(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re:gd flashcard
apple - do u start both maths n read program together? or which 1 to start first? if working not poss to do both pograms right? too many sessions interval not long in btw. sorry 4 my many questions...i wonder if the gd distributor will entertain us who only buy their books?

re: flashcard

mummies - wat sizes are we getting?

i actually printed my dots in A4 - so i tot i wld buy A4 cards although recommended for maths is 11" by 11". i haven't finish reading the read book..
No. / Nick / Weight / No of pieces/size?
1 / jaslynloh / 300g / 250
2 / qingling / 300g/ 300/A4
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila /
6 / Thankful / 250g / 200
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300

qingling
For maths:-
Flashing 2 sets of 5 cards each. All done in one session. two sessions per day for working parents. Initial first few days no need to put in new cards, until a certain day, then u start retiring two cards and putting in 2 new cards everyday.
Besides flashing these single dot cards, when you hit the number 20, u will start equations. I am doing 2 sets of equation everyday.

For English
Flashing 2 sets of 5 cards each. One set may be under catergory- Family members and the other under body parts.
Each set must be flash seperately with an interval of at least 15min
We start retiring old cards and putting new cards at a certain day.
Each set also 2 sessions per day. Max 3 sessions and 3 sets per day if u are non-working mummies. I am doing 2 sets, 2 session per day.
Next time there will be couplets, phrases etc. But i need to complete 200 single words first.

The same applies to Chinese.

Yes for us our baby is about 4mth old .we can start all problem together..As in i do Math follow by english then chinese (Set 1) then 15min later i do english ,chinese then math (set 2)
Flashing of card is fast 1 sec per card but is the preparation that take time.U need to keep a time-table for it

No the GD dun entertain ppl who just buy the book ..u need to buy the set with them.

re flashcard
so is it collection at your own time, or must all go together? if collect at own time i want also

Eliaw, thanks, ya he kan cheong and checked online last night liao.

I'm still resisting to buy and make flashcards for RaeAnne, very siong leh. Think I'll just buy from Popular bah. Lazy mummy... :p

hmm... much talk abt flashcards...

apple,
you bought a set from GD? where did u learn how to do the flashing?

sorry, haven't been following old threads closely so blur blur...

No. / Nick / Weight / No of pieces
2 / qingling / 300g/ ???
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila / 300g / 200

apple, u attended the class already? I also bought the cards cos seeing 1005 cards, I faint liao, decide not to diy since I am FTWM. Is the class useful or u learn the methods thru the book directly? Class dun encourage to bring bb so still dunno where to deposit him if I want to attend the class.

As for printing of cards, I did explore buying the blank paper to print and check out with a printing co. According to them, cos paper size too big (6 by 22), cannot use normal laser print. Need to use machine and prepare mould, so will need to pring abt 500 sets to be worth it. So I give up the idea and decide to buy the kit. Also buy in motherhood fair, they got give a vocab book as freebies.

Kitsune, I bought the swim pants today, no discount leh. Its 24 ( more ex than the fair) but no choice, somemore see left last piece of blue so just get it. Did u buy the vest?

babyhope & apple,
How much did you pay for the 1005 cards and where do we attend the class? Thanks. I don't have time to look around for this yet... tempted to diy but dunno when I can complete it...

i actually printed my dots in A4 - so i tot i wld buy A4 cards although recommended for maths is 11" by 11". i haven't finish reading the read book..
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila / 300g / 200
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300

opps sorry! this is the right one:

3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila / 300g / 200
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300

p1nk1e-ya i bought the set from the GD.The flashing is taught by the GD trainer.

babyhope-yes i attend the class,i read the book i also confuse.The classes is useful,becos they teach u how to flash the card n u can clarify any doubts with them .i saw parents bringing baby too.Can bring la just hope your BB does not make noise if not will be distracting for u.bring your hubby with u

snowbelle-i bought the English Read set(570),u attend the classes at upper thomas rd(where many good foods around)yummy...

thanks apple. Think better not bring him, he always dun cooperate in such situations. Either will poo poo or will scream the roof down.

Snowbelle, I cannot remember each set, I bought chinese, maths and eng as a package deal during the fair for 1430. The installment plan is good cos wun feel the pitch so badly.

babyhope, aiyah, no more discount? Should have bought from fair then. Why are you rushing to buy though? When are you bringing your boy swimming?

Thanks apple & babyhope. Wow... didn't expect it to be soooo ex... maybe I have to consider diy liao... feel heartache to spend so much leh...

hi kirsten,

i using combi

hi jaslynloh,

if printing the cards,count me in,ok?cos if got to write 1005 cards on my own,i dun think i can do it,some more my writing not nice

jeannie,
I wear breast pad 24/7. So if latch on, watever leak fr othr side wil b absorb by d pad. When i pump, wil use a btl to hold milk dat leak fr othr breast.

My bb stays w my mum fr mon til fri. Sure if u r free to pop by my mumz plc, my bb n mum wil b most hapi

am interested! but where to print?
any samples to borrow to make the flashcards?

re:bf
jeanie/bx me too!!! super sian with to express. also thinking of stopping

re:Genting
just came back from genting this morning. everyone except Gervase enjoy the getaway. He was super cranky when he was there. mum said he "ren" the place. brought my pump there to express n fed him via bottles. was fun cos i latched him in the theme park.
Gervaise ended up with rosy cheek.. cos of the weather...he a bit sun-tanned. so cute..

dor,

re: bf
ya lor, super sian and tired. have been pumping lesser and lesser these 2 days. yesterday even break record, 10 hours never pump. today 8 hours. try to endure till 6mths lor. i dun think i can endure till 6 mtths.

apple,
oic! U bought the set so attending classes now ah...
How much all in all? dun think i have time to attend classes...

kirsten,
me using combi too!

Stephie,
why dun u use a breastshell to collect leakage from the other breast? this will minimize contamination, since bottle will be so "open"...
i'm currently using it 'cos dun wanna wet the breast pad

dor/bx,
dun sian! got pump betta than no pump!

me tomolo 3rd day since back to work, still feeling quite positive - let's JIAYOU together!

dor,
show pics of your dear Gervaise tan tan leh... hehehe... shud be veri cuteeee!

Stephie, initially I wanted to buy Acer cos it's cheap, then look and look, end up buying HP cos the screen looks nicer and because of the free MS Office, 3 year pick up and return warranty etc. Ya, so qiao, great minds think alike. Are you using hotel vouchers too? Any plans to go to the Swissotel Merchant Court or Raffles Hotel?

Kitsune, think during the fair, its abt 50 off each set. Heard from the lady that the price is going to increase soon cos of inflation ( paper and printing price increase). I thot of it for 2 days before returning to the fair to get it cos like most of u, I feel heart pain of the money. But since fair allows payment by installment, it helps to make my decision an easier one. Also, he seems to like flashcards cos tried to flash him the white, black red cards before and he likes it. Hubby agrees to it, so buy lor.
Re: swimming, thinking of taking the sun class if there is. Sep for most right?

Printing of cards
Another issue I thot of is that will there be any copyrights infringement for printing the cards?

p1nk1e, only 1 class only. Not the regular classes that you need to attend for several weeks/ months. So not so bad lar.

xiaoyun, anymore leftover stock for baby sunblock? What is the brand? Can baby below 6 months used it? I read somewhere that says baby below 6 months shd not apply such lotion.

Babyhope, oic, I bought laptop for $2199, but stinge on buying flashcards for bb. Bad mummy! :p But main reason is because I wonder if I'll stress her and myself too much by using flashcards too early, too soon, end up being card elephants. I did buy the Popular type of flashcards but those for simple 'A for Apple' type. But those are cheap, don't use also ok... :p Yup, I also waiting to bring her swimming.

By the way, I have a blocked milk duct AGAIN!
Just paid for LC to do home visit, another $80 fly away. Think I'm really going to wean off once hit 6 mths liao, can't stand the pain and always kenna recurring blocked ducts.

stephie.. i think u better "warn" ur mum first.. hehe.. otherwise.. she will think that i am so weird suddenly bring baby up.. Tell. her.. i am her good neighbour.. haha

stephie.. i also use cup to collect when pump milk..

pinkie.. use shell will not leak??

bx/dor.. my ss dropping these 2 days pump very little..like kena blocked ( never happen to me before) dunno y.. a sign that i should stop??I think i will perservre to 6 months.. thats it..

kitsune, I dun want to treat as stress lor, I want to make it as something fun for him. Esp at his age now, he wun feel the stress. But think that at least if I start him on good footage, he prob will have less stress next time in school. Me very idealistic hor.
PS: the stupid Medela supplier very screw up, claim he send photocopy of the warranty to me but I did not get it. Will call and chase again tomorrow. But he confirm that system indicate the effective date as 12 Feb 08.

re: GD
really pei fu all the mummies here who r willing to buy the GD set to teach ur babies. it's too ex. but being kaisu parent, went to robinsons ytd to buy Your Baby Can Read books (vol 1 - 5). but realised that need to buy the vcds/dvds as the books are companion readers. anyone knows of good lobang to buy the vcds/dvds?

jeannie,
i think u kenna blocked duct izit? sat i oso. 10 hours never pump but only managed to pump out 260ml. so i panic. the next morning i massage and squeeze until my breast red red. and i pumped for one hour. managed to get 380ml. but for the rest of the day i only get 90 - 100 ml. so i guess my ss oso very unstable due to infrequent pumping.

u try massaging ur breasts?

but nevermind lah. coz i planning to reduce the number of BM feeds.

Schedule when sch reopen:
Week 1 - 5 BM, 1 FM
Week 2 - 4 BM, 2 FM
Week 3 - 3 BM, 3 FM
Week 4 - 2 BM, 4 FM
Week 5 - 1 BM, 5 FM
Week 6 - all FM!!

by then my ger already 5 mth plus. ok lah. i have done my best. if my ss drained before week 5, then i oso accept it lor.

any advice on which blender to buy? i thinking of getting on end of the mth. Dont think getting a handheld one so any recommendation?

morning ladies,

Safe for sterilizing
does anyone know if the Avent VIA cup and those pigeon baby feeding spoon can be placed in sterilizer and sterilize them?

cos i have a spare VIA cup and bought a pigeon bb spoon, have been feeding my bb water this way. always put these in the sterilizer cos i felt it's more 'hygenic' as compared to leaving it on the common cups and spoons rack at home. but also means that when i sterilize my milk bottles, they also kena setrilize. just wondering if it's safe to do so?esp the VIA cup, cos it looks and feels so 'soft'.

eliaw,
Using PIS advanced. Mine stubborn. Only can get all out in 45-60mins only. Even after massage, still need to press breast during pumping. If not, it will be longer.

pinkie,
1 of my new Medela bottle also dented in. Maybe cap it will just take out from steriliser. Can't go back to shape already. So I threw it away. Bo pian cos can feel the plastic already soft. Scared harmful to bb.

kitsune,
Ya. Very happy. These few days I also try my best to latch her on more. She's naughty especially at night cos need to carry her, rock her then can latch on. My right wrist super painful now.

kitsune
yup, me using the hotel voucher too. else too ex to indulge myself. haha. actually wanted to go for merchant court this time cos went swissotel last round, but it's fully booked (for those using voucher) for the date i want. so went back to swissotel loh. raffles hotel quite ex right? now v gian hotel stay cos grounded in singapore this year :p

i went to IT on sat too. but only for signing up broadband with singtel. dare not venture to the main exhibition halls cos it's too crowded liao.

me too dun want to invest in flash cards. only got those buy off the shelve type. it's a white elephant in my cupboard now. heng it's cheap. i think i'll be more stress than bb if i were to buy those GD flash cards.

jeannie
heehee.. u so cute. okie, tonight i'll go 'warn' my mum ;)

pinkie
i've been using milk bottle to collect milk leaking from the other side since my girl's time. so far so good leh. will be contaminated ah? at most i throw away those collected in the milk bottle loh. dun wanna invest in breastshell since i won't be having another bb (no much mileage. haha)

jac
u wanna get a blender to puree food for bb ah? i went for a talk on sat. the speaker advise against making food too fine for baby. good to just finely chop food, etc such that there's still a bit of texture for bb to 'chew' with.

jia you jia you! i also feel sian in pumping. but the goodness of BM keep me going.

my #1 used to hv cough/flu every mth after i stopped bf her. now i got excess, will gv her some to drink, recently, she seldom gets sick liao. :D

btw, i notice that if i don't pump regularly, i need more time to clear the breast. normally, i expressed 10 min, can clear liao. but if i stretch the session to 7 hrs, sometimes 20 min pumping, still can't fully clear and need bb's help to clear.

so, those mummies who have blocked ducts, probably you wanna pump more regularly?

re:gd,
i'm too late to read all the postings...but am also interested, how are you gals planning to get the image source from ? does anyone have the soft copy that can be printed out easily ? or we have to make ? think if have to make, i'm too lazy leh...

good morning.
Super duper tired today. Last night wake up twice for feeding and another 2 times to pat my boy back to sleep as he kept lifting both legs in the air and let go of them to make them slam onto the mattress of his play pen. He appears to be sleeping through these leg slamming sessions. I wonder what is causing this. Dreams? Reflex?

bx:
i bought the baby can read vcd. w the starter book. found the book to be the same as the vcd. sigh... shouldnt't have bought the book. luckily i onli buy 1, not all.. but probably dvd is better as one can select the different section. coz my boy onli watch 10-15 min then he is distracted liao. so till now have not gone pass the 1st 10-15min of the vcd.

Kirsten:
I’m also using combi

Thankful:
My medela bottles went back to normal shape after my maid stop screwing the cap tight after sterilizing. Hehe~ so I con’t using them. *high5* my wrists are breaking too… can’t imagine who painful it will be when bb put on more weight!

Blank flash card:
no one recommended printer leh... any lobang? dun think it will be infringement of copy right ba. coz i guess we dun have to follow the GD words, we can let out bb learn whichever words we want to print right? i believe the GD approach has very general words which we can come up with as well. forget to check with mummies which sizes you guys wan.

1 / jaslynloh / 300g / 300 / 6”x22”
3 / artemis / 300g / 300
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila / 300g / 200
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300

Blender:
Read fr a brochure from dunno which organization: 4-6 months bb need very finely pureed food.. then gradually can ‘upgrade’ to finely chopped / meshed food as they learn to chew

jaslyn
i din give my girl v finely pureed food when she started solid from 4th month leh. i only meshed the food with fork. the brochure from organisation selling blender?

Hi piglettail,

The 6 tubes of Desitin Creamy are here! Are you still interested to get 2 tubes? If yes, I calculated each tube is S$8.68 plus shipping.

RE : stroller

I using Capella, so far so good, very stable. Last time I tried Combi ones. Only the more ex ones can pass my "if I accidentally knock into it test" :p Cause I quite clumsy type.

RE : blank flash card

1 / jaslynloh / 300g / 300 / 6”x22”
3 / artemis / 300g / 300 / 6" x 22"
4 / jeannie /300g/ 200
5 / Leila / 300g / 200
7 / eliaw / 300g / 300

RE : BF

I think once baby reaches 6 months we won't feel as stressed about BF as no need for night feeds and milk will become like a "snack" 3 times a day. Of course each snack will be around 8 - 9 ounces still :p

RE : blender

Anyone knows when the Philips fair is held? I wonder if can buy from there and still be in time to intro solids to Danica in Sept.

RE : maid

Ask you gals who have maids at home. If your maid doesn't call you or HB "Mdm/Sir" how to tell her nicely to call us that? Cause now my new maid doesn't do that and when I asked her, she said she not used to it as when she working in Myanmar, she worked in office environment and there is no such culture.

RE : pureed food

I think I will also start with finely pureed food cause scare Danica choke leh. Slowly slowly then put in more texture as she grows older and more used to eating solids.

jeannie,
use breastshells to collect, then nonid to hold onto the bottle also...
juz wear it like a breast pad

Stephie,
oic, den no point buying lah... if scared den throw away lor

i use breastshell also throw, 'cos i not storing when i'm at home - oni store when in office

good morning,

re: leaked milk
my breast leaked terribly in my first 2 months. i tried to attach breastshell to collect the milk instead of using breastpad, my breast become very itchy after a few hours. not sure if it's too tight.

now, my breast doesn't leak when it's not very full. during latching/pumping, the other side will leak. breastshell can't help much cos the leakage is about 50ml. I use the breastpump flange and connect to a bottle to collect the leaked milk (all sterilised). Once collected, I will put in the fridge to standby for bb feeding when I'm not around. If bb does not consume that, I will use it for other purposes (e.g., washing face, I used it to cook sliced fish soup bee hoon) haha...

stephie,
you use breastpad 24/7. the cost very high le. now I only use it when I am out.

re: pureed food
i bought food preparation set (include mortar, etc) at kiddypalace, don't think I will get a special blender just for a few months.

I found a website about homemade baby food, hope that it's useful for you all.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

re: bb cereal
read from Jan thread they are talking about Healthy Times bb food:
http://www.healthytimes.sg/
purchase of > $200 entitled to 15% discount.
so tempting...

anyone knows VIA cups cannot be sterilised ah? coz i happen to read from other threads about plastic items that cannot be sterilised. now panic... somemore my VIA cups have been reusing and reusing. never replace them coz they are still in good condition.

Re: maid

Need some advice from you guys. My maid have been with me for 6 mths already...yesterday she went nuts and threaten my hubby to fight with her...she said she is not here to be bully by us...

My agent have just inform that she want to return to her country and we are supposed to buy her the air tix...was wondering are we supposed to do so for her..i am super unwilling pay for her air tix.

her working altitude have been super sucky..and we have not scolded her big time and baby is also not taken care by her..really wonder what is wrong with her...btw, she still have outstanding loans with us however the agent said we can use the remaining to offset the new loan from the new maid.

goodbb,
sorry, i should say mortar and pestle. it is a tool used to crush, grind, and mix substances. The pestle is a heavy stick whose end is used for pounding and grinding, and the mortar is a bowl. The substance is ground between the pestle and the mortar