(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiao yun
nothing lah. i just remember that your confinement ends around the same time as me.

lezy
thanks for your advice.
during maternity leave i still can carry, rock him whenever he cries. but after that, when my mil takes care of him, she can't afford to do so. 'cos she needs to take care of 1 toddler and 1 baby. if bb gets used to carry/rocking kind of soothing method, my mil would have hard time taking care of him after i go back to work.

bkkgal
my menses started at around 11 mths last round and that time i TBF my gal. different people different case.

re: bb sleep
nowadays, during daytime, i would put my boy to sleep on tummy. he can sleep better when sleep on tummy. else, he would wake up after 10 - 15 min sleeps. but at night, we don't let him sleep on tummy.

Garfield
Thanks for the link of the book! I will try to keep a lookout for it!

Bkkgal,
Thanks for ur comments on the pump. I think in this case, i may consider ameda since it is not so costly :p Perhaps by Sept, probably some of the mama here can sell their ameda duo to me? :p

Winnie,
I think there is an infant-care centre at depot road where the NTUC is. U can try this link for infant-care search. Better than google.
http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

stephie,
yeah i think my boy not used to the bottle's teat as well...but seems like he only make fuss when mummy bottlefeeding him...
today i fed him FM and after 50ml he refuse to take anymore but he's still making fuss like still hungry so i let him latch on...then after that he drank for 5 min and fell asleep...but yest my maid + mom bottlefed him and he never make noise until i came home...think he can sense i'm around and me carrying him.

lezy,
my boy was almost 3.4kg when he was born and 3.1 when he was discharged, so he gain 1.7kg over 4 weeks period. think it's quite a lot and i can feel it straining my muscles. so now i need to surrender using sling otherwise my hand will be gone in no time ! i also need to switch around with my maid to carry him...he needs to be carried almost all the time when he's awake !!

winnie,
there's a few infant care around sengkang area itself...not sure about feedback though...there's one near my place by ntuc (blk 230)

re: pumping,
do you all normally pump until no more milk to pump out ? i normally pump with a target e.g. 100ml target and i'll stop after that...cannot afford to leave bb for so long to pump.

re:sling,
somebody ask this cannot remember who... i started using sling since bb is 2 weeks old...he seems to be more comfortable when being carried in a sling, easier to put him to sleep..

Goldfish,
I may want to sell my Medela PIS advanced eventually (if you are considering that). Price wise will be very attractive cos I got my set from US at SG$420 only (retail price in SG is SG$600+).

tute,
wow your boy gained a lot of weight in 4 weeks! are you on TBF? my gal only gained 600g haha...i always say she trying to be model next time.

as for pumping, my ss is not fantastic, so by 30mins of pumping and massaging...already no more milk liao =P

bx,
the calendula cream is a multi-purpose cream and can be used as a diaper cream too.

Product description: Nature's First-Aid! California Baby® Calendula Cream is excellent for use on general diaper area, cradle cap, on cuts and scrapes, and may be used on face and body for extra-dry or sensitive skin. Botanically based, our light and fluffy Calendula Cream contains the active ingredient of Calendula, which has been used to heal the skin for centuries. California Baby® Calendula Cream offers deep hydration, absorbs completely, and leaves skin feeling satiny smooth. Use daily for everyday protection and especially when the air is dry and baby's skin needs relief. Our customers have reported excellent results with California Baby®'s Calendula Cream in their fight against eczema, perioral dermatitis, and other skin sensitivities. The entire family can benefit from this soothing, multipurpose cream. We suggest that you try California Baby® Calendula Cream and/or California Baby® Botanical Moisturizing Cream in combination with any of our Shampoos & Bodywashes. Also add California Baby® Calming™ Soothing & Healing Spray, and any of our non-chemical sunscreens to your skin care regime.

sunny,
lidat no choice but to let bb cry it out lor.

anyone has nice dentist to recommend in central area. sibei sian.
b4 delivery already have decay prob. it got worse very fast after delivery.

i'm scared of dentist or else i should havee gone during pregnancy days n not wait till nw.

i think this tooth confirm gone case.

Hi Garfield
I seriously do not mind abt that though my hubby may not like the idea of second hand bt if the price is good, why not hoh?

I actually got thot of getting from US direct, but still find it ex wor. Lemme know again perhaps via email [email protected] when u are ready to give up the set

wah ngee ann city - brings to mind 2 things:
- shopping opportunity!!

- erm....expensive??

n of course....always the dilemma of leaving baby "behind".
(mum sick n hubby not very good at managing....)

Goldfish,
My set is very lightly used (a few days only). I got it last week and keeping it on standby for now cos not sure how long i will sustain BF after going back to work in one weeks' time.

Can understand your hubby's concern =) you can actually buy a pair of brand new breast shields (the part that comes into contact with the milk) for US$20 only. So your total cost will be very low =P

re: infant care- winnie, i am placing my bb at infant care, for a 2 week trial first, starting 15th aprl.this 2 weeks i am still on ML, hoping to rest more and produce more milk to deliver to the centre.

cooler bag: are you all organising a spree? if not which brand is recomended ?

bb sleep: i will hold bb on my arm when he dozes off, and put him to zz on tummy 20 min later after his deep zz in my arms.

<font color="aa00aa">Re. Busybaby nursing wraps</font>
Hi mummies, finally i got the reply from the supplier. They offer us the price per piece of US$19.50 inclusive of US local shipping charges.

In order to keep this thread neat, I have open a new thread in oversea sprees, pls bookmarked the below link for any further corresponding. If u r unable to post in the spree thread, pls email me.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1318768.html?1206498666

Please do the transfer of Sin$29.25 to my account POSB savings 026-31174-8 asap, once payment received I will placed the order.

Kitsune
hehe, now u know why i post more often cos got handsfree can surf internet. hee.

menses
as long as we bf, menses will not come is it?

r u all aware - that infant formula samples can't be obtained anymore. we can buy but companies cannot send us sample due to government restriction to encourage (enforce?) breastfeeding.

i was hoping t get samples cuz dunno wat my bb would reject. looks like have to spend some money.

Atria-City Dental Group (<font color="0000ff">not sure if they change name already</font>)
391-B Orchard Road
#08-09 Ngee Ann City,
Tower B,
Singapore 238874

look for Dr. Eloise Lim

mums, thanks for the reply on infant care. iw ill source for it.

I think the Depot one is call Zion INfant care, walking distance to my office. I will keep that in mind.

Tong tong, is infant care the only choice you have?

Qoosan, I will try my best to go and do the transfer today, actually got a few bils to pay, hope i can do it this noon.

6-in-1 jab,
I just checked the schedule for polyclinic and PD... how come their jab schedule and no. of jabs diff one?

Polyclinic:
Hep B 2nd dose at 2nd mth
3rd, 4th, 5th, 18th month

PD:
2nd, 4th, 6th month

MMR is it foc even we go PD?

garfield,
thanks 4 the info. think i'll get one coz my ger has eczema and cradle cap... maybe the cream will be good for her.

winnie: yea, becuase i couldnt find bbsitter for my boy.and i think infant care centre has professionals and trained nurse, so i'm pretty fang xin la.

snowbelle: MMR not FOC for my case, it's included in my bb's package wor

goodbaby: is the red spot heat rashes?

bx: doc said your bb got eczema? my boy has too, and i take probiotic now and apply probiotic on his face when the rashes flare up. you might want to try if cream doesnt work.

hi tong,
my bb also using probiotics. quite good right? she still having the red spots now but much better. i remember that time u mentioned ur bb got alot of pimples. shortly after, my ger oso got bad breakout. very ugly. somemore it's during her full month celebration. ppl keep asking why my bb face like that wan. ur boy ok already?

hi pp.. haven log in fro a while.. so busy!!! after my CL left on fri.. my nightmare started. Everyday i am so tired.. luckily my PIL come in the noon time to help out so i can rest a bit and clean the hse.

Re: baby sleeping
Tute and xiaoyun.. u all very lucky.. ur babies sleep so much at night..my one wakes up cery 2 hrs.. and sometimes.. hse does not sleep well. after feed.. Every feeding time is abt half hr.. plus patting 10 mins.. then she will fall asleep and fuss when u put her on cot.. then have to pat her to sleep.. by the time all these done.. she is ready for another feed. Every night i cant sleep .. always have to look at her and get rady to heat up EBM or check her diaper.Its really tiring.

Re: latching at night?
winnie.. u not the weir done.. i also latch only in the day.. at night.. bottlefeed..cause i noe.. she only feeds a while if latch then cant satisfy her so might as well bottle lor.

Re:poo..
can i check how many times ur baby poo. My beby on 80% BF and 20% FM.. and she poos like 5 times a day!! Is it a lot??But i dun think she got diarrhoea cause her poo.. nomal leh.. ma chiam like eagg yolk splattered. And she urinates a lot.. colourless urine.

Re Vaccination
snowbelle.. i think the differnce in months is because one is 5 in 1 and the other is 6 in 1. Polyclinics only offer 5 in 1. I brought baby for hep B jab yester.. cried so loud when she was poked.. so sad for her.

Re: rashes
goodbaby.. my baby aslo got rashes.. like alot of reddish patches and pimply like spot ard her face..head..neck and her eyebrow and ears are so dry. Went see doc yester.. and he gave me a very mild form of steriod cream to used.. I only used it twice since yester so not sure whther it works. And also my bb got double chin now... her neck got so much fold..i very scared will get fungus infection.. doc also gave me a fungal cream to apply.

Re: Baby weight
baby gained 1.65 kg in 5 weeks time. SHe is now 4.65 kg. Think she gain quite fast..is it ave?/ GArfield.. urs gained 600 grams only?How old is she now??

BX and tongtong..how is eczema like?? i dunno whether my baby got eczema or not..and where u all got the probiotics?

lezy,
ya ho. i long time never go already. probably she left. hai...
sorry. then i don't know other dentist downtown already.

jeannie,

sounds like ur bb got eczema too. steroid creams are prescribed for treating eczema. but cannot use too much coz it causes thinning of the skin. i made a mistake. the cream i am using is protopics not probiotics. dunno is it the same as wat tong is using. it is prescribed by the doctor from the thomson paediatrics centre (the one dr keoy is based).

i asked the dr. she say may take up to 2 months to recover.

baby's weight:
my bb was 2.95kg at birth. At 5th week, she is 4.2kg. She gained 1.25kg. seems like your ger is growing well

mummies who are on your own, pls advise how you find time to pump? i find myself very terrible. i leave bb to cry while i pump.

Qoosan, transferred to you liao. Trans ref 1631950057.

Thankful, alamak, I just bought some plastic screw caps from the WTS thread. Didn't know you want to let go. What is the capacity of your glass bottles? Am keen if you have bigger bottles cos the ones I got from KK only 100ml, so far still ok but don't know whether will be too small in future. But how about collection? :p

Garfield, you selling your PIS? Am wondering if I can ask my friend to sell her mine cos will still need for no. 2. But she mentioned that she want to lend to her sis so maybe cannot. :p

Hi Garfield
Keke... i dun mind second hand seriously. Lemme know when u r ready to sell. Or any mama out there next time stop bf or wat.. lemme know wor!

tongtong,
Where did u bring yr bb for jab?

jeannie,
It's 6in1 from NHG polyclinic. Singhealth polyclinic only got 5in1. You paid $87.40 per jab, is it?

bx, i try to leave her to cry when i pump, when my dad is keeping watch on her, but my dad just cannot handle her, so end up, i must stop pumping and come out to handle her.

I think I have failed.... she keep treating me as pacifier, wants to latch on, to sleep, even after bottle feeding.... if i dont latch her, she cries and cries and tear the whole house down.... she can cry till no voice.... red face and no voice come out.....

i dont know why like that, and what will happen next time when i go back to work...

give her pacifier she also dont awnt, try to bluff her her bringing close to my breast then i give her pacifier also dont want.

hi snowbelle,

NHG polyclinic got option of 5 in 1 also??

hi xiaoyun,
when u order the
California Baby calendula cream,please count me in,thanks so much

for those who bring bb to polyclinic for 5 in 1 jab,when do u bring bb to PD for their check up??what is the interval??per mth?where to get the schedule for bb's check up??

winnie,
i think u need to gradually stop offering ur breast as pacifier. if not it will be very difficult for the one taking care of her when u go back to work.

bx, I dont leave my baby to cry if I can help it so I only pump when I know bb is sound asleep. In between caring for bb and older DD, I only have time to pump 2-3 times a day max (actually only 2x on most days). thats why my supply is dropping like mad, I think I am gonna dry up soon. I guess its all about priorities. I figured that if I dun have Bm, bb can still drink FM; But if my bb cries and I dont go to him, no one will. And its v impt to me that my bb knows that he can count on me to be there whenever I can esp when trust n bonding is only starting to establish at this age. so between BM and emotional well being, the latter matters alot more to me. Just my own take.

goodbaby, u can refer to your bb's health booklet to know when bb needs their regular checkups.

lezy, how about SMILES at forum? The dentists there are all very nice n professional. My DD and I both go there for our dental needs.

tute, I normally pump until my bb cries for me lol! But if he doesnt wake up halfway then I'll pump for 20-30 min, I am using the medela PIS.

winnie, I've heard good reviews about Pat's sch house but its a little pricier than usual I believe, heres the link: http://www.patschoolhouse.com/

qoosan, i am still trying to find a good chance to sneak out of the house, i think maybe tomorrow when my mum is on leave. Currently, only my dad around and he is able to help on housework but not baby.

BX, yeap now i try to make it full bottle in daytime.... cos previously i latch in day and bottle at night, i realise it may be wrong way round... i hope by cutting down latching can help... but bad right, only by latching then SS can maintained....

TongTong, which infant care are you going to?
Actually comparing nanny and infant care, i am more prone to infant care too... but my baby so notti, i very worried that the teachers will treat her badly....

Berry thanks for the url, but Pats seems out of the way.... from home to office.

Tong, may I know, you choose infant care near home or office? if near home, i worried not in time to fetch baby... but if near office, that meaens non working day, or we are sick, we need to go all the way there.

Garfield, saw your post on baby monitor. are you all using monitor? i will do some research now.

winnie
i can understand how frustrated you are. my boy also treats me as pacifier. when he refused to sleep after the feed, i get very pek chek. when my hb is around, i just can't wait to 'throw' the crying bb for him to handle.

winnie,
$29.25 is the wrap + US local shipping charges. We still need to add in charges for CGW freight charges, therefore I have estimate the total charges will be ard $32-$35. Local shipping charges depend on individual is estimated at $2.20 + $2.25 (reg.post).