(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx: hahah its @ most 200ml. usually abt 120 - 160ml like tat. pumping 2 - 3 times only. so usually enuff for 3-4 feed. Haha not enuff then drink FM. we'll prepare 125 for my boy everytime which he can sometimes finish. no buffer stock hee~

jaslyn,
okok, i see. Now i oso get abt 120 - 160ml, but pumping 5 times. still manage to TBF. unless we go out then we give FM. going to reduce to pumping 3 times soon. how long have u been pumping 2 - 3 times? did ur ss drop when u pump less?

stepie, wah you can space 8 hrs apart, i find it quite tough, but i think sooner or lateri need to reduce the pump... cos agree with the rest, washing takes a long time....

cheryl, sad to hear that, take good care!!

p1nk1e,

My FIL got bamboo chair from kallang bahru. He can't tell exact location, Blk50 something; shop at HDB flat ground floor; FIL says that it's easy to find?.

whole day didn't read the forum and thread has run away! so active!

cheryl, hope vernon gets better. did he catch a cold or something?

bx, thanks
i got the headband from another mommy in the forum. now i wanna go buy more accessories for her. hehe! but she no hair lah, cannot wear clippies.

ILs
wah, reading all your IL woes makes me feel very lucky. My ILs are super in love with my dd. They live in Jurong and will make effort to come to the East to look after her 2 days a week. My MIL will stay overnight at my place. FIL simply loves to "talk" to his granddaughter, dunno what they say to each other but very cute to watch him engaging her. FIL is that kind who never carried his own kids when they were babies type but with my dd, he really makes effort to carry, change diaper and play with her. Actually, my ILs are so much more involved with my girl compared to my parents.

stephie
Looks like our hubbies can exchange tips.

Cheryl, hope your boy recovers soon.

BF, hear most of you here still bf, make me really so ashamed of myself. I give up after 2 mths.

hello mummies...wow..its only 1-2 i did not log in and the posts are hard to catch up already.

Jaslyn - i am also interested in getting the blank flash cards..actually i am reading "How to teach your baby maths", i also bought the book "How to teach baby to read"..so in fact if i want to start, which one should i start first?
May i know whom are u ordering from?

re: husband issue
actually i m quite lucky to have a husband doing all almost the same things i do for the bb..change diapers.feed.bathe.even wash bb's clothes!somehow he understand we have to take turns becos its our child. also weekend he makes an effort to bring us out even he has been working rather tired over the weekdays. so i actually shd show some appreciation on father's day.haha. Xiaoyun, u stay with PIL? maybe thats the tougher part right..always have to sacrifice own family and give face to pp (like when pp jio u for mahjong)

my MIL also super sayang my bb..but sometimes i feel a little out of place esp initial period..she always seems to want to "snatch" the bb from me n play with her, feed her..even when i feed halfway..she will ask me to let her feed..?@!?i wonder if i was too sensitive..too strong mother instinct..haha..but i think now she knows i am the MOM, so she will not do the "snatching" from me..then at least i will willingly let her handle the bb for a while.

Cheryl,oh dear,hope vernon is fine.Take care!

Xiaoyun - where to buy the piyo piyo mozzie thingy??

bb swimming - so means no1 is interested to join the aquaducks trial in Aug is it? my fren tempt me to bring bb to swimming pool with their bbs..but their bbs 6-7 mths old liao..hmm..is it too cold for our 3-4 mths plus bb to go swimming in those normal pool?? maybe i shld jus let her feet waddle in the water hor?

ops my post very long..paiseh

Xiaoyun, I'm interested in the mozzie device too, my gal seems to attract mosquitoes. Always kenna mosquito bites, record was 6 bites in 1 night.

Set up her big cot today since she's flipping actively. Wow! so big, my baby room got no space liao. :p

re: husband issue
yesterday i think i was too tired and frustrated with my #1's crying and wailing; I threw temper to my hb for being not helping much AUTOMATICALLY and kept sitting in front of the computer while i was busy at sterilising bottles, handling #2, etc etc... and only do things which I instructed him and no extra worked done by him. till now, i am still feeling quite upset. sigh....

re: insect repellent
the piyopiyo insect repellent is good, can be found at BHG! another brand i think is mozz away, can be found from NTUC , cold storage.

kitsune
you can also buy burts bee to apply on your gal's body. i think someone organise the spree in this forum before, not sure close already or not. sometimes i apply Zambuk on my gal's body,too.

Qingling
same here my hubby help to do everything for bb, Except when my bb poo...haha my parents everynight come home will talk to my bb and i dont know what they talking also but very cute.

Swimming
my hubby want to bring her to swimming pool also. Very hard to find their swimming costume. Heard that bb swimming pool is about 30 degree.

Jaslyn,
I will try to upload pics this weekend. What size you wear?

Jeannie,
Envy you have personnel time to do all your stuff. Me fully occuppied!

Bx,
I also carry my gal until my wrist wanna give way already.

Latching on
So happy I managed to latch on my gal yesterday. Only need to latch on, carry and rock her. My arms and wrist nearly give way! Althot 1time, I still very happy. Will try everyday now.

QooSan,
Thanks for passing my wrap to XiaoYun.

XiaoYun,
Thanks for helping me to pass my wrap to Kelly.

Kelly,
Sorry make things so complicated. Thanks for collecting for me. Cos your area nearer to Sengkang...

Pinkie,
I only used cetaphil as recommended by KKH PD. I find cream better than lotion. Lotion too watery.

Tute,
You can collect anytime. Just let me know when you coming in advance. You have sealing caps and disc for your rest of glass bottles? So you just take 10bottles + 4sealing caps & disc? Or you need more? You have my hp number?

Cards
Jeannie, apple & Jas I don't mind to share some of the cards as well.

Artemis,
Sometimes have to wait longer (1day) than can see the foremilk and hind milk.

Stephie,
Me too. 8hrs or more will have engorged! So far my supply drop when blocked duct. Now seemed to go back to normal supply. Not as much as 3hrly that time but managable and able to give no.1 EBM also.

Pumping at work
Supervisor hinting when I will stop EBM. Told her 6mths... Then think I will endure engorgement and pump once at home. So from 3times to 2times per day. 12-14hrs interval! Anybody do this before? Will supply drop??

bkkgal,
Mine opposite. My parents more involved with both my kids. MIL 1/2 involved and FIL no involved.

Qingling,
My MIL will always "snatch" my gal away from me. Even when my gal just lie on my bed in front of me! Can even tell my gal don't disturb mummy.....

oops super long post. Sorry....

cheryl,
oh dear... how's your boy now?
btw, what is bronchitis? a virus?
i've heard horror stories about neuberliser... poor boy

tubao,
roughly how much is one ah? me maybe get one for my boy too, cos i see your little girl veri cuteeeeee in it

re: insect repellent
do you juz hang it on bb's clothes? my boy's skin sensitive so i'm quite hesitant to apply anything on him...

Thankful,
oic, my PD say try QV... hmmm... maybe i try QV, if doesn't work den try Cetaphil bah

2nd day @ work
so far so good *cross fingers*
bb missed 1st feed 'cos refuses bottle very violently. but 2nd and 3rd feed guai guai drink liao so i'm more relieved.
latched him on before bed and he drank so long (much?) *faint*

now i'm latching my boy on 1 feed in the morning & 1 feed before his bedtime. MIL's place he drinks frozen EBM...
does that sound ok? or should i give him "fresh" EBM?

cheryl,
Hope your boy will get well soon.

bumper mats,
saw some mummies in the Jan & Mar thread discussing about bumper mats (from small small world), anyone here thinking of buying one soon? Actually besides being nicer (lots of cute designs to choose from), er..any different from a normal mattress? Cos quite exp le...at least $100 plus.

winnie
maybe u slowly increase the pump interval. our body will get use to it gradually. i find it too leceh and me too lazy to express more than once during work.

sunny
my hubby sometimes also like dat. when we reach home, i'll straight go tuck bb to bed and sometimes gotta attend to my gal. can get quite mang zhang at times. then hubby will just lie down on sofa to watch tv. so i'll nag nag nag till he come and help out with my gal. sometimes when he's in mood, will auto help out.

tks for the info on piyo piyo. will chk it out.

qingling
lucky you to have an 'auto' hubby. mine will do if i 'instruct' him. wish he's always auto and not only on ocassion when he's in the mood :p

thankful
i dun feel engorged (though breast is full but don't hv that uncomfortable feeling) having to pump only after 8 hrs. sometimes i'll stretch till 9 or 9.5 hours. probably body used to the interval liao.

eliaw was on 2 pump a day. she managed to pump 500ml each session. can u make use of lunch time to pump? then won't eat into your working time?

pinkie
think bb know if dun drink ebm, will be hungry. so no choice must drink. i drink probably apply to my boy too :p

frozen ebm is fine. mine drinking frozen one too. i apply the first in first out method so will freeze those that i pump at work.

cheryl
hope vernon gets well soon! u take care too.

Stephie,
i also say... bet he was hungry like mad liaoz... muahaha

i wanna do 1st in 1st out too, since 1st and last feed i latched on so he has a fair share of "fresh" BM liaoz...
plus my frozen EBM going to "expire" liaoz...

how's your pumping schedule like?

btw, ladies who pump more than once in office...
when do you start washing your "stuff"?
i feel that i keep walking around office, like not so nice...
walk to nursing room, come back to desk, walk to pantry to wash, sterilize (8mins), hang around, take stuff, pack in box, walk back to desk...
all in all, i think takes 1/2hr at least for me to complete everything...

pinkie
don't waste ur frozen ebm. try to use before it expires. i pump 3 times a day - 6am, 2pm (sometimes stretch till 3 or 3.30pm) and 10/11pm. weekdays will latch bb once ard 8pm. weekend i fully latch on and pump out the excess usu early in the morning and late at nite.

Pinkie,
Better to feed mixture of frozen EBM and chilled EBM. If not bb will reject frozen EBM. Then you frozen EBM will be wasted. We must train our bb to customise to all situation. Heehee...

Yanyen,
There are mummies selling off their bumper mat. I thinking of selling 1 of mine. It's extra piece I have.

stephie,
I'm pumping during lunch time leh. 30mins not enough for me. I would need 45-60mins to get most of them out.

Even lunchtime pumping, my supervisor still say loh. Working life like that. Cos most of my female bosses don't BF their bb or not married yet. Sigh.... What to do? Not MNC company or govt sector or big big company.

I pump at 5+am then rush to work. 12pm pump again. Then rush home pump at 8+pm. Morning yield 400-500+ml, lunch time yield 300+ml and at nite 600+ml. So total +/- 1400ml. Now every nite I try to latch on my gal. So thinking if switch to 2times, will supply drop. Cos no.1 only drink fresh or chilled EBM. He don't like frozen EBM taste.

thankful
wow, ur ss alot. even if drop a bit will still be enuf for ur bb. no. 1 is secondary. if hv extra drink, if not also nvm since ebm can't fulfil the nutrients requirement for ur no. 1's age.

Pump at work:
i'm doing duties at work (the lingo used at my workplace) at 7.30am, 11.30am, 4.30am.

I'll also take at least 45 mins to complete one round of pumping at work. Also walk here walk there - to nursing room on another floor, to pantry to wash and store ebm in fridge, to workstation). Fortunately for me there are 3 other mummies in my dept doing duties this period...so see us like very bz walking ard one after another haha

Thankful,
ic, so i think i'll let my MIL do 2~3feeds of frozen EBM, den i latch on 1st and last feed...
meaning i'll freeze everything i pump out in office hor...

my place quite ok abt BF so i'm one of the fortunate few...
think maybe i've latched on for long time (almost 3 mos) so i can empty my breast within 10~15mins... juz the washing/sterilizing part... which i feel like taking time.
i try to avoid lunchtime, pump 2nd time around 2pm so that pantry will be empty...

jac,
Thickness and texture difference. I would say small small world better than minitoons one. Bought around $130-150+ for my design. Can't remember. Have to see whether still in my email a not. Normally mummies sell $80+ to $100 this range for 2nd hand. What's your budget? I have a friend whom might want to sell away also.

Stephie,
KKH lacatation nurse say no.1 drink BM will have anti-bodies loh. Too strengthen his immune system. Initially I did not give no.1 cos scared I go back work supply drop. What if my gal appetite increase and not enough. It's not until I filled 2freezer then I intro slowly EBM to no.1. Now no.1 fully EBM mixed with FM.

That's why I perserve on to EBM althot hubby keep asking me to stop cos see me so tired everyday. I'm a extinct panda liao.

yanyen,
me nursing room got fridge so lucky thing less walking...
but still, i feel paiseh pumping twice - dowan pple to think i veri eng...

so do you wash/sterilize straight after pump?
i got a microwave sterilizer so bulky so if i do all at one go, i look like i'm moving house so i walk back to seat den go wash... then becomes too much walking...

thankful: i wear size M now... some even L... sob sob i used to be a XS / S. sigh...

bx: i started pumping 1 week before i start work. before then i was doing total latch on. when i start to pump for tat 1 week (4 - 5 times a day), ss is miserable (60-80). now i pump consistently, the ss is better than previously. hee maybe more breast is more used to the pump now.

p1nk1e: i nv sterilise in office leh. coz v mafan to bring all the barang barang. i wash after pump and used the medela anti bacteria wipe only. hee~

cheryl: hows veron today? feeling better? wish him speedy recovery wor.

thankful
your bumper mat is what design. I am looking for pooh or princess design one. i may buy from minitoons also cause dont want to spend so much as i have a niece which is 7 yrs old very mischeivious. so i scared she will make spoil the mat in no time.

hi cheryl,
how r things wid ur boi now? Everything ok?

Cards
Jeannie, apple & Jas I don't mind to sharing the cards too. Or apple, can u share wid me the lobang for ur contact?? Thks!!!!

pinkie,

yup i try to wash after pump (but i'm only using boiling diamond water at pantry courtesy of my co haha) so that will not coincide with lunch time crowd in pantry and also to avoid walking around too much. Cos my office open concept, walk ard very obvious...esp the nursing room on another floor. For my 4.30pm duty, people in the lift see me with my backpack always ask me why i going home early or why i going gym :p

oops..time for my walk-about now...

my son just flip ! one side only...still can't flip back...hehehe...so funny, his arm got stuck and he got frustrated then he cried... :p

cheryl,
oh no...hope bb vernon can recover soon...is it bronchitis or bronchiolitis ?

thankful,
yeay thanks...will take time this weekend to pick up then...i dun have your no. can pm me ?

yanyen,
i bought my bumper mat recently, not from small small world but from another bp...now waiting for it to be delivered...bought one for my 6mth old niece earlier and apparently she loved it...

tute
u must be happy to see bb flip. congrats to reaching another milestone.

thankful
yup, heard abt the antibodies thingy. but no point stressing yourself over having enuf milk to cater for ur no. 1 too. haha.. now i give my hubby drink the excess ebm. hope can build up his immune system cos he gets flu easily. my gal don't want to drink if she knows it's my ebm. so can only secretly add into her fm. but sometimes she'll refuse if she can tell the difference.

re: mozzie device
in order to ensure that the ~$15 for the PiyoPiyo mozzie device is effective, I did a search on internet. This is what I found:
http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~insects/proprom.htm

It's claimed not useful. However, I do see some effect on me.

Do you all still want to get it?

Sunny,
is the BHG one repellent cream or device?

re: PIL
I am not staying with PIL. But i almost seeing them 7 days a week, and stay over there on the weekends after bb's born.
That's why i got overdosed.

re: CB stuff
Qoosan,
do you want to meet me next Monday evening in the west side MRT?

Thankful,
i don't know when will i meeting Kelly le.
let's play by ear, ok?

re: playmat
i think i'll just mop the floor clean and let her play.
my house got enough things of bb already, very headache.

re: hindmilk
wow, artemis, your hindmilk is such a high proportion!!!
mine only about 20%. in this case, will my gal be supermodel figure? :p

jaslyn,
i used to be a XS/S oso. now become M/L too...

hopefully my breast can continue to produce milk when i reduce to pumping to 2-3 times...

cheryl,
how's vernon? hope he's better le.

thankful,
u r another super mummy!! very impress with all ur milk ss! u and stephie are my idols. hee...

jas,
yeah lor..i hate the barang barang...
need to carry so many bags to conceal my containers of "stuff"...

yanyan,
wow..ur coy so good, got diamond water

erm... BF mommies... are you wearing normal cotton no-wire bras?
can wear wired? i scared wait prolonged "weight" will sag leh...

pinkie,
i wash my pump in front of my male colleagues. dun care what they think. i'm always "showing off" my barang barang... feel pai seh but no choice.

ya i'm still wearing non-wired bra. my breasts already sag until they are now between the waist and where my breasts used to be. so ugly. so pointy and saggy...

bx,
ur description on the breast is so so true..
*hi 5* mine is the same as you!!! :D
don't care already.. just focus to be a cow for the time being...

bx,
Mine same as yours. I bought my Sorella Buy 2 get 1 free soft cup type. Seamless non-wired bra to wear. Heard by wearing wired bra, wait your milk ss will drop and kenna blocked.

XiaoYun,
No problem. Just hope to use the nursing wrap while I can. If not wasted loh.

My supervisor did not BF cos she feel "Tao2 Yang3" body more impt than BF. Some mummies don't BF cos scared breast will sag. For us, we just BF cos bb will benefit.

Stephie,
No.1 will know the difference. His tongue very sharp. That's why when I intro, have to bit by bit increase. If not, wait he reject.

Tute,
PM you already.

bx & xiaoyun,
yeah!! everytime i flip the papers, see those bust firming ads - mine maciam like the "before" *argh*

Thankful,
yeah... BF more troublesome and got saggy problem...

Question
Juz back from sterilizing my pump/bots.
I find the plastic bots a bit soft and looks curved in... issit 'cos i grip it too hard when holding it firm to shake the water away?
Using medela bots... the plastic like softer than those tollyjoy/pigeon bots.
anyone has the same prob?

pinkie
me still wearing nursing bra leh. very ugly if i wear those stretch cotton top. like bao bak chang like dat. so i try not to wear tight fitting top.

p1nk1e: i'm oso using medela bots. is it becoz after sterilizing you put the bot cap and after the bottle cool down liao the air in the bottle contract? my bot used to be like that as my maid close the bot tight tight. now i ask her to close it loosely.

thankful, xiao yun, bx:
mine also... sob~ esp when i see the nipple being pull so long by the pump. i feel like a cow.

re: bra
erm... so far i wear normal underwired stripless bra leh. seems ok. no block duct leh. maybe ss not so much so no blockage? i cannot wear cotton ones leh. can see nipple wor. hee~

BLANK FLASH CARDS

It appears that there are quite a no. of mummies interested. The supplier is called Hiap Moh (62798336). The cards are available in different size and weight. It will be 1 side Matt, the other side Glossy. Weight: (grams/pc) 250, 270, 300, 350. Below is the price for 1 set of cards:

Price of 600pc 6” x 22” (usually people order this size)
250g : $43 + 7% GST
270g : $45 + 7% GST
300g : $48 + 7% GST
350g : $53 + 7% GST

You can choose the sizes you want the supplier to get the cards into. Eg if you want a smaller size eg: 3”x 11”, then you will get 1800 pc.

Collection of the cards will be @ Neythal Rd (near Jurong West). The supplier opens half day from 8.30am – 12.00pm on Saturday.

Given the weight, it would probably be to heavy for me to collect for you girls. Should we collect it together?

Goodbbb suggested that we can outsource the printing. Anyone has any lobang?

Interested mums, please key in the size and weight that you are keen to look into so that I can consolidate and we can share ok

No. / Nick / Weight / No of pieces
1 / jaslynloh / 300g / 250
2 / qingling /
3 / artemis /
4 / jeannie /
5 / Leila /

stephie,
me no nursing bra so wearing my unpadded ones... so can stretch mah.. haha

jass,
maybe i screw too tight, 'cos i wanna keep it sterilized inside mah... next time i try dun screw so tight

i wanna try wired bra but haven't been to buy and old ones dun fit anymore... argh