(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal,
my PD did tell me that from week 6 onwards, bb's pooing frequency will decrease. and it can be once in a few days and as long as once in ten days. told me not to be alarmed.

but i'm not sure how to differentiate when it's a decrease in poo frequency and when it's constipation....

my son was rather cranky last nite. dun wan to slp, keep crying, in the end put yaolan. thinkin he must be not feeling well, due to din shit or stomach wind

gar
for kate's case, it's a sudden stop in bowel movt...not grad decrease...i think most likely constipation

sorry wont be able to make it for the gathering cos hubby is only back on monday....

re routine
sad to say, my baby has no routine, thus i could not post a routine with timing like the rest of you... it really goes by her mood...

re crying
I feel veyr sad, cos recently, if we bottle her when she is wide awake, she sure struggle, and cry and choke on the milk..... never been able to finish abottle properly... only if we dream feed her then she can feed properly... i am really helpless, not sure if it is bottle problem, or teat problem, or breastmilk taste, or she just want o latch instead.... cos latching can stop her from crying.

going to pump soon...

winnie
mayb you can try to burp her in btw the feed? my boy also struggle a lot when we bottle feed him sometimes. then after we burp him, he's more settled.
is the milk temperature too hot/cold?
some babies would only want to latch on when they know that mummy is around. i got a friend, her baby only wanna take bottle when he knows that mummy is not at home.

bkkgal
last time, my gal didn't poo for 5 days, she's about 2 mth+ old that time. but she's on TBF, so, when she poo after 5 days, the stool was not hard, meaning she's not constipated.
your bb is TBF? if yes, i think not too be too worried.
else, you can massage clock wise to assist her bowel movement.

sunny, yes got burp her in between, everytime also struggle with the burping....

milk temp is warm....

eee how come they will know whether mother is in or not... sigh....

i notice that the number of times my girl pooh now also has decreased... thus i think it is normal

winnie,
my gal also struggle with burping. but recently, my mom and i will keep teling her, "girl girl, burp burp hor...must burp burp in between feeds then you will feel better". and keep repeating the words "burp burp". now, she struggles less and when we say the words "burp burp" she seems to understand / expect the burping position.

maybe you wanna try? i think babies can associate certain words/sounds with certain actions

garfield
i'm using this bouncer. hand me down from relative. think i saw something similar at kiddy palace. can be reclined to almos 180 degree (jus put bb higher up):

1348544.jpg

garfield, yeap i repeated the word to her liao.... so worried not sure why she is not taking well from bottle sigh.... PD ask me to change to latex teat instead, i thnk i will go and get and try.

Stephie, i am using same bouncer, but it pretty high, so quite dangerous, so my hubby tie the top down to the bottom bar to flatten it a bit....

garfield.. i also using the same as stephie and winnie.. i think it is cheap and good.. have been using it since day 1. She sleeps on it the whole day!! Because she cant turn/ flip so she will not fall over the side bars.. however when she struggles she will slip lower and sometimes may fall out lor.. but there is a trick.. u just have to adjust the bar below to support the rocker so even when she slips lower the rocker will not flip.

However take note that when my baby struggles.. her hands move a lot and sometimes she hit the sidebars..hehe.. but its ok one .. not that hard.

I dun rock her.. i justlet her sleep there esp after feed.. i think good because thereis an incline.. less likely to vomit milk and also it is cooling

berry
i wanna meet up wif u & ur kids. u can collect ur LV stuff fr me too. i'll share more when we meet up or over msn? dun 4get, i hv a helper now. i dun attempt much during edward's 1st 9mths. of course, tv was my babysitter initially when i didnt hv a helper n when i had 2 do some basic stuff (like toileting & cooking).

Cheryl, mine not gg.

1st Feb08 Mummies Gathering on 12April
Venue: Kelly's plc at Pasir Ris
Time: 2-5pm
Food: fried bee hoon, kong ba pao, chicken curry, cakes

1) kelly (of course lah)
2) dorothy
3) happymum2b
4) jeannie
5) cheryl
6)eliaw

kelly, oh yar hor, my LV stuff with you! (lol everytime u mention LV spree, I will think of THAT *LV* instead of lucky vitamin :p)
Even tho you have a maid, u have 3 kids wheras I have two, so it kinda evens out I guess. I think I am just too stuborn- even now I am v reluctant to let F watch TV regularly, so currently she only gets to watch her DVDs 4x a week, 30-45min max each time, up to an hour if I am desperate enough. :p Or maybe u are also more experienced at handling multiple kids than I am cause u had prior experience w edward. But yeah I'd love to hear from you when u free.

BTW, if I dont get to come to your place this weekend, can u mail the items to me soon?

Garfield, I find that the FP ones are fine, actually I put my bb in the FP swing since he is ard 2 weeks, quite okie leh.

bkkgal, I give them both probiotics v regularly, it helps some. Also, try cycling your bb's legs, supposed to help with constipation. And offer water regularly. Apart from that I have no other ideas, constipation is a regular problem with them over here. If you discover new ways, please share w me too.

dorothy
e educator has her reasons n she emailed 2 me liao. i'll send u e email too.

cheryl
i'll forward e email 2 u now.

berry
can. u PM me ur mailing add 1st? i dunno e shipping charges yet so i mail 2 u 1st then u pay me later.

kelly,
pls email me the bb massage & yoga.. thks..

garfield,
re: princessbowbow
i recently ordered from jomum (under spree #1).. cos she has 15% discount..

she started spree #2 but closed liao.. she is starting spree #3 soon..
u saw anything u like already ? u cant post in overseas spree right ? if u wan, u let mi know wat u wan to order & i can help u post.. cos i maybe getting more stuff for my gal too..

jeannie, my girl also, when she waves her hands and legs, she may sometime bang into the metal..... then sometimes she will purposely prop one leg outside the chair, then i bring it in, she willprop out again hehe

e trainer who does e baby massage + yoga reads tis thread too. she likes 2 share wif mummies whose bbs r facing constipation.

Massaging the babies' tummy clockwise MAY relief this problem. according 2 her, a few jan babies r enrolled in tis infant massage + yoga prog. for the session at my plc, she can spend more time on infant massage during the first lesson, then mummies can also massage the babies at home.

hihi..

kelly, let me know if u need me to bring anything over..

kitsune, my boi somehow sleeps when we bring him out.. maybe because we are carrying him.. so he sleep very well.. too bad he's sleeping, else we could have taken pic together.. :p

re: burp
garfield, i also repeat the words 'burp burp' when i burp bb.. i think he can understand already.. it's much easier to burp him now.. n the burp is very loud also..

so now i m also trying to associate other words with other actions, like singing the same lullaby to pat him to sleep.. when he's shitting, i stroke his stomach.. etc.. r any mummies doing likewise?

re: baby's routine
my bb oso has no routine unlike some of u. I feel so lousy about myself. planning to stop latching my bb at night. coz she always fall asleep at my breast then every night she will wake up at least 3 times to latch. i guess i will start bottle-feeding EBM throughout from today onwards. as for the cluster feding and dream feeding, shared wif my mil, but she seems reluctant to try it. since she will be the care-giver when i start work, i will respect her decision and the way to handle the bb.

can we eat prawns and curry when BF?

understand that broccoli, cauliflower snd onions have to be avoided as they may cause wind.

bx
i do take prawns..not sure about curry..
but i thought since BF mothers are taking fenugreek why cant we eat curry then? my fil is going to cook curry chicken for dinner. if i dont eat then i got no food...! and for those food you listed..i still eat them almost every other day =)

happy,
thanks so much for offering to post for me. ya, i cannot post in ovs thread. will look out for the jomum spree. if you see it, can highlight here? cos i very blur one...a bit cock eyed always miss seeing things =P

eliaw,
same same. my gal used to hate bathing. so we soothe her and keep telling her pong pong when we bathe. nowadays she is much calmer.

bx,
dun feel lousy about bb not having routine. not all bbs can conform to a routine. but your bb may have a routine if you observe. try to take down feeding / play / sleep times and see if there is a pattern. you may be surprised.

for me, i didn't implement EASY on my gal. she just happened to exhibit EASY routine, so it was easier for me to adapt and embrace.

jia you okie?

oh, ya re foods to take during BF, most advise avoiding too much spice and chilli.

Curry & Prawns
Just to share, sometime back i ate peanut soup & prawns on the same day, then after tat bb got lots of rashes on his head.. so not sure if it's the prawn or peanut.. can be either or.. but i try to take less seafood.. for curry, i also try to take less.. so far chilli no effect on bb..

brocolli & cauliflower
Should be ok to take.. no prob for me.. these 2 veg have higher nutrients!

garfield,
sure, i will post the link here if there is a new spree..

yes, my gal oso hate bathing and i did the same as u, keep telling her must pong pong else v stinko and i go slow & easy when bathing her.. And she also become much calmer now and dun cry as badly as before.. :p

hi gals, thanks for ur replies. i feel so bad. everytime my mil cook something, i will tell her i cannot eat. this afternoon she cooked prawn, i told her cannot. tonight she cooking curry, i told her i will eat abit. as for cauliflower and broccoli, she has stopped cooking after i told her i can't eat. but seems like it's ok.

garfield, thanks for the encouragement. i will start taking down the timings today.

eliaw, i heard both peanut and prawn are allergy-causing agents.

i guess it all depends on our babies whether they are suitable or not.

avoid broccoli when BF-ing? damn it. it was like almost theo nly veggie i ate throughout my confinement periodman.... cuz of dunno what 'pantang' thing lah...my mum only let me eat broccoli! no wonder my baby so much wind!

this saturday i wish i can join...but..
1. got family lunch - dunno what time finish.
2. pasir ris abit far for me - i live in depot road.
3. my hubby surely not interested and i haven't tried driving with baby alone...

looks like hard to come out...

re: bathing
my gal hates it when i tries to wash her tongue. she will start crying until i finish bathing her. then she gets tired and fall asleep wif her eyes full of tears. so sim tia. now she got a very thick coat of whitish layer on her tongue. cannot get rid. i am worried that it is this white layer that is causing her poor appetite. happy, ur gal let u clean ah?

erm...regarding food....i subscribe to the "eat in moderation" principle.

BUT..i don't eat Chicken, Duck, IN FRONT OF my mum. on my own, i anything also eat. But nowadays she's also abit lax already. initially want me to abstain from seafood...but now....different story.

did u know that seafood is the only food source (other than vitamins) that has DHA?

(Lucky my mum doesn't surf internet/use computer!)

bx, both my kids has never been on a routine casue its too stressful for me lol. Plus they arent the sort of bbs who are easy to put on a routine so I find it easier to go with their flow. Diff bbs are different, and diff mummies have diff parenting style, not having a routine doesnt mean that you are not doing a good job. I like the freedom of not having a routine.

bx,
yes, sometimes my gal oso cried when i cleaned her tongue.. but as days passed, she seems to hv get used to it and dun cry anymore..
maybe u can try to use a thinner material handkerchief and dun go so deep in.. then when she start to get used to it, then u try to clean the inner part of the tongue.. oso can try to wait for bb to yawn or when she opened her mouth big then u clean..

re: princessbowbow
I want also!!!
happy, you got urs already? is it really no slip?

re: bath
my gal also got whitish layer on tongue although i clean with cotton wool (facial one) before bathing. how to get rid of it?