(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Another thing, contrary to what we always think - that too much sleep in the day will interfere with night, actually nap times help bb to sleep better at night. Nap times shud not exceed 6 hrs in the day.

My bb since birth has not taken good naps in the day. Everytime she will do catnaps of 15-30 mins maximum. Rest of the time she is WIDE AWAKE, eyes big big and always need me to carry her everywhere. But i notice last 2 days she managed to clock on average abt 2-2.5 hrs of nap time and still be able to sleep at night.

Hope that I can train her into a routine so that it's easier for my mom to take care when i go back to work.

bx - me eats lots of fish..but still...i try to latch on bb once a day, i see that milk flow is better by a little..i suppose i have blocked ducts..sigh..

bkkgal
i tried that E.A.S.Y method you mentioned before. but doesn't work for my boy.

i notice that my boy doesn't like to stay in his room during daytime, mayb it's warm. we put him in the bouncer in the living room, he can sleep better and less cry. if elder one is not around, he can sleep for 2 hrs. :D

agree with you that sufficient nap time help bb to sleep better. my boy can sleep for about 6 hrs + at one go at night these 2 days. but after the 6 hrs+ sleep, he would sleep for 3hr+ and wakes up for feed. so happy about that.

bx
i can get about 200ml for 3hr+ gap. i just make sure that i drink at least 2 glasses of water in between the feed.
i am a vegetarian, i don't take fish.

alternate day, i will boil green papaya soup. my CL reminded be to drink more soup (regardless of what soup) so that the ss would increase.
i heard that digestive biscuit and enmum milk can increase supply. so, i took that as well.

wow sunny, u r another one with good supply. green papaya means raw papaya? Is it big or small one?

ok, i will stock up digestive biscuits today. it's yummy! but will give enmum a miss coz i cannot stand the taste of powdered milk.

hi garfield,

how much is the BJORN CARRIER?any price difference between the different models?
but i won't be able to go down and meet you ladies at mothercare,cos i m the only 1 looking after bb,can only surf net and go toilet when she is asleep...

re milk ss:
I tink need to take alot of water... but end up i look like a barrel, that is what my mum says... and must take a lot of fish, snow fish and treadfin... i still take fenugreek...

Other than that, still take some soup... but of course when CL leaves, I tink hard to maintain liao...

well still early days for me lah. wat does seem to b working is the fact tt she is able to go to sleep without lying on my chest.

Baby carrier,

I think another good brand is ergo. I read it can carry up till a heavier weight and the weight distribution is good, meaning no aches. I just bought a second hand one. Not yet try cos need to buy infant insert..

wah dor.. u very hardworking.. pump so many timeas a day.. i very sian to pump.

BX.. i pump every 4 hrly sometimes longer thats why more milk. I dun really take fish now after CL left.. taking fenugreek only if i remember.. but usually will try to take at least 2 tablets a day. Buti notice i get very thirsty everyday and my urine is kind of yellowish now so i think u really need a lot of water intake to produce the milk. Must drink more water. I trying to be more hardworking w regards to taking the pills.. hope that i can produce more to store.. cause i intend to stop breastfeeding after june holis.

Re: weight loss
Xiaoyun.. u very good leh.. left only 1 kg..which is not noticeable lah..hehe.. i still stucked w 7 kg.SIgh.. Doing HH chores, bf, taking care o baby does not help leh.I only got 6 more weeks before retuen to work..hope can lose by then.

hello mommies, havent log on for nearly 5 days.. so much to catch up on.

re: betty lee & baby napping.

that lady really miracle. when she came to my place, i just 'sack' the previous nanny cos she cannot get my bb to sleep just keep carry & rock her. then betty carried bb against her chest, (bb was still kicking and squirming), then within few min, bb quieten down liao. almost nod off, then betty put her on her front & she slept! sometimes she will wake a bit, then betty just patpat her back. so far i did try to follow her method, but success rate only 10-20%.

heard some babies already falling alseep on their own? so envious!!! share tips ok... i think my hubby impatient with the 'rock to sleep' method, he wanna just let her cry it out. i dun dare...

re: sling

This is a stupid qn.. but my breasts is so big now.. that if i take measurement of the sliang.. should i take across my breast or should i take across the middle part between my breasts.. the differnce is an M and L leh. How har?

jeannie,
re:measurement
ask yr hb to take for u.
i take from my back not front.

re:pump
actually, i also very sian. but bo bian

Pouch BP:
1)kitsune (single layer w padding)
2)tute (single layer w padding/M/reg post/[email protected])
3)yanyen (single layer w padding)
4)jeannie (single layer w padding/M/raffles city on sat/[email protected])
5)stephie (single layer w/o padding/S/raffles city on sat/[email protected])
6)vinegal (single layer w padding)
7)garfield9 (single layer w/o padding)
8)tongtong (single layer w padding)

starry,
i dun mind...did you purchase the super shield as well ? pm me the details can i.e. price + how to collect from you ? thanks

jeannie,
i also measured from the front...and i do it across my breast.. coz that's the usual way to measure for sling pouch i think...

lol...vine, i correct for you

Pouch BP:
1)kitsune (single layer w padding)
6)vinegal (single layer w padding/M/Normal Post/[email protected])

re: pouch sling
ladies...wah, the organiser suddenly say gonna close BP once MOQ 10 reach (so far got 9 orders)...i'll email the organiser directly to post our orders and see if can meet all our request. those who haven't given me sizing, collection method and email can you pls do so asap ? Thanks !

May

Yea plus sleepy and miss bb and engorgement cos today remember to bring pump but forget to bring the handle and battery pack in the end have to use hand to squeeze out! stupid me right! haha

<font color="ff0000">Tute, here's my order. Thanks. Pant Pant, hope we make it. :p</font>

Pouch BP:
1)kitsune (single layer w padding/M/normal post/[email protected])
6)vinegal (single layer w padding/M/Normal Post/[email protected])

re: pouch sling,

good news...since i've emailed her before letting her know about the bulk order, the organiser will take in all our orders...

Oh, and she mention she has single order for red so if any of you would like to order red color can get the cheaper price as well

gar/yanyen/kitsune/tong,
let me know your size/email/collection method ok ? thks !

lezy, haha I will tell my hb tonight that he got 'spotted'!

bkkgal, hey I totally agree with wat you say about giving them the chance to do it and they will be able to. Your hb is so sweet and doting to you.

1)Berry (Synergy/Black)
2)Garfield (Synergy / Black)
3)Winnie
4)Tute
5)Vine gal

re: pouch sling

anyone wants dusty pink? coz only even number of orders can get discount of $5. right now me, andrea and bbkgal is odd number order.

Berry and bkkgal: My hb is slightly opposite, He keep mentioning that he is still having post natal depression, he is abit slow in reacting ever since bb come out. He can be abit negative sometimes when handling the bb but I find he is doing fine leh.

Bjorn Carrier

1)Berry (Synergy/Black)
2)Garfield (Synergy / Black)
3)Winnie
4)Tute
5)Vine gal(Synergy / Black)

bx
ya, the raw one, big or small one also can. can get from malay store in the market. you can portion it and boil it few times. each time, i don't put the whole papaya. i also can't stand the milk powder taste. but i mix with milo, so, still taste ok. hehe...

dor
i just put some mocked meat and boil it. sometimes, i would put the ingredients that the CL used to boil the red date tea i.e. longan, red date, dang shen, gou qi zhi and bei qi.

oscar
i am the one who let the bb cry and learn to sleep by his own. tried few days, and he can sleep by his own better and better. but different methods suitable for different bb. so, if you don't dare to let bb cry to sleep, garfield's method on E.A.S.Y is very good actually.

bx
my diet is the usual chicken, fish, vege, etc. didn't take any supplement etc. sometimes drink a small cup of milo once a day. from my experience, need to hv sufficient rest in order for ss to be more. there was one period when i had insufficient sleep continuously over a few days and my ss dropped. didn't know the reason then and thot i missed out on certain food. in the end when i caught up with my rest, my ss returned. the other time when my ss dropped was after i recovered from my fever when i had plugged ducts.

sunny/bkkgal
will try both your methods to see which one works for my boy. but i can only try the cry it out method when my girl is not around. else she will be woken up if my boy cries loudly for a long time.

bx
me too also very worried of getting the wrong size. keep measuring and measuring. not sure if i should change to M or not since so many of you taking M.

stephie, maybe i din rest enuf. whole day take care of bb + housework. at night need to feed bb. i wonder if i have plugged ducts. how do we check?

if u r petite, then S should be alright. how tall r u? i decided to take M because i think still can alter if it's too big.

bx/andrea
i am considering whether to switch to bluegrey or print since my order is the odd one out. dun worri i'll let org know to consolidate ur orders

tute,
i think i'll drop out of the pouch BP cos my friend is getting the pupsik studio pouch sling for me. pls proceed without me. thanks.

bkkgal

I put my son on the EASY routine. Quite good I must say. He nows take afternoon naps regularly and without much need to carry or rocking. I just follow his cues, put him to his cot and swaddle him. He will then fall asleep on his own. But I do believe that whether the routine works or not also depends on the baby's character as well.

I also did tried the shush-pat method when my son goes cranky. But no use. So I will give him pacificer instead, which does work. =P Once he is asleep, the pacificer will either drops off on its own or I will remove it.

Anyway, I must agree that the EASY routine is indeed good as it takes a lot of guessing work out of the game. I will be going back to work next week. I am now doing 'passdown' to my mum. There are moments when my son will be cranky or the routine goes a bit hay-wire. But generally, he can follow the routine pretty ok. I can now be assured that my mum doesn't have to struggle with my son when she looks after him.

Jia you with the EASY routine ok. =)

AhCapp
Yeah, I modified the shushpat as it didn't really work with my bb. i will swaddle her, put on sidestomach and jiggle her until she's calm and sleepy. then i'll put her in the cot and let her fall asleep.

how do you 'passdown'? do you write out the routine for your mom? wat is your routine for your 3mth old now?

bkkgal

hehehe..actually, not much passdown lah. Just told my mum that every 3 to 3.5hr, my son needs a feed. N it'll always be wake up, eat, play and sleep. Don't carry or rock him to sleep. Just look for his cues (sleepy eyes, rubbing the eyes, yawn), put him to his cot, swaddle and let him fall asleep by himself. Something like this lor. Nothing really fancy lah. =P

My son's routine is currently like this:

7am feed
8:30am bath
9am+ to 10am+ sleep
follows by feeding at the following timing:
11am, 2pm, 5pm.
In between will be the play and sleep routine.

For evening, it will be a bubble bath by 7pm after the feeding at 5am. After bubble bath, I will put him to his cot to let him look at his 'friends' from his musical mobile while I heat up a small feed for him. After feeding, it will be swaddle and let him sleep. He will fall asleep latest by 8pm.

I will then give him a dream feed by 11pm. At night, he will wake up for a feeding at about 3:30am to 4am. Been trying tracy hogg's method to get rid of the night feed, but still cannot leh. =(

Oh 1 last thing to add....

For the evening routine, I am still trying to fine-tune it. My son is pretty cranky in the evening so that's the only time which I have to carry him to calm him down. But once he he stops crying, i will put him down to his cot. He cries, i then carry again. =P

How's your routine so far?

ah capp.. ur routine very good. my ger still canot no routine..i have to alternate her from bedroom to living room sleep everyn nitght depending.. i very stress when it comes to nightime..she takes a long time to sleep..

dor.. okie. i measure from the back 23 inch.. ut when i measure froom front can be 24 or 25.. depending across breasts or not.

Tute.. i think agar agar lah.

BX.. i also dunno i think at 6 weeks leh.. including this week.. i going back on either 12 or 13 May i think.. will take NPL after june holis..U taking??

jeannie

4 weeks ago, when my mum left for an overseas trip, I was damn stress as my son has no routine. I was looking after my son 24/7 all alone. I was crying in front of my friend and her mum! *LOL* But after reading the book, I sort of slowly slowly find out that my son is developing a routine of his own. I myself also try to get him into the routine and follow tracy hogg's method too.

Have u read the book? If can, try to borrow the book from the library and read. Maybe not all the stuff work for us, but I am sure we can learn a few tricks from the author.

btw, your darling taking a long time to sleep.. is it because she doesn't take proper naps in the day time? That was what written in the book though.

ahcapp
i am also trying to set the routine for my boy, he's now 6 wk old. these few days, i finally can roughly figure out his routine, but trying adjust it to suit my timing after i return to work.
hopefully he can sleep through before i go back to work, like my elder one. *cross finger*