(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

vine, paisay. my msn got prob.

re:sling
how tall is julian? gervaise is 60cm.
also once they r abt 3mths or so. can sit in the pouch.

re:pump
did u pump in office today?

bx
1)i will pack the milk according to session. one bag one pump
2)i freeze mine after pump, unless i am using them so. think at most 24hours in the chiller
3)if i pump 300ml, n my boi only takes 130ml, i will pack my milk into 2 pack -130ml n 70ml

some question to ask-
1)do we need to seek boss's approval to pump during office hours?
2)how to clean the pump?

bx,

1) can i combine the milk pumped from a few sessions, pour into a milkbag and transfer to the freezer? <font color="0000ff">yes. but you need to chill the milk from the most recent pump first before adding to the rest of the milk in the fridge. then transfer to fridge</font>

2) within how long can i keep the milk in the fridge then transfer to the freezer? or must i freeze fresh EBM immediately? <font color="0000ff">up to 48 hrs</font>

3) let's say i have 300ml frozen EBM in one milkbag. I only need 120ml. I thaw the entire bag, pour out the qty i need, the remainder can keep in the fridge how long? <font color="0000ff">if you thaw in the fridge, can store up to 24 hrs</font>

thank you dor and garfield!

dor, u used up alot of milkbags hor? btw, u say u will pack into 2 bags - 130ml and 170ml. but ur boi only drinks 130ml, the balance 40ml from the 2nd bag what u do to it?

sorry for asking so many questions. really clueless about all these storing procedures. and also want to find out how mummies store your milk.

bx, np.
ya. i used a lot of milkbags.
currently,using playtex ones.
bought the ziplock type, saving them for office use.

bx,
sorry. if i pump 300ml(not there yet), i will pack into 3 pack.130ml, 130ml, n 40ml.
so as i move along, i will have many pack of 40ml, then i will heat 3pack for a feed.
sometimes, after 130ml, still not enough, i will heat a 40ml for him.

dor, thanks!

re: pouch sling
seems like the order is quite a lot.
if i not wrong, the organiser provide free normal postage, why don't you all pair up according to where you stay so for easier collection?

dor,
u getting sling from BP or the link that you posted?
can I join your order with watever color you choose? single layer (padded)

re: ebm
i store them to the max that the bag can hold.
when need it, put into a cup to thaw it (so that it can stand on its own).
pour the amount needed for 1 feed, remaining keep in bag. consume the whole bag within 24 hrs.

Andrea..I rebonded my hair last week..can't stand messy hair any loner. Somemore going back to work next week..need an image update.

re: huggies
the cutting is small. material is stiff. absorption is good enough for night use.
now getting 2--4 barcodes can exchange for free toys

Hi all, I m due end of this month. The original CL i've booked just called to tell me she is going for operation 2 weeks later so now i need to find a new CL. Pls pm me at 9742 8258 if you know of any good CL ok. Thanks for yr help!

Re: Sling

1)kitsune
2)tute (single layer w padding)
3)yanyen (single layer w padding)
4)jeannie (single layer w padding)
5)stephie (single layer w/o padding)
5)bkkgal (single layer w/o padding)
6)vinegal (single layer w padding)
7)bx (single layer w padding)
8)garfield9 (single layer w/o padding)
9) andrea (single layer w padding)
10)tongtong (single layer w padding)

bb zz at night: does your bb ngek ngek at night while zz?? moving his hands and head and ngek ngek ( but not cry) with the eyes close? do you feed him or let him be? i dont know whether he is hungry when he does that..

winnie: i still dont understnad why your PD ask u to avoid since your bb doesnt have any problem with ur milk?

vinegal: ur boy has started to zz thru night liao or not? since you started work liao. do you still need to feed him during midnight?

sunny: my boy's head slightly tilted cuz he always sleep at one side. so now one side of the head like become flat liao, and the face and eye one side bigger than the otherside(told by physician but i couldnt see wor) actually i never notice this porblm until pointed out by PD when i brought my boy to get his eczema cream. sigh.. my boy so many problems *sob sob*

zz on his own: my boy can zz on his own liao. but he seldom nap during daytime. will doze off himself during evening time. and will be sleepy head till the night. but then he will ngek ngek at night time, i also dunno whether to feed him or whether he is uncomfortable...but today he zz so much during the day. dunno whetehr it was becuase after the therapy he was tired.. erm. hopefully he can have a good zz tonight.

dor: the sling is unadjustable, so how do we know whether we can sling our bb in the pouch>?? how do we know which size should be buy leh?would it be too big or too small?

tongtong: my boi still need to feed him twice or once at nite. He will sleep for longer stretch of time if he did not sleep in the daytime. Yr bb is good he can sleep on his own, my bb still have to pat him to sleep leh.

For bb ngek ngek maybe a few possibilities (stretching himself, having nitemare, feeling hot (cos sleeping in cot for a few hr their back sure will get hot so have to change bb position). If bb hungry he will make alot of noise esp moving his mouth that is the cue he is hungry looking for food but normally i will wait for him to cry den feed him. haha

For yr boy head u can get those u shape pillow to put over his head. So that his head wont tilted one side and is good for the neck.

happymum
if my boy also cry till nearly vomit or no voice, i won't want to try this method, too. so far, still bearable for me lah.
you are lucky! you gal will zzz after you trf to bed. my boy won't loh.

tongtong
i will see if he's rooting for things to suckle. if yes, then i will feed. else, i won't loh.
that day my gal's eyebrow was burnt by the joss stick when she's trying to kpo to do the bai bai with ah-gong. it's 1 inch from the eye. when i saw it, i felt so sim tia. but i told myself that i should be grateful that the joss stick did not poke into her eye which might cause her blind. so, think +vely. there are other mummies facing more 'problems' than us.

dor
i have the same qn as tong relating to the sling. and if it's non adjustable, how to use till toddlerhood?

bx,

1) can i combine the milk pumped from a few sessions, pour into a milkbag and transfer to the freezer? NOrmally, I dont combine, one session into one bag... but now cos baby is taking alomost 150, i cannot freeze....

2) within how long can i keep the milk in the fridge then transfer to the freezer? or must i freeze fresh EBM immediately?
For me, if i want to freeze it, i will freeze right after pump... those put in normal fridge one, even if not consumed within 48 hours, i wont freeze liao, must throw...

3) let's say i have 300ml frozen EBM in one milkbag. I only need 120ml. I thaw the entire bag, pour out the qty i need, the remainder can keep in the fridge how long?
I think can only keep for 24 hours.

i thought once ebm is thawed can only keep the remainder in fridge for 12 hours ? if can keep for 24 hours then v good

re: pouch,
i ask the organiser re ordering together if need to collect together and this is what she said :

"U can opt for different collection no problem. Actually u can jus post ur orders seperate I will consolidate on my side for the special BP price."

so i think that moq 2 is from various orders, u dun nec have to pair up with someone...if you see somebody ordering one color and u order the same color then will entitle the disc. but do confirm with her again.

so ladies, do you want to post individually or
i can consolidate the order to make things easier though since we are all ordering the same color? if want me to post your order to the bp then would need your size, collection method and email addr.

garfield actually it depends on yr bb intake of milk. Cos individual bb intake is different cos some drink more some drink less. Why LC say not to feed 100ml before 8 wks?

vine, cheryl,
tht's what i think too, but LC says better to feed smaller qty but more frequent than large feeds and less frequent. seems to coincide with my PD's view too.

Dorothy,
I really wanna meet you mummies this wed, but I'm in the west this week cos my mother-in-law is down with a flu. She do not want Baby Channet to Kana the flu virus from her. Your mummies enjoy Ikea gathering dun forget to post your gathering photo.

Garfield,
No leh, first time heard of it before. But my baby sometime taking 120ml per feed. What are the setback?

May I know how frequent all of you visit a PD and where do you take your baby weight? Do you have a baby weighing machine at home?

toot,
I dun think baby will spit out if we feed more. Wat I did when I feed my baby 120ml milk is to burp her in between feeding and continous to feed her the rest after burping. In this case, she have less chances to spit out.

dor.. ask u har.. ur bb's legs put inside pouch is it?? like lying down or outside pouch.. cause the width like very small leh

BJORN- hey mothercare called me back. They said that for 5-6 pieces onwards, they can give a 15% discount. For orders exceeding $2000, they will give a 20% disc. Thats about 18-22 pieces of Bjorn depending on what model (prices vary for diff models). Do you think we will be able to hit that much? 20% is alot of savings.

garfield, if I wanna buy my Bjorn using your 15% discount, how do I do that?

garfield
yesterday i tried to gv 110ml to my boy, today 125ml. he can finish whatever we gv leh. so scary. but tomorrow i would cut down the amount to 100ml in case he overfed. i am using the formula (150ml*weight)/# of feed of the day to calculate the milk intake.

vine
thanks for the link. so tempted to buy the pouch sling....
will ask hb if he's willing to sew one for me or not. haha... 'cos i don't know how to use sewing machine, but he knows. keke..

berry,
oops...paiseh, realized that my discount coupon for mothercare expired on 30Mar!!! *sob sob* but i still have 10% discount as mothercare VIP. if you want, i can buy and pass to you. or maybe we can get 5-6 pieces to qualify for 15%. we already have 2 pieces.

sunny,
ya, i used the calculator and also am keeping to 100ml per feed.

yr hb so capable and nice ah!!! i'm impressed =)

garfield, LOL! Nvm, I appreciate your thoughtfulness and willingness to share.
Actually I also have the MC vip card, can get 10% disc. Lets try to get 5-6 pieces to get the 15% disc at least, shdnt be hard. :D

BJORN CARRIER- who is keen?
(those who are keen, can meet at centrepoint mothercare sometime this week on a morning (ard 10.30?)? Its the only time I can make it cause thats when my DD is in school.)

1)Berry (I'll prob get the synergy, which is the active model in the AIR material thats more breathable than the usual padding)
2)Garfield

vinegal.. saw the videos.. very useful.... but still dunno how to put baby in..

dor..u put baby in e mtd same as e videos?i thot quite difficult to slide baby in. baby quite heavy..

Mummies, as i'll be giving up on BF-ing. I'll be selling the following:

1) Medela Mini Electric Plus Breastpump (dual)
Slightly used for less than 2 weeks. Purchased at $305. Willing to let go at $220(neg).
With box, manual and warranty unfilled.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/medela-mini-electric-plus-breastpump.html

2)"Pigeon - Fridge-to-go" Breastmilk cooler
Brand New, Unused.
Purchased at $59.90. Willing to let go at $50.00.
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/news.html

3)"Pigeon - Breastmilk storage bottles" (3 piece pack)
Brand New, Unused
Purchased at $15.20. Willing to let go at $12.00

4) PIGEON Disposable Breast Pads
unopened
Willing to let go at $6.00

Interested, pls pm or email me at [email protected]

Thanks !

tute
yeah it was me. the handsfree aid is from mumsfairy.com. it works with any dual pump. garfield and kitsune also using it.

BP sling
did the organiser say when we can get the sling?
any advantage for consolidating order? can get faster?

Re: sling

have decided to get the dusty pink instead of the blue grey. so i am taking my name out from the list.

1)kitsune
5)bkkgal (single layer w/o padding)
7)garfield9 (single layer w/o padding)
8) andrea (single layer w padding)
9)tongtong (single layer w padding)

anyone wants to join me? if not, i'll order from the lady directly tmr.

hey bx, i was also eyeing the dusty pink :p The nursing wrap I ordered with qoosan is also pink. I thot it's a nice match. I'll join you but I want single w/o padding. I'm taking my name out of list too.

Here's the updated list:
1)kitsune

dor11.. saw ur blog.. wow u got quite a bit of ebm leh.. How u mange to store so much?? u latch on or pump to feed ur boy?? How many times u pump?? got so much extra to keep??

I pump every 4-5 hrs.. can only pump abt 200 ml.. enuff for her 2 feeds every 2 hrly.. SO no extra to store leh..sigh

Hihi, was busy today no time to check forum, wa, so many mummies interested in the pouch sling. Here's the updated list with my order:

1)kitsune (single layer w padding)

Tute, what's the decision? Are we all ordering together for blue grey or separately?

feed quantity:
i just met LC betty lee today. she didn't mmention about feed quantity but just assure me that if baby actively suckling n swallowing for min 15min per breast, bb will be getting enuf.

she did mention that bb tummy capacity not that big...
aso frequernt feed is good for supply

bb carrier:
wow....babybjorn is expensive but very nice.i currently using inglesina - it's like babybjorn type of carrier n my girl falls asleep in it everytime we put her in n go shopping. i'm tempted to get baby bjorn cuz padding looks more comfy...but scared it's hot????? any idea???

capable hubby???
i saw this man at vivocity this evening carrying a baby in the sarong sling and had a cute (baby) bag slung across his back. i thought he carrying baby to meet wife. then after awhile i went to collect car, he was walking to his car still with baby and a few plastic bags...alone! he walked to car, [put downn things and take out baby from sling and put in infant seat. the baby maybe 3-4 months or so.

i was so impressed.
feed quantity:
i just met LC betty lee today. she didn't mmention about feed quantity but just assure me that if baby actively suckling n swallowing for min 15min per breast, bb will be getting enuf.

she did mention that bb tummy capacity not that big...
aso frequernt feed is good for supply

bb carrier:
wow....babybjorn is expensive but very nice.i currently using inglesina - it's like babybjorn type of carrier n my girl falls asleep in it everytime we put her in n go shopping.

capable hubby???
i saw this man at vivocity this evening carrying a baby in the sarong sling and had a cute (baby) bag slung across his back. i thought he carrying baby to meet wife. then after awhile i went to collect car, he was walking to his car still with baby and a few plastic bags...alone! he walked to car, [put downn things and take out baby from sling and put in infant seat. the baby maybe 3-4 months or so.

i was so impressed.