(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Oh dear Cherly, hope your son get well soon. It must be very tiring. Kids fall sick, everyone also "xin ku"

BKK:- Sounds terrible. Maybe some experienced mummies here can advised you.
I also introduce new bottle to my baby and one month later, there are times when she will still scream and cry , she seems like she is hungry but yet can;t suck properly. We thought maybe she is not hungry so we stretch her hours to 5 hours ! But still she cries, then we change the teat, still she cries. There are times when we just bring the bottle in front of her, she cry already! Then finally, I gave up, just leave it at it is and then these few days, feeding time is "peaceful", no protest and screaming! Babies are such funny beings, really hard to figure them out.

Is there a lot of things at the motherhood fair? Its quite far from my place. I went to the previous one, nothing much leh.

Bluegin:- I am the opposite, my feet became smaller, back to pre preganancy size.

Pooing:- Sometimes my baby never poo for days too!! I asked a PD before, he said she never drink enough! How can it be. My baby is drinking 180ml every 5 hours now.

Nowsday, my baby only poo poo when her ah ma put carry her onto the potty for kids and make the "hmmmmmmmm" sound.

Cheryl

actually i dun mind the 7th month, so if there's still enough pp i can go ahead.

bkkgal - try massaging the baby before sleep? Did the baby get too excited during the day, so maybe keeps thinking to wake up to play?

re: bb poo
winnie,
my bb has the record of 5, 7 and 10 days. now she revert back to once a day liao. don't know the reason though.
you still tbf right? my PD said not a problem for bb if they are tbf.
she has a case of 1 month never poo.

cheryl, apple, winnie

i checked with caregiver. everything is on schedule. nothing wrong.

hb is so tired that he's stopped being frus and angry at the situation. finally, we just put a mattress in bb room and sleep there, taking turns to pat her, carry her.

TGIF or else i cannot survive another day.

Winnie: my bb poos every 6 days. dun worri it's normal.

Please excuse me for interrupting for this commercial break:

===================

BULK PURCHASE FOR LITTLE BIG SHOTS PACKAGE AT STUDIO LOFT!

==================

I am from the Jul08 MTBs thread and I'm organising a BP for LBS. If I can get 10 mummies to sign up for this BP, we will enjoy the following package:

1 unlimited photo session of 30 minutes for our little precious with 3 outfit changes (own clothes). In the end we will have the following prints at <font color="0000ff">$90</font> - 1 super 8R + 4 x 5R shots (add $15 per additional person).

The current price is now $120 for the same package as shown in their rate card: www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates

If we have more than 15 in the group, we will enjoy a special price of $200 for the CD of all shots of the photo session (unedited), instead of $250

To look at their work, do check out their website or scroll up to some of the older posts:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

Interested parties please PM me. I will collect deposit of $50 upon confirmation, and the remainder of $40 when the BP closes. If we don't meet the minimum number of mummies of 10 by the end of June then I will refund all deposits.

<font color="0000ff">The only restriction is that your shoots have to be scheduled between 1 July and 30 Sept 2008.</font>

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Pinkbunny

bkkgal, is your baby going through some growth spurt or learning something new? like flipping? if so, that may cause some babies not to sleep well, till they have mastered the skills.

a gal from jan thread shared this and i find it quite useful:
SLEEP REGRESSION
I think "regression" is just the term people use so that parents know that the blow-up of sleep is pretty universal at certain times and isn't just something that's affecting one child.

I actually think regression is a complete misnomer for several reasons. First, it implies that babies' sleep progresses in a linear fashion, with better sleep each week until the fateful day at which they sleep all the way through every single night. To put it mildly, that isn't true. Secondly, it indicates that it's a negative trend, when in reality it's just a reaction to things cooking on other levels. Kind of the way you shouldn't run right after you eat a big meal, since your body is busy digesting the food and can't spare the energy for running.

Babies have a whole lot going on with them in general. On one level we have the physical milestones. Rachael at SparkPlugDance.org has done this amazing breakdown of the physical milestones from birth through walking and how they affect neural pathways. (She also has a great article up about how to make tummy time fun for even the biggest resisters.) On another level we have the whole feeding thing, which is quite a bit to get coordinated. First they have to get down the sucking part, then they all seem to go through that nasty "does my baby have colic or is it a GI problem?" phase at 6 weeks, then they have the growth spurts (at 3, 6, and 12 weeks and again at 6 months). They're learning to trust you and love you. Then there's teething, which kids can start as early as 6 weeks (mine did) and can last on and off for months before one pops through.

All of these things can affect sleep. But all of these things are kind of obvious, so if your baby's up all night grabbing her ears and drooling, you know it's teething. If he can't sleep because he keeps waking up on his hands and knees rocking back and forth, you know it's because his body is learning to crawl. Since you can see it and label it you can understand it.

Your baby is also going through enormous developmental spurts that you can't see, because they're dealing with cognitive processes. They work through these spurts the same way they work through the physical spurts, but when your baby is practicing recognizing patterns, you can't see that. Leading up to the actual new skill the baby is going to go through several weeks of intense brain work and prep that you can't necessarily see (unless you know specifically what to look for). One of the side effects of this brain work is that they don't sleep as well as they do during times in which they're not about to master a new skill. They may seem restless in the night (like they do sometimes when mastering a physical skill) but it's just nothing you can see and label. So we call it a sleep regression.

Once a baby has learned the new skill, s/he will often sleep through the entire night for 1-3 nights after mastering the skill. Which is freaky from the parents' perspective, because you go from waking 10 times one night to sleeping 12 hours the next. But it makes complete sense if you know that the baby was working on this really tough challenge and couldn't help but wake up so often (in fact it's probably a miracle that the baby could even fall asleep in the first place with so much going on in the noggin), and then once they've got it they relax and sleep it off for a couple of days, like sleeping off a crazy party. Then they'll most likely go back to sleeping the way they were before they started working on the new developmental skill.

Everything I know about when and what the actual developmental spurts are I learned from the book The Wonder Weeks by the Dutch researchers Hetty Vanderijt and Frans Plooij. They tell you when the spurts happen (based on a 40-week baby, so if your baby was born early s/he'll hit the spurts a little later and if s/he was born later than 40 weeks s/he'll hit them earlier), what kinds of symptoms the baby will show while working on the new skill, how you'll feel when the spurt is happening, how to recognize what's going on, and what kinds of games you can play with your baby to help develop or practice the new skill. One of the things I love about this book is that they don't tell you what to do (aside from suggesting games to play) they just tell you what's going on. I have a definite bias against books that tell you how to raise your kids, and I love that this book is just a roadmap of what's going on when.

According to Vanderijt and Plooij, the spurts happen at weeks 5, 8, 12, 19, 26, 37, 46, and 55 (that's as far as they studied).

I think the reason the "4-month sleep regression" is such a big deal is that babies wake up a lot in the few weeks it takes while they're working on the 19-week spurt, and then once they've gone through that spurt they only have a week or two (if that) of respite before they start prepping for the 26-week spurt. So it's kind of one long stretch of bad sleep and cranky moods during that stage of your baby's life.

The "8-month sleep regression" (which for some babies is closer to a 9-month sleep regression) is related to the 37-week spurt. For some reason that one just seems to cause more waking, too, than some of the other spurts do. It might also be particularly hard because many babies are smack in the middle of working on crawling or walking, and also teething. (At Casa Moxie we've had probably 8 weeks of crappy sleep between teething, the 37-week spurt, crawling, teething, and now pulling up. Every now and then he'll have an easy night, but boy is it rough being a 9-month-old.)

Bear in mind that individual kids have different reactions to all kind of spurts (physical, developmental, etc.). Some teeth painfully for months, while others just pop a tooth with no symptoms. Some will wake in the night practicing crawling for weeks, while others never do and just take off one day with no warning to you. The developmental spurts are the same, so you might have a kid who has 3-4 nights of wacky sleep and then learns a new skill, or you could have one that spends 3-4 weeks waking up before every spurt.

If you want to be really prepared for the "regressions," I'd say borrow or buy the Wonder Weeks book, read it, and pay attention to the signals your baby is giving you. Once you know what's going on it becomes fasciating and annoying instead of worrisome and torturous.

bkk,
oh dear...sounds like a really rough time.

arielle is also not sleeping well. she will thrash about in her basket. and i mean serious THRASHING. when i look at her, she smiles back. then i realized that she's trying to flip to her tummy (newly acquired skill) and so i help her lie on her tummy in the basket. immediately she will try to crawl (trying to master this skill)...yes it's super duper funny looking at her trying to crawl in the tiny basket machum spider man

so dawn's article seems to make sense in the light of what i'm observing about my baby.

dawn,
thanks for sharing!!!

Dawn, thanks for the article! Seems like our babies are having a hard time....

These 2 nights my baby will let out cries and figdet a lot in her bed with her eyes shut. And I just shove the pacificer into her mouth and went back to bed. Bad mummy!

Dawn,

Thank you for that post on Wonder Weeks. It's insightful and useful. My baby is at Week 16. I wonder if she's too early for a spurt? She was born 2 weeks early. She hasn't learned to flip yet but I do notice when she's up at night, she's sucking her hands alot. I figured this must be the time she's discovering things with her tongue.

Well, I think pp use the term "regression" because things seem to be working so well until this night waking. My bb for example was only waking once a night for a feed and infact, the night before the wakings, had actually slept through which we thot "wow, fantastic, hope she keeps it up!" and suddenly, this regression. I, for one, was prepared to wake up at night becos if she doesn't get up, then I need to get up to pump. Either way, I get up. No diff.

My mom just called to say that bb drank from the bottle so I am VERY RELIEVED. Was worried this morning that she would cont to reject the bottle.

Thanks again Dawn. library, here i come!

dawn
interesting!! my bb just started to sleep 8 - 8.5 hours after dreamfeed, hope he keeps it up and doesn't regress *cross fingers*

qingling
wow, great site!! thanks!
i am definitely going to teach my bb, maybe in coming months we'll all be discussing signing as well ;)

xiaoyun i also interested in the cards... got lobang update us k.. How much is teh 600 pieces?? I dun mind sharing.. i dun think i will need that many.

eliaw i cna share the 300 with u..

Dor.. where u got the cinese version?? Actually i dun really wnat to stress my ger too much but think just treat it as fun activity.. bonding time!!

Bkkgal.. o.. my.. u must have a very bad sleep..was there to much activity happening in the day.. sometimes they are overexcited.. like my ger din sleep from 330 pm till 4 am on 1 night.. and cry and cry.. i so fedout and dump the baby to my hubby. These few nights she still have nightmare in the middle of sleep.. cry very loud then sleep again..

Garfield.. my ger also thrash a lot but because i swaddle her every night and she cant move her hands only her legs.. so she kept thrashing her legs aginst the mattress.. at least ur ger trying to flip.. my ger shows no signs of that leh..

Dawn and qingling.. thanks for theinfo..

Re: singapore expo

I will be going down at 3 plus later. anyone going down??

anybody intending to wean off baby from BM. Hubby kept asking me to stop BF. Sigh... Maybe he find me too tired working and pumping late nite and very early morning.

All mummies very tired right?

gals, i also find it useful. same thing happened to my boy when he hit 4 months (he also prematured cos twins, 36wk born), kept crying and crying n dun sleep well at nite! was wondering what was happening till i read this article! ;) he was learning his flip i suppose.... i even asked the PD if anything wrong with him. hahaha...now after perfecting his flip, he sleeps like a log again, *cross fingers* hopefully till his next growth spurt again. but my gal oni had one or two fretful nites at 4 months n when she is flipping, so i suppose oni true for some kids?

btw, bbkgal, my gal also refused to drink these 2 days, total intake dropped to 370ml and 390ml. *sigh* used to be 700ml plus one.

isobellies, expensive or not the pergo maternity swimsuit? my hubby going to flip liow! i have been buying too many things (in his opinion lah) from the BP and spree liow! now not pregnant n still buy maternity swimsuit...hhaha...can imagine he will roll his eye balls!

xiaoyun, can so long no poo? will the baby show any signs of discomfort? my gal these few days like trying to poo v hard but no poo! she used to poo every day one. now oredi 3rd day no poo.

Thankful, my hubby also ask me to stop BF. he sees nothing wrong with using FM. i think i will try till they start solid food!

Hi Cheryl,

I am interested.

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4-6 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (When? Somewhere in SEPT(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. Dorothy's fren
4. h@ppymum2be
5. Vine-Gal
6. Blueginger
7. Qingling (sat 2-2.30pm)
8. Jeannie (sat 2-2.30pm)
9. kitsune_sg (sun 3-3:30pm)
10. Snowbelle (sat 2-2.30pm)
11. Tongtong
12. Leila(sat 2-2.30pm)(sun 3-3.30pm-TBC)(aftr 8 Aug)
13. Babyhope
14. Stephie (sat 2-2.30pm)
15. Tubao
16. Winnie (sat 2-2.30pm) after 13th Aug
17. yanyen
18. Eliaw (sat 2-2.30pm) 16 Aug
19. thankful (sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug
20. Artemis
21. Beautyseek (Sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug

just wish to share...

i think we have to remember that 1. our babies are growing and 2. our babies are humans.

even for us...sometimes we don't sleep through the night, sometimes we wake up 5 times to pee, sometimes we can't seem to sleep all night, sometimes we dream all night and keep waking up intermittently...sometimes we even have nightmares and wake up in a sweat or in tears.

i don't think it's realistic for us to expect our babies to sleep 9hours without waking every night. Sometimes they have dreams and nightmares...and because they are unable to express themselves appropriately, they cry lor!That's their most instinctive reaction mah.

I find that as Ruth grows and 'matures', she learns more expressions.

Now, isntead of her ridiculous and deafening SCREECHING which she used to do, she will frown and groan mostly before she really crys out loud.

In fact, i find she hardly cries very loud. Just have to 'feed her on time', change her on time and we can minimize her 'discomfort' (which leads to crying.

There have been couple nights she kept waking up crying SUDDENLY and LOUDLY. My guess is she had bad dreams that startle her in a way she cannot cope.

Another thing that is possible when babies sleep is disrupted at this stage may be teething discomforts.

Our babies are humans. DOn't be overly worried when they don't sleep liek perfect storybook humans.

Just my 2 cents' worth.

as for bf...i already on partial since week 4. i think takes a lot of strses off. Also i personally don't like spending time to pump cuz already so little time to spend with the precious baby.

i think those who intend to 'stop' should try partial. "train" your breast to provide only at night and morning. At least can still bond and give the good stuff to your babies while being relieved from pumping pressure. Daytime give FM lor. You will feel relieved and happier i think.

lezy, you said some very wise things.
One of the most impt lessons I learnt as a mom from having my older DD is that bb/kids are indeed people too- they are dynamic like us, they feel a variety of moods/emotions, and its not always tangible. Sometimes, just gotta go with their flow and do our personal best, and take heart in the fact that for every low parenting moment, there is a good one waiting for us around the corner.

bkkgal, you must be so tired. Do u take chicken essence? It helps me alot on some days.

sorry..have to share this picture. cuz it captures ruth's smiles and laughter so well.

i have so much fun with her nowadays.
1471038.jpg
1471039.jpg

ya...bkk...chicken essence helps me too. i used to think not much effect but i think with the kind of fatigue some of us are experiencing, it helps a lot!

thanks berry. i also learnt from lesson - was frustrated before but realize no point expecting some perfect baby.

lezy, is that you? Your glasses are v pretty hehe. Your girl has very animated expressions haha, I feel like laughing along with her lol!

lezy, my daily must-have to supply me with energy is B-complex. If you dont mind trying it out, you'll soon see what a big diff it makes. It boosts my energy level by at least a good 50-80% on most days.

berry..ya..that's me. i wear glasses all the time (too lazy to wear contacts) so i tend to like to have 'nicer' specs.

thanks..i also see my baby laugh i will also laugh. then she see me laugh, she also laugh. dunno leh...she likes to see me excited then she will also feel the same way.

my mum says "siao4 mummy" cuz i act like monkey everyday for her.

berry..i am super lazy with vitamins...now already struggling to finish my fenugreek (will stop after this 'bottle') and my multivits. i ALWAYS forget to take one la.

Multivits i took from gynae on my last visit - half a year supply. very cheap to get from SGH. Less than 10 bucks if i recall correctly...but can only get when i go for visit lor.

Thanks Berry/Lezy, I'll take some chicken essence tmr.

I'm really envious of you mommies whose babies laugh and smile at you.

B4 I went back to work, my baby used to track me across the room and beam whenever she sees me. Now 4 weeks into work and all she has is a stoned look when I go home. She will smile at my mom and hb but not at me <sob> I'm really sad abt it.

I want to be her No. 1 but I can't. Work is killing me, I'm swamped everyday, and it's a daily struggle to leave work and get home by 7.30pm so I can feed her and have some playtime.

bkkgal, i think that at one point or another during early babyhood, most working mummies face the heartache that you do. But I hear from my friends that things will get better when bb is older. There will be a point in the near future when yr bb is old enuf to know that you are the mummy, and there is only one mummy. And I think we all know that mummies are irreplacable, esp to young kids.

lezy: ya.. i think partial is a good idea. I was doing 1 feed of FM before bedtime and feeding FM when we are out. There was a period my boy totally refuse FM. I'm worried I dun have enuff for him if he con't rejecting. so now i'm on 40% FM, 60% BM. this arrangement is definitely less stressful for me. I dun need to worry abt ss. btw, ur bb ruth is very cute, her smile is contagious!

I scared of block duct again leh. So how to tune to feed only nite and morning. Whenever I want to feed, she's sleeping. Dreamfeed at nite and morning? Will she forget she drink? Cos I did not dreamfeed. Think she will sleep from 11pm till 6am

thankful
me also scared of block duct. *ouch*

bkkgal
my bb also dun alwys laugh/smile when my hubby tries to make him do so. when my bb see my mum, he'll smile very readily. i conclude that bb likes to see smiley faces (and must be genuinely smiling). think he knows my hubby's smile is 'fake' so he doesn't respond. lol. sometimes my bb also doesn't respond to me when i try to make him do so. don't be sad abt it. such things happen to other mummies/daddies too.

i must admit i'm one lucky mummy.

1. i live 10 minutes (walk) from office. My parents also live 10 minutes (walk in opposite direction) from office.

2. my boss allows me to go home for lunch and feed girl everyday. Meaning i take about a 2hr lunch. This also means i don't express at all.

3. My mum always 'talks about me' to her and whenever I reach (her) home, she will tell my girl "mummy is here" (or rather she will laugh and say "your BIG milk bottle is here"). She doesn't just 'take over' the mummy role in my absence.

4. Ruth sleeps late...about 10/11pm, on occasion 12mn! This means i have a lot of time to be with her when i'm home. Honestly...i do almost NOTHING but be with her when i'm home. housework mostly just rush rush do 15-30min. bath also rush like mad.

I latch my girl on about 3-4 times a day. Once about 6/7am, at mid-day, and at night before sleep. Weekends mostly with me.

and she loves it when i say "OINK OINK" in a cartoony voice and wave some toy in front of her as if the toy is talking to her. (I usually try to use a PIG so at least, the educational part is 'correct' - that a pig oinks...not a cat or dog or mummy.) She almost always laughs when i do that.

i agree with Stephie. must be DAMN genuine. they can somehow sense.

i don't joke when i say i'm like a monkey in front of my girl. I react all DAMN excited and happy n etc, and she 'reciprocates'.

bbkgal: i understand how u feel. my boy is also more responsive to his daddy. he tends to smile @ daddy more and 'talk' more to daddy. he will not be that excited when he plays with me. personally i think he prefers the way my hubby handles him and the way he plays with him (i tried the same game, but he is not as excited). sometimes I'll feel sad too. Esp sometimes when my boy is throwing tantrum, only daddy can pacify &amp; calm him down. Hahaha however, my boy wants to latch on, he will look ard for me. So I console myself that @ least boy boy will still need me when he is hungry.

chicken essence,
yes i swear by it too! now i take one bottle everyday faithfully.

fatigue due night pumping,
my friend shared this with me - the body needs a minimum of one cycle of four hours uninterrupted sleep in order to fully rest. so mummies do try to log in one stretch of four hours. i've tried it and it works! can't say i'm hopping with energy but at least dun hv the "wanna die" feeling. hb can do two cycles of four hours but i will have to make do with one

bb smiling,
stephie i agree with you. bbs are very sensitive. so smart hor. they can sense genuine smile/laughter vs the "forced" type. i'm quite a giggly person by nature so i laugh and smile quite a bit compared to hb. so bb responds to me more than hb and he complains =P

bkk,
does kate have a favourite game? arielle does and she will laugh out loud whenever anyone plays that game with her every day. maybe kate can sense your stress too...

my MIL is driving me nuts with her singing....

she likes to sing mandarin songs in the "chinese opera" style. OMG how i hate it!!!

garfield: haha i noe wat u mean by mil driving u nuts... my maid keep singing 'twinkle twinkle little star' which is totally OUT OF TUNE. tats worse.. sigh.. she also keep telling my son ' matthew ur dress is so pretty' - erm.. she means his rompers is very nice. sigh... so this prompt me to buy the leappad which will read out the story in PROPER english. dunno how to correct my maid lah. tried telling her before liao.

BLANK FLASH CARDS
Pardon my ignorance.

actualy i'm wondering why must buy 'custom-made' flash cards?

remember when we were younger in school and used those postcard-sized cards to make notes?

cannot use those?

or these blank flash cards got something special about them?

i even thinking of ways to use recycled stuff frmo home n etc.

yes..me al cheapo...

lezy, yes. u can buy use recycle stuff to do those.
these custom-size flashcard(size) is recommended by GD. i have done my own flashcard. i bought the blank ones n then i cut out colourfully pic n paste them onto the flashcard for my gal.

genice,
the chinese one can be bought from bookshop. think our bbs are still too young but i heard of someone who flash them to her bb when he is 6mths old. i used them on my gal cos at the age of 4, her library of chinese char is limited that y i need to speed up.

RE: Singing to Baby

I totally understand when your baby's caretakers try to sing to them.

My FIL sings (out of tune) the song "Sing your way home" to my girl but he only knows the first verse. Worse still, MIL finds the song 'interesting' and has also begun to sing it to her....the same verse as well...

I've tried telling them the rest of the lyrics but I think they find it amusing to just repeat the first verse over n over....=(

RE: Baby waking up often at night

Yup, I've been through this as well....bb decided to wake up every hour from 3am onwards till 6am. I guess like what Dawn's article mentioned, baby's are just going through a phase.

Each time baby's patterns change, I keep telling myself that it's just a phase and it'll be over soon.

There was one time when my baby decided to go on a nursing strike. She refused to drink from my breast at all...It came so suddenly and I was unprepared to wean her off the breast yet. She would arch her back, turn her head away from the breast and cry in frustration the moment I try to position her to nurse. Needless to say, I felt as if baby was rejecting me.

Luckily, she's done with her strike and back to nursing from the breast (hopefully things don't repeat itself). But now, she ONLY nurses from the right side and puts up a struggle when I try to put her on the left...=(

found this on another thread:

saw this in motherhood mag..
Huggies Little Swimmers Disposable Swimpants

for sample smsthe following to 77877

LS<space>MB<space>your baby's date of birth(DDMMYY)<space> Weight(kg)<space>your mailing address<space>your email address