(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

i hope he can zz on his own after playing himself but not crying before zz! cuz i read that some bb dozes off for nap after playing. but mine still wanna cry first before dozing off.

garfield: yea at night i lazy to pump so when i latch the breast is very hard one wor. i'm thinking maybe he is not hungry, but i cant intepret what he wants when he crys so just offer him my breast. and he sucks very fast, till merlion! headache man.yea i always latch him one side only wor.. there was one night he din eat at all(so called zz thru nite), but he kept moving after certain hours, and after i pat pat him he will zz again. that was when i put him on tummy. yesterday i put him on yaolan and when ke kept moving and after i rock him and failed, i picked him up and he started to fuss/cry. so i let him latch and ended up merlion. maybe he is not hungry at all and wanna suck. tonight myabe i will try giving him pacifier rather than my breast.

tongtong, i think ur bb jz wan to suck, not hungry. Datz y will merlion. There was once my boy merlion too (i think it's like one btl of milk). Luckily he was lying down, so only my sofa n floor kanna. I got scare after dat. Now dare not anyhow offer my breast to him if i know he had a full feed earlier n next fdg time is nt up yet.

stephie, yea how come my boy wanna suck in the middle of the night instead of guai guai zz.. aiks. this was the second time he merlion liao. really scared me, afraid he got reflux. dont think so right since he is ok with bottle. has ur bb zz thru night/ i'm thinkn not to let him drink at night and try to make him zz instead. dunno whether it's ok?

Pumping in office
May I ask, how many times do you all plan to pump in office? I am now dragging my pump time to 4.5hr. but i am very worried it may cause ss to drop. but i dont think i can pump so frequently in office... And how do you all intend to sterilise the pump? can share?

winnie, i plan to pump once at office only becuase i dont think i have time to pump except after lunch time. think i will sterilise the pump at home, bring to office and use once , that's it.

pump at office: will u all freeze the milk or put in the fridge instead?

winnie - medela has quick wipes, i think you can use those to "sterilise" the pump? i will probably use that when i go back to work.

garfield - your girl is so good to be on the schedule! i am so "jealous"
my son is on both EBM and FM (but more formula) and used to have 4hr intervals, now regressed to 3 or even 2.5 hr intervals! and always don't want to finish up the milk if he has to burp halfway, so sometimes can be only 60ml. it's making me quite frustrated, aiyoh!

re goat's rue - does it work better than fenugreek? i would really like more BM but seems like nothing works. and now already 2 months, thinking maybe i should just call it quits :p

tong,
i intend to pump twice - once during lunch at the nursery room at seiyu bugis (i work near there), the other time will try to find empty conference room. if dun have, then i will walk over to seiyu bugis again. will pump with a 4 hr interval.

i intend to rinse with boiled water and then wipe with the medela sterile wipes.

iso: i had low supply initially too. but after taking goat's rue and papaya soup. my ss has increased. has been on TBF and got excess to keep in fridge too. u might want to try goats rue.

wah garfield , good idea to pump at shopping centre!!! erm.. maybe i should bring my pump out of office too when i go lunch outside. cuz my office also very bf unfriendly! i cant be pumping every 4 hr cuz my work requires me to be deskbound

tongtong: ok thanks, think i will! TMC pharmacy right? my MIL made me papaya soup for breakfast lunch and dinner for a period of time until even my pee smell of papaya..obviously it didn't work for me, haha..

iso,
her schedule is rough rough only. not all the time. it fluctuates within +/- 1 hr, depending on the duration of her naps. actually, if you write down your bb's feeding times, you may find a pattern too!

i've been recording her feeding times dutifully since the day she was born until now. that's how i have the data to figure out her schedule.

tong,
ya your case inspire me. i used to be on TBF, but ever since bb's appetite improved and needs 110ml per feed, i only have enough for 80%, and need to supplement with FM 1x to 2x a day. so hoping my ss will increase like yours hee hee...or at least stabilize so that i can continue with 80/20 proportion.

are there any shopping centres near your work place? most have nursing rooms now.

tongtong, no leh my bb nt slpg thru nite yet. It's ok 4 bb to zz thru d nite. U r so lucky. 4 my gal, she oni zz thru d nite at 10mths plus. Hence i dun hv high hope dat my boy wil do so any time earlier.

winnie, i'll pump once in ofc. Dun wanna mk it a habit to pump more than once cos can b v 'fan2' when i'm v busy at work. Last time i even stretch the pump interval to more than 10hrs. If u hv established ur ss, shd b alrite. ss may drop a little tho with such long interval.

garfield - ya same here, i've been recording since day 1 in the hospital but i think it varies so much because sometimes he takes as little as 40ml, sometimes can take as much as 120ml. and also if we go out he might not take as much outside. maybe he shy to drink in front of other people, haha..

any 1 using pigeon steriliser??may i know where to purchase the acid to clean the metal piece at the bottom of the pigeon steriliser?
cos mine seems like going to rust,quite yellowish
thanks a zillion

goodbaby, i din use acid to clean. So far, use 2 portion water wif 1 portion vinegar to clean. Pour mixture into steriliser and switch on. Then sterlise 1 more round wif jz water b4 usg it to sterilize milk btls, etc.

Kelly, sure no problem. Will wait for you to cook again then. Thanks.

leg warmers, is it warmer than Babylegs? Anyway, will order 1 to try lar. Haha.

Hanna and Anderson

(A) Leg warmers
http://www.hannaandersson.com/style.asp?from=SC%7C73%7C8%7C83%7C278%7C2%7C%7C&simg=33757_990
USD 6

[white]
(1) xiaoyun (Size S)

[multi]
(1) xiaoyun (Size S)
(2) garfield9 (Size S)
(3) goodbbb (sizeS)
(4) kitsune (sizeS)

Goodbaby, my steriliser also same problem. So, can use vinegar.

Garfield, I also intend to pump twice at office at 4-4.5hr interval.

Sterilising pump
Actually when I go out for long periods, I'll just pour hot water to clean the pump parts then put into clean plastic bag (tie with rubber band) cos KK LC said if we are the only ones using the pump, rinse with hot water ok liao.

kelly, thanks for the food yest!!!

my hb loves the suit that yr boys r wearing. now bugging me to get!!!

bx, no liao...Gervaise not the biggest.. prob only heaviest??

kelly.. thanks for hosting us.. i still think its amazing u cn handle 3 kids!! And ur kids are so cute.. very high EQ..sociable kids..

Bx.. think my ger.. her thighs like me.. big haha.. she was actually more chubby last week so think a bit smaller now.

Andrea.. post ur bb ger pics leh.. really look like my baby??

Happy.. your ger eyes very nice.. big leh and she smiled so much yester.

Think the gathering was good leh.. get to see so many babies..

winnie.. i think ss can maintain one even if pump only once in office. Like today i pumped at 7 + morning then went out cam home pump at abt 4. The amt i can pump is a lot more than nomal.. i cna pump almost 300 ml in abt half hr.So i think even if long strtech.. its ok.... the milk will be inside u lor. I haven start on goats rue yet.. hope ss wil be more.. then can store more.

Dor.. i also started storing.. now got 5 packs of 6 oz in fridge.. so proud of myself.

Happymum.. i also want princessbowbow.. help me order k.. i will post my order here.

thanks alot for the note....

I am thinking of arriving at office before 8am, pump once, and pump once at lunch time... then pump once before going home... cos if baby is going infant care, i will come home quite late.... so thats why need to clear before coming home...

I hope by pumping at 8am, 12pm and if possible 5pm (if not, i will pump at 6pm official knock off time, since pick up baby is 7pm near office).

thanks, then i will get the medala sterile wipes.

happy
oops pardon my bad memory! i mistaken bx as you..shes the one that removed cradle cap on her bb for 1hr =P

jeannie
i asked my hubby whether our gal looks bb Gwen or not, he said dont look like =S haha
i will post a photo soon k ;)

I just received my order from babycenter, and it's too loose for me @ the
underbust area.

This is the Original Nursing Bra -Plus, in S.
On the product info, it says that S is good for 32-36, C-D. But I think it's
will be quite loose
for 32 (i'm a 32).

You can view the product at
http://store.babycenter.com/product/maternity/the+original+nursing+bra+-+plus.do?

Designed with care in Canada, Made with pride in Mexico.

Would like to sell at SGD$50.

jeannie,
re: princessbowbow
ok, post for u liao..

andrea,
no prob.. too many mummies here & too many posts, will get confused sometimes..

Hi, QooSsan you are back, how's your baby? Any photos?

Oh ya, have the nursing wraps arrived? I'm going back to work soon. Hope to get it.

hi ladies..

thanks to stephie and tute

Dor,
actually i hope my boi likes me to carry leh...making feel depressed at times why he dun wanna be carried. today we brought him to my SIL place and he fell asleep in her arms....!suddenly felt so sad i almost teared.think im gg mad.

hope im not suffereing from post natal depression 2 months after i have delivered...

qingling,
is medela mini the same as medela electric plus? Robinson has promotion on electric plus and i think its worth to buy..but how to get it handsfree like some mummies?

Gar, I'm running out of Pigeon breastpads, rationing the pieces liao. Can I get my hubby to pick up the 2 boxes from you early this week? Can you PM me your address? Thanks.

Piggletail, my gal also don't like me to carry. She prefers her Daddy. Somehow, the moment my hubby carry, she will tilt her head to rest on his shoulder and sleep. I comfort myself lor, either it's because my hubby has broader shoulders so more comfy for her to find position to sleep or we got milk smell so when we carry, she wants to drink milk instead of resting. Don't take it too hard ya?

kitsune
aiya, didnt know u use pigeon breastpads. i hv stocks of >900pieces (all loose) cos my friens bought them back 4 me fr bangkok. when u were at my hse on sat, u could hv gotten some fr me.

glad 2 hear tat u enjoyed urselves n e food. i dun mind organising another in may when our bbs r bigger. it'll b nice 2 c how much they've grown.
thks 4 ur compliments on my food & boys.

thankful
next time bring ur girl leh

happybee: for handsfree, i think medela always promote this one that you can zip up. but i use this device from www.mumsfairy.com - it looks strange in the photos but it really works!
btw i recently rented a medela electric plus (not sure whether mini or not) and find it quite loud. compared to it i prefer the ameda lactaline (my friend pass to me) since it's about the same size. just my 2 cents

piglettail.. i know what you mean.. i think kitsune is right that sometimes it's our milk smell.. sometimes when i carry my boy esp close to meal times.. he'll keep crying.. but when the daddy carries, he can be soothed.. think it's bec they smell our milk so crying to be fed (even when they may not be very hungry yet..)

re: pump
this morning i tried out my pis advanced...hmm, thought it's gonna cut down my pumping time to half, but think it still take the same amount of time as my avent manual somehow can generate more spurts when pumping
the yield after 20 min about the same but can yield more from my left one as compared to when i pump manually...maybe i'm not patient enough to wait till all the milk comes out... :p another thing, i dun feel any let down when i'm using pis, is it bcoz i'm too stressed keep looking at the time to see if it is faster using dual pump... sigh wondering if i should sell my pump now and just used manual...

mummies whose using pis advanced, what do you do if the bottle is full coz the medela bottle can only hold 175ml at most...do you replace the bottle asap ? or straightaway pour to container first ?

piggletail,
same here...last time my baby prefers my mom carrying him...coz last time i think he can feel that i'm a bit stiff when carrying him, but now due to practice it's gotten better...but of course he still prefers being carried using a sling...

another theory of mine is that he prefers to be carry by someone who is more "meaty"...coz he prefers ladies carrying him compared to man :p

any 1 noe if polyclinic got the jab for rotarix and pneumococcal??which mth should we take the pneumoccal and rotarix??have to take how many doses?

hi stephie and iso,

thanks so much for ur tip,so pour and switch on the steriliser will do?

goodbaby, polyclinic doesn't provide the jab for rotarix and pneumococcal. i think for pneomococcal - less than 6 mths old 4 doses, more than 7 old mths 3 doses, more than 1 yr old 2 doses, more than 2 yrs old 1 dose. for rotarix - before 6 mths old must take. 2 doeses.

iso: yea , tmc pharm sells goat's rue at 48.80. i bot one from there be4. if you have FBI card, u will be entitled to 10% discount.

garfield: my work place is at UEsquare but there is no nursing rooms leh although there are a few childcare centre there!

stephie : no leh, my boy only zz thru night once but he kept moving and i kept patting him. it was even worse then getting up 2 times to feed him! that's why i was very confused everynight cuz i dont know whether he is uncomfortable, hungry, itchy with his dry skin or what.. so now i resorted back to feeding him during midnight. stephie, does your bb cry then u feed him or you also track the hours?

eliaw: lansinoh recommends to store till 180ml only right. but i saw one mum at jan thread storing near to the brim which encouraged me to do so too. hopefully it's ok!

pacifier: now instead of letting my boy cry before zz, i introduced pacifier! and it worked. it's better than hearing his cry.he will zz after having the pacifier! hopefully i dont need to carry+rock or lethim cry till zz liao. finger crossed

hi bx,

u took 5 in 1 or 6 in 1?ur bb took rotarix and pneumococcal? for rotarix and pneumococcal,is it the older to take the better?? for rotarix and pneumococcal,is there a fixed mth to take,like hep b 2nd dose must take at 1st mth??

Kelly, aiyah, that day not much time to chit chat and ask about breast pads. You got so many loose ones, maybe can pick up some from you when my hubby is free? I don't have Garfield's contact no. and I'm already down to the last 8 pieces. :p

Iso, you can join the oversea sprees for luckyvitamin, kelly bought for us in bulk last time but you must wait for consolidation of order & shipment.

Tute, what a happy problem. ;) Can't answer your question cos I never had so much milk at one go even when I sleep through the whole night and wake up super engorged. :p