(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute,
i think all babies are creatures of habit. and it is always difficult to break a habit, but not impossible. your perseverence has already shown results. jia you!!

Hi tute,

Essentials alone is S$86.

Hi kelly,

Essentials is basically a set of anti-oxidants (vitamins) and minerals. The link on the product can be found here:

- http://products.usana.com/en/products/sg/essentials/what_essentials.shtml
- http://products.usana.com/bin/en_us_chelated.pdf
- http://products.usana.com/bin/en_us_megaao.pdf

Per bottle is S$86. There are 2 bottles in a set. Each bottle has 112 tablets and per day you take 2 tablets from each bottle twice daily. That means 4 in the morning and 4 in the evening. It is basically a 4 week supply.

I find that the benefits are more intangible. Besides not succumbing to common colds and flu that frequently, I also heal faster when I have minor accidents (cause I super clumsy). My gynae also remarked that I healed surprisingly well given that the tears in my vagina had been quite deep and long.

However, I must emphasise that this is the results of taking the recommended dosage. Some of my friends not committed enough to take consistently (take only 1 tablet from each bottle twice daily or 2 tablets from each bottle once a day or worse happy then take) and then said the product does not work for them. :p I always tell them Essentials not miracle vitamin not when you feel you going to have flu then take, will be okay one.

Wonder if here anyone choose to bring baby to polyclinic for the free compulsory immunization jabs instead? Why isn't this preferred over 5in1/6in1 since it's free? Appreciate any feedback. Thanks in advance!

goodgal,
It's 3 Rifles brand. Go to chinese medical shop and say clean baby tongue. They should know.

It's a small bottle with clear syrup-like liquid.

Artemis,
how much to just get the BIomega and not the essentials? Can email me at [email protected]?

Hi lezy,

I have emailed you. BiOmega alone is S$36.

RE: USANA stuff and Isetan private sale

I will be going to Orchard tomorrow for the Isetan private sale. So I will be popping by USANA office which is in Taka. So if anyone is interested in any USANA stuff, let me know by tonight okay? Cause I want to go early early to get the S$50 Tiger thermal food jar and bottle set. :p Oh and if anyone interested to get anything from Isetan, I can help to get too. You gals just let me know by tonight okay?

artemis, wow so nice of you to offer to buy stuff!

garfield, I read that probiotics dont just aid the digestive sysytem, they are excellent for overall immune system too. And for the case of babies, it helps reduce chances of having windy tummies (my PD told me this, she prescribes probiotics for colicky babies). Plus, probiotics is generally something you cant really overdose on, the only downside/risk to taking more probiotics than needed would be wastge since good probiotics are mostly not cheap. But I know that the right type has to be taken in order for it to be effective, so those who are keen to give your bbs, do check with PD on what type to give.

berry,
thanks. will check with my PD when i visit her this sat. my PD friend told me that i should take probiotics and it can be passed through my milk to baby. didn't know i can feed baby direct.

Hi Garfield,

I think Tiger should be quite okay? But hor this offer have to use the coupon one and the coupon said limited to first 100 customers. I will check if 1 coupon can buy 2 a not and if have, are you interested to get?

Hi Berry,

Cause I know most of you gals have gone to back to work liao mah.

:p My HB today out for appointment so no one hounding me to do this and that. Skive a little on the forum.

for neck pillow,any 1 has any recommendations of any brands??any fisher price or tiny love or sassy or playskool toys to recommend?my bb only has 1 toy,the fisher price cot mobile :p

hi xiaoyun,

the cotton buds are selling at 3 for $2+ at giant now :>

hi ladies...
thanks to all ladies for sharing your experiences and giving me ideas on how to improve my situation! *hugs to all*

Berry,
think you are right about the snack thingy...cos when i reach home im so famished hence already irritable while having to fight against bb's sleeping time.

Kitsune,
i really admire and salute you!i tried to care for bb at nite plus stay awake during day during confinement--as a 'dry run' for returning to work life. ended up falling sick big time for 3 whole weeks (the last 3 weeks of my confinement). hence now i dun 'dare' to look after bb at nite on weekdays. but i will give it a try from now on, perhaps start with 1 night a week and increase from there.

Bx,
my r/s with my ILs are good, im very lucky as my ILs are easy going. of cos there are disagreements from time to time, loss of privacy etc but i feel they are minor and managable.

artemis,
can help me buy one set of essentials then ? i'll pm you my contact so later on can arrange to pick up from you

esther, the 5in1/6in1 jabs at polyclinics are not free. you can call them up and check. I called them and it added up almost same as those GPs or PDs.

btw, any civil servants/teachers here?
when i brought my twins to KKH for 6in1jab, they advised me to use the CSC card, so for each twin, MOE pays about 50 dollars and 30 dollars deducted from pay, while i pay another 80dollars in cash. ;)

dawn.. is it just for twins?? Cause like nver heard of such benefits..

esther.. like what dawn say.. the 5 in 1/ 6 in 1 in polyclinics are not free.. the free ones are actually 3 in 1.. there are 2 kinds of immunisation not included.

Re: No time for baby/ tired from work

Piglettail.. u must work till 8 plus har? Think a bit tough but like what berry says.. take some food before hand then go home can spend time w baby.. maybe u can put baby to sleep after u have bathed and settled everything?

Luckily.. u got good relationship w ur in laws.. thats very impt.. my in laws are also quite easy to get along but i am not satying w them.. abt 10 mins drive away. I am now at my in law place.. rushed home to spedn time play and talk w baby.. think i will acc her to sleep before i go home.

Kitsune..good that raeanne is sleeping better now.. think she is getting used to the arrangement.

Tute.. sorry a bit blur.. u r trying to get baby used to bottle har? Congrats then.. he is slowly adapting.

Re: Pump
Wow.. i really admire u all ( winnie/bx/garfield/bkkgal/dor/jaslyn and the rest) for being so consistent in pumping milk.. every 4 hrs..I cannot leh.. today pumped at 6 am/ 3.30 pm and maybe later 10am. i think i only pump 3 times.. each time abt 250 ml. total abt 750 ml? How much can u all yield in a day??

BX/ winnie do u transport the pumped milk to ur MIL place/ infant care in the morn?? or u freeze them?

Bkkgal/kitsune.. ur parent and pils.. very wei da leh.. i think will be very tiring.

garfield.. yar.. i think i will do dry run soon..maybe i will start next week..

Bx... wow.. really expensive to cut baby's hair..:p

kirsten.. can rebond hair i think. I rebonded when i was preg and i just coloured my hair too, i am still breast feeding.No worries.. if u are scared maybe can discared the milk produced 4 hrs after ur hair treatment?

jeannie,
i bring with me when i go see baby or fetch baby in the evening. i bring chilled ebm which i pump in the office and frozen ones which i store during ML to clear the old stock. i try to freeze abt 1 bag everyday.

happymum.. read ur blog.. u super cute lor.. say ervin huan siong.. haha.. so funny. And i luv the bubble romper erlene is wearing.. i also want!!! she wear how many months one har??

BX.. u super slim leh can fir into ur red cross uni.. u r a pretty mum lah.. and ashlynn so cute.

piglettail,
nice to hear that. not many ppl have a r/s with their in laws. i guess u must be someone who is easy to get along

jeannie,
haha.. super tight lor. thanks for ur compliment

after i pump, i put the milk in the fridge in the staff lounge. b4 i go home, i will take out the ice pack and milk and put into my cooler bag.

today ur 1st day right? manage to pump in sch?

artemis,
i replied your email

garfield,
thanks !! i will persevere !!

jeannie,
haha...yeah, trying to get bb to get used to bottle feeding again...all bcoz i stop for around 2 weeks when he was 2 mth old...but mostly to get him to take enough milk coz he doesn't reject bottle completely but drinks very little amount..

bx,
i agree with jeannie leh...you're very slim and i dun believe you are L size ! i still remember after u gave birth and i saw you at dr. wong's clinic, even my hb commented how you look v slim... don't look like someone who just give birth

actually my r/s with IL side is still ok... but since i m staying with them, i must try to compromise loh.....

but hor, when i just together with my hb, i think IL side dun really like me wor

berry
can get probiotic from pharmacy? i read that probiotic is good for digestive sys.
thanks for the advice. tmr i will go see my boy's tongue and throat. when i try to clean his tongue, he will gv me a vomitting expression leh. then, i dare not go too far...

piggletail, no need to admire, I even worse than you. I never did night duty until after I went back to work. Bb was sleeping with CL, then MIL. I also fell sick when I was trying the 3hr pumping routine. Until my CL ask me to rest, she'll supplement with FM at night. Only after I went back to work and realised that weekend parent arrangement is not for me then I bite the bullet and bring her back every night lor since TBF also. Must endure lor ... Husband's support VERY important cos we only have 2 hands. After BF/pumping already very tired, so I get hubby to help carry bb, put her to sleep, sometimes wash and sterilise the pump parts for me.

My menses also not here yet.

dawn
csc covers children of female civil servant meh? i think only children of male officers then CSC cover. It is assumed that all our husbands are gainfully employed and their coy benefits supposed to cover us.

bkkgal, I'm in govt service but my company also cover my bb, in fact my benefit for children better than hubby who's a teacher cos my company won Family Friendly Firm award. Didn't realise that so have been submitting claims for bb through hubby. Come back to work then realise. :p

garfield
i also wondering if i should change the teats - my pigeon ones like getting very soft. no one got any advice on that?? :D

tute,
yay!!! as a fellow mother-having-problems-feeding, it feels very satisfying when they DO finish their milk right?? quite crazy..

i also didn't know at all, until during payment, the nurse at KKH v nice, advised me to use my CSC card. I teacher lah, so from MOE. I brought my twins for their 6in1 jab when they 7weeks old, so when my payslip came in, i checked lor. realised they oni deducted 30+ from my pay for each kid leh.
consultation with PD + jab = 160+
have to pay 1/2 in cash (so 80+), the other 1/2 use CSC card. since from payslip oni see they deduct 30+, so means MOE pays the other 50+ right?

so i v surprised, but now i on nopayleave, so cannot use CSC card for the next few jabs till i go back to work.

RE: feeding EBM

I find that Danica doesn't really like EBM that is too cold. Slightly warm to the touch kind she can drink finish pretty fast. But once it cools to room temperature, she will drink agonisingly slow.

<font color="ff0000">Mummies going to Isetan Private Sale, check out the Gaya Bag Counter. Having 20% + 10% off sale items. My friend is the distributor and I'm helping out. Can sell at discount if you see bags that you like and buy directly from us but must collect at SengKang. Can arrange to pick up at Kelly's gathering on Monday too.

artemis,
re the tiger food jar....if you can buy 2 with one coupon i would love to tong pang you
<font color="ff0000">thank you soooooooo much!!</font>

kitsune,
agree that hb support is crucial. my hb is the official lullaby singer at night. he will rock and pat bb to sleep after i wipe her down in the evening. in the morning he is the official play mate and entertains bb after i BF her so i can get ready all the barang for the day. gives him a chance to bond with baby.

PLUS, hb has what we term affectionately the "secret weapon"
cos he has this method of carrying baby and when she's frantic, only he can calm her.

Date: 19May, Mon (public holiday)
Time: 12pm?
Venue: Pasir Ris

1) Kelly &amp; family - fried bee hoon, curry &amp; drinks
2) cheryl &amp; family - food tbc
3) bkkgal &amp; family - thai vermicelli salad
4) qingling &amp; family (hubby not confirmed yet) - erm..can i confirm later.. ..Mon prefered cos sun i got games
5) leila &amp; family - food tbc
6) eliaw &amp; family - fried chicken wings or ice cream??
7) Thankful &amp; family (hubby not confirm yet) - food tbc

Iso,
I just checked the instructions for the avent teats - it recommends changing every 3 months or if the flow rate has changed (whichever is earlier). even if flow rate is the same, must change every 3 months for hygiene.

so i compared a brand new teat with a used one. found that the used one is cloudy. instead of transparent like a new one, it had already become a bit cloudy and translucent. so i've decided to replace with new ones although I've only used them for about 2 months.

now sale time everywhere, good to stock up on teats!

<font color="0000ff">Bought too many Blue Egg milk bags and would like to let go. I am giving my EBM to my elder boy as well, thus not storing my breastmilk anymore. Anybody wants to buy, please pm me.</font>

Date: 19May, Mon (public holiday)
Time: 12pm?
Venue: Pasir Ris

1) Kelly &amp; family - fried bee hoon, curry &amp; drinks
2) cheryl &amp; family - food tbc
3) bkkgal &amp; family - thai vermicelli salad
4) qingling &amp; family (hubby not confirmed yet) - erm..can i confirm later.. ..Mon prefered cos sun i got games
5) leila &amp; family - chocolate cake
6) eliaw &amp; family - fried chicken wings or ice cream??
7) Thankful &amp; family (hubby not confirm yet) - food tbc

garfield,
wah..your hb v good with ur baby ! how i wish my hb can calm my frantic baby... then i can relax.. hehe.. he tried before and gave up... but he can entertain my son well so during weekends that is his official role

iso,
yeah !! yesterday morning i keep staring at the empty bottles...every day i've been throwing >100ml ebm, such a waste right ! so eventho yesterday morning i threw away 40ml but i'm v happy he finish >50%...

re: ss,
sooo scary, this morning i pump and only got 190ml. dunno why my ss gone haywire...keep dropping and dropping... hopefully it will go up again...