(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx, +hugz+
re:bf
take it easy...
me too... now also veri slack. sometimes, the 230am also skip.. just lie down and latch.
re:10.30am- how about changing it to lunch time instead?
ya, think it is really an achievement to tong til 4mths. i also keep my finger cross as i changing job mid july.

re:solid food
yest, i went to see gp. was talking to her abt my boi "forever asking for milk".now he will ask for milk(bf) every 1.5-2hrs. she said he might be ready for solid food!so i will introduce him to rice cereal next week.

Cheryl,
Can mail me the GD card list too? Thanks.

bx, it must be a hard decision for you to make, but I am sure you have given your personal best. Yeah, stopping gradually will be a better idea for your own health too. In any case, dont feel too bad ok? There is so much more a happy mum can give to a child, than one who is constantly sleep-deprived and stressed out.

lezy- your bb's tounge thrust reflex still seems quite active? I read that the disappearing of bb's tounge thrust reflex could be an indication about bb's readiness. Or maybe I cant see properly from the vid hehe. Anyway, your bb is a real cutie, looks v brght! :D

jeannie, if I am not wrong, flash cards IS right-brain training.

good morning ladies

bx:
dun feel bad abt stopping to breastfeed.you have already done your best, to provide for bb ya. dun give yourself so much stress, you need to have time to yourself and your bb too. *hugz*

dor:
wah.. your boy is starting solids? so exciting ya. current v siong leh if your boy boy is asking for milk every 1.5-2hours

winnie:
perhaps your ger sleeps too early? matthew only sleeps @ 11-11.30. he can sleep through the night and wakes up abt 7am.

re: posting on overseas site
sian.. the moderator told me that she made a mistake... took away the ability to post liao. super sian!

berry, i read that about the tongue-thrus reflex too. usually when we "sheepishly" feed her, she will push out the food for the 1st 2 times. Thereafter she seems to 'get the message' and 'chew & swallow'.

winnie, considered that maybe baby teething? i hear teething babies tend to wake up thru the night.

Ruth sleeps about 10-ish usually. Last night earlier - about 9.30 but she still woke up 10.

Oh ya. Ruth now takes plain water. Makes it so much easier when we bring her to park and she'll take some water...i dun have to worry she's thirsty and that giving milk would be overfeeding.

re SUNBLOCK

those of you who put sublock for babies....

is the sunblock 'edible'?

why i ask is cuz if baby perspire and u know put hand into mouth and rub face and put hand into mouth, is it cause for concern?

which brand of sunblock do u use?

STROLLER
anyone has good recommendatin for lightweight mesh stroller - those that our baby wil be able to 'tahan' in this weather if we go outdoor?

bx
i think ur ss might hv dropped due to lack of sleep. whenever i'm deprived of sleep (not that i sleep many hours every day, juz that sometimes can't hv good nite sleep due to bb waking up), my ss will drop too. once i put in more slpg hours, the ss will come back. who knows after you chg ur pumping session to twice a day, and with more rest, u will be able to maintain ur ss. just let nature takes it course. being too stressed over the issue will affect ss too. like wat the rest hv said, bfg for 4 mths+ is alr an achievement

thankful
u bb must be v chubby. so us her pix.

cheryl
can email me the list too? tks.

Re: bb's weight
yday brgt bb for his 2nd dose of rotarix. hence, managed to get his latest wt and ht. he's 5 days short of being 5 mth and is 7.5kg, 67cm. didn't check the chart in healthbooklet on wat percentile he falls in.

jass
think need to be member for at least 1 yr in order to be eligible to post in overseas thread.

qingling
your rights should still be on since u hv already been a member for a year (unless they change their criteria liao)

qingling:
i believe u still have the rights coz u register in june. i only register on oct leh. so oct then she will 'return' the rights hee~

berry,
what is tongue thrust reflex?

bx,
dun feel sad. i think cutting back to 2x a day is a good idea instead of a sudden stop. you may find you can cope with 2x a day and continue with partial BF. or if it's too tiring, then it is also good for your body to gradually stop.

solids,
haha...my mom keeps bugging me to give baby solid. i kept telling her to wait till 6 months and finally declared to her yesterday "no means no" =P am i weird or what, cos i actually dun feel keen to intro her to solids unlike a lot of you in the forum hee hee

kitsune,
jia you!!

heard about the problem with LV new shipping policy - they ship whatever they have in different parcels.
I am afraid that the shipping cost will be very high.
Hence, I decided to place order with Vitaglo and GoodNatureNutrition
Qingling, I can't find your Reviva labs and Botanical Solutions item in both Vitaglo and GNN. Sorry got to drop them.

Here's the consolidated order list. Still USD 100 to go
Anybody joining?
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>USD</TD><TD>SGD</TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>Excess</TD><TD>To Pay XY </TD></TR><TR><TD> Artemis</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD></TD><TD>17.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Babyhope</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD></TD><TD>17.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Bkkgal</TD><TD> American Health - Ester-C with Citrus Bioflavonoids 500 mg - 225 VEGETARIAN TABLETS </TD><TD>11.57</TD><TD>16.78</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Bkkgal</TD><TD> Aloe vera cream </TD><TD>8.9</TD><TD>12.91</TD><TD>29.68</TD><TD>-3.67</TD><TD>26.01 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Garfield9</TD><TD> American Health - Ester-C with Citrus Bioflavonoids 500 mg - 225 VEGETARIAN TABLETS </TD><TD>11.57</TD><TD>16.78</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Garfield9</TD><TD> American Health - Ester-C with Citrus Bioflavonoids 500 mg - 225 VEGETARIAN TABLETS </TD><TD>11.57</TD><TD>16.78</TD><TD>33.55</TD><TD></TD><TD>33.55 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Jeannie</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD></TD><TD>17.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Qingling</TD><TD> California Baby Non-Burning &amp; Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz</TD><TD>6.62</TD><TD>9.60</TD><TD>9.60</TD><TD></TD><TD>9.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Thankful</TD><TD> Aloe vera cream </TD><TD>8.9</TD><TD>12.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Thankful</TD><TD> CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.8</TD><TD>17.11</TD><TD>30.02</TD><TD></TD><TD>30.02 </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong</TD><TD> California Baby Non-Burning &amp; Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz</TD><TD>6.62</TD><TD>9.60</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong</TD><TD> Calming Diaper rash cream </TD><TD>6.62</TD><TD>9.60</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong </TD><TD> Aloe vera cream </TD><TD>8.9</TD><TD>12.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> Tongtong </TD><TD> Bug Repellent Lotion</TD><TD>6.69</TD><TD>9.70</TD><TD>41.80</TD><TD></TD><TD>41.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

garfield, toungue thrust reflex is what that helps prevent small bbs from choking- when there is a small particle/item in their mouth, bb's toungue will naturally push it out. And from what I read, one of the signs of readiness is when bb's TTR has diminished significantly- such that when u put small bits of food (mush or something) at the tip of their toungue, they are able to move it back towards the inside of their mouths on their own, gum it and swallow. Oh, I also read that another sign of readiness is baby's ability to bring food to their own mouths- eg, reach out n grab on their own, then bring to mouth. My bb's TTR is still pretty active and he is still unable to coordinate his hand movement well enough to bring stuff to his mouth accurately, so I wont be introducing solids anytime soon.

bx,

last evening we were about to bring erlene to the PD but cancelled last min cos my mum told me that erlene's drinking pattern was OK yesterday.. she drinks abt 100-120ml per feed since yest morning..
thus, we decided to hold on for a few more days to monitor again..

thank you all of u for ur support
today woke up cry abit. but decided to be more positive. i will survive on twice a day pumping and see when my milk reservoir runs dry. will announce on the day i totally no milk. hee...

dor,
teachers got no fix time for lunch wan... and i unlucky my timetable only got break at 10+am. hee.. today not pumping, so can post here. gotta rush off for lessons soon...

qingling, tong,
i have one spare brand new CB calming diaper area wash that i would like to let go. got it from Nor's BP @$15 but willing to sell it at $11. if you are interested let me know ok?

The details for the spree is as follows:

我爱华语(1)(60 cards) 编号: M1 - S$18.25
1513562.jpg

字卡内容
- 家庭成员
- 身体部份
- 动词
- 动物
- 大自然
- 家居用品
- 形容词

内容重点

幼儿认字首要步骤
85个幼儿常听见,非常熟悉的单字、双字
红色大字使幼儿一目了然,很快便能认到“字”
华文《象形》文字开发右脑“影像记忆”功能,并协助提高左脑分析能力,达到〖全脑开发〗的效果

Card Size:31.4 cm X 23.3 cm

我爱华语(2)(120 cards) 编号: M2 - S$25.50
1513573.jpg

字卡内容
- 动作
- 造句用语
- 词汇
- 蔬菜类
- 校园里
- 形容词
- 颜色
- 量词
- 动物篇

内容重点

幼儿认字第二步
双倍的字卡,即120张,200个常用生字
字卡与字型稍小,顺序增加词汇
接受更多字汇后,幼儿的脑袋能吸收大量资讯,求知欲会更加旺盛
奠定小一华文基础

card size:23.3 cm x 15.7 cm

我爱华语(3) 编号: M3 (120 cards) - S$25.50
1513577.jpg

Card size :23.3 cm x 15.7 cm
木板 了不起 聪明 ................................
保护 .........................
比赛 表演.......................................
安全 危险 ...............................
尾巴 休息 谢谢你 别客气

Card size: 31.3 cm x 11.5 cm
唐诗 : 床前明月光 疑是地上霜 .......
句子 : 红红的太阳 蓝蓝的天空 ................
.....爸爸在洗车 我爱妈妈 我也爱爸爸 公园里 ,花儿开
小黄狗会看门 助人为快乐之本 ........................小鸟飞得高 马儿跑得快 我爱读书 用餐前 ,先洗手 .................. 圆圆的月亮

我爱华语第四段(M4) (120 cards) - S$29.20
1513585.jpg

夜不闭户 随机应变 迷途知返 骑虎难下 破镜重圆 以身作则.......
兵不厌诈 一代楷模 ..........
手不释卷 水滴穿石 水落石出 纸上谈兵 趾高气扬 掩耳盗铃 悬梁刺股 程门立雪 逼上梁山...............
朝三幕四 凿壁偷光 滥芋充数 熟能生巧 针 ..................................
card size: 31.3 cm x 11.5 cm

亲子阅读卡 (M5) - S$35.80
由60篇文章,715张单字卡
组成,包括短文,唐诗,儿歌,童谣等。。。。。
1513588.jpg

I love English step 1 ( E1 ) 122 cards - S$25.60
1513607.jpg

The people = gardener / police /
My family member = father / mother / .............
The animals = dog / cat / chicken / duck / bird / fish /..........................
Descriptions = big / tall / ....................../ thin
The actions = drink / eat / take / stand / sit /.............................swim run
Colour = white / black / ...........................
Things in the classroom = chair / table / ...............................
Parts of the body = mouth / ear / .................... eye
Things in the house = radio /.........................toilet / knife
Food and drinks = orange / banana / papaya/ ......................... coffee / meat

I love English step 2 ( E 2 ) 128 cards - S$25.60
1513633.jpg

Daily necessities = fork / soap / ......... umbrella
Places = market / supermarket / .................kitchen
Action = fly / climb / ...........................wash
Adjectives = new / old / ...................../ near / far
Numbers = one/ two / ...........................ten
Days of the week = Sunday / ...................Friday / Saturday
Months of the year = January / .............December
Nature = ocean /land .......................
Shapes = circle / ....................rectangle /
Food and drinks = cake / .............vegetable / milk
Clothing and accessories = hat / shirt / skirt/ socks / shoes / cap/
People = teacher / ...........lawyer / daddy / mummy

I love English step 3 80 cards - S$29.20
1513641.jpg

size:39..37cmx17.78cm
I have a teacher / as busy as a bee / I love daddy/...................................................
what do you want? / clap your hands / I want to learn/........................................
newspaper advertisements / Happy New Year / young green leaves / ...................................................................
how are you today?

Peter &amp; Jane Flash Card (PJFC) 180 cards - S$29.20
1513654.jpg

Card Size: 23.4 cm x 10.5 cm
A / a / about / after / afternoon / ........
draw / E /eat /...... F / farm / fire / fish / five / flowers / for / from / know / L / let / like / likes / little / look /................ M / make / man / /......... who / will / wind / with / work / write / Y /yes / you /.........

English Vocabulary Flash Card (EVFC) 120 cards - S$25.60
1513663.gif

Card Size : 31.3 cm x 11.5 cm
grey elephant / wishing well / funny nose / blow bubbles / hard rock / sore throat /long buses / to and fro / discounted items / biting insects / Red centipedes / spider web / hairy arachnids / green leaves / short pencil / come again / machine made / sea shells / pleasing child / good joke / coconut palm / angsana tree / yellow banana / tall trees / thin bamboo / love grass / waste money /save water / clean room / lovely place / loving mother / speaking doll / story books / leather handbag / twenty cents / take away / cough drops / sharp knife / my instep / painful boll / round belly / hind legs / winter coats / spring water / tiny bables / super reader / breakneck speed / blue whale / reading aloud / creative mind / coffee cup / angry man / chilli red / chilli sauce / green pepper / tasty meal / hot spring /cold water / untidy room /burning fire / fighting fish / colour print /come here / black sheep / new cap / clean face / colourful wallpaper / Start button / hold on / wait here / sharp point / your teacher / next week / great man / tennis elbow / plus two / broken glass / golf course / low tide / top secret / removal sale / smelly shoes / taste buds / went up / my daddy / your mummy / new year / well wishers / come true / sleepy eyes / close shave /relaxing time / breathe in / smart move / quick steps / early birds / watch out / looking glass / loud mouth / helpful hands / golden hair / barking dogs / sweet home /cosy coner / machine parts / long neck / calm seas / harbour seal /sailing boat / ten o’clock / news programme / queen bee / three cheers / hurry up / bath water / pardon me / sliding door / round basketball / mild stomachache / sore thumb

Maths Dot Kit (MDK) - S$35.80
1513676.jpg

Red dots card=50 pcs (22cm x 22 cm)
Symbol card=16 pcs (22cm x 22 cm)
Araeic numbers card=50 pcs ( 11cm x 11cm )
Symbol card=16 pcs ( 11cm x 11cm )
Total:132 card

Anyone interested in Malay cards? If no one, then I don't post.

Order format:
Nick:
Item:
Qty:
Total:

E.g.
Nick: Artemis
Item: E1
Qty: 1
Item: M1
Item: MDK
Total: S$79.65

i'm contemplating taking calcium supplements, but am buffled by the number of types of calcium available...calcium carbonate, calcium citrate, calcium citrate malate etc.

does anyone know which form is ideal / preferred for lactating mothers?

artemis,
wow that's a long list! you've got good lobang =) i'm tempted to try out the malay cards just for fun....to see whether arielle can pick up malay language just through flash cards (will rely on conventional non-flash card methods to teach her english/chinese)

Kad imbas Bahasa Malaysia (B M 1) 120 cards - S$25.60
1513718.jpg

card size : 31.3 cm x 11.5 cm
Keluarga saya : bapa /emak / abang / kakak / adik / datuk / nenek /lelaki/ Perempuan
Pekerjaan : polis / posmen / tentera /doctor / jururawat / guru / petani /murid
Warna : putih / hitam / kuning / merah / hijau / biru / ungu/
Buah –buahan : epal / oren / pisang / betik / rambutan / durian / nanas /
Makanan dan minuman : nasi / roti / daging / telur / sayur /air /
Binatang : kucing / anjing / ayam / itik / burung / ikan / lembu / kambing / kuda / arnab /angsa / harimau / singa / gajah / ular / monyet / beruang /
Pengangkutan : van / kereta / basikal / teksi / motosikal / lori / bas /
Sekolah : meja / kerusi / beg / pembaris / pensel / buku / pintu / tingkap / sekolah / kantin /
Badan saya : mata / hidung / mulut / telinga / kepala / tangan / kaki / dahi / gigi / jari / dada / bahu / lutut / pipi / siku / rambut /
Perkakas di dalam rumah : cerek / kipas / gelas / cawan / berus / almari / lampu / tandas / pisau / radio / televisyen / sabun / tua

Oh yeah... Forgot to put... :p

Collection: Self Collect at Punggol, SengKang, HarbourFront or we could have a gathering and I drive the items there? :p

Hi crystal,

Allahmah! :p I post in the forum and emailed you leh but you no reply so I ordered already leh. Tell you what, if you still interested I can ask my boss again. He will be coming in August again.

Revised Order format:
Nick:
Item:
Qty:
Total:
Collection :
(Punggol, SengKang, HarbourFront MRT stations, only weekdays for HarbourFront)

E.g.
Nick: Artemis
Item: E1
Item: M1
Item: MDK
Total: S$79.65
Collection: Self-Collect at Punggol

artemis
haha sorry i don follow this thread. cuz actually i am from mar08 thread. just that i delivered 2wks early - on 14feb. hehe so missed your post. then nvr gt your email. sad sad.

yes i am still keen on the dreambag. and hor my orders for the flash cards.

my email is [email protected]

cheryl,
I also want. You have my email rite?

lezy,
meat have to cut till very small piece when feeding at 1yr old.

jeannie,
will try to post her pics. Now I know why my wrist can't take her weight for long already. Yesterday duno why my gal let me latch on a while. When she wake up, don't want me to latch on again. Fussy bb.

kitsune,
Duno y now she don't let me latch on. Sian.

Bx,
I also now testing pumping only 2times. Skipped lunch pumping now due to pressure in office. Sian.

Artemis,
So it's better than the blank cards and we print ourselves is it? Will try to collect my Avent bottle from you soon.

Happymum2b,
Sorry for the delay. I will try to meetup with you this weekend if not the next weekend. Have been really busy and no internet access

Gar, why not ask your GP to prescribe calcium sups?

i'm still taking (on n off cuz i'm lazy and forgetful) calcium sups my GP gave me when i was expecting. hah. also taking multivits that my gynae gave - during my post-delivery visit, i asked him to prescribe me as much as possible cuz i felt it was:

1. good - i never fell sick at all during pregnancy, except once food poisoning.

2. cheap - less than 10 bucks for half a yr supply (he advice just take every other day n eat well)

Hi Thankful,

I also think so. When I told my HB I wanted to buy blank cards and write on them to flash for Danica, he was like, "Your handwriting?!?" and "You sure you got time a not?" So I think spend a bit more to get printed ones then won't spend so much time away from Danica. :p No problem, you let me know when.

Hi lezy,

Wah... Ruth so adorable! Now I so anticipate Danica's first taste of solid food too. But I will wait till she is around 6 months. Then I want to start with pears. Do we have to cook the fruit if giving fruits?

Hi kitsune,

If RayAnne is approaching 6 months, why not try starting solids? Then at least you can continue to give BM and she will not require that much already.