(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
re:water
actually, i am a super lazy mum. cos i dun give water. cos since bm veri watery.

tute,
dun throw yr bm! think vine/cheryl wans.

bx
re:feeding boi fm at nite
cos nite time, he cant wait for the ebm to warm up so give him fm loh. also i think fm more filling.

excuses again!!

re:Frozen EBM
yest i drank abt 80ml of ebm cos my boi dun wans it. i almost puke. i sim tia the ebm so i drank....

looks like all our bbs are pooing less frequently.

according to PD - unless it is hard, and bb is in pain when pooing, then it's considered constipation.

bkkgal,
actually 7 days is the time between the big poo, in between he did poo but very very little...and when he farts he always left a bit of yellowish stain on diapers...so that's why haven't brought him to see pd yet and didn't really alarm us...i will keep monitoring though...

bx,
when u store ebm, do you directly freeze it or keep in fridge for 2 days first ? i dunno if got difference or not...actually haven't try giving ebm to my son...better try once...what if he dun like and i oredi put the trouble of pumping and storing...

june,
err...drinking the ebm myself a bit weird leh... hb laugh when i told him this, he said like recycling my own milk...drink milk to produce milk.... :p

vine,
ok...i pm you my address and contact...let me know when you wanna pick them up...gotta hurry coz am really running short on space so won't last till next week but dun worry i'll throw one at a time not at once

tute,
err....i think 7 days a bit long. even for adults it's considered a very long time not to poo. some more your bb on TBF.

my bb is on 25% FM, even then doc says she should ideally poo every day. i'm changing the brand of my FM, plus taking prune juice and giving bb water.

tute
i think as long as bb did not show physical discomfort it's ok. my gal was clearly unable to sleep and drink bcos gek sai until quite jialat.

garfield
i hate prune juice! but for sake of bb, i will drink. how many glasses u drink?

frozen ebm
realli smells quite metallic. even i find it quite turnoff, dunno how the bb takes it leh. my small store of ebm has to be used up these 2 days the milk kena thawed bcos moving house and freezer door not closing properly last nite. i have to dedicate full time to producing store for when i return to work.

Shoe size
Anyone find that you can't wear your pre-preg shoes any more? I think my feet grew like 1 size bigger after preggie. So sad, all my pretty shoes cannot wear liao

bkkgal.. my ger also taking mamex gold.. she ok with it.. the 1st month took quite a few times each day..but now only take once a day. So far ok.

Re: Poo
My baby still poos 3-4 times a day.. i think quite normal.. i feed water ( add in gripe water) in betwwen her meals if she cries. Think that helps her to pass motion..

Re: EBM

Dor.. just now i also use ebm to make coffee. hehe.. actually left only 20 ml so just pour into our coffee..cant even tast it.. I dun dare to drink directly leh.

Actually very funny hor.. our own milk we dun dare to drink yet expect our kids to drink.

Re: Cough

My ger got cough!!! She got it from my hubby..my hubby has been coughing for the past 2 weekd and did not recover even after seeing doc 2 times. The he always carry my ger and sometimes look after her at night coz i was too tired and now she really got cough.. cough quite badly. Anybody experience that.. ur baby got cough or flu at such a young age? gonna bring her to see doc.. but today so many docs not open.. Just now she cough till merlion.. the milk she drank.. flew out.. sigh.. feel so sad for her.. 2 months old already coughing and i think because of me lor.. never make sure my huby stay away from her. SIgh

Kitsune.. any idea whther the tampines pd is open tmr?? I going tampines tmr.

garfield/bkkgal,
agree that 7 days is too long, will bring it up when i go see pd next week...coz last fri he manage to poo after 4 days and he doesn't seem to show any discomfort...but i will try to give water in between meals, hopefully he'll take it...coz been trying to give gripe water to him as well...

jeannie,
when we took baby home after delivery then hubby got cough...but hubby wear mask everytime caring for the baby. maybe u should buy those mask for ur husband. at least make sure ur bb doesn't get worse.

bkkgal,
jia you!! i don't dare to drink too much in case bb from not pooing often end up diarrhea. only take 100ml a day.

jeannie,
dun feel bad...focucs on helping bb recover quickly!

cheryl, mine start to suck my hands, my shoulders, my shirt when i carry him upwards... OMG.. now i make sure i m very clean b4 i carry him..

re: hanna andersson
garfield,
i'm ok with the arrangement. thanks!!

re: prune juice
taking prune juice ourself can help bb to ease constipation?
make me think of taking prune juice produce prune juice milk. then will have the same effect of taking banana? :p (just kidding...)
for me, prune juice is quite effective for me. especially soak a few prunes in hot water for 8 hrs, then drink up the juice and finish the prune all together. i sure clear everything in my stomach.

re: ebm
if i were to freeze the ebm, i will normally freeze it immediately after pump. those keep in the fridge one i will make sure to consume within 24 hrs.
my gal takes whatever given to us so far. I would think she's more 'tam jiak' than anything else. as long as it's milk, she will take.
sadly, she reject water. asked PD about it, PD said bb on tbf no need water. but i'm just afraid that she will only like things with sweet taste in the future.

re: sucking fingers
my gal also sucks her hands when she's hungry. sometimes wearing mitten then she will suck mittens. so dirty. what's the point for me to sterilise all her bottle while she sucks her hands..

POO:
my bb been pooing max 2 times a day. her norm is once a day or once in 2 days.
(my first 3 weeks we TBF....thereafter supplment)

I read b4 SOME BB CAN GO FOR 10 DAYS without pooing. as long as bb gaining wt n peeing well it's ok.

poo 'texture' always been mustard, paste-like. Only when i feed her NAN she get curds and watery...i think not suitable for her. Also she cries a lot throughout the day so i think it makes her uncomfortable. (made me so stressed to be alone with her all day with her crying).

GREENISH POO in BF bbs - doesn't that mean too much foremilk? i read that smwhere...

FEEDING:
my bb been on 50-50 BM-FM since week 4. I'm using Dumex Mamex Gold. I heard that S26 is very 'fattening' and made a mummy's bb put on weight damn fast. (5kg at one month is quite hiong right?)

SCHEDULE:
past 2 days, my bb has the following schedule:

1-7am: SLEEP THROUGHOUT!
7-11am: wakeup, latch, PLAY, bath, latch/bottle, nap
12-4pm: bottle, PLAY (or bring out walk walk), bottle/latch, PLAY
5-7pm: nap
7pm-1am: bath, feed, nap, fuss, etc

the durations are varied cuz she doesn't stick to a particular schedule. those tihngs happen randomly in that timeframe.

INTAKE:
my girl takes 90ml max at one go n feeds about every 2-3 hours. i latch her b4 bed n when she wakes up. also latch 1/2 times during the day.

i realize if she knows i'm around in the day, she wil want to latch...even if for comfort only.

SLEEP:
i dunno abt all of u...but I am my baby's bed! she sleeps on me until like....3/4am then i'll subtlely roll her onto the bed cuz i need to peepee. heh.

xiaoyun, i tried to store ebm flat using playtex. today my 3rd day n one pack leak!!! so i threw away. sim tia!

re: sucking fingers
my boi likes to suck... he also like to lick us..

re: hanna andersson
hi garfield,
i'm ok with the arrangement. thanks so much!!
please pm me the acc no and amt to transfer :>

Jeannie, don't know if they open tomorrow cos I can't find the appt card. But I remember they open on some Sundays. Why don't you give them a call tomorrow morning to confirm? Tel: 6783 8743.

Goodbbb, I went to JL Marina on Fri, didn't see avent items on 30% off leh. :p

Garfield, I'm ok with the arrangement for baby leggings. Thanks.

Just bought a second hand Medela mini electric plus. The motor makes a very loud humming sound, sounds very different from my PIS. Eliaw, think you mentioned that you use the same pump. Is it normal? :p

Goodbbb, Aiyah, should have gone to JL somerset, bigger variety of BB stuff right? But then think Avent and pigeon excluded so can't use vouchers anyway. :p

I have 2 brand new packs of Huggies Ultra diapers (size L) going at $10 per pack.

Interested parties please PM me.

My baby also never poos last two days. Just now she "push" until face red red then poo a bit. and the stools look Hard! Must be heaty! But looking at the post here, seems like many babies have irregular pooing pattern now.

Been doing a lot of shopping online too! Chiam. By the way happymum, saw u everywhere in the bulk purchase thread haha.

Finally uploaded my baby pic, here's my daughter!

1367256.jpg

POOING
in e past 3wks, my girl only poo-ed <5x. there was once she poo-ed on e 7th day. i didnt panick cos my 2boys went thru e same patterns. after being on TBM, they didnt poo for a period of 7days. after some time (i cant recall how long), it'll "regularise" n they went back to poo-ing 1-2x everyday.

my girl's tummy dun feel hard n she dun seem 2 b any discomfort (other than her usual crankiness between 5-10pm) so i let her b. i would bring her 2 c a doc if she dun poo on e 8th day.

SLEEPING PATTERNS
my girl can sleep for 30mins-5.5hrs. not fixed but there seems 2 b a pattern now. anyway, i not surprised if there's any changes fr now til when she's 6mths old.

FEEDING PATTERNS
i wont know how much she drinks cos i latch her completely. as long i c soiled diapers every 4-5hrs, she sleeps well, plays well, smiles &amp; coos lots, it's gd enuff 4 me liao.

garfield
4 me, if my girl consumes a lot, i'll let her b. i wont fret so much cos she's probably going thru a growth spurt.

as 4 e calculation on how much 2 consume, mayb u juz feed on demand. let ur girl give u her cues. i believe tat when a bb has enuff 2 drink, they'll sleep well &amp; enough. a hungry bb cant go 2 sleep. other than her increased milk intake, any other changes?

i also 1 2 kowtow 2 u &amp; ur husband 4 sticking 2 a method 2 train ur bb. my husband n i cant do it. we cant simply let her CIO (cry it out).

y do ur hubby 1 2 stretch her feeding interval? 2 me lah, if my girl's hungry, juz feed. my method is 'feed on demand'. esp our girls already supermodel frame, shldnt we fatten e bb up? mayb it's ME! cos i used 2 seeing my 2 boys fat fat. they were abt 7kg at 3mths. stella's reaching 3mths next tues n she weighs 5.5kg a few days ago. i wish i can fatten her up but i also understand tat weight is juz a number, as long as healthy, growing up well &amp; normally, my girl's happy, gd enuff liao.

kelly,
thanks...ya actually over the past two days i xiang3 tong1 le...shouldn't be fretting over bb's good appetite, in fact a bb that has a good appetite and eats well is a healthy bb!

i've been increasing her EBM quantity slowly until now it's about 120ml per feed. she seems to be satisfied with this with a 2.5 to 3hr interval and is able to nap/sleep longer stretches.

re the training ah, cos my mom will be looking after bb in the day, we hope that she doesn't fuss to be carried so much lor. otherwise my mom will be very siong leh. so we're trying to let bb dis-associate crying with being carried.

re feeding interval, we're only trying to stretch the middle of the night feed. but i've decided to just let it be la. too heartpain to see her cry just so that her parents can sleep through the night =(

garfield
u hv a happy problem. arielle's appetite is gd.

i thot not pooing was a cause for my gal's declining milk intake but seems it's not the case. she has poo-ed yday n today on her own but appetite still low. worse, she is starting to reject the bottle! anyone encountered this?

if she cont to reject ebm, i dunno how when i go bk to work next week.

kelly
lots of ppl told me that boy got bigger appetite. i think it's quite true. last time, my gal drank lesser than the boy and very soon, she's on 3 hr interval liao. but now my boy, if he's awake, he can drink every 1.5 hr - 2 hr interval...

re: sleeping patterns
so happy!!! yesterday my boy zzz at 10pm, wake up this morning 7am+!!! hope he continues this pattern. then i can have better sleep liao... dark eye circles and eye bags are getting more and more serious... :p

Hi Garfield,
Re: <u>Hanna and Anderson Legwarmers</u>
Juz wan to check hv u placed order already ?
Can i order some legwarmers ?
2 X White
2 X Multi
2 X Vivid pink
All in Small size..

If u can take in my order, let me know how much to transfer to you &amp; your account details.. thks..

garfield
aiya, as mothers very funny 1. when our bbs drink too much, we worry. when they drink too lil, we worry too. likewise wif sleeping, poo-ing &amp; in future, when eating solids.

wat 2 do, we r born tis way. hahahaha!

sunny
ya, i heard b4 tat boys got bigger appetite n girls tend 2 pick up after they turned 1yrs old.
after having 3kids, i always remind myself tat weight &amp; height r juz numbers. i was a super petite bb, constantly sick even til pri1. look at me now, i'm a super sized mummy who already produced 3kids. got asthma but managed 2 control it. so bb's size not impt. most impt, bb grows up healthy, normally &amp; happy.

really envy those of you who no longer need to wake up at night...

but truly speaking, i dont carry any special training on my girl to drag her interval... I still feed on demand, and once t is the right timing, most likely she will want to eat, cannot escape one...

bkkgal, mine also dislike bottle... but if my latch let down is slow, she also angry.... i introduce bottle when she is third week cos scared of nipple rejection....

my friends ask me to introduce a feed of FM everyday so that in case when we return to work the SS drops, baby can slowly accept FM, may I knwo any of you out there doing this way though you got enough EBM for baby???

btw bkkgal, the PD nurse told me that I need to slowly explain to my girl that I need to go back to work and she has to be good to take bottle...

winnie
yes i gv a bottle of fm every night.
i intro bottle since week 4.

i rem some mommies here reporting bbs' appetite dropping. seems like a common occurence for 2 mth old? will appetite pick up again?

kelly
ya, that's what i think too. as long as bb is healthy and happy, size doesn't matter. my gal 27 mth now, she can hv 1 glass of milk + 2 slices of bread + 1 half boil egg for the breakfast! my mil commented that my gal eats more than her. haha...

winnie
i won't be introducing FM to my boy even i rtn to work. i target to TBF him for 1 year.

re: bb sleeping thru the nite
sigh. think i gotta wait long long. fri nite bb managed to sleep from 10pm plus till 4am plus. then woke up at 7am plus for milk. was so happy then cos oni need to wake up once. then on sat nite, he woke up at 1am, 4am, 7am for milk. so tired. so envious of mummies' whose bb can slp thru liao.

winnie
i also won't be intrducing FM to my boy. the amt of ebm i've stored should be able to act as buffer if need to intro FM due to drop in ss.

stephie,
i still not manage to sling my bb. she seems uncomfortable, making those eh eh sound..

re: bb sleeping thru
in fact, i don't think it makes a difference for bb sleep thru.
i still got to wake up at 3am to pump cos of engorgement. then after that i can't sleep already.

xiaoyun
is the size ok for you?

true lah, if bb sleep thru then breast will bev engorged. even with 1x feeding in middle of nite, i also feel v uncomfy when i wake up in the morning. last nite worse, woke up for 1 hr to 'catch' mosquito