometime came to 700ml. siao siao one. anyway i have also started to rely on frozen stock. had resumed goat rue to maintain ss

xiaoyun, you can buy the caps from TMC pharmacy. i got from there, $1 each (small bottle)

jass, ya..i sort of just trial run only. 1 tsp of the heinz rice cereal to a little BM to make a thin diluted consistency. but i still let her drink the BM after (balance amt of what is added to the milk).but now i read, suppose to feed the first then let her eat solid.

Thankful, read about your company "blackmarking" u.. eeiii!! so terrible !! think for me i would have resigned and looked for another job.

tong,
mine 400+ without latching. i not eating fenugreek or goat's rue coz i already have in mind to stop bf. so i will just let it be.

dunno whether i can drag to 6mths with 2 times pumping onot... i hope so...

dor..u sure world of sports got 40% off birkies? Last saturday i went to paragon world of sports only 20% + 10% UOB.
even then still not cheaper than sales on tobiasmayer.

sigh. dilemma.

Iso, not to worry...will hand in my order before i leave office today!

teething biscuits/rusks

the one above by Heinz is baby biscuit. It tastes like marie biscuit (but more fragrant) and breaks down very easily. RUth suck less than 30 seconds it's already disintegrating.

i dun think it's very suitable cuz baby may choke on it. Since then, we just dump into cereal with FM and feed as part of cereal.

If you really want rusks, go supermarket and get the one that states RUSKS. yellow box i think and it's thicker. very hard to disintegrate...but ruth suck n suck for half an hour, less than 1/4 gone.

she damn fed up!!

Cuz if she suck, she expecting to swallow....and this one totally nothing 'coming out'.

sigh...problematic ah?

bx...i dun even know how much i have. i only feed ruth (via latch) 3 times a day. morning (6am), lunch (depending on what time i get off) and night (10+pm).

I always think these feeds are 'bonus' feeds, cuz i don't think i have 90ml of milk per session.

There are even occasions that I miss the 'lunch'/mid-day feed and "dohng" until evening. Breast is never hard and next day ok to resume 3 times a day.

I recall the LC saying that our mentality towards bf affects our supply too. She say if we keep thinking we have less n less milk, it will really happen! Also rest and eating/drinking well matters too.

She said got once, this mummy, keep saying no milk and very stressed and tired out. She went over, look after the baby for her for 30 minutes and ask the mummy to go sleep. the mummy wake up and viola! got milk liao!

So i think conclusion is, dun stress too much whether got a lot or not. our bodies not a block of wood. supply may fluctuate with each day due to different stress level, nutrition etc. Many factors affecting it.

If got more, good. If less, never mind. more or less, baby still getting a good portion of BM since u still so diligently pumping.

lezy:
diff ya.. aiyah.. i thot its a longgish biscuit, will be easily to hold compare to the round rusk kind so i buy this. hahah when did u start ruth on the biscuit?

bx,
can understand how you feel.
very mao dun right?
but think about the time and energy that you save so that you can spend quality time with your baby. isn't it even better?

tongtong,
i never go TMC before le.. quite out of way for me.
i thought i can just go into any guardian then can find. didn't know it's so difficult.

berry,
i think i will have extra aloe vera cream and bug blend sunscreen as have not receive payment from Thankful.
do you want to take over?
for calendula cream, it's no difference in price to get from BP.

Hi dawn,

Have you collected the Baby Einstein flash cards from little hobby? Would like to check with you whether your Baby Noah Touch and Feel cards were shrink wrapped.

bx..i also not sure la..just telling what ppl tell me..but during my baby's 2nd month, i kept thinking my BM was just plain pathetic and i would never be able to sustain BM for long. TBF already long gone.

But after some time, i keep telling myself not to worry. Not that my supply went up, but i really dun wonder/worry what is supply like. Just go with the flow and trust your body to react accordingly. After all, breastfeeding is an act of nature. I choose to trust nature. Of course if not sufficient, i'll just top up with FM (if see baby still crying for more). I used to think of myself as lesser and got quite sian/sad that i cannot TBF..but i see now that there are other priorities in caring for baby.

ANYWAY to all mummies, isn't it great to witness this little bundle of joy (so cliche!) grow up? I really hope u all can enjoy this phase and not spend time being stressed over whether u meet expectations of society.

ENJOY this moment, once it goes past, it doesn't come back. (Sometimes i don't even remember the child birth and my baby's first 1-3 months liao!)

You are all doing a great job caring for baby and providing baby in whatever ways possible (financial, physical etc). Don't beat yourself up for small things ok?

When you feel good, you will be a better mommy too.

I once attended a talk...about relationships.

The mistake many people make is to LOOK for happines in a relationship. Such a relationship may never be a very mutually beneficial in the long run. (it will be very draining on the person u are looking to for joy/happiness).

The right mentality to any relationship is always to be the bringer of joy. SO in order to enter one properly, we must first be able to find happiness within our own lives, and then harness that joy and manifest it onto the new relationship (be it with hubby or child).

Means...
you have to happy in order to bring happiness to others. And if this is so, u will find it being reciprocated and multiplied naturally.

tute,
re:hair loss product
ya. there is a lot on the shelves. wonder which is good.

bx/jass
re:ss
jia you! give as long as possible. me too. cos i just started work in a new place(today first day) so i need to reschedule my express session.
saw a drop in per pump abt 20-40ml. sigh, now got to concenrate on the schedule

lezy
re:birkes.
hmm... i was at taka's world of sport on sun's afternoon.

re:teething!!!
Gervaise is teething. saw his bit of his tooth coming out....heehee.. so exciting... he always give me surprises when i start on new things.

Hi bx,
I'm also intending to stop pumping already. Now have reduced pumping from 2 times a day to once a day. These few days, can hardly get a decent amount. Don't even feel like pumping once a day now. You know how to stop? Like when exactly can I really stop pumping?

Feel a bit bad too coz my girl has not reached 6 months yet (reaching soon though.. less than 2 weeks time) but I'm really sianz of pumping!

Anyway, the breastmilk i pumped out after a day looks abit off colour (a bit bluish tint!). Makes me wonder if it has gone bad. Heh. Still can drink right?

mcfluffy
i think i read somewhere before that sometimes it has a bluish tint.

lezy
that was nice food for thought
think we all need such reminders once in a while

xiaoyun
i think i saw the caps sold by Nuk before. Not sure if it will fit all bottles, but you can try. I've been keeping the glass bottles from the Heinz baby fruit juice, and medela caps can't fit, but pigeon ones can. HTHs

lezy, what you share makes alot of sense, I agree!
I once read in a book (abt marriages), it says that alot of women often complain about their hb not doing romantic stuff or planning v special things for anniversaries etc but they often forget that its THEIR marriage as much as their husband's and that if they want to be spoilt with surprises, why not be the one to start the ball rolling esp since they are the one who has the need for it. And I realised that its really works for us. I think usually if the wife does alot for her hb, sooner or later he will be paiseh n guilty also, and will start doing the same lol!

xiaoyun, sorry, I am wanting to buy body washes instead.

lezy,
timely post! i know what you mean. i'm not perfect in most aspects of my life, so no hang ups about stumbling along when it comes to parenthood. so long as i've given it my best shot, i think i can live with myself most of the time

it's v true that we need to relax and enjoy our babies cos they are growing so fast. there are so many priceless moments that once gone will never come back again. such as a toothless grin!

berry,
do you want to try contacting nabmum? she usually has a lot of extras from her BP.

or there is a gaia BP happening right now. i use the gaia body wash for arielle who has extremely sensitive skin.

Artemis
sorry about the delay in sending out the baby's first sounds dvd. will do so tomorrow at lunch.
today had to rush home in the middle of the morning as it seems that my son had a fall.
thank god its only a minor one so still observing him.

bx,
think you are not lazy lah... the fact u pump till now is already an achievement...if i dun have a workplace with nursing rm think i would have given up already as well... it's ok to feed baby fm... you've give it your best... stay positive ok ?

xiao yun,
re caps can buy at tmc pharmacy...i bought mine from there, i think $3 for 3 ?? can't really remember...

dor,
re hair loss, my colleague told me dun need to do anything...very normal, she said for her it peaks at 6th month and it even last through 8 mth *gasp!*... after that then it grows back...

Artemis, I collected liow, checked, it was not shrink wrapped but the others are.
but looks new....

Berry, what items u looking for? I ordered extra Calendula cream and citronella lotion. let me know if u need. yup agree with garfield that nabmum will be the best person to get from...she is fast and has lots of extras. every month she BP for california baby.

Those who still need First Teeth toothpaste can let me know...
i ordered extras. ;)

My twins, photo taken yesterday...
boy still in tears cos we refused to carry him....haha
1562940.jpg

thank you everyone for your "words of wisdom". really appreciate the support from you all

mcfluffy,
my friend told me once u pump once a day and try not to clear the breast it will slowly decrease to abt 40ml then 20ml. then u can dun pump liao. u better than me lor. my gal juz turned 5 mths yesterday...

Just finished weighing the Children's Place stuff and going to latch Danica on now. Will update on shipping charges tomorrow okay.

Hi lezy, Berry,

Hahaha... Normally, I will plan a big celebration for my HB's birthday but he always tell me why spend so much money. :p A bit super unappreciated. But he will also celebrate my birthday, anniversary and other festivals with me. Presents he will bring me to buy cause he say scared I don't like. Better than don't have I guess.

Xiaoyun, I bought some caps from Thankful and another mummy with glass bottles. How much do you need? I may be able to sell you some. By the way, I sms you again last Sun around 6pm but no answer, you busy?

Berry, true true, that's why I always 'threaten' to send my hubby flowers and teddy bear to his school cos he never send me any to surprise me. haha.

Artemis, my hubby sometimes also like that, very dense one. Last time with CL and his mum, he also very laid back. Even want to leave my gal at his mum's place on weekday nights until I make noise then he relented. Bo bian lor, we got to ask for the support we need. No matter how thick the cow hide lantern is, sure got a bit of light coming through so must keep trying. :p

thanks to mommies to replied on how to transfer data from phone to pc.

govt trying to get more babies
finally, the debate is reviving! hope like wat lim hwee hua, the senior min of state says, it will be uncool to do what thankful's company did to her! It's gonna be totally unacceptable to discriminate against pregnant women and women with kids.

kitsune, haha you are so funny...and smart lol! Yar, tell him u will not only order flowers, will also add a teddy bear with a very mushy message in an open card! :D

artemis wah you are so sweet, plan celebration! I think v few men will be able to guess the wife's taste impeccably, so must take a risk if really wan surprise presents from hb. Otherwise better forgo the surprise aspect and just choose ourselves. :p

Dawn, wow your twins are gorgeous! :D

Garfield, hey thanks for the tip and your IM! I've already sent my orders to her liao. :D

dunno if becos boy's teeth is still growing out, he does not have much good appetite these days and very grouchy. Wants to be carried all the time until my mother also bua tahan already. Yesterday night, he wake up at 330pm (which he usually dun) and fuss. Wants to be carried but I insist not too. Not that I am a mean mother but dun want him to get into the habit. Today I black eye already, hope tonight he dun do it again, ow really cannot take it.
He is due for his jab and we are inteding to bring him this Sat, but my mum keeps asking me to postpone cos dun wan to make it worse if he starts having fever after the jab. Do u think its a good idea?

dawn, your twins so lovable. Your boy looks so ke lian....

re: birthdays. My hubby only usually celebrates with me over a nicer dinner. He also not the kind send flowers and stuff to surprise me. I always complain to him that the only bouquet of flowers I get from him is when he is courting me. But I complain only lar, I am actually quite happy already that he is making effort to at least bring me out for dinner. This year, with the little one, dunno how already. Looks like may have to change plan and eat at home.

Anyone keen to share orders for goon diapers? Collection will be at bishan. Please PM me if you would like to share. Thanks.

re birthdays

my hubby will usually get me present - if he thought he heard any hints or i have been raving about something or other. but he not that good at 'receiving hints' la so usually he will ask me.

usually also not flower type. but this year birthday he suddenly say gota go NTUC buy things. came up with flowers. ha. not bad la. 100 marks for effort.

(valentines day nothing..but on CHINESE valentines day he surprised me by getting me some gerberas - not wrapped one. he said cheaper than on actual valentine's day - of which i was in hospital anyway - night before giving birth to Ruth.)

re: update for order through goodnaturenutrition
artemis/babyhope/jass/jeannie/luckyblu/tongtong/qingling/thankful
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>USD</TD><TD>Quantity </TD></TR><TR><TD> Artemis</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Babyhope</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Jass</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Jeannie</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> LuckyBlu</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Qingling</TD><TD> California Baby Non-Burning &amp; Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz</TD><TD>6.62</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Thankful</TD><TD> Aloe vera cream </TD><TD>8.9</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Thankful</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong</TD><TD> California Baby Non-Burning &amp; Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz</TD><TD>6.62</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong </TD><TD> Aloe vera cream </TD><TD>8.9</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
The order of CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion, Aloe vera Cream and Diaper Area Wash was not successful due to the reason:

"Order status - Order cancelled by merchant
Notes - We are sorry, we are not able to place the order from this merchant as the merchant does not accept the Concierge US credit card."

Not sure if you all want to change your order to through Vitaglo:
(1) CALIFORNIA BABY BUG REPEL LOTN CITRONELLA 6.5 OZ PRICE: $6.69
(2) CALIFORNIA BABY BUG REPEL SPRAY CITRONELL 6.5 OZ PRICE: $7.92
(3) CALIFORNIA BABY MOISTURIZING CREME 4 OZ PRICE: $8.83
(4) CALIFORNIA BABY SUNBLOCK STICK SPF30 .5 OZ PRICE: $8.44
(5) CALIFORNIA BABY SUNSCREEN SPF18 MOISTRZG 4.5 OZ PRICE: $11.82
(6) CALIFORNIA BABY SUNSCREEN SPF30 EVERYDAY 2.9 OZ PRICE: $11.82
(7) CALIFORNIA BABY SUNSCREEN SPF18 MSTRG Fragrance Free 4.5 OZ PRICE: $11.82

If not, I need to refund you the $$ for the items.

Berry,
you want to order bodywash. check out www.vitaglo.com and let me know which item you need?

babyhope, why not u plan a huge surprise for your hb instead, and few more times of that, he will prob start sending you that bouquet of flowers u want hehe. actually, even with a bb (esp just one child) still can have nice dinner. But prob not those fine-dining types, there are lotsa good restaurants that are v child-friendly, I know that most hotel restaurants that serves buffets are usually family-friendly. Or get your mum/ILs to care for bb for just several hrs and u can go n have a nice romantic dinner w hb.

For us, we dont really have extra help so its all between hb and me, and more work esp with two kids. if I let the kids and their ages become a reason to stop going out and having fun, then we'll never get to do anything nice. so my motto is, just plan well in advance and do it anyway, of course there is a good 30% chance that things wont go as planned due to the children's needs, but if we try, 70% of the time we get to create beautiful family memories, if we dont try, its zero percent. I'll take my chance any day.

Thanks berry. Yar... I am such a lazy wife too. Hubby bd during CNY period, so usually so busy with all the visiting already so I also never plan anything. Once I sounded him out on planning a party on his bd, he a little freaked out. Think he also a bit on such things. He dun really enjoy being limelight of such events.

For dinner, even if restaurants are child-friendly, my boy is not. he refuse to sit in pram and wants to be carried around. Went out for dinner several times, in the end, alwasy got to chop chop swallow the food down, pay and leave or got to pack home and eat. Really pei fu u can cope with two kids somemore. Dunno how u manage.