(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

piglettail
if you tell your cl to wait for you to latch bb, will she do that?
i told my cl that if during the massage session, bb wakes up and cry, just feed him some plain water. and i don't keep any FM at home. for the EBM kept in the fridge, she won't use it unless i ask her to do so. 'cos she knows that i want to do direct latch on full time even at night.
i think you should standby extra desitin at home. for me, i won't apply it unless there's nappy rashes after full month.

qoosan
same here. my gal already 25 mth + old and i haven't finished one tube since she's born.

jeannie
i paid abt S$33 (including shipping) for 1bottle when i joined a LV spree. then i went out 2 pick it up fr her so didnt incur further postage+packaging charge.

each bottle has 60 tablets. i only know 1 brand for goat's rue.

sadly i havent place order yet cos sweetpea and/or eileengoh hasnt paid up.

eliaw,
so i think i will increase to 70 ml later and see if she can finish.

bx,
my plan is to feed ebm in the day and latch on at night. if there's someone to help, ebm is faster and save my time. otherwise, bb will take her own sweet time to suckle if direct latch on.

snowbelle
do u drink water 20mins b4 & after taking e goat's rue? u can take e goat's rue wif a lil water but it was advised tat 20mins b4 & after, do not consume any fluids. it may dilute e substance.

how many do u take in a day? mayb u like 2 increase e dose to max 8tablets in a day?

bx, i feed ebm.. feeding is much faster for me.. only 30 min.. if latch on, takes 1 hr..
i latch on only occasionally..

eliaw,
i thought i am the only one experience longer time for latching.
but i love to latch on at night cos i can sleep together with her when she sucking.. :p
i feel that warming up the ebm is very troublesome. i using NUK premium bottle, a bit fat. can't fit into the hand-me-down warmer. so got to use hot water to warm it up.

eliaw - membrane only changes when it is torn, cos it will affect the suction strength. But it is easily torn so special care needed when cleaning.

How long can I keep the EBM in the fridge after I have used running tap water to defrost? I just defrost 60ml of EBM, thought of feeding bb during my next feed, should be before 8pm.

bx,
Actually, i'm also very tempted to go buy goat's rue from TMC. Been having trouble latching my boy on since day 1, been a struggle until no choice so now can only rely on emb/fm. But my ss is really so sianz, only 60-80 per 4 hourly interval.
Not sure if i should try fenugreek first or just buy the goat's rue. Any one who has tried both? which is more effective?

kelly,

I realised i missed the goat rue's spree!! issit still available now?

I would like to order 2 bottle if still available. thanks!!

have been so busy with my boy because he zz less nowadays, cuz was trying to let him zz on his back. i really buey tahan and let him zz face down again.

bluewind

if it is the knot part den normal.. actually when my gynae remove the knot, he nvr put any plaster. since den keep applying the cream... i got blood stain at my binder...

hi pigletail,

can try applying avent barrier cream instead of desitin?
desitin save for future

hi kelly,

can we take the goat rue and fenugreek together?or have to take separately?

my hb say the cream is to make the scar nicer. tat wat he hear from the clinic asst. i din hear anything. haha... the cream is Lanakeloid-E???

i din shave yet. i also scare although no pain liao.... and the skin there like no feeling 1

happy
wat the cream for huh??

goat rue -> how come ur r buying the tablets one? my friend mentioned the liquid one is vry effective. personally, yet to try, so no comment.

bx,
i pump in between feeds cos bb drinks at 3 hr intervals. but the pump that yielded 120ml was after 4 hrs.

not sure if it's once off or what...need to monitor =P

eliaw,

kelly,
my fren passed the goat's rue to me

snow,
been taking it since mon. first few days no effect.

fenugreek vs goat's rue,
finished one bottle of fenugreek with no effect. for goat's rue, ss seems to increase within one week.

Qoosan,
Ohhh... Realli. I went back for my after-delivery checkup. Din have any impression of you. Paiseh.

BB Massage:
I'm interested. Can sms me the date. Hopefully can form a class.

need to check with you all, where can i get the cheapest cotton ball? my cotton ball consumption is like 1 packet (100 balls) for 5 days. very high le... currently using watson brand. cannot remember the price already

tongtong,
the cotton ball is used to clean bb's face before bathe, clean bb's bottom when it's only pee and after cleaning with wipes for poo.

starry,
do you use so much cotton ball like me?

vernon's mummy,
yes, gynae oso prescribe the same cream (Lanakeloid-E) for me.. i read the note inside the box, the function is to prevent scar from forming at the c-sec wound..

xiaoyun,
u can try kiddy palace.. try to get those 1 big roll one which u need to roll into smaller balls urself.. it is cheaper than those 1 packet of 100 balls..

tongtong,
for newborn, we wet the cotton ball and used it to wipe bb eyes/face and butt.. cos their skin still v delicate..

happy,
is the roll one convenient to use?
if so, i may go and get those. do you remember the price? not sure if the chinese medicine hall will be selling it cheaper than kiddy palace?

u use it to wipe bb's face? i use face towel le. don't know will it be too rough for bb or not :p
my mil use tissue paper. so young already train her use so much tissue.. hai...

xiaoyun,
hv to roll into smaller balls ourselves lor.. hee.. but 1 big roll can roll into many small balls leh.. can use quite long.. haha, i cant remember the price leh.. but i think it's less than $4-$5.. yes, my mum used it to wipe bb eyes & face before bathe.. at tis time, we din use face towel yet, cos cotton ball will be more gentle on their delicate face..

my MIL cooking every day lunch and dinner for me since i discharged from hospital. but not proper confinement food...everyday cook salted vege with fish for me. apparently cannot eat one cos "liang2", but i dare not voice out cos paiseh esp since she putting in effort to cook everyday.

according to the chinese physician, post pregnancy "bu3" can be done up to 60days.
not sure if for 2nd month i should cater confinement food or not.

my hubby was thinking of asking my MIL to continue to cook for us during my maternity leave, but i think i have decided better not to.

xiaoyun,
did ur mil wet the tissue 1st ? cos most tissue r quite "hard" after being wet & squeezed dry..
so cotton balls are still the best..

xiaoyun,ya i used a lot cotton balls too..clean face n butt..heh..i even bought those 1 big roll of cotton wool one ($4)..so got time i just make my own cotton balls too.i find it same same, the cotton balls sometimes too big a ball, so if u make ur own cotton ball,can make smaller.

Heating up EBM
How do you heat them up? Anyone can share?

Cotton ball
Have been using up alot of cotton balls too! Was told off by FIL that we cant use wipes on bb's butt during the 1st month. So even for poo, gotta use cotton ball

dear mummies, any recomendation to cater confinement food? think after i'm done w confinement @ mum's place, i wont have time to cook @ home. so thinking of caterering wor.

Kelly, if got extra slot for batch 2, can slot me in? My cousin only going back TMC in April, think it'll be a bit late. I can transfer anytime.

QooSan, my CL is very pro BF. May not have continued to BF if not for her encouragement. Keep telling me got milk, as long as I want to BF, she'll do whatever she can to help. Even helped to massage with hot towel to increase my supply. But unfortunately, she's fully booked until Aug. :p

Cotton Ball

BB fair have sales, Annuka brand 3 pkt for $5.00. I use cotton balls to wipe bb mouth after he drink milk. Will use cotton roll to wipe when changing diaper. Will use soft towel to clean his face and bathing. Annuka cotton roll is $4.90, Tollyjoy is $4. BB fair shd be cheaper.

kelly,
i bought from forum under the WTS. that mummy sell me at $35 with postage.

andrea, i warm my ebm in the avent warmer.

bluewind,
i din wear binder for one month leh cos super hot.i dun have any discharge/blood on my wound.

re:goat's rue
i think it's work well for me...but still cant meet my boi's demand.

eliaw,
thanks cos he(my boi) veri greedy so yr boi boi cant fight with him.

Goat's Rue at USD19.05 per bottle (excluding domestic & international shipping AND local postage + envelope)

Batch 1 - order placed on 4mar
1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage) PAID
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID
12) vine_gal PAID

Batch2
1) star70 (postage) PAID
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage) PAID
4) blurspark (postage) PAID
5) bkkgal (postage) PAID
6) goodbaby (postage) PAID
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw PAID
10)jeannie PAID
11)jeannie
12)eileengoh (postage)

Batch3
1) winnie (postage)
2) winnie
3) sweetpea
4) kitsune
5) kitsune
6) tongtong
7) tongtong
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

kitsune,
i can order 13bottles in batch 2 cos it wont hit SGD400. if u can transfer asap, i'll let u take over eileengoh's slot n i can order fr LV asap too. pls transfer 2 my posb savings a/c 107470123 n PM/email me ur transfer details n mode of collection.

how's ur lump? is it betta?

qoosan
i've also heard fr other mummies tat e liquid form of goat's rue is betta but i dun dare 2 order e liquid form fr overseas. i've mentioned tis 2 e mummies here in a posting much earlier. skarly e bottle(s) break during shipment and/or handling, i cant bear e responsibility. if i not wrong, u can also buy e liquid form fr camden medical. e last i heard was it costs S$45.

kelly,
Thanks for the advise... maybe because I usually take it after meal... already drank soup and tea liao... so that's why not effective... I'll follow your advise, hope it works... Currently, I'm taking 4 a day. How many hours gap before you take the next one? I think I'll try the no water 20min before and after, and see whether it works... if not, will increase the dose liao...

Kelly. Okie, I transfer now but err... how much ah?

Lump still there but breast already soft and it's quite small, so now not sure whether it was there before pregnant or not.

kitsune,
it's SGD57.12 for 2bottles.

snowbelle
i take 2tablets in e morn, after my breakfast which is abt 930-10am. then after lunch, abt 130-2pm. then after dinner, abt 730-8pm.

snowbelle
mayb u like 2 increase to 6tablets a day.

goodbaby
er...i not too sure if u can take fernugreek n goat's rue tgt. cos 4 me, when i took fernugreek, bo lah sah (no effect) so i stopped n merely ate goat's rue.

kelly, transferred the $ liao. Trans ref 1606583510.

Goat's Rue at USD19.05 per bottle (excluding domestic & international shipping AND local postage + envelope)

1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID
12) vine_gal PAID

Batch2 - order placed on 8mar
1) star70 (postage) PAID
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage) PAID
4) blurspark (postage) PAID
5) bkkgal (postage) PAID
6) goodbaby (postage) PAID
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw PAID
10)jeannie PAID
11)jeannie
12)kitsune PAID
13)kitsune

Batch3
1) winnie (postage)
2) winnie
3) sweetpea
4) tongtong
5) tongtong
6) eileengoh (postage)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

Xiao Yun,
I bought the front open freezer from Courts. They are selling at $399 (1year warranty, 3year warranty on certain parts w/o labour, 5years compressor). Brand is EuropAce.

Cotton balls
I find facial cotton pads better than cotton balls cos can wipe bigger area. But dunno cheaper a not.

Sealing of milkbags with scotchtape
I tried the method and had been using it very since. Trick is cannot store to the maximum amount. Have to be 20-30ml lesser so that there's space for you to fold 3or4 times. Try to make sure no air inside the milkbags before folding. Put scotchtape on the top folded (it's the lower portion when you fold to the back of milkbag) portion to ensure no leakage. I used to seal just the side. It leaks. So I try this way and it works.

Stephie,
Usually pump out abt 300ml+ EBM after 3-4hrs. So currently my gal taking 100ml so have to store them now. Latching and feeding frozen EBM. Very tiring. Sometimes overslept my 3hrly timing, I will wake up by my hard breast. Initially also worried not much supply but pump out after every latch on or every 3hrly. So supply slowly increase to this amount.

Kelly,
Getting this to standby when I go back to work.

1) annabelle PAID
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
5) garfield
6) bx PAID
7) snowbelle PAID
8) snowbelle
9) dor11 PAID
10) dor11
11) happymum2b PAID