(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hee..nt yet, think the website down.
i m trying out the look a like meter

wah.. xiaoyun.. i agree w sunny lor.. ur routine is the best leh.. ur baby very cooperative!

So most babies abt the same..will wake up for a midnight feed at abt 1 am or 3-4 am. Actually i dun mind waking up at 3-4 am like garfield cause i need to pump also else next morning like rock.

BX.. i dun feed ebm at night unless by 1 am she still never sleep. Else i will usually feed her FM if she sleeps so faster. Then at abt 4 am.. i will feed her the EBM that i expressed immediately if i never wake up to express then i give her FM again.. so at least 1 fm at night.

I heat up ebem using hot water.. changed 2 times.. my ger also cant wait leh.. previously i will anticipate what time she wakes up at night and prepare ebm first but now too lazy.. only when she cries then i make FM..

Re:rashes
BX/tongtong/xiaoyun.. my baby's rashes ok already.. now face very smooth ( "touchwood"). The cream that i got from pd very good leh.. super moisturizing.. even her dry scalp also recover..

I got a rash cream( contains desonide), cetaphil cleansing lotion ( i use it to clean face everytime) and cetaphil intensive moisturizer ( i apply on face and scalp).. my baby's rashes cleared within 2 days and her dry skin slowly improved within 3-4 days. U can try to ask from Dr Keoy.

eliaw... u pump only 2 x now?? so u latch on the remaining feeds??

I totallu never latch on now.. lazy.. now feed ebm.. everybody can feed.. hehe..

xiaoyun.. so total how many packs u have now??

Re: Princessbowbow spree wif S@L

the spree organiser S@L has revised her exch rate from 1.46 to 1.4.. Yipee!!

thus, there are some excess due to each of you.. pls refer to the table..
can i suggest the following :-
1. pass the excess to you all during collection of the items
2. if postage is required, this excess will be used to offset postage (& topup as necessary)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> USD </TD><TD> SGD </TD><TD>Total</TD><TD>Paymt</TD><TD>1.4</TD><TD>Diff </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiaoyun</TD><TD>Sparkling Puffy Flower</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> 7.40 </TD><TD> 8.64 </TD><TD> 8.64 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 8.29 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.36)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Garfield</TD><TD>Pretty Delicate white flower</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD> 10.51 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 10.08 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.43)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Pooh friends bow</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 5.00 </TD><TD> 5.84 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happymum2b</TD><TD>Pretty Delicate white flower</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD> 9.93 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 9.52 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.41)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Not too shabby blue flower</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.50 </TD><TD> 5.26 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeannie</TD><TD>Butterfly clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 3.70 </TD><TD> 4.32 </TD><TD> 8.99 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 8.62 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.37)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Hip patootie bow</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>Shiny tiara clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 3.70 </TD><TD> 4.32 </TD><TD> 18.34 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 17.58 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.75)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Hip patootie bow</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Gingham scottie clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Satin little bow</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thankful</TD><TD>Puffy butterfly clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD> 9.11 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 8.74 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.37)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Colonial rose clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 3.80 </TD><TD> 4.44 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Qingling</TD><TD>Shiny tiara clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 3.70 </TD><TD> 4.32 </TD><TD> 8.99 </TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD> 8.62 </TD><TD> <font color="ff0000">(0.37)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Furry bunny clippie</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> 4.00 </TD><TD> 4.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi garfield,

can i piggy back on ur order also?thanks so much!

hi xiaoyun,

what made u choose the tingkat by jessie??u ordered for how many persons portion?i wonder if i should order 4 days per week,then 1 day can eat outside food,at least not so sick of the tingkat :p
u have any idea how long are the S sized leg warmers??same length as the kidzcottage's 1??

hi jeannie,

u use the cetaphil cleansing lotion and cetaphil intensive moisturizer on ur bb??cos i using that myself,dunno that can also use on the young also,which brand is the rash cream??

hi happymum2be,

the clips from princessbowbow are cheaper as compared to spore??or the designs are better??cos saw a lot of pple buying,the clips can be use so young??thot need them to keep long hair then can clip?

i haven open the box of the pigeon warmer,that time bought wif the steriliser as a package,it seems that the avent warmer is so much better than the pigeon warmer,even the milk bottles of avent r so much better

hi vine gal,

i m also dropping my order on the book since there's no discount..think i'll go to kino to get it. thanks so much for taking the trouble to help to check out the prices and availability :>

SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER
Getting from Kino @ $26.03 after discount @$20.82 (Big Version)

1)Vine_gal
2)happymum2b
3)dor11

Baby whisperer solves all your problems
Getting from Kino @ $28.48 after discount @$22.78 (Big Version)

1)bkk
2) dor
3) vinegal

sunny, great that your son sleeping thru liao! mine still not yet la ayo. did you son zz during the day too?

eliaw, when you pump twice a day, do you feel very engorge or painful? how much can u pump each time now? will u leak if you only pump twice? if i din pump after 6 hours i already feel very xin ku liao. i also think drinking fresh milk is better .

kitsune, the 1 hour time frame is for the warmed EBM which is still kept in the warmer or warmed liao then leave outside the warmer?

h@ppymum2b, m fine with ur arrangement. tks!

re: warming ebm
i use pigeon warmer, but to save time, i already pour hot water into the warmer n then put in the avent bottle..my mum's method, takes ard 3-4mins to warm the milk..i wonder if there's any logic to this..haha..

tongtong
i don't really consider it sleep thru leh. mayb i am too greedy lah. haha... i hope he can sleep till at least 5am+ for feeding so that i can start my day after the feed.
he zz little during morning. in the afternoon after 1 or 2 pm, he would start zz more and more. then after 5+pm, he won't zz again till the last feed at abt 8+pm.

Eliaw which part of spore u stay? I see whether I can go to your place to collect.

Kitsune I tot the ebm can stay in room temp around 4 hrs b4 disposing it?

hi qingling,

if put hot water into the warmer,isn't it the same as putting hot water in a cup and put the bottle of milk in??u put warm water into the warmer and heat,will it still be 40 degrees??

hi vine, pls check ur email..

jeannie, i never latch.. i feed only ebm.. of course now ss drop because only pump 2x per day.. n i don't store as much as before.. but ss is still enough for bb to be on TBF.. 6am &amp; 6pm.. don't need to bring pump to work..

tongtong, i get 500+ml per pump.. i make sure i really express out everything.. so by then breasts not so engorged.. everytime at least 40mins pumping.. i dont really leak except when i miss the timing by 1 hr or later..

xiaoyun
my ebm storage very 'luan'. hv difficult doing stock take recently cos the bottles and milkbags are stacked all over each other (i was trying to squeeze as many milkbags as i could into the freezer). recently realised lots of ebm stored in early to mid feb gg to pass the 2 mths' period. now gotta take out these old stock everyday to use else will be wasted.

eliaw
u very good leh. managed to pump only 2x a day and can yield enuf for your bb. some more won't leak. when you started the 12 hr interval, did you feel very 'xin ku' cos breasts will be very engorged?

yah eliaw you very gd.. i dont pump thru e nite cos too lazy to wake up.. so last pump abt now.. n morning 1st thing in the mrng latest by 8am..10hrs max..already feel quite lumpy n painful in e mrng..

Hey mummies

Do u know how often we need to change the bottle teats? I use each teat once a day.

BX..I also got no time to warm up EBM in the night. Some more supply not enuff, so I give FM. I tot u latch on at night? Btw is ur Goat's rue working for you? Mine still no effects.

kitsune, i think the 1hr time frame is from the time ur bb starts feeding. if she cannot finish, within1hr must discard the unfinished milk. because already come in contact wif saliva.

re: pigeon warmer
normally i will heat up 45min b4 feeding time in order for the milk to be warm. if i heat only 10min, it is not really warm. still feels cold to the touch.

went to check out the avent warmer. very tempted to buy. $99. very ex. but BHG now go 20%.

xiaoyun
jus finis readg the archived posts. so envious of u dat bb can sleep for such a long stretch after her last feed at nite. like wat garfield had mentioned b4, think your bb has all her requirements (of milk) taken during the day (since she's on 2 hr interval), thus there's no need for any nite feed.

Vinegal, yes fresh EBM can keep for 4 hours but once warmed up can only keep for 1 hr. Usually I store in the fridge compartment so that can last for 48hrs. Also, because my pumping schedule is aligned to work schedule but clashes with BB's feeding schedule. So, we always take out chilled EBM then warm up to give to BB lor.

Hppymum2b, yeah! great news!
I'm ok with both arrangement, let's see when the clips arrive before deciding. If no need to meet, then use to offset postage or something.

sweetpea,
i started giving ebm this week. no more latch on for me. my ss currently enuf to sustain TBF. coz recently my gal seems to be drinking less. the goat's rue no effect on me oso. i taking 6 per day now.

jeannie,
so good ur gal's face smooth smooth liao. mine still rough rough. that time i went to the clinic is dr keoy off day. the other pd did not give me the cetaphil. how do u use the cetaphil cleansing lotion to clean her face? i have this lotion at home. may wan to try using. can the intense moisturiser be bought from the pharmacy?

jeannie: the cetaphil cleansing lotion is those that we can get from pharmacy one? do you mind taking the pic and show me? it's ok if it's too troublesome. afraid got the wrong one from phar. cuz i also use cetaphil myself but i dont know whether it is suitable for bb.

xiaoyun/eliaw
lately i've been giving my girl/hubby the excess ebm. these few days started to add in to my bb's bath water. previously when i did not know what to do with the excess ebm, had threw away dunno how many litres when the ebm had passed the 48hrs timeframe. dunno why, kept having this thinking that no one will want our ebm (since it's so personal). somemore the logistics a bit ma fan cos i store most of my ebm in glass/milk bottles.

kitsune
i still drink kopi even tho bfg. really cannot huh? i try to drink min amount (like 1/3 to 1/2 cup only), asked for decaf if avail, drink only after i've fed baby (and drink lots of water after that) so that by the time the next feed is up, the caffeine would hv been flushed out from the body? what's the adverse effect (other than staying awake) if the caffeine indeed goes into the bm and bb drinks it?

ebm
leila,
pls pm me your hp number. will contact you when my friend wants to give away some too..
I've not contacted her yet.
take care...

vine/cheryl,
will keep you in the loop when there's extra ebm too.

stephie,
you purely use bottle to store? otherwise can give to ppl also.

how's your a boi's skin after taking milk bath?
your girl and hb wants to take? that's good, at least not so wasted.

jeannie,
i've about 30-40 packs. so, about 1 week supply.

dor,
yes. it's neater storing flat.
i use scotch tape to seal it. seal the side, top, then fold, then side and middle also.
the method was shown earlier by someone.

princessbowbow
happy,
that's good news on princess bow bow.
agree with the arrangement

goodbaby,
they are expensive. but suppose to be non-slip, so can use on baby when they have very little hair.
just buy a few and try out if they are good. :p

tingkat
i choose jessie is because they have 1 person's portion and they do lunch delivery for east side. i chose 5 days per week cos i've no choice to stay home to take care of bb and no one can buy food for me. i don't cater for dinner.

legwarmer
I am not sure how long is that.
just choose according to the size chart. S is for girl of 80-100 cm height.

eliaw,
how you manage to pump 2x a day ? u gradually decrease the frequency...really envy no need to bring pump to work...

xiao yun,
what milk bag u using ? am using playtex and dun think make any difference if i lay it flat...i'm storing it standing now and taking up a lot of space oredi...gotta start replenishing...

stephie,
you should consider using milk bag and freeze it... last time i oso use bottles but keep throwing the milk away and my mom say such a pity to throw away bm so afterwards i start to freeze my excess milk...plan to feed ebm once a day nearer to when i return to office so that can store more excess milk.

jeannie,
i think feeding ebm not lazy leh...more hardwork to pump...me more lazy, all the way latch on...v lazy to pump and easier to maintain supply by fully latching on...heheh...

bx,
may wanna try to get 2nd hand avent warmer...how come so ex ah $99 ? is it the new model ? last time old model only cost $71.70, i bought during taka sale and got disc so pay only $50+

re: ss,
how do we know ss is established or not? this week i'm on total latch tbf and realise my afternoon pump only yield v little as compared to my morning pump.

re: eating while bf,
can eat ice cream or not ah ? and can we drink cold drinks ? up till now i haven't drink any cold drinks only a sip or two that i steal from my husband's drink...

re: baby whisperer book,
for those who just want to read the book, try to borrow from library...they've got plenty of copies of these books...

eliaw.. u started work already?? BTW, just wanna tell u.. my goodness.. u are super slim leh.. ur tummy so flat.. envy envy.. u got good genes leh.. dun look like u have just delivered!! Yummy Mummy!! I still got a stubborn 6 kg to go before i can fit into my clothes, time is running out only 3 weeks more before i go back to work.

Xiaoyun.. ur 1 kg gone??

BX and tongtong.. the cetaphil cleansing is the normal one u can get from pharmacy. What i do is i just mix a little with water and clean my ger's face b4 i bathe her in the morn and in the evening when i clean her. Now i dun apply the rash lotion cause her rashes recovered.. so after bathing i will use a little cetaphil moisturizer and apply on face and scalp. I just use a little. Here is a pic of what i have
1362146.jpg

1362147.jpg

the rash lotion not that clear.. but i am not sure of the brand and name cause there is quite a few. I think it is called Desowen Lotion by Galderma

BX.. i think dun need to get warmer leh.. i dunno.. erm i just heat it up using hot water.. is there a difference between that and using warmer... the pigeon warmer takes so long??

I dunno but i think there will only be very small difference even if acc to studies some nutrients will be lost because of the high temp. But up to indiv.. maebe i am not so concerned cause in the past pp also dun use warmers.

tute.. my ger does not like to latch on.. she only suck like 5 mins.. then she stop and she wants more milk.. so i thot might as well give ebm... save the hassle then somemore.. my PILs come and help me in the afternoon.. then ma fan to bring ger into room and feed so thats y lor..
I dun really enjoy baby latching on also but i do feel guilty at that leh.. like everybody is enjoying bonding w babies and whereas for me.. i dun even wanna persist in latching on.: (

anyone got extra playtex to sell?
pls let me know. thanks

xiaoyun,
must tape the middle also?

tute,
i am using playtex n storing them standing. super messy.

tute.. i still take a bit cold drinks lah.. but not everyday.. but if outside and weather really hot.. very difficult to have self control.

Stephie and kitsune.. cannot take coffee.. sometimes i take 2 cups a day?? Whta will happen to baby?? sleepy baby her?? or wide awake baby?? my baby sleeps a lot leh even after i take coffee..

tute,
there's 2 models. one is $70+, the other is $99. planning to get the $99 one. now trying to sell off my pigeon warmer. if can sell off, then i'll buy the avent one.

garfield,
ur avent food warmer is the $70+ one or $99?

mummies who r interested to buy the avent food warmer, there is 20% discount at BHG. until 22 apr. anyone knows if avent having discount at robinsons? coz i still have some vouchers from robinsons.

jeannie,
thanks for the pics!! i will go check out the pharmacy today
hope my ger's face oso can become smooth smooth

xiaoyun
i think 70-80% stored using milk bottles. remaining using milkbags. so far only managed to squeeze in about 18 milkbags into my freezer.

hee, can't tell any difference on my boi's skin leh. maybe can only tell after a long period of time.

my girl drink cos she doesn't know (haha, i secretly add my ebm into her milk - abt 40% ebm to 60% fm). when i first tried adding to her fm, she commented to my mum "有妈咪milk milk味道". haha i can't help laughing when i heard that.

my hubby was the one who say dun waste let him drink (cos sometimes as i pump, will tell him, gonna throw the milk away after i pump). he doesn't mind fresh ebm. but frozen one he scare scare cos of the metalic taste.

tute
i've been taking cold drinks leh. ice cream also eat. only thing i'm concern are those with caffeine and alcohol.

jeannie
i think moderate amt of coffee is fine and try to time it such that you drink after you've expressed your milk (think that was what my PD advised). if excessive, probably will be a wide awake baby loh. but since yours still sleep alot, then i think should be fine bah. must go read the link the kitsune posted to find out more.

kitsune
thanks for the link!

jeannie,
i read that nutrients in bm will be destroyed if temp >40 degrees. i scared i put in hot water all the nutrients destroyed. coz the hot water from my thermopot should be at least 70 - 80 degress bah. if the nutrients are destroyed, i may as well give FM right? but of coz i know many mummies are using ur method to heat up ebm.

btw, using ur method of changing water twice, how long does it take ur milk to warm up to be ready to be drank?

tute,
storing laying flat can fill up till the top of freezer. and when standing, the shape of bag become rounded, waste more space.

dor,
if you need urgently, why not get from shopbug.com?
if not, join those toysrus spree?
i still have about 80-90 bags. probably can let you have 40 bags to tong temporarily.

i tape the middle part, seems more secure. afraid it leaks.

stephie,
think the bottles really waste space. hence, i use bottle only for same day consumption.
ur gal very cute. can still remember mummy milk milk taste.

xiaoyun,
no lah. actually, i still got one more box. but supply running low buying to stock up. thanks.
noted, i will take the middle also.

Dor.. i also store them standing.. now not that messy yet.. hehe cause only got like 6 packs.Got to try harder. Wah u finish ur playtex already?? that means u have 140 milk stored??

Re: baby clothes

Hey pp.. just wanna share something, i went to toa Payoh on SUnday and bought 4 pieces of baby clothing at only $22. They are all branded but i think there are some problems which i cnat see.. they are being sold at a very cheap price. It at SOng and Song , near lib. Here are what i have gotten:

1362303.jpg

old navy dress:$6
1362304.jpg

osh kosh cardigan : $5
1362305.jpg

carters bodysuit: $6
1362306.jpg

carters hooded sweater:$5

i think very good bargains if u dun mind that theyr have cut/poke her hole tru the tag behind..nobody can see the tag anyway..:p

bx, no prob.

genice,
cos i stored m ebm according to per feed. 120ml the excess will go into another bag. so i used pretty fast. i finishing my 2nd box.
my fridge is those 2 doors type. the freezer is on the left. i have used up 2 of the upper deck. somemore stack on top of each other.

xiaoyun saw how messy my freezer is.

BX.. hope ur ger's fac smooth smooth..

I normally take less than 5 mins to warm up. sometimes 2-3 mins i think. I dun warm up till really hot. The 1st time put in hot water.. it will get cold quite quickly so i dun think the temp will go more than 40 degrees but the second time u have to agar agar.. dun put too long else can be quite hot for the baby.

Stephie.. yup i will check out the link. Ur ger really very cute and pretty!! Wil grow up to be a chio bu!!
ANd ur hubby.. wow.. like drink fresh milk izzit?:p dun think my hubby dare to drink like that, he tasted it before though.

bx, cos i also have lot of 30ml, 40ml, 50ml...
i also have 130ml or 140ml to give to him when his feeding hour stretch longer.

in the worst senrio, can mix them before putting into the warmer.cos i also have some aside for daily intake.

btw, bx n genice, i have linked yr blog.sorry for informing so late.

bx.. i use water from thermopot..

okie..dor.. i also go and link u! Thanks.. i will jia you one but on ave only store 1 pack 6 oz everyday.