(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

happybee

yes.. i think c-sect have to wait at least 1yr... but best is 2 yr i guess... happymum give birth to her 2nd 1 after 1.5yr i think...
i also c-sect.

lezy
i got half tin of mamil gold. wanna exchange? i wanna try nan ha for my girl.

brazilian waxing
piglettail, garfield, wanna go for it again? rem last time we all chickened out just before EDD. heehee.

Babies growing so fast
I wish time could stop for us. They realli grow so quick. My girl has outgrown so many of her clothes already. They change every day and just thinking of missing out on her "firsts" makes me sad but yet, I can't imagine being a SAHM. I'll be intellectually and emotionally poorer if I stayed home yet I know that if I went to work, I'll miss her. What a dilemma!!! Tough being a mom huh?

e: type of milk
TBF
1. sunny
2. tongtong
3. Thankful
4. kitsune
5. Artemis
6. tute
7. Winnie
8. xiaoyun
9. stephie

Partial BF
1. bx / similac
2. garfield9 / isomil
3. dor11 / similac
4. bkkgal/similac
5. star70/ Nan 1HA
6. maruko/similac
7. p1nk1e/similac
8. frentee/Nan 1
9. happybee/ Enfalac
10. Jeannie/ Mamex gold
11. yipy/mamex gold
12. lezy / mamex gold
13. Vinegal/ Nan HA 1

FM
1. leila / Nan 1ha
2. Jac / Nan 1HA
3. cheryl / nan 1

Re: pouch sling
finally got my sling (tks to jeannie). can't use the cradle way cos i think now bb too big liao. if use the kangaroo carry method, size looks ok. mummies who self collect, did you managed to put bb into the sling via the cradle method?

napless babies
mine belonged to the club too in her early days. I rem I was so desperate bcos as long as she doesn't nap, I can't do anything else, can't even shower or eat. I slowly train her to nap by re-enacting her bedtime ritual - dark room, a/c, swaddle, static noise and shh/pat her to sleep. nowadays she has been taking 3 naps a day.

i find that if she can nap well in the day, she can sleep well at night

berry,
i hv baby carrier too...but it;s diff brand. Inglesina or smthg lidat.

i find that prlonged use is very hot on the diaper area cuz they r upright n weight is on it?

any opinion?

tong tong
better unzip and freeze it.

pinkie
i am home alone with bb. in the morning when i woke up, i would put all the ingredients and boil to make soup. then, around 11am+/12pm+ after feeding bb, i would boil the soup again and put the mee/mee suah, then my lunch is done!

can measure when bb is sleeping. :p

happybee
till now, i still hv't started BD. so tiring everyday, no mood. :p

sgwave
the FTG can fold ah? can post the trailer here? mine so stiff, can't fold leh.

re: weight, height
my bb weight 5.7kg, 60cm at 8wks.

Re: type of milk
TBF
1. sunny
2. tongtong
3. Thankful
4. kitsune
5. Artemis
6. tute
7. Winnie
8. xiaoyun
9. andrea

Partial BF
1. bx / similac
2. garfield9 / isomil
3. dor11 / similac
4. bkkgal/similac
5. star70/ Nan 1HA
6. maruko/similac
7. p1nk1e/similac
8. frentee/Nan 1
9. happybee/ Enfalac
10. Jeannie/ Mamex gold
11. yipy/mamex gold
12. lezy / mamex gold
13. Vinegal/ Nan HA 1

FM
1. leila / Nan 1ha
2. Jac / Nan 1HA
3. cheryl / nan 1

berry, i wanted to get the carrier, but my hubby says wait i waste money like the mim sling which i did not use.... so i cant buy....

my CL officially leaves liao, just step out of the house.... now all alone with baby.... and thinking about her going infant care tomorrow... the heart feels so heavy...

sunny,
everyday mee/mee suah soup?
hmm...can share what soup you make?
i didn't even get to go supermarketing last weekend so nothing in my fridge

60cm seems very tall!

winnie,
you juz finished 1 mth confinement? how come sending your girl to infant care so soon?

repost again since mine was override:

Re: type of milk
TBF
1. sunny
2. tongtong
3. Thankful
4. kitsune
5. Artemis
6. tute
7. Winnie
8. xiaoyun
9. andrea
10. stephie

Partial BF
1. bx / similac
2. garfield9 / isomil
3. dor11 / similac
4. bkkgal/similac
5. star70/ Nan 1HA
6. maruko/similac
7. p1nk1e/similac
8. frentee/Nan 1
9. happybee/ Enfalac
10. Jeannie/ Mamex gold
11. yipy/mamex gold
12. lezy / mamex gold
13. Vinegal/ Nan HA 1

FM
1. leila / Nan 1ha
2. Jac / Nan 1HA
3. cheryl / nan 1

xiaoyun
dor's pouch sling looks more sturdy and durable. ur stretch cotton is thick? u tried putting bb into it in wat position. i think if you try the upright position (kangaroo style), should be ok leh. but now their necks not strong yet, so cannot carry using that way first.

oh, the moment i saw the sling, i'll associate it with the link you posted earlier which teaches how to sew your own pouch.

so happeeeeeee today!!

firstly, managed to pump 130ml again *phew* was worried cos last wk pumping output was decreasing by 5ml each day

secondly, my maternity insurance claim for my 5N stay has been paid out in full!!! *yippee*

garfield,
congratz! tat's good news!
erm... what's maternity insurance? there's such a coverage?

winnie,
oic.. CL is X right?

re: pouch sling
stephie,
i tried cradle position. yup, my hb says bb may like kangaroo style more. bb neck still not strong.
i regretted choosing the stretch cotton - khaki color. it's thick and khaki color makes me look like a monk when wearing the sling (dor, hope you don't blame me for that :p)
will probably go and sew one with the cloth that i like. haven't got time to shop for cloth yet. let you know if i successfully make 1 in few months' time.

garfield,
congrates on your ss back to normal.

p1nk1e, xiaoyun,
thanks!!!

re maternity insurance,
it's something offered by my company. meant for expats one, but they extended to local staff. they pay for all pregnancy and delivery expenses up to USD10K. so instead of using medisave, i claim all my expenses thru this insurance.

happy,
thank you!!! oh, btw, i "copy cat" you again *keke* for the gymboree BP (the spaghetti strap dress in white and green/yellow flowers). you got good taste leh =P next time i just follow

re: hair loss
drop lotsa hair during 4th week? *touch wood* me so far so good... but noticed lotsa white hair

cheryl,
what i heard is opposite - if bb drop hair means mommy is safe

pinkie, I'm a sahm to my bb(2mths) and my 3.5yo DD without help. Food-wise, advance planning helps. Plan a whole week's menu so that you dont have to worry about what to eat/cook. And try to prepare nutritious but v easy stuff like sandwiches and crockpot soups/stews. Sandwiches can be prepared at night when hb is ard and left in the fridge if you wrap it well. For cooking, ingreds can be chopped/washed in advance and kept wrapped in fridge. When bb naps, try to do everything you have to before you rest. for marketing, if you use a bb carrier, you can be handsfree so can push supermarket trolley. otherwise do it on a weekend with hb? Its all about practise, the more you try/do, the better/faster you'll be.

lezy, bb carrier- hmm no leh, I fnd the bjorn quite okie, dont feel that the diaper area is warm.

winnie, try and look ard for a good second-hand deal on Bjorn if you can, maybe can convince your hb hehe.

sgwave
i bought mine 2 yrs ago. this one:http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/ftg_1175.htm
when i tried to fold, like very stiff, so, dare not fold it to freeze. haha...

pinkie
sometimes, i will buy lunch from the coffee shop downstairs loh. i use the sarong sling to sling my boy. so, quite easy to go anywhere i want.

i boil jagung, black bean, green papaya, lotus roots etc soups... very easy one. and need to drink lots of fluid 'cos still BF.

i do bb laundry everyday 'cos my boy using cloth nappy.

vine
last time, i dropped lots of hair when it's around 4 mth after delivery. everyday, got to sweep the flr, sometimes 2 times. scary...
but some ppl said they didn't experience it.

vine
for me, i didn't do anything. it stopped after about 3 or 4 mths later. luckily, i didn't get bald...
people said it's all because of the hormone. some said 'cos we didn't wash hair during confinement. lots of hear say. the actual reason, i am not too sure. but i believe in the hormone explanation loh. 'cos during pregnant, i rarely dropped any hair... so, after delivery, those 'old' hair should drop after hormone went back to normal loh.

so happy !! today my son drank 85ml from bottle...the most so far although he cried afterwards but i think it's because he's sleepy so offer him pacifier and off he sleeps...

garfield,
congrats...you're lucky leh...can claim from insurance...

p1nk1e,
eventhough i got a maid but i do the cooking and i do it all in the morning...so i get up at 6, prepare all ingredients (takes me at most half an hour) and cook mostly stir fries...and then around 11am will turn on rice cooker. i eat rice + side dishes everyday

some tips which i find useful for me :
1)cook more extra meat dishes during weekends and keep in freezer so that i dun have to cook so many dishes during weekday
2)plan weekly menu and every weekend i do stock check to see what i have then i'll go market and shop for the ingredients for the week. i try to make the menu for 1 week using similar ingredients so that i dun store the vegies too long in fridge
3)buy fresh meat during weekend and freeze them for weekday usage but i cut them first so that it's easier to cook i.e. no need to wait to thaw the meat before cooking..

hope these tips can help you a bit :p

sgwave,

5 bags cost $15.20. One bag can use up to 20 times. It can fit in my medela dual pump. The size of bag about 21cm(h) x 23cm(L)

p1nk1e,
no lah, me in singapore =) they extended the insurance plan for ang mohs in SG to singaporean staff also. but must say it really helps financially lor (in terms of medical bills).

re no.2,
hb talking to arielle over the weekend, "baby, do you want a di4 di4 or mei4 mei4?" i told hb - baby dun wan di4 di4 or mei4 mei4 she wants our undivided attention *hee hee*

seriously, thinking of closing shop already. not sure i have the energy to cope with work plus 2 young kids!

berry/sunny/tute
pei fu pei fu. you all multitask so well! just looking after my little one, nursing and pumping already takes up so much time, you ladies can still cook, go marketing, do laundry! got alot to learn from you.

Garfield
Wow, your pumping on track huh? that's good! maybe first week always more stressful, plus you fell sick rem?

Hairdropping
my bb's hair has been dropping alot. hope wat pinkie said is true *cross fingers*

pink1e, in order not to waste the EBM, i drink a little bit and the rest i bathe him. not sure whetehr it's good for complexion but at least it's considered milk bath too?

slim down": i had slim down to prepgreg weight, even slimmer. sigh. too tired and not enuff zz, that's why can slim down so much.

dorothy: ur son also like mine not drinking!! does he cry? mine not leh, kept talking and wanna play somemore.

jeannie: when my boy kept turning his head LRLRLR meaning he is going to zz liao!

pouch sling: my mum kept complaining that the material i got is not cotton but plastic!! i tried to sling him a few times liao, still ok, but still not very sure how to sling correctly. dunno i got the position correct or not , the opeing of the cloth is facing up or down ah??

bkkgal,
i don't multitask well lah...i got a maid who does all my cleaning service routie at home i.e. sweep+mop, laundry, ironing plus caring for bb when i need to eat... i only do cooking just that i prefer to do it all before my bb is up and awake

Hi-eee!! to all mummies here

bb's weight:
now i think my boy's weight is just nice..hehe..he's 60cm and 6.15kg at 2months
, at birth was 50cm and 3.845kg, which was 11 weeks ago

Iso,
same same here...the rest of the body looks ok but just that stupid irritating kangaroo pouch that refuses to budge. great, now all my bottoms can't fit and i need a wardrobe makeover

Xiaoyun,
whose ur gynae? I went to e one at tampines junction n seeing Dr Koh gim hwee

My boy was a terrorist last night. Refused to drink milk even its way past his feeding time and refuse to be put down to sleep/carried/put on bouncing net or yao lan...keep whining n crying.. Oh my god i dunno wat he wants!

bx,
re:appetite good!!!
me too!!! super good! my hb used to need to clear my plate. now, i can finished whatever i ordered. recently, he told me that my appetite veri good. i asked him how he knows, he answered" cos i waiting to clear yr plate but no chance"

tute
re:weight machine at airport
should be veri accurate cos they need to know how heavy yr luggage is

happybee
re:no2
gynae usually will ask u to try for another one 6mths after yr c-sec.

sunny
re:hair droppng
i got this problem too!! so keeping my fingers crossed as my boi abt 3 mths already.

xiaoyun
re:sling
no prob cos i not using it. re: to sew a new sling.
actually, my hb has already sew me a new sling using the cloth that i show u.but i think the material is not cotton

p1nk1e
re: currently, i am home alone to 2 kids.
my gal is in the afternoon session. so i have to prepare lunch for her. sometimes, i will cook congee f lazy order mcd, if not go coffeeshop.
i usually wakes up abt 7 to do some housework.

vine
re:fm
u change huh

xiaoyun
re:sterilising tablet
r u the one who is looking for it?
i just bought pigeon for $6 for 32 tablets

frentee,
we are the same gynae *hi5*

ask u huh, when to go back for the papsmear test? my menses not here yet. the nurse asked me to go 3 months after my post-preg visit and after mens. *confused*

dor,
is sewing sling easy?
yes. looking for sterilising tablet. can we find the pigeon one everywhere (e.g., isetan, johnlittle)?

re: apettite
i also super good. double my pre-preg.
btw, i already dropped back my pre-preg weight. hope can lose a bit more. :p

tute,
ya i'm very thankful to coy for introducing this insurance. and timing was good cos they rolled it out only in jan08!!

to all SAHMs,
me salute all of you too!! especially those without domestic help =P inspiration to me =)

bkkgal,
thanks! only first day of week *hee hee* see if the 5ml decrease per day will kick in tmw or not. any news on your half day?

agree fully with what you shared about babies growing so quickly. i was just going thru some "old" photos of arielle when she was < 1 month old. sooooooooooo tiny then compared to now. it's not been that long ago, but i have fond memories of nursing her when she was only a few days old in the KKH ward. the first time i looked into her eyes as she drank from my breast and the emotions i felt then.

i cherish BF-ing moments cos that look in her eyes as she drinks is something that will not last forever and only for as long as I BF. that's what gives me determination to sustain my ss for as long as possible.

xiaoyun,
i did my papsmear 6 wks after birth during my post natal checkup. my gynae already asked me try to for number 2 that night *faint*

hmm.. realli kudos!
i'm always struggling with bb, meals &amp; housework.
thanks for the tips - berry, tute, sunny &amp; dorothy! i'll try to put them to practise

re: weight
think my prb is i sleep well eat well, so not losing weight at all! for a start, msyb i shud take out my MIM sling and do some "weight-lifting"..

p1nk1e,
you're lucky, bb is so kuai.

my gal needs jiggling and rocking to calm her when she is crying. so i have to do aerobic like movements (eg. semi squats up and down). sadly though, doesn't seem to be that effective cos i still hv 4kg to go!!