(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Since my milk supply stablized on day 8, I total latch on my baby except sometimes CL helped to bottle EBM when I took afternoon nap.

But since MIL came to help on Tuesday to prepare CL's leave, I feed her EBM at daytime from yesterday; latch on at night only.

I can pump 100ml from both breasts every 3 hours.Guess that my body adjust just enough for baby since I total latch on from day 8 to day 24. But since MIL came, she checked every 5 mins while I latch on, "Is baby sucking?". Then after baby finished latching on, sometimes I will pump to squeeze out remaining milk; usually I get 10ml only. She will comment " you don't have milk lah, someboby can pump two full bottles after latching on." MIL boasted to me that she had much milk, bad engorgement, etc, but she didn't want to beastfeed her children. All her children are on total FM.

Told my husband that I am among lucky low percent people who have neither prenatal nor postnatal blues. But now I just want to hide in master bedroom at daytime to pump milk, and wait for night time for intimate latch-on with my baby.

Thanks ladies for the contact...

moi_dar,
How many times of massaging sessions you had before you can see any result? How long is per session?

backache,
Today whole day backache... like during pregnancy like that... bottom right pain... dunno is it I keep benting down to pick bb up from the playpen... anyone encounter this?

snowbelle, i think shd be normal. But after the massage u shd be fine. Just remember to rest more and take note of the position u carry yr bb.

leila/snowbelle,
the breast shield can be squeeze inside the nursing bra cos the cups for the bra are soft and quite big also.
I do sterilize the breast shell which is meant to collect milk.
i would say they are worth buying.

happy,
your girl so cute and the head is so rounded.
not like mine, kena vacuum and forcep, now 'pian4 ti3 ling3 shang1' very heart pain...

Hi, mums

Guess that I really stressed out. I tried to close my eyes and ears. But.....

We gave IL 700 allowance per month last time. I had bad morning sickness at first trimester and stayed at home from 8 weeks--20 weeks pregnant. From 8weeks-16 weeks, hubby came home to cook lunch& dinner for me since his office is only 5 mins drive away though I normally vomitted whatever I ate. I fainted and lost conscience at 16 weeks pregnant;hubby was very worried and told me that he couldn't concentrate at work and kept worrying that I will faint again at home and nobody is around.

Then we asked MIL to came from Mon to Fri, and gave her 1700 per month. 700 original allowance + 500 (compensate her part time job loss, her part time pay 4.5/hour) + 500 (buy food). Hubby and I are normal people; 1700 is big sum for us. but still affordable. ILs are poor, we don't want them suffer though hubby took study loan etc to finish his university studies. And when we married two years ago, he is still paying back his study loan. Hehe... I was loan shark to my husband when we bought our flat, my husband didn't have any saving, so he paid me 500 each month for furniture and other expenses.

Then MIL came to our home 10am plus, left 6pm plus, cooked lunch& dinner. She watched TV all the way from 1pm to 5:30pm. And went out shopping Mon/Wed/Fri afternoon. When I recovered and went back to work in 6th pregnant, I prefer not to ask her to come to cook since hubby and I worked late; and when back home, MIL left home and dishes were cold. And I must admit that I doesn't like her cooking. But since she said that it's very tiring at part-time job, and ILs' family really need money. Hubby got 3 younger sibling still studying; oldest sibling just graduated this year(hubby graduated 4 years ago). We still gave her 1700. Sometimes I hope that she can help to do some housework since she watched TV all day along. Hubby said that she's tired at night to wash FIL and siblings' clothes and do cleaning at their house.

When MIL came on Tues, she didn't try to learn anything. I asked her to try changing diaper, later I found out that stool still at baby's buttock. And she's not careful, so sticker stick with baby's skin and baby cry. She didn't learn/practice to sterilize/bath. And she told us that she didn't want to carry baby, said our baby not guai, cry so often for carrying; asked us to buy electric baby rocker. Hubby hurried to buy on Thurs night; yesterday whenever I went to living room for water, she kept on electric baby rocker to let rocker entertain baby.
I indicated to her whether TV sound is too noisy for baby. She said " must let baby used to sound mah". I told her to keep an eye on baby and feed baby very little water if necessary and woke me up for feed if baby cries too loud while I took afternoon nap. After I woke up, I asked how much water she feeds. She told me " I don't know how to read markings on bottle".

Don't know whether she just wants to enjoy life leisurely at age 51, or she really doesn't know to handle baby. Hubby and 3 sibilings are handsome/pretty, and smart though they do part-time work day and night for school fees. Hubby told me that ILs are not capable, so he and his sibilings had difficult life, stuggled financially to finish university degree. But they loved their parents and wanted their parents have good life.

I accepted IL's incapabilities. But dealling with my precious baby, I feel heartpain and frustrated.

Guess that I give MIL one more month; hope basics(changing diaper/bathing) will improve after practice and reminder. If she still just want to watch TV, maybe invite her to go home. We still give her 700 allowance per month.

Feel a bit paiseh to ask her to go home and cut her allowance from 1700 to 700. But we are normal people with normal pay with hardwork. And I also want my baby and myself happy.

Tubao, guess most of us will be stressful in one and another way. But at least u "vent" out here better than to keep everything inside. "hugz" hang for yr kid sure after everything will b smooth.

re: freeze BM
Tongtong, how long can we store? 2 months rite? my mom gave me the LOOK when i started to store some excess tat day..
so latching on improves ss? i m latching only once per day.. starting to feel stress that not enough..

bluegin - proper nutrition, rest, fish, massage.. the amt of rice i eat now is a lot! it's like 1 whole big plate..

tubao - u ok??

happy - erlene's so cute leh!

vine/snowbelle/bluegin/xiaoyun/eliaw,
Thks 4 ur compliments..

Xiaoyun,
My gal oso has forcep mark, i oso feel v heartache.. Dun worry ur gal forcep/vaccum mark will go off soon..

hi ladies...

another day of massage,pump,dismantle equipt,massage,pump,dismantle equipt,massage....

my breast still feels hard (not lumpy but hard in an area) after pumping and no more milk comming out liao. the irritating part is i will drip drip 1 2 drops but when i try to pump,nothing more comes out. does anyone have this problem?

How do u ladies massage your breasts? i have been massaging in circular motion clockwise very hard until my breasts feel bruised and stroking(pressing-dragging motion) from collar bone to nipple (using a lot of force for both)but the hard area is still there. breasts feel pain (bruised) now...

tubao

BF is really tough and yet pp still make disparaging remarks. I really feel fed- up for you that your MIL is so discouraging. But hang in there and believe that what you are doing is for the good of your baby. Your baby will benefit from your persistence and efforts. If your MIL is making you so stress, it's better to "invite" her to go home and deal with your baby yourself. $700 can hire a maid who can help you. I must say that I'm very lucky. I got my maid 1 week before I delivered. So far, she can cook, clean and iron well. Hb and I don't have to worry abt household chores. We don't let her touch baby but she can take so much household work off our hands so we can concentrate on baby.

I also find that our parents and ILs have so much advice on baby matters like bathe must bathe like this, or bb cry means hungry liao or always reminding us abt confinement rules but in the end, their knowledge abt handling bb is really backdated. They simply can't handle a small bb after 30 years. Lucky, my hb is around to "raise awareness" of breastfeeding with my parents and ILs.

End of day, I think just ignore all these rules and restrictions lah. Whatever makes us happy, we can do as long as within reasonable limits. I also bathe on my 4th day in hospital. If no bath for 1 month, I will surely go into postnatal depression wan!!! How can we be happy if we are smelly and sticky all day long?

Piglettail

I really knead my breasts very very hard. It's painful but you must tahan and go all the way. Start by jiggling your boobs and then massage the areola and really press down hard all around. And then move to the outer areas and massage in circular motion or use your fingers to press down real hard. I also enlist hb's help to massage the breasts cos after a while I know which areas hurt more and tend to avoid whereas he doesn't and just whack the prob areas.

Hard is good. Means you removed most of the lumps already. Hard means that milk has gathered there but there is a blocked duct somewhere. Be patient and just keep working on removing the ducts.

Leila

Congrats! Didn't know you delivered already.

Btw, my bb also has peeling skin. Wondering whether should moisturise her or not...

Piglettail

Oh yeah, someone told me that using a vibrator to massage the breast can remove hard areas. You can try. I have a neck massager but I didn't really try conscientiously to use it. hehe. You can try hand expressing. I find it more rewarding than pumping cos pumping always 1 or 2 drops only.

bkkgal,

my bb has peeling skin too. i apply sebamed baby lotion to her hands and feet where the peeling is bad.

my bb is 8 days old. do i need to start applying ruyi oil for her?

Kelly, happy for you.
Why did you buy 2 sets of Avent pump? One for mum's place and one for your home?

Thanks, Garfield & Hppymum2b for the tip. I forgot to call Metro to reserve the pump for me. Hope they still have it. :p

Snowbelle, managed to latch on again. Happy right?

Today, my BB keep on shaking her head and losing her temper after latch on. Had to latch on 10pm, 11pm & 11:45pm. Sigh, don't know whether it's because not enough milk. But then, after stop BF, she spit out a big mouthful of milk (about 1 tablespoon), don't know why like that also.

Xiaoyun, I'll wait till you finish your confinement first lar.
Will sms you when I go to my mum's place. Haven't been back there in more than 1 month. Routine all messed up now, don't know when I can go back to Sunday dinner at mum's place. :p

vine_gal,
You mean the Malay massage got massage back as well?

xiaoyun,
Thk will ask my hb to get the breast shield for me... very painful when nipples touch my shirt lah...

bkkgal,
My bb also has peeling skin, it's normal... don't think need to apply anything.

kitsune_sg,
Definitely! Though only for short while, I'm happy enough she don't reject me anymore

bkkgal, kitsune,
my bb also cranky during feeding. she will be very frantic (machum very hungry), then when i managed to latch her on, she will "pwee" it out. we will go through this latching and "pwee-ing" ritual for a few times until she eventually builds up her frustration into a giant wail. only then will she agree to remain latched on.

i asked the PD - said could be nipple confusion or i have some scent on my body that she doesn't recognize. hubby says this behaviour only started after i commenced my massage cos the oils are very strong. but i've already stopped the massage on thur, yet her behaviour continues.

really shang1 nao3 jin1...and makes feeding time so stressful for me

How long should we pump BM? I do it every 3 hours, n tried to pump for 30minutes. 5mins each breast for 3 times, enough? Currently, still 40ml only on my 10th day. My daughter currently drinking 70ml, so now still giving her half BM and half FM. Sigh...

Eliaw,
Thank you. Will eat as much.

Snowbelle,
My lower spine still aching. Guess I sit too much. Need to rest more.

Can AVENT breastshell be sterilised? I called their customer service to check ytd, but they din get back to me yet. =(
I like the breast shell too. Dun like disposable pad liao.
Breast shell can hold the BM so that not wasted. Now a drop oso very precious. sigh... When my milk coming?

Vine_gal,
I'm doing full month on 15TH march, on my 30th day of confinement. My MIL will take charge. What is there to can involve leh? Blurr Blurr???

All,
As for me, I'm wondering if I wanna invite my ex-colleagues. For those who dun know, the department that I'm working with was closed down during my 8th months pregnancy, as such I will get a new job after my confinement.
Our department still have close network, hence many know liao. What u gals think Invite or not invite? My the other colleague who gave birth in Dec invited some of them, those closer to her.

BX,
I applied RUyi Oil on the 3rd day liao. Should be OK. No complain from the mid-wife when I paid a visit to them on my bb 4th day

bluegin,
in the hospital, i pumped every 2 hours (cos the hospital pump very easy to use). supply built up very quickly. now that i'm home, i only pump every 3 to 4 hours. and can see that supply increase is super slow haha...if you can, try to pump more often.

i also had very bad backache post delivery. lasted for one week and only went away when the massage lady came.

re the breast shell, ya know what you mean about every drop is precious!! the first time i saw milk collected in the breast shell, i was soooo happy!! but my LC says not to use it all the time cos the opening presses on the aerola and can cause blockage. so you may want to alternate with breast pad.

for yr full month, can invite those closer to you lor.

A quick summary of my labour story:
13 Feb
0545 waterbag leaked.
1055 admited to hospital.
1300 Confirmed my gynae, hence On drip
1700 Feel contraction, 2cm diluted.
2000 contraction getting worse, still 2cm diluted. request for gas.
2359 cannot stand the pain so request for epidural. Already 3cm diluted.
14Feb
0400 Cervix not opened. Diluted to 8cm, but running a fever. Apply antibotics. BB trying to push herself out from cervix.
0730 Still 8cm diluted with the fever not subsided. Cervix not opened. Gynae suggested for C-section. Now, bb still trying to push herself
0753 BB was out.

Thank you, Garfield. I have better understanding liao. Will alternate with breastpad.
At the same time, rest more and eat more. My weight now is 59Kg, 4kg more than my pre-pregnancy weight.

my bb tried pushing even right when I'm at Operating threatre. the moment I saw her, she had david beckham rooster hairstyle. push until her hair all stand up.

any of you using my brest friend nursing pillow? Is it good? Max weight of a child on it?

Are you gals getting a sling? Which one? MIM? Silk or Cotton?

Hi, yes another day of feed, latch, and pump.....

Blue ginger, my friend gave me my best friend nursing pillow, i find it quite useful. however, CL quite discouraging, says that her previous customers do not find it good.

I also got a sling, the MIM one, but have not even start using :p

I have bought the Fenugreek from GNC highly recommended by my forum friend.... but i am not sure how many to take....the dosage on it is one to two daily... wonder if it is right.

tubao, dont be discouraged.... my IL also like this, when i am preggie, they dont even ask about me or anything, now baby is here, they come here every day..... and they only see baby, dont even talk to me. only ask you sure got milk??? when i finish pumping, my MIL will try to peep the bottle how much is there.

So far CL is ok, just tat yesterday she made a remarks which upset me, i just pump and baby wants to latch, after latching still cry, then she says, oh poor thing, mother no milk is it???!!!

sickening.

OK, going to bath now, finally 12th day!!!

yalor, tubao.
My own mother oso said that BF so troublesome. Discourage me by saying making yourself so busy during feeding time. half here and half there. Just ignore them. But my MIL very encouraging. Just say that it will be tough for me. ALTHOUGH she know nothing abt BF, she said just try.

Winnie,
Just wondering how long can this pillow be used till. 3 months or 1 years old, etc.

Sling:
Which is better? Cotton or Saten Silk?

bluegin,
wish i can be as hardwording as you... though wanted to pump every 3 hrs... but nipples very sore and pain... pump once at night, morning, afternoon and evening only... no wonder my ss still so low.,.. combined both breasts only 20ml...

why must apply ruyi oil for bb?

I don't understand... why cervix not opened but still can dilate?

blocked milk duct,
if after we clear the blocked milk duct, will it get block again?

blue gineer, i think the saten silk may be better, but then it is more ex.... but hor, i am quite tempted to get the bjorn carrier too.

I think pillow can use for a few months as when I went Parentcraft to consult on BF, I saw a mum with 4 mth old boy still using it.

Snowbelle, I think even clear liao still can get block one.....

Garfield, i oso thot massage oils could b a reason but i'm bf bb now straight after massage and no such behaviour lei. LC thinks could be prob with positioning tt leads bb to shake head. Mine sometimes uses fists to push me away and jerk her head back. Don't know wat to do..

re: BF
my mum too.. she dun really encourage mi on bf.. always made comments like "aiyo, u(bb) hungry again so fast? mummy got not enuf bm lah", "why dun u feed her fm?" etc.. she may not know that all these comments actually hurt mi.. sigh..

she said the same things when I had my son, so i only bf my son for 1 mth and gave up liao.. partly due to her comments and partly i was not pumping regularly..

but for this round, i m quite determined to bf my gal as long as i can.. so when she made those comments, i juz ignore it lor.. she always said she bf mi the longest, till i abt 3 yrs old.. so i wonder how come she dun encourage mi bf-ing my gal ? maybe cos her milk flow more than mi and she feel "heartache" for mi/my gal that my milk flow not much despite all the latching & pumping? sigh..

today is my day 7, and i see an increase in milk flow.. able to pump 60ml this morng as compared to the 20-30ml for last few days.. i think the regular latch on & pumping help mi achieve this.. will continue and hope to see further increase in milk flow..

Fenugreek:

Toy and Winnie: Can get fenugreek from GNC but heard from my friend say that it only maintain supply. I normally take 6 to 8 capsules in one day (morning, noon, late noon and evening)

Full Month Shower:
Bluegin: Going to have full mth this coming sat, regards to cake mil say must order a round cake to represent full mth instead of cupcakes. What to involve, I think just order food and take note the no of pax coming and ordering of cakes ba.

Ru yi Oil
Bx: My mum start apply ru yi oil on the 4th day when my bb come back home. Suppose to get rid of "wind" in his tummy as we rub the oil on our palm and make him smell nicer =).

My Brest friend nursing pillow
It is gd as it support our back and can rest our hands as we do not have to carry our bb. However, I realise that it would be of gd use when bb is abt 2 wks old and abv. When my son get heavier, I need to secure the pillow tighter if not the weight will cause the pillow to 'sink" down. How long can the pillow should be depends ba cos it did not state in the instruction. www.mybrestfriend.com

Anyone feeding bb with syringe? Mine cries and cries when i feed ebm with syringe macham kena force fed. I'm afraid to use bottle. Worried she may reject my breast later.

blueginger
satin silk is more cooling. cotton is easier for beginner.

re: ruyi oil
it's to get rid of stomach wind. i think that time we used it for my gal after the umbilical cord dropped.

ruyi oil:
i see that a number of u start using liao. this morning juz ask mil when she wanna start using, she say not so fast. my bb umbilical cord dropped off today.

breastmilk:
my breastmilk seems to have fishy smell. do u face the same problem as me?

burping:
what to do if my bb doesn't burp?

Snowbelle,
you make me feel worser now. I pumped every 3 hours but my ss still 20~30ml from both breasts.

Ruyi Oil is to get rid of wind in tummy.

I oso dun understand why they said cervix not opened, still can dilute 8cm. But got to know many nurses there from morning to night shift. after my delivery, they still visit me at ward.

Happymum,
Envied your ss. I must work-harding. Pump every 2hours now, but ss still total 20ml per pumping.

Thank you for all your comments on the sling and nursing pillow. Y sateen silk cannot be for beginner? I thot of getting one nursing pillow, still considering...

Umbilical cord drop.
My gal Channet's one drop last night. We have hard-time locating it cos she is cranky and we shifted her from room to room. Thank goodness, finally find it on sofa. I was almost crazy.

so many postings to catch up over the weekend.

yday went shopping with my hubby, gal and bb. so happy to do so after being grounded for more than 3 wks (other than visiting gynae/PD).

garfield
i didn't take anything specially to increase ss. only ate what my mum cooks for me which is abt the same every other day: lots of black fungus, black bean soup, red date water, fish. milo is my breakfast and teabreak.

bx
most of the time my bb doesn't burp even tho i tried for a long time. then i just let him be. gotta expect bb to regurgitate milk tho if bb has swallowed lots of wind.