(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi pp.. thanks for the concern.. luckily baby is ok.. never vomit..Actually i very scared when see my hubby carrying her and fall asleep. frankly speaking.. i think guys are reallny not that sensitive towards noise.. They can be in deep sleep and totally forgot abt the baby..but cant blame him caus ehe got to work in the daytime too so when baby fell.. i was very upset.. kept thinking abt it even till now.. but at that moment.. also din "scold" my huby lah.. cause i noe nobody wants this to happen.

June.. ur baby ok?? Sunny..slipped from bed?? I also very scared noe.. so whenever put her in cot will close it now.. cause i always open it when i sleep so that i can see her and touch her easily.

Re: MIL possessive
Yanyan.. actually soemtimes i feel the same way as u.. now my PILS come over during the afternoon to help me so that i can pump milk and rest. I really appreciate their help cause otherwise.. i think i will have no rest at all.But at times when we bring them out everyone will want to carry the bay and feed the baby..then when my sil comes over . Together they are like happy family playing with my baby.. then i feel like outsider lor. Somemore my SIL loves to disturb my baby when she is sleeping... keep asking her to wake up and play. Actually i am quite irritated lah.. but how to say her in front of her parents. That day we went giant shop and baby was feeding... we parked the car already.. bb was still feeding.. and i told my MIL that she can pass the baby to me.. they all go down first but she told me to go shop since i wanna get things.. she can feed the baby for me. Actually i was quite "angry".... i am the mother leh..why i must go down??ANyway.. i was quite insistent so i carried the baby and contnued feeding.

Re: jabs
Aiyoh.. seems like pd and poly not much diff... but i dunno how to go abt look for pd.. some pd are really ex.. like dr keoy's clinic..1 6 in 1 jab is abt $130 plus consultation $50= $180 each time thats wht deters me from going pd.

Kitsune.. i used to stay in tampines also.. where is ur pd ??

xiaoyun.. why urs got 5 in 1 and 6 in 1?? why not all 6 in 1??

Jeannie, my PD is the one at the Tampines Round market near the Maybank. There are good and bad reviews about her lar but so far the clinic's opening hours are most flexible, cos open on Mon, Wed, Fri night, Sat afternoon and some Sundays too plus her vaccination jabs are cheaper so I'm sticking to her for now.

Also, BB need to have 5-in-1 cos not everytime need to take Hep B booster. 6-in-1 is 5-in-1 plus Hep B.

kitsune,
ur pd is cheap. seems cheaper than poly. cos poly one no doc consultation already the similar price.

jeannie,
kitsune alrready answered ur question

kitsune.. i also guess u go there.. cause i used to stay there and saw many pp go there too. But now i stay so far. cannot go there.

yup.. xiaoyun.. thanks!!

Re: fat!!
Hey.. mummies.. what are u all wearing to go out now.. i am so fat and busty that i cannot fit into my pre maternity clothes.. i got not much clothes to wear..And i really dun wanna wear maternity clothes to go out which i have dine a few times..

So sad,.. wnated to go this fashion and just get some cheap dresses that can cover myself now but i realise i cant fit into so many because my bust is so big now..i have never felt this way before.. imagaine.. not being able to fit in.. dun even talk abt lokking gd in them. I really feel quite depress.. starting on my diet plan now... cannot accept how i look now.. So upset!! But pp keep telling me if start dieting.. no nutrients in ur breast milk.. thats why i am thinking of what food to eat so as to maintain the nutrients level.

Anyone started to exercise to lose all those excess.. when can we start running.. will it affect our womb??

I need to lose weight fast else.. cant even fit into working clothes.. i think my students will alught at me lor.. so fat!!

i just brought my boi for his jab(6 in 1) at gp.
paid $110 for the first jab.
missed his assessment as he is 7weeks old. so got to wait til he is 3 mths old.
he weighs 6.5kg!

jeannie,
u natural birth right>? can start exercising...
can fit into pre maternity clothes but tight

cos i c-section so cant do exercise except house work...

Any mums still remember the website for blue egg milkbags?

Btw, my baby did not poo for 2 days but keeps farting.. must i bring her to see pd?

jeannie
you are not alone =P my weight seems to be stagnant 2weeks after delivery until now!!! i need to lose another 4 to 5kg before i go back into my pregnancy weight. my old jeans cant fit! tees all cant fit too =\ yesterday i went to buy a tee i upgraded 2 sizes from xs to m size =(

i think its better to have long walks instead of running/jogging just to play safe. though i "ai-swee" at the same time i also "kia-si" so i stick to walking first!

diet wise, i am eating as per normal but not sure why my weight refuse to go down, sigh... maybe not moving around much lor =)

re: stretching feeding time,
xiao yun, i read that you shouldn't feed immediately when bb cries...try to console bb and carry around, if still cry well at least you've stretch the feeding period a bit. for me nowadays i try to follow that coz i realise sometimes he just wants to suckle...so i'll use a sling to carry him, coz my baby really feel comfortable in it and he won't complain when he's being carried in sling until he's very hungry...

but actually, my baby also feeds once every 2 hour (at most) during the day esp when i'm latching on, sometimes he'll feed hourly when he's "snacking". only at night then he'll survive for quite long without feeding.

jeannie,
my massage lady ask me to start sit ups after 3 months...but i guess you can check with your gynae for better advice

btw my exercise for now is to carry my baby around during the day...that's straining both feet + hands !! hehehe...no choice coz he only keeps quiet when i carry him around...oh, my right hand getting stronger too due to pumping...eventho i don't pump very long can still feel the strain... so don't think i have the energy to do anymore exercise... :p

kitsune,
think i've heard about this pd in tampines as well... seems she's quite famous coz affordable huh...

re:vaccination,
anyone of you getting optional immunization e.g. pneumococcal/rotavirus ? my pd ask me to start 2nd month for pneumococcal...actually pity my boy coz that means every month gotta go inject...but i think quite important to get...

Ello mummies,

hope everyone is fine here, im taking care of my bb boy alone too n so far so good. im using the electrical 'yau lan' and my bb love it. oh would like to share with ur this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w6CFSGAueyo
is about a lady who discover bb language. she'd even been interview by oprah.i saw the program in state bout coming 2 years ago.(b4 i get preggy)
i think it work.from the sampler video u will learn the word 'neh' means hungry. try n see...im surprise to hear my bb say neh when he's hungry.
do let me know what do ur think about the video.mayb we can Bp also

dor,
wow...6.5kg very heavy...

loinky,
your bb on BM ? how was your bb poo pattern usually ? if you feel uncomfortable then you should see pd for peace of mind...for me i waited and he poo after 2.5 days...so didn't go pd finally, plus it happen after i start feeding him FM partially so i figure it's because of the FM.

jeannie,
i oso cannot fit into my work clothes. still have 6cm to lose. no chance to lose all before returning to work.

a bit desperate so bought some basic items like black skirt + black pants to tahan for the time being lor...like u i dun wanna wear my maternity clothes. bad for morale.

i'm going to try exercising this week =)

re: weight loss
i can't fit into my prepreg bottom. so still wearing maternity bottoms. for tops, most can fit already. but those body hugging one can fit doesn't look nice in them cos bust too big. i got 2 more kg to lose and it has been stagnant since 2-3 weeks ago. my food intake is double of last time cos of bfing.

tute,
i feed bb immediately when she cries cos i've got no other ways to comfort her le.

I have a brand new lucky baby insulated multipocket bag to let go. Retail at $25.40, selling now at $18. Interested can pm me.

1328343.jpg

xiaoyun and dor.. u allnot bad already... my figure now looks like aunti lor.. cannot be yummy mummy..

garfield ,andrea.. i think we all same boat.. or maybe i worse.. still got abt 7 kg to lose.. my waist is almost 8 cm bigger.. sian man.. garfield when u going back to work??

cheryl must wait 3 months to exercise?? actually i did some situps yester and tummmy quite painful already.. womb area.. think can only do my stationary bike.. Can we do yoga?? but yoga also cannot help to lose weight

Bouncer
Bought my gal a fisher price bouncer last weekend and seems like shes loving it especially the vibration mode =PP!! the bouncer somehow makes her sleep longer during the day and i have more free time to myself.

re vaccination,
have been going to kinder clinic and asked about the price for immunisation package. was quoted $150 per jab + $40 consultation. so ex compared to what you gals are paying!!

jeannie,
same same....to make myself feel better - i bought new clothes lor. at least not tight and dun remind me of my new figure. i just hope that i can regain by june. i was supposed to go back to work next week, but intend to push back another 2 weeks cos i bu4 she3 de2 my bb =P

video on bb cries,
interesting!! must learn!!

jeannie,
to make u feel better, i got 10kg more to lose.. the tummy now so saggy, machiam like spare tyre..

jeannie, u natural birth so can start exercise any time..

venon's mummy,
i thot for c-sec, hv to wait for 6 mths then can exercise ?

dor,
my gp oso quote me the same price for the 6-in-1..

erh.. wat u mean by u missed his assessment ?

andrea,
haha.. glad tat ur gal like the bouncer..
last evening, i oso let my gal tried the bouncer (standard type lah), she only enjoyed for abt 20min then dun wan already.. not sure whether is it becos it's her bedtime.. :p

garfield,
huh.. the price is indeed v exp.. is this gp or pd ? even if pd, the rate shd be abt $450 incl consultation..

re: going back to work
during my elder son time, i oso bu she de to return to work aft my ML.. but for this round, i quite look forward to go back to work leh.. maybe the feeling of having 1 kid & 2 kids is really different.. :p

thanx xiaoyun.. but i am looking for the one that is self collection at woodlands..

tute, my bb usually does her business in the night or morning.. now when i ask her to do her business, its just farting.. can mix ebm with formula? cos i if i find that my ebm is thin i will add..

bb's cries
i watched all the related videos on youtube too! hehe. quite useful. i'm trying to decipher my bb's cries now.

weight
sigh...i oso have last 5kg to lose. dun dare to measure my waist <shudders> so far can wear my old tops cos i dun have big bust. but bottom wise, i think hips have expanded.

happy,
i started going to kinder cos that time desperate to see a good PD for my bb's blood in the stools. KKH refused to let me see a consultant / snr consultant that day...wanted to refer me to MO so i said no. and kinder is at parkway very near my place.

so far, i find dr. vasanthi very good and reassuring. after visiting her for the first time, i found many good comments and reviews here in SMH forum also. so continued to see her lor.

bouncer,
can i check if your bouncers allow bb to lie almost flat (like 45degrees)?

leapfrog / leappad learning system,
any 2nd time mummies who have used this? got feedback? a lot of pple seem to be buying this.

brought my boy for 1st month assessment. so happy that he gained 1.8kg in 1 month. this encourages me continue to BF. :D

re: 6 in 1 vaccination
doc advised me to gv the jab to bb when he's 2 mth old, though can be taken at 1.5 mth old. he said the older the bb is, the less likely to have fever. and even got fever, it's easier to deal with.

re: weight
so sad that i can't wear my jeans. last time after my gal's full mth, i can fit in my jeans already. still have 4 kg to lose.

milk rash
how can we prevent this? and how to cure now?
has it got anything to do with my diet?
my bb's face got so much rash on her cheek n chin!

RE: emptying breasts

Okay, time for blur me to ask stupid question again... How to know when breasts are empty? Normally I express for 10 minutes and just stop like that. Is that bad? Would it mean my EBM has not enough hindmilk?

RE: milk rash

I find that cleaning my breasts before feeds and Danica's face after helps. I use warm face towel for breasts and tissue for her mouth and face that got stained with breast milk while nursing.

RE: weight loss

I also still need to lose 10 kgs!
Haven't tried wearing my own tops cause I have been wearing nursing ones when I go out. I also don't dare to take my waist measurement yet. According to my gynae, I can exercise liao. He said I was recovering very well for such a difficult labour. He said I can go gym if I wanted to. :p But I not the gym type. Will stick to yoga and running after my dogs.

Xiao Yun: Re Keep me awake Balm

Not much of use one. I have one it is just like normal peppermint fragrance balm.

Gar: Kinder Clinic very ex that time my boi after birth went back for check up the consultation fee cos $90 plus after gst. Got to wait for 4 hrs before we can see the pd but of cos the pd there is quite good but the waiting time and high cost and location is abit turn off for me.

1st "Feb 08 Mummies &amp; Babies outing".

12th april, Saturday
1) Jeannie, hubby and baby
2) happymum2b
3) cheryl, hubby and bb
4) star70 n bb,maybe hubby - coffee club (if not too small for us?),swenson, secret recipe, crystal jade
5) Vine_Gal (anything ok)
6) Eliaw
7) Thankful
8) bx, hubby and bb
9) stephie
10) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (depending on timing)
11) dor11,hb and bb - tcc /swedson
12)tubao,hubby and bb
13)kitsune
14)june, hubby and bb

13th april, Sunday
1) happymum2b
2) cheryl, hubby and baby
3) Vine_Gal (anything ok)
4) Eliaw
5) Thankful
6) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (most preferred)
7) june, hubby &amp; bb

garfield, I dont own a leapfrog system and prob wont be buying one. Personally I dont really like electronic learning gadgets esp at this age. (she does have one kiddy laptop thingy but thats a one-off xmas pressie) I have no doubt that they do benefit some kids in some ways, just that I'd much prefer my DD to learn through means that allows her to actually stretch her imagination.

artemis, if you dont empty your breasts as much as you can, then it might affect your milk supply after a while.

weight loss- geez I think I am giving up on my stagnant weight n figure for now! I absolutely cannot fit into ANY of my pre-2nd-bb bottoms and tops are all v tight. I was told by gynea today that I cant excercise till at least 2 more months (I brought my older DD to a children's indoor playground last weekend and climbed with her, wound slightly infected now sigh :p) and its not like I have the energy to restrict my food intake since I have 2 kids to care for. So I guess the only thing I can do is to hope that its not too late to regain watever I can maybe a year from now when I have more time for this. Honestly it kinda sucks cause I really wish I can look more decent, but I guess its a temporary thing, and it helps that I am so busy on most days that I have no time to dwell on this. I tell myself that its a worthwhile sacrifice for my precious kids, and plus life isnt perfect anyway, will just do what I can when I have more time later on.

1st "Feb 08 Mummies &amp; Babies outing".

12th april, Saturday
1) Jeannie, hubby and baby
2) happymum2b
3) cheryl, hubby(maybe coming) and bb (anything ok)
4) star70 n bb,maybe hubby - coffee club (if not too small for us?),swenson, secret recipe, crystal jade
5) Vine_Gal (anything ok)
6) Eliaw
7) Thankful
8) bx, hubby and bb
9) stephie
10) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (depending on timing)
11) dor11,hb and bb - tcc /swedson
12)tubao,hubby and bb
13)kitsune
14)june, hubby and bb

13th april, Sunday
1) happymum2b
2) cheryl, hubby (maybe coming) and baby
3) Vine_Gal (anything ok)
4) Eliaw
5) Thankful
6) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (most preferred)
7) june, hubby &amp; bb

<font color="ff0000">Why we love our mums and have "issues" with our MIL.</font>

Sunday afternoon
I just finished a 20min pumping session and emerged from room with 100ml of milk. Not a lot i know....but feeling rather pleased cos can consistently yield this amount with the PIS advanced since i started using the pumping pal handsfree. previously can only get 70ml.

<font color="0000ff">MIL (in mandarin): You pump so long only so little milk?</font>

Monday afternoon
Same scenario as above - I also just finished a 20min pumping session and emerged from room with 100ml of milk.

<font color="0000ff">My mom (looks at my output): Each time you pump how much can you get? 50ml?

Me: This is about 100ml

My mom: Oh, that's a lot. So you must continue to be more hardworking and pump more so that bb has enough to drink.</font>

I REST MY CASE.

Just had to make this post lor. What a stark difference!!!!! *GRIN*

Hi Oscar

My baby has also problems napping since last Thur. Can't put him to sleep in the afternoon..will fall asleep in our arms, and then wake up and cry when put down. We are at a loss coz me going back to work in one week..dunno how my mummy will cope. My baby is 7 weeks today.

Furthermore, baby is drinking less milk now and I am quite worried. bx..is your baby drinking better now? Baby used to take average 750 ml last few weeks, but since Thur he has been taking only 610-650ml per day. Dropping from 100ml per feed to 60 ml per feed, every 3 hourly. Then in between we try to make him finish up the milk and sometimes he does. Gotta throw away the EBM..very sad. I will take out from fridge, warm up. If he cannot finish at first setting, I will leave at room temp for up to 1 hr, before throwing away. Sad.

Jeannie. So sorry to hear about your baby..I also very worried coz my hubby like to put baby in our bed beside him. Last week he fell asleep with baby beside him. When I came into the room I quickly carry baby away or else one turn from my hubby and he will be squashed! So today I warned him not to put baby with him again. Is your pd Dr Keoy too? My baby is going to get his 6-1 jab next week, think I will stick with Dr Keoy coz dunno which other pd to go.

Yan Yan
I also have this dilemma..to spend so much time pumping or bond with baby. I believe both are impt..to provide baby with the best milk yet at the same time provide him with maternal love. I am determined to wake up at times like this to pump, and forego my own time in the afternoon to bond and play with baby when he is awake. As the weeks go on I become more efficient in juggling bonding time, pumping time, sterlizilng time and housework. Not to forget that my mum is here to help too, thugh she doesn't really support me in my pumping. Got angry with her today coz she threw away my breastmilk. Think she was fed up with this breastmilk feeding thing.

Woke up at 2.15 am to feed baby. He drank half (60ml) and fell asleep and couldn't wake him to finish. Then at 3.30am work up crying for milk again. Fed him 30ml..he almost went to sleep again..but managed to wake him to finish his other 30. Sigh! What's happening to my baby?

Garfield..if only my mom was as supportive...

I believe mu mum threw away my milk today as she was fed up with breastmilk. All through these few weeks she has been hinting like: - Breastmilk so diluted, not full.
- Last time she fed us formula..so why not feed baby with formula
- Take so long to heat up breastmilk
- The double pump is so expensive

Jeannie, did you bring baby to Dr Keoy for first month assesment? By the time I bring baby for his 6-in-1 next week, he will be 8 weeks, so how to have assesment?

Sweetpea,
My mom was initially not a supporter of BF. She read up on it on her own so now she understands the importance of BM. But hor, now and then, she still suggest supplementing with FM. Especially when bb cries after feeds and she cannot calm bb haha =P

Somehow, old folks still have this thinking that whenever bb cry is bcos bb is hungry.

happy,
i don't feel like going back to work. it's not because i bu she de bb, just that i don't want to work!! :p

vine,
thanks for the review. i think i can save my money already.

re: emptying breast
i lazy to empty my breast after feed. it does seems that my supply drops a little bit.

re breastfeeding
my mum has been very worried to see me waking up in middle of night to pump... she claims that she did not know bf is so tough, it she knows it is so tough, she would not encourage me to go for it.

feeding
my baby also inconsistent in milk intake, sometimes 100 sometimes 150 sometimes 80. ayoh suka suka depends on her mood... i throw away a lot liao

sick
i think my baby has diarrhoea. i kept thinking it may be cos i warm a bottle of milk before, she did not touch, and i just put back to fridge and re-warm the next time.... not sure if this is the cause, but i dont dare to tell anyone..... brought her to PD liao....

colic
may i know how many of you do give colic drop to baby??? do you know when can we stop giving her?

empty breast
my mum cannot realy handle my baby, so i can only pump for 10 min or so and many times i miss the timing.... CL is coming in today to help me till hubby is back, hope i can pump more regularly

human pacifier
my baby is very bad, keep wanting to latch all the time... when she is startle, or when hungry, or even when not hungry (after finish 150ml of milk) just for comfort. yesterday night, she finished milk at 2am, wants to latch on, i refused and try to coax her instead, struggle till 4am and yes, I GAVE IN. cos my mum and i need the sleep desperately. my mum says even if i give her $5k A MONTH,she will also not quit her job to handle my baby, sell to karang guni better heheee

cos my baby has pooh on her, shoot to the floor and my bed and urine on her during diaper change hehehehe

re infant care
I am supposed to source for one, but ayoh, cant even find time to go on web. headache man.

sweetpea, my bb is drinking better now. but occasionally still will leave about 20 - 30ml. currently she is 6 wks plus, still drinking 110ml. want to increase to 120ml but i guess she is not ready.

Re: weight loss
still got about 2-3 kg to lose if i want to gain my weight when i was getting married. i can't fit in most of my tops. my whole body has grown bigger, not only my bust. i oso gotta wear a M instead of a XS. sob... bottoms still managed to squeeze in as i always buy them looser to wear at the hips. but now wear at the waist.

Re: Vaccination
jeannie, sweetpea, u going back to dr keoy for vaccination? i actually brought my bb to polyclinic for the hep b 2nd dose. so now can only opt for 5-in-1 at dr keoy's clinic. most likely going there for the 5-in-1 instead of going back to polyclinic. coz feel like taking the rotavirus and pneumococcal.

garfield,
ur mum is so supportive on bf-ing.. *envy*

sweetpea,
sigh.. my mum oso hinting to mi that bm not full lah, take long time to warm it.. blah blah.. sometime she even compared me with a relative whose ss is so good that she can even offer bm to her elder son.. i feel so sian to be compared to others.. everyone is different mah rite ?

xiaoyun,
haha.. u rest for too long liao, tats y dun feel like working now.. :p
for mi, i m the type that juz cannot stay at hme.. tats y i feel i cannot be a SAHM..

winnie,
my baby's feeding oso not consistent.. in fact most of the time she drank lesser.. she is 6 wk old and we r giving her 90ml now, but most of the time she drank btwn 60-80ml, sometime only half (50ml)..

how's ur gal nw ? hope she is better.. my 1.5 yr old son oso had diarrhoea, brought him to see gp last evening..

Winnie,
*hugs* hang in there.

i'm reading this book the baby whisperer. there are tips on how to wean baby off the breast. when i have more time today i will post here okie?

wah garfield, u still got time to read? me still busy taking care of bb, washing clothes and bottles and pumps, sterilising, assembling, pumping, househould chores, etc. plus surfing the forum

u got help at home is it?

xiaoyun, i remember you posted the sound that bb made means hungry, wanna sleep, etc.

can you pls post the words and what it means again? thanks