(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

long time never visit ;-p

Re : going back to work
Feels unreal now.hehe.I'm thinking of my retirement....

Happy
who is looking after your boy? I jus sent mine to a child care.

BTW ,How long do you gals take to express? until supply no more or set a fixed timing(say 5-10 mins)?

eliaw,
sorry..just saw your post. Actually i also dunno how to train baby sleep routine. My baby sleeps around 8pm-9pm and wake up 7am plus when she is at nanny's place. But when i fetched her back over the weekend, she slept ard 9-10pm plus, morning wake up 730am..I tried to follow the nanny's routine so my baby will not confuse.

I need to rock my baby to sleep when she is at home. But at the nanny's place, the nanny just pat pat her awhile then put on bed..dunno why like tat..Yesterday nite my gal was crying at home, but when i sent her to nanny's place. She stop crying immediately and slept in nanny's arms. At home she will only sleep when i place her head against my shoulders
However I am happy she can sleep well at nanny's place lah..

My gal drinks 125ml EBM every 3 hours now.

bx

I pump once can yield about 40ml but now decrease so no pt pumping and get 20 or less than 20ml. My bb drink EBM in the morning and .nite time drink FM which is abt 2 to 3 times.

Cradle cap
bx can get those cream from gp. my friend pass the cream to me cos their boi also got it. My boi have lesser and almost none after applying the cream and it does not grow back anymore.

bx

since 1st month till nw... babysitter use baby oil, it gets better.. even his eye brow also have ah.....

bbkgal

ya, alot ppl say so, i small my ah ma also put alcohol on my head. so much hair now. i think must put brandy or martell kind lah

talking abt dom, i also have alot at home, alot ppl give me but i dun like to drink dom. zzz

Milk intake
My boi also drink lesser esp when night time. For night feed i will give 130ml but my boi will drink till remain 40 or 20ml. So i assume that as long as he feel he is full, he can continue to fall asleep without finishing the milk.

twtw
i pump for abt 10 - 15mins each time (usually until not much milk left). don't set fixed timing.

happybee
wow, your bb very good leh. can slp for such a long stretch during the nite. ur nanny trained her well.

must hv expensive alcohol wan ar? sorri lah, my bb has to live with less hair lah.

bx
i oso used bb oil on my gal. after applying, i brush off the flakes and then use cotton ball to clean. the cradle cap disappeared after a week. cheap & gd no need to buy cream lah

re: hannaandersson
Garfield,
To Account POSB Savings
032-73860-5 garfield
Amount S$18.76
Transaction Reference 1671618401

vinegal,
so u r drawing on frozen ebm now izit?
u apply the cream, need to scrape off the flakes from the scalp?

cheryl,
i tried baby oil oso. can get rid. now lesser but still have.

re: milk intake
most of the time my baby sure have leftover. very seldom she finish till the last drop.

bbkgal,
very drama leh. put sarong at the entrance. haha.... most likely i pumping in the toilet. now my sch undergoing upgrading. in a few years time will have nursing room in the staff room. by then i already have my no. 2 and close shop liao. haiz...

bx
yea i'm getting ebm from my friend so my boi will drink that in the morning and nite time will let him drink fm.

bkkgal
got yr refund already?

I thot of pumping in toilet but then no plug there leh. Plus I'll probably get more stares from my lady colleagues and the cleaning auntie will kaypoh and ask me wat I doing. haiz. Pp at my workplace go for 2 hr lunches, so I'm pretty sure no one will disturb my peace. :p

kelly
haha... that's how i feel, too. when my gal was not talking much compared to others, i was worried. now she talks so much.
for my boy, i also more relac liao. haha...

tute
thanks! but when you switch to another side to let bb suckle, how you do it? you move or move bb?
last time, i tried to lie down to latch. end up got sore nipples 'cos i couldn't seem to 'pop' my nipple to bb's mouth correctly.

bx
try to pump at consistent interval and remember to drink water when you go back to work. the supply will come back one. and try to relax, too. when you pump, think of your bb, it will make the let down come faster.

twtw
normally i pump for about 15 min. didn't really fix the timing but somehow, after 15 min, no much milk come out liao. :p

re: things to bring for expressing @ work
i am lucky 'cos my co has a nursing room which has basic stuff inside i.e. fridge, hot water, water tape and bottle detergent. so, other then the pump, i only need to bring:
1. cooler bag + ice pack
2. ziplock bag (to keep the pump equipments after wash)
3. milk bags
4. magazine (to read while pumping or waiting for my turn)

i only sterilise the pump equipments at night. in the office, i only rinse with hot water after use.

xiaoyun,

haha... will try for no. 2 when my bb is about 1.5 yr old? then can quickly close shop liao. alot of ppl advise me not to wait too long. initially i wanted to stop at one after giving birth due to some complications after my delivery which freaked me and my hubby out. but after investing in so many equipment like pump, strollers etc.. must not put them to waste. and main thing is looking at my baby grow everyday warms my heart. so i think i want another baby. keke...

sunny,
so good ur office got nursing room

i just finished pumping! managed to use the mail room and from tomorrow onwards, will book an empty office. 25mins can yield 130ml. ok lah, good enough for me even though not that much. must jia you!!!

bkkgal,
OIC...if water not hot enough you can buy one of those electric water jug (i think less than $50). water boils in less than 5min so quite convenient. there's a boiling water outlet in my pantry so i can use that.

btw, do you know if lock and lock can tahan the heat of boiling or almost boiling water?

tute, my boi usually come to me when he about to sleep. will only latch for at most 5min.
but these few days, he can really drink from my breast.

bx, jiayou on no.2

mens
anyone still have not come mens?
i still not have. wanted to initimate with hb but lazy on cpercaution but scare strike.will love to have no.3 before i turn 36.

sunny, got nursing room, so good!
my office is above a workshop. so our toilet is shared with customers.

dor,
congrates on latching

re: mens
mine not here yet.
thought tbf won't come so fast.

re: #2/3/4
dor, i tot you closing shop after 2. now thinking of 3. wow..

re: hot water
thanks garfield for reminding this! totally forgotten there's this kind of kettle

dor,
no. 2 not yet lah. just planning for fun. serious ah, no. 3. wow!

mens:
mine oso haven't come. my gynae say as long as u r bf/pumping 6-8 times per day, most likely wun come. but still better to take precaution.

fish soup:
once a day until ss increase?

sunny,
when i switch side, i will unlatch baby (then i carry her over to my other side lor). dun bother to sit up again =P

mens,
mine hasn't come yet.

BD,
i oso haven't. no mood!!!!

dor,
jia you with number 3!!! i'm contemplating closing shop already =)

re:no3
aiya, dun jiayou me... say only ma...

BD
ya man, not enough sleep already how to have mood.

garfield, how's expressing in office?

bx
ya, hve more than 1. then your bb won't feel so lonely.

bx/dor
ya loh... i feel very lucky. that's why till now, i still dont' wanna change job. 'cos of the nursing room and the good working hr....
after got kids, like not very career minded anymore. *sigh* :p
2 of you very good. no nursing room and still so determine to bf bb after going to work! salute to you!

garfield
thanks for the tips. i will try to latch using lying down method.

dor
jia you jia you! how you cope with 2 now?
when my elder one is around, i am really busy in handling 2 of them esp when my hb not around. dare not think of #3...

Garfield
Wow, 130 ml! Very good!! Keep it up.

Vine
I think yeah lah, shud be she refund us already.

No. 2
When bb crying and fussing non stop, I think forget abt No. 2 but when she's smiling and playing with me, I think why not No. 2 will be fun too. But if have no.2 then really no need to think of career liao. company won't be so happy with pp taking maternity, childcare leave, emergency leave, sick leave blahblah.

BD
no sleep, no mood. too bad for the guys. haha.

dor,
pumping in office was ok. must pump quickly so that i don't hog the room. keep thinking of bb and that must pump milk for bb to drink haha =P

now on half day, so i only pump once. don't need to worry about washing and sterilizing yet. when i resume full time in 4 weeks and if supply is still ok, then need to figure that out.

mens
mine came already. notice that when mens come, supply goes down.

Lock&lock
it's microwave safe. So i think shud be able to take almost near boiling water.

bkkgal,
thanks! i will jia you =)

recall you were asking about baby bonus. i submitted mine a few weeks back on 20 somthing march. they have credited my bank account already. have you received yours!

re no. 2,
same same.

I called MCYS. They claim they did not receive my form. Ask me to go down in person to ICA to submit the form. Which reminds me, yar I can submit at NUH tmr when I go for checkup. Garment take $$ from us damn easy, but we take $$ from garment damn hard.

vine,
ya lor. very hard to adjust. i can't wait to rush home to see bb. called home twice, once she was sleeping...the other time heard her crying. wish i can rush home to sayang her =(

Hey ladies

Haven't kept up with the posts coz I started work last Mon..working halfdays now.

Very happy these few days coz I managed to latch baby on. I didn't try for the last 2 months coz ppl keep telling me I got short nipple..and baby keep screaming when he needs milk. But when I was on my own in the morning I tried and baby latched..and have been latching him the last few days.

Strange hor...now u ladies trying to wean off from the breat but me just starting.

Here is what I currnently do to pump in office. My big bag of stuff:

Ameda pump, bottles and motor
Cooler Bag
Ice Pack
Storage Bottle with caps
May bring along handsfree

Initially I kept the sterilized shields, caps and bottles in Ziplock bag, and placed in the cooler bag to bring to work. And also the ice pack in the separate compartment. I will bring the motor and adapter in my handbag.

But I find such a waste of ziplock bag..so last few days I brought the shields, caps and bottles in Lock n Lock, and then carried the cooler bag and Lock n Lock in a BIG bag, with the motor and adapter in my handbag. Use the lock n lock to wash parts in hotwater. Too bad the lock and lock can't fit into the cooler bag.

Still not happy coz too many things to carry and so heavy. Fortunately I drive to work..can't imagine taking public transport with all these stuff..very heavy and bulky. Anyone has any other suggestions to share? Good to reuse ziplock bag?

I pump twice - at 3 pm and 5.30 pm before I go home since I work halfday. My office has a fridge in the nursing room, so quite good.

sweetpea
can "downgrade" ziploc bag to keep other things like biscuits? i dunno, i will wash again and keep other things loh.

is ur lock&lock the BIGGEST one? mine is the one with a small drainage tray at the bottom, so I can use it to drip dry my equipment. How long do you take to pump at work? 15 -30 mins?

sweetpea
i think it's great you can latch again. Dun care wat pp say lah. I have a friend who had inverted nipples. With determination and perseverance, she managed to breastfeed just fine. As long as you and bb enjoy the latching, just carry on.

will go NTUC to source for the ideal size Lock&Lock today

sweetpea,
good that u can latch ur boy on

i would love to latch my ger on too...
u hardworking leh. pump at 3pm and 5.30pm.

Tks bkkgal..the size of the lock n lock is just enuff for the pump parts and bottles.

I pump for abt 20 mins..but by the time I get water, fix up the pump, undress..pump...then dress, store milk, wash pump..then drink water..wah 45 mins.

bx,
bd = ml, i forgot what it stands for...but same meaning lah...

dor,
ic...so now can latch good !!
can cut down one pumping time...heheh...

garfield,
jia you !! must persevere to continue ok...

sweetpea,
re:latching, good for you...would be easier to latch (Esp for lazy ppl like me...heheh) and somehow i really enjoy latching and being so near to my son

dor,
wah...salute you already thinking of no. 3, i even dun dare to think of no. 2 since my bb now have invaded our bed...

sunny,
umm...i dun switch sides leh, coz my son latch v fast and cannot empty my breast...

re: bd,
no mood too !! how to have mood, got bb in the room and sharing the bed as well...

re:no.2,
i'm thinking would only have no. 2 when my son is at least 3-5 yrs and is sleeping on his own.

I think the size of the lock n lock about the A4 size paper, height reaches the height of my pummp shields. Haha today didn't bring to cannot measure.

bx, my baby also dropping lots of hair! Aiyo poor boy look so botak now. He also got cradle cap..my MIL now everyday take towel and clean.
Hope his hair will grow soon.

re: pump @ work
i advise all mummies not to pump at work stations.. work stations got a lot a lot of bacteria.. do u know that the work station has more bacteria than a toilet bowl!??! disgusting rite?

re: BD - (BX - means sex)
ya.. too tired also.. but hubby quite poor thing ah.. since pregnancy until now.. :p

re: dropping ss
fish helps.. eat more is good too.. got DHA..

initially my ger oso sleeping between us, then we slowly shift her to the mattress after she fall asleep. now we put her there even before she sleeps.