(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

sunny/xiaoyun
last time for my girl, my mum fed ebm in middle of nite. so i no need to wake up to feed her. only woke up a few times to pump cos too lazy to do so in middle of the nite. so most of the time only pump early in the morning. but kenna leakage and sometimes my t-shirt would be wet even tho i had breast pad on.

kelly,
yup, thanks for the deal

Garfield,
I confirm my order. Let me know your account number.

Playtex milkbag 4OZ 118ml
I have Playtex milkbag to let go. I don't need these small ones so letting go. Anybody interested?

stephie, my bb's sleep pattern like yours.. 1am, 4am, 7am.. hhaha..

winnie, i also don't intend to intro FM yet.. so far now started work still enough for bb.. We must hang in there n BF for 1 yr!! Less than 1% of mummies TBF for 6 mths.. so we must increase the statistics..

re: foremilk
anyone knows if wat will happen if never feed foremilk?

thanks for the note, I really thot if i intend to bf even after i return to work, i need to intro FM now in case she rejects later... So I will hang on there a bit more, hee but i bought the milk powder, will put in the cupboard for emergency :p

I am targeting for 6 months hehee.

Yeap, even if bb sleeps through, i need to wake up and pump, now i try to pump before sleep, then once in middle of night, then once in early morning.

eliaw, if u pump out ur milk, sure got foremilk.

cherish, my bb during 1st few weeks on TBF poo quite a few times a day. until first month then the frequency decrease.

re: TBF for 6 mths
dun think i can TBF for 6 mths. sure need to supplement with FM. Now haven't start work milk ss dropping everyday despite supplementing with goat's rue. think it's due to lack of rest and sleep. moreover, my bb will be staying overnight at my mil's place. i dun think i can pump enuf to deliver over on time.

hubby:
every night i wake up to feed and pump, my hubby usually continue to sleep like a log. initially i was ok, but recently feel depressed. last time he can't help coz i latch on. now i bottle-feed at night, he can help while i pump. when i complain, he say i should wake him up. but i rather he takes the initiative. not sure how many of ur hubbies wake up to help...

winnie, me too!!
targeting at 6mths too.

bx, i not shy one. when bb cries at nite, i will make milk n ask hb to feed. whil i express.

Hi moms
I wanna give away 35 glass bottles and caps. Good for storing ebm. Pls PM me if keen, otherwise, will throw away liao.

bx, dont worry, you are not alone.... my hubby also snores and snores when bb cries in the other room with the CL....

In day time, if he is in living room, he also wont hear bb crying for help one.... by the time he hears it means very serious scream liao.... when i ask him, he says he cant hear, i say ok then buy baby monitor, he says no budget :p

bx,
same here... hubby will fall asleep once hit pillow! but i wake him up sometimes when i need help e.g. change diapers...but since i'm latching on and not pumping it's easier for me to do night feeds... like june, i let my baby be the 3rd person on the bed... contrary to what experts say about not getting enough sleep when baby co-sleep with us, i find it's the other way around...i get much better sleep this way...

re: BF target,
yeah...me target 6 mth first, though i'll continue to pump when i return to work but since my mat leave is 5 mth, easier to meet the extra 1 mth if i build enough supply...so need to target even longer! haha...but see how lah, hopefully can persevere...

happymum2b/vine,
saw you in carter's bp

vine,
haven't receive news from you abt the ebm, if my fridge gets too full i'll start throwing away but dun worry i'll pass you some of the earlier april ones as i really need to clear some space

btw, notice we order same design for some of the rompers...heheh ;)

my hb also slp like log 1... he alway say bb drink finish tell him... but when i call him, no ans, call till 5 times no answer i throw pillow at him den he wake up... lol... but normally everytime bb cry he n me will wake up.. either of us will make milk and either of us will feed...

stephie
i am trying to 'train' my breast to dong thru night. haha... wake up in the morning sure leak one...

eliaw
i think if bb didn't take foremilk, he/she will feel thirsty? 'cos foremilk is more watery and suppose to quench the thirst?

Kelly,
Ya, you're right. I must learn to take it easy and not worry so much.

I'm going back to work tomorrow. Can't bear to leave bb...just now talking to her halfway start to tear *sob sob*

Luckily, my mom is helping me take care of her so I have more peace of mind. So thankful to my mom. The other day I was walking behind my mom and felt this sudden surge of emotion for my mom and also teared. Now, as I'm typing, I'm tearing....I think I can star in Taiwanese drama serial liao.

Realized logistics for pumping at work quite ley chey. Like there're 10,000 things to bring.

<font size="+1">Hanna Andersson</font>

Thanks all for confirming. I will be placing order tonight.

Happy, can include your order cos I'm only ordering now. Wah, how come buy so many pairs???

<font color="0000ff">For Payment, pls transfer the amount you see under <To Pay Garfield> to my POSB Savings account 032-73860-5. Thanks!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Item cost USD</TD><TD>Postage USD</TD><TD>Total USD</TD><TD>Total SGD</TD><TD>To Pay Garfield</TD><TD>Payment </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiaoyun</TD><TD>Legwarmers - White (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>18.76</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Goodbb</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowbelle</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andrea</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Innosense</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thankful</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Garfield9</TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>0.7</TD><TD>6.7</TD><TD>9.38</TD><TD>39.20</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Dress</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>19.2</TD><TD>2.1</TD><TD>21.3</TD><TD>29.82</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happymum2b</TD><TD>Legwarmers - White (S)</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>1.4</TD><TD>13.4</TD><TD>18.76</TD><TD>56.28</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Legwarmers - Multi (S)</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>1.4</TD><TD>13.4</TD><TD>18.76</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Legwarmers - Vivid Pink (S)</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>1.4</TD><TD>13.4</TD><TD>18.76</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>109.2</TD><TD>12.0</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

dor.. who did we order the pouch sling from.. i am supposed to collect from her.. i very blur leh..u got her email or link to the bp??

Happymum..u help me keep track of the princess bow bow k..

Saw u bought somemore things from happyshopping.. hehe..sigh dhe never reply me.. dunno what s going on.. How is ervin?? better?

Just to share w u.. when i was preg.. i had very bad rashes and swollen feet...i did a blood test and they checked that white blood cells was high..and that was the contribution to my skin allergy.. So dun worry too much.. it may not be anything too serious.

BX.. hehe... i got the legwarmers from kidzcottage. they got sale at $10. Bought 3 pairs!! check out www.kidzcottage.com
Cute right.. i also think so.. but like very hot leh..

tute.. i wiah i can just latch and feed on bed.. never tried before..cause previously ss quite low.. now ss more but baby not used to latching already.

yar lor.. happymum.. why so many pairs?? u buy for me har?? hehe..

tute.. ur maternit leave so long?? u work in foreign banks har?? Credxx Suxxx??

Hanna Andersson

ORDER PLACED!!!

Friend will be back on 23May. Will arrange to collect by end May so that we can receive our items by early June latest.

garfield.. u lie down then latch baby on har?

maybe i should try tonight else baby grow up already.. no chance to try

goodbb,
you're welcome!

jeannie,
i have two methods - one is to latch bb using cradle hold (sitting upright), then i slowly lie down while holding baby, then turn your torso so that baby is on the mattress. i used this method previously when my latching technique not so good.

nowadays i just put baby next to me on the bed, turn towards her, and then guide her to latch directly.

re: foremilk
i always put aside the 1st 100ml since it's more watery..

bkkgal, how to collect from u? i dun mind 10 bottles..

re: hubby helping
my hubby will just lie in bed n coax bb from his sleeping position.. not considered helping la! sometimes when i'm very tired, he will help me to warm up the milk, but i still do the feeding..

tute - wah 5 months.. shiok!

eliaw,
err...i think hor, the foremilk is necessary to have a balanced diet. cos it contains lactose or some kind of sugar content apart from being high in water content. bb may end up not getting enough water and may be dehydrated.

sunny,
the legwarmers can be used to keep the legs warmed without having to wear long pants..
so u can easily wear for bb in cold environment and remove it when u r outdoor/warm environment..

garfield,
thks for including my orders.. i m ordering some for frenz..
hv made the payment to you..
To Account POSB Savings
032-73860-5 garfield
Amount S$56.28
Transaction Reference 1670670007

tute,
thks for the well wishes message u left in my blog..
yes, i saw u &amp; vine in the carter BP..

dor,
thks too.. saw ur message in my blog..

jeannie,
no prob.. i will keep track of the princessbowbow spree and u all posted..
ya lor, happy shopping oso did not confirmed my new orders.. but she did confirmed the rest.. sigh..
Actually ervin is ok all this while.. his fever was gone abt 2 weeks ago..
all tis time, he eats well, play well, sleep well.. just dunnno y tis happen.. sigh..
i hope too it's just some simple case of parasite/infection...
jeannie, the legwarmers i bought thru garfield, some were for my frenz.. u din buy any huh..

Eliaw, so you have Medela Swing single pump? Thought you got Medela Mini Electric Plus cos read that you said your pump suction not bad so went to buy second hand. Thought single pump harder to get letdown?

I have a question, now that I have Medela PIS and Medela Mini Plus, do you think I should leave the more powerful but bulky PIS at office or the smaller Mini Plus. My original plan was to leave the PIS at office since pumping will probably be faster but I realiased since only pumping in office twice a day, seems a bit stupid to leave the good pump in office, like that at home and weekends cannot use. Any advice? :p

Garfield, we are in the same boat. I also starting work tomorrow. So much barang to bring cos will be pumping at office. Really feel very emotional leaving bb behind at MIL's house today. Although it's not the first time she spends the night there, but this time, she'll be sleeping there till Fri night when we bring her back. Have taken half day leave this week so not so bad but it just feels different lor when she's in the same house. Feel so sad, feel like working PT liao.

Kitsune,
Will you be going to MIL's house in the evening every day? Or only on fri evening? If you really miss bb, but find travelling to/fro to MIL house every day too siong, can invest in those internet streaming webcam?

i'm going to get one too, even though bb is in my house and i will be with her every night. but i think i will miss her in the day, and want to know how she's doing lor. cos my bb tends to sleep early these days (sometimes as early as 8pm), so i won't have much time with her =(

Gar, I'll be going over every evening cos MIL stays 5 mins away in the next street. That's my only comfort. Hubby was saying we should have bought a unit in the same block. Hee. But I told him, I'll feel only worse if in the same block lor, so close yet so far away. My MIL's house very low tech one, only got 1 old PC in the living room, not even Pentium. If want to invest in webcam, think I got to buy a new PC for them in the first place. :p But I heard Singetl has another system, can use handphone to view, just need to call in to see baby. My colleague used to call and see her son everyday at lunch time.

i think I'm too pampered by the Medela PIS, find the Mini Plus so slow cos cannot control speed. :/ Feel like buying a second hand PIS instead, but if including the Avent Manual pumps I bought, I'll end up with 3 pumps. Siao or not? Since my BF target is only 6 months, 3 months away. :p

dor
think the organiser do your sling first cos you mentioned you wanted it fast. hope i can get mine soon.

bx
my hubby also never wake up to feed bb at nite. he oni did so when i was sick the other time. haha, at least he got 'liang xin'. i thot he would wake me up to feed baby leh. ended up he himself wake up, heat up ebm to feed baby. but other than that time, rest of the nites he'll be sleeping soundly.

garfield/kitsune
last time when i had to go back to work, i also cried when i brought my girl to my mum's place the nite before i went back to work (cos my girl stayed with my mum during weekdays). my mum said i was silly to cry.

eliaw
once the hindmilk comes in, you can mix it with the foremilk, then won't be watery liao.

happymum2b
wat happened? hope everything will be fine for ervin.

kitsune
don't waste $ buying more pumps. you don't like the avent manual pump? can use it instead of the medela mini plus.

Kitsune,
I happen to bump into this thread. I agree with Stephie, don't buy so any more pumps.

Actually, when you are back at work, milk supply may be affected due to stress and adjustment. As such, you may want to experiment around with the PIS at the office first. Usually you have very limited time to express in the office as we may be swamped by work.

Avent is actually quite user friendly. Mini electric plus has very low suction.

Kitsune,
OIC...that's very convenient hor. ok la, at least you can see her everyday =) how's her sleeping schedule like? if she only wakes up once in the middle of the night, you can consider bringing her back on some nights.

re pump, i'm actually bringing my avent manual pump to work. i think i'm type A personality, no patience to sit there patiently to use the PIS. i find it more fulfilling using the avent.

i yield the same amt of milk with both, and it takes equally long. of course, the avent provides less stimulation per breast since it's a single pump. but have developed blocked ducts with the PIS when i use it repeatedly, so a bit scared. maybe once a day is still ok.

my bb gave me a scare.

she had her last feed from 545pm to 630pm on my breast, then starting dozing off at 7+pm and then slept until now!!!!

kelly is right - sleep too little i worry, sleep too much i also worry!!!

kitsune - i rented a medela electric plus, wah very loud!! i recently bought a swing, so much quieter, and very cute! i also have the avent manual but recently been v lazy to do manually :p

garfield,
LOL !! same thing for me...last time bb sleep for 4 hours at night complain, then when 2 days ago he start sleeping for 6-7 hours, i was the one who was up since 2 am every hour making sure he's ok... my friend told me not to worry so much, he say new parents nowadays read so much book so got a lot of theories...i'm trying to relax and just trust my instinct..

happymum2b,
i understand how it feels like when my son has to go for his cardio scan...now i'm used to count each day to his 6 mth checkup hoping that his condition is better and normal but now i just try to enjoy his presence and not worry till i have to

jeannie,
yeah working in foreign bank but not that one... heheh...we got a women's network in the company who fought for this long mat leave 2 years back so lucky me didn't have a baby until now

eliaw,
yeah 5 mth can be shiok...but sometimes i really feel bored and miss my office, am used to talking to a lot of ppl during work so at home alone with my maid is quite stressful sometimes, that's why always come here and post...btw, u use single pump to pump milk and yield 400ml for 40 min? that's really fast...

re: latching baby
my baby latch normally around 5-10 min (left normally longer than right coz my right flow is almost doubled my left one) then he will let go and most of the time during the day he let go not because he fell asleep but just seems like he has enough...wondering if he's getting enough nutrition this way, because by latching so short he can actually survive 1.5-3 hours without latching...not sure if it's bcoz he's an effective eater? i actually compared to my pumping time, for my left can yield about 30-50ml while for my right one can yield about 80-100ml sometimes... thinking if i should get a lactation consultant to look... see, look at me starting to put all those theories into place again...

re:pump,
i actually yield more using PIS coz i can pump longer...i'm quite impatient when using manual pump esp when i see only 1 spurt then i just stop, while with PIS i don't look at the number of spurt so just sit there and wait... oh plus using avent manual i actually get nipple sore if pump too long e.g. 30 min, maybe coz i'm too harsh in pumping :p

kitsune/garfield
ya, last time, the 1st day i started work after the leave, i nearly wanna cried in front of my mil when i passed the bb to her. the separation anxiety will get better when time goes by. *pat pat*

kitsune
since your place is so near to your mil hs, why not bring your bb back every day after work? you need to work late?

garfield
to latch bb on lying position, how do you let bb suckle when change side? you move to another side or you sit up and carry bb to another side, then lie down and latch?
yesterday need to wake up 3 times! 2 for my gal and 1 for my boy. so tiring....

dor/eliaw
theses r 100ml dumex bottles given by hospital. collect in the east - bedok/tanamera. if u r gg for yoga/massage class at kelly's, i can bring them.

bb webcam
i installed one in my living room but no one except me n hb knows abt it. this is to "spy" on our maid, bb n mother when we at work. hee. i find it useful, sometimes when i'm pumping in the room, i can see what they are doing in the living or if my bb is playing/sleeping/fussing.

sleep
last night was siao one! bb slept from 8pm to 2.45am, wake up once to feed and then slept til 630 am! Unbelievable! wish she could repeat this every night. She woke up like 5 times the night before. Hb and I can't believe it. He had a good night's sleep. If can replicate yday night will be GREAT!

last nite my son was so cranky, out the whole day on sun din slp much during outing.. den when reach home he so cranky, i knw he wan to slp.. so put yaolan loh, but midnite duno wat happen, drink milk also cry. i so angry, almost wan to scold him

dor,
playtex laying flat leaks?! must be sim tia for you. did you tape the side opening thoroughly? I find that if i didn't seal the side, then it leaks.

re: side lying latch position
i like to do it in the first few weeks after giving birth. it takes less energy and i can sleep while bb is eating. feel myself like a pig. :p
but nowadays, i don't like to use this position cos my other breast leaks terribly. in the end it's very messy.

re: sling
stephie,
the length is ok. i ordered S size due to my small frame. the sling reached my upper hip, should be ok right?

re: BF for 6 months
eliaw,
yes!! will help to increase the statistics!
I've already made it to 2 months! will perservere..

re: hanna andersson
garfield,
thanks help for ordering. will transfer to you later.

happy,
i don't know what to say to ease your mind. just hope that you are ok. since ervin is doing well for the past 2 weeks, everything should be fine...

can we share the list to bring to office for pump?

I intend to bring the following:
My pump set
The sterilised parts in a ziploc bag (bottles and funnels and membranes)
a mini bottle of pigeon bottle cleanser to clean the parts
A microwave-able tupperware ( to hold water from
hot water dispenser to soak the parts)
A plastic tong
Milk bags
Fridge to go bag

I will leave the tupperware, tong, cleanser and a packet of milk bag in office.....