(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

blueginger

let me make you feel better. Coming to 4th week...my supply still not more than 40 ml...Got a LC to help latch on...tried for 3 days...give up. Baby just keep crying...guess cannot get enough milk..

will still continue expressing....give him whatever i have....better than none...

Full month celebration
Vine : hee me also having Full month baby celebration this Sat 1 March. Cater buffet from Neo garden and cakes from Melrose...

Snowbelle,
The massage lady usually massage for 1.30hr to 2hrs. Dependent on individual whether they have more problems or not. I didn't measure the inches shed but can see my stomach goes down considerably.

Blueginger,
I find the brest friend pillow very useful! but costly. Now not breastfeeding but still use it for feeding my son. Cos don't have to hold him and have one hand free.

Full month celebration
Vine & Julie
I'm having mine this saturday as well ha ha ha. Catering from Elsie. Cost about $800 plus cos invited more than 60 pax. Mainly my hubby's side. and got the cakes from Choz 30 boxes = $507.

good afternoon all,
didn't get good sleep last night. latch bb at 12am, 2am, 5am, 8am. although this sounds a good interval, i still miss the 1st night she's back home that she wakes up only at 12am, and 6am. kinda 'mao dun' cos wanna her to sleep longer so that i can sleep better, on the other hand, worry that she's not having enough and may develop jaundice cos not enough intake.
this afternoon, kacau her when sleeping to latch her.

i gave up on pumping already. it's really tiring. got to assemble, pump, disassemble, sterilize, over and over again.
so, now will try to kacau her more when i feel engorgement. the problem now is that her sleeping hour is very long. minimum 3 hours. everytime i latch is about 15 minutes then she fall asleep already. tried ways to lure her to wake up, she just totally ignore me..

if I latch her only 1 side (alternate) per 3 hour w/o pumping, not sure if my supply will drop or not. and i am afraid i will have more and more blocked ducts if I do that. breast is always very hard now..

ok. she's now eye big big looking at me. i'd better go and lure her for another feed liao. ciao....

blueginger
beginner can also use satin silk. i started off using satin silk last time. just that the sales lady said cotton material is easier to handle and tighten.

bx
did you take lots of fishes? what we eat will affect the taste and nutrient of the BM.

I have just started on the fenugreek. hehee got to try anything and everything people say so as to see if i can increase the SS.

I am trying to keep up with 2 feed, and then pump, then for the 3rd feed, i will latch again but feed her EBM. Then the whole cycle repeats again.

So this makes it a possible pump of around 4 to 5 times per day.... really hope it is sufficient.....

i have a cheeky bom bom breastfeeding pillow for sale, cos i got a best friend pillow as a gift.... going at $12, self collect at sengkang, if anyone of you interested let me know your offer.

Thanks!!!

actually i always squirm when i latch her on, cos it hurts... maybe due to the existing "damage". but i think my latching skills still not there yet sigh...

unlatch worse, i always put my last finger in, she clenches even harder with her gum... i seem to need to dig my nipple out when she let go a bit...

i dont have to heart to pull her mouth open with my finger.....

Drinking water during confinement
Anyone drink water during their confinement? I was told to avoid drinking water during my confinement totally but I find it causing me bad water retention on my feet! I am TBF as well... How?? super upset

I had blood on my lips this morning too!!!

andrea,
i do drink water - warm one. most of the time because the red dates longan water my MIL prepared is not enough for me. as a result, she cannot forbid me for drinking. :p
I've got water retention too. think it's normal.
i always have cracked lips whenever i am too heaty.
why not you dilute the red dates longan tea with hot water and increase your water intake? btw, when you boil the red dates tea, do you take out the core of the red dates. they are very heaty. must take it out.

very admire you on the delivery w/o epi. i failed my mission :p

i'm back at home now....congrats to all mummies who have popped !

this is my 2nd day at home and yest i was already feeling the post natal blues kicking in, can't sleep at night keep waking up every hour to check on my bb, a bit gan cheong and dunno what to do when he cries...

i am still on tbf now, coz both mom and mil thinks my bm supply quite good...but i am not sure. i do feel my nipple a bit sensitive but still bearable, i just apply the medela cream now and then. my breast also feels very hard but not painful...not sure if this is engorgement? trying to massage the breast now in circular motion hoping that it will reduce the hardness and make it softer. then my baby also keep throwing up a bit of milk today, not sure if i overfed him?

am also having bad water retention plus a bad case of piles...mom said that piles is normal for normal delivery, do all of you experience that? sigh, am very scared to go toilet now...and sitting down can be quite a pain
feel so miserable...but today is better after i can pass motion, hopefully things will start getting better...

i m helping my friend to look for baby to daytime babysit..

she is staying near yishun chong pang. actually she is looking after my gal now but i will sent her to childcare soon.

she is 43yrs old and has taken care of 3 babies so far.. experienced, friendly, carring and easy going. i m very happy to have her to take care of my girl.

please consider her if u or your friend are looking for yishun baby sitter. thanks

you can PM me for her information

Andrea

I dilute the red date tea with hot water to increase my water intake. You can also alternate with barley water. You must drink a lot of fluids ok? My baby had a fever at 5 days old cos she was dehydrated (I'm on TBF). I suspect becos I was so busy with BF that I didn't take enuff fluid.

i am still waiting for my turn to pop... one side of me want the bb to come out soon 'cos feel that it's getting heavier and heavier, feeling painful when i turn and walk.... the other side of me quite scare of another round of sleepless nights, sore nipples, engorgement, etc etc...

bkkgal
during confinement can drink barley water? thought it's cooling, can't take during that period.

andrea
you can dilute the red date tea with warm water and drink.

xiao yun
i think it's better to avoid drinking warm water during confinement. don't remember i had water retention during my last round confinement.

My mom gave me barley water in the hospital. Dunno lah. Whatever they give me, I just drink. I drink warm water to take medicine too. A little bit ok lah otherwise very thirsty.

sunny,
really? i thought it's normal to have water retention?
oh no.. must be very careful liao. wish can be back to my pre-pregnancy state asap.
now with breastfeeeding, i think my tummy shrinked quite a bit liao. hb can notice that. felt very happy.

re: pass motion
i have not pass motion yet le. how ah? a bit scare of my wound cos of the forcep. however, pain down there subsided quite a bit. now can move freely too..

errm...i can't drink red date water cos bb jaundice. so no choice have to drink water. can't be drinking milo and soup all day long =P

Hi tute

I also suffered from piles... in fact, the piles are so painful that I have difficulty sitting down or lying down on the first few days after delivery. Gynea gave me medicine to reduce the size, but the piles was more painful after I passed motion.... now I'm very scared to go toilet.

After the 4th day, when my piles is slightly better, I can feel my stitches pain... then tt nite, I passed motion, I started feeling both pains... anybody experience the same?

How long does it take the wound to recover? I need to sit on the float everytime.... very torturing...

Hi, Vine_gal\bkgal\eliaw\blueginger\winnie
Thanks very much for encouragement. I wrote diary to release my stress; think getting your gal's words are much better. ^_^

Last night CL commented that breastfed baby grow faster hoh... see your baby grow so fast. hehe...

Trigger point of my message is that MIL kept asking to weight baby and say that baby is too thin. Our baby is 4kg now(2.98kg at birth 26 days ago).

Last night hubby told MIL alone better not to nag about my milk supply; and baby weight, and etc.

I am suprised to see my shy hubby to take initiative to talk to his mother. Then I shared all my dissatisfaction with him.

We decided to let MIL continue one more month first.

We can't do much with MIL's capability. So for basics(bathing/changing diaper,etc) I need to observe and teach MIL with patience.

About her staying idle and not taking initiative to help; I also had faults. Hubby say that I shall ask her to help; not just say ok to everything. Initially when she came over, she gave us 2 days' notice when she went out for shopping/meeting friends, then 1day/0.5day/not tell all. Hubby suggested that now we need her help so I can get some rest at daytime; I need to tell her clearly what she must help .

Told my hubby that I am tough project leader at work, and guide fresh graduates and new comers a few times. Now I need to apply project dealine pushing skills to MIL.^_^

Guess that it's quite challenging to guide/ask her. But seems that hubby got quite confidence on me. And MIL confessed to hubby alone last night that she felt herself quite useless, "bu4 hui4 xiang3". I will give a try.

Vinegal, I'm taking fenugreek too. Just started n taking 6 per day, was wondering if it's ok. Glad to know u taking 6-8 per day.

tubao, tell ur mil that your bb growing very well cos my pd told me bb supposed to gain 900g in 1 month. Yours less than 1 mth already more than 1 kg liao. ;)

Blueginger, I just bought Avent Isis Pump and the Avent breast shell from Metro today. The breast shell can be sterilised, I asked the sales girl today.

re: pass motion and stiches
my gynae gave me some medication for prevention of constipation. I thk it worked very well for me cos like some of u, i was feeling the pain fm the stiches as well as afraid of pushing my stools out.

emoments,
i sat on the float for abt 1wk plus. now m at 2 wks plus, though wound not fully recovered but pain no longer there. But m still moving ard wid some care cos' still kinda afraid.

bkkgal,
congrats to u too!! yep, bb cldn't wait to come out to join us for CNY celeb, valentine's day and our wedding anniversary day. So, decided to come out abt 2wks earlier.
So glad to knw u had a smooth delivery too despite ur situation. Yep, i too didn't put any moisturiser on bb's skin though he was peeling and i notice it is getting better as the days pass.

mummies on confinement,
any mummies having headache and diarrhoe, i was wondering if i am too heaty. Started to drink water cos' i suspect so... and m beginning to suspect if my BM is also 'heaty' for my boi cos' he was constipated for a long while and finally yestr, he pooed 3 times aftr getting him to take some water. m so relieved cos he was always having this strained look on his face.

Snowbelle,

My milk supply kicked in on day 6; on day 5 I was very disapponinted. After day6/day7 extensive pumping/massaging, I tbf my baby from day8 onwards.

Don't give up easily. Sometimes when you feel most lousy/disppointed, next day is your lucky day.

For mums stressed with baby, hang on there. Baby will grow fast and their fussiness will go away before we find out reason.

toot,
Welcome back.
POST-natal Blue
Always think positive. tell yourself u r a first-time mum. Still in the learning process.
Talk in the forum oso can make you feel better.
Always tell yourself "tmr will be better." It is true. Each day is better than the previous.

I'm up at wee hours to pump ss.
Not bad now cos each pump, every 2 hours still can get 30ml. BUT still not enough to sustain my girl appetite of 70ml each feed.

DO your child get cranky at night? My girl get very cranky from 7pm to 2am. Need to feed her every hours, den she vomit the milk out after that. And she cannot sleep. Eyes open big big. If u ignore her, she will cry and cry. you have this experience?

Thank you for your comments on sling and nursing pillow. I think will go ahead to buy the sateen silk sling. As for the nursing pillow, how much?? someone in this forum said it is very expensive.

Kitsune,
Thank you. I was abt to call avent customer service this morning to check again. Bad service.

tubao,
bb is so adorable in the photos. Good job for your full-month celebration. Just wondering if you gals order cakes for individual or order a big one, den cut and share among those to come to your bb full-mth celebration?

wATER retention
It is a norm to hv water retention after labour. At least for the confinement mth. still hv it after one mth, need to consult gynae.

Drinking water
My mum said that it will weigh down yor eyelid in the end. Hence avoid drinking water. Take more of the red-dates drink. Dilute is still better than water. Not sure abt warm water, but dun take the risk.

BTW, Do you give your bb warm water after each feed? I din, so I think that is the reason behind why she din poo poo everyday.

xiao yun
hee.. that's the best part of BF. tummy will shrink fast and it helps the uterus to go back to normal size faster, too.
mayb you wanna call your gynae and let him/her know that you haven't passed motion since delivery? i read that it's important to make sure that the bowel movement is back to normal after delivery.

leila
did you put 'dang gui' in your soup/dishes? last time, i also had diarrhea after taking dang gui for 2 or 3 days. my mil said i was too heaty already. then she reduced the portion and the diarrhea situation got better.

bluegin,
so hardworking! jia you!!

colicky babies,
i'm reading this book called The Happiest Baby on the Block. teaches the 5'S' for soothing babies and stop crying.

1. Swaddling
2. Side of stomach - baby's fav position
3. Shhh - baby's fav soothing sound
4. Swinging
5. Sucking

For the shhh sound, try switching on vacuum machine. it will calm a crying baby.

i'm going to buy this CD from Amazon.com - The Happiest Baby on the Block New "Super Soothing" Calming Sounds CD =P

pass motion,
mine was 3rd day. then every other day for one week. now go everyday (back to normal).

cheryl,
try the vacuum machine. it works. maybe can record the sound and play back! or buy the CD =P

do u all still swaddle the bb after 1mth?? i wan to stop but seem like he can slp better with it. so i only swaddle him at nite...

kitsune
i wanted a spare breastpump 4 convenience. eg i can use pump #1 at 12pm, pump #2 at 3pm, pump #1 at 6pm, etc. if not helper gotta keep washing & sterilising. very leh chey when there's so much work 2 do liao, in a family wif 2toddlers.

vernon
passing motion is painful right hor? i still remember the feeling.....
after 1 mth, i didn't swaddle my gal anymore...

Cheryl, I did not really swaddle my boy from 3rd wk onwards cos weather is super hot and he is perspiring esp feeding him with fm or latch him on for bm.

Passing motion
I manage to pass motion on the 2nd day after bb is born. In Mt A, I was given medicine to soften the stool and need to take it like 3 times. It helps as the stool won't be so hard. Not sure other mummies taken this medicine in hos or not? Drink more fluid so that the stool can be pass out.

passing motion
For both my c-sec deliveries, i had no prob passing motion after d urine tube was removed. D stools were soft n sometime watery (due 2 wind inside mi).. I can pass motion a few times in a day..

bluegin,
Don't feel this way... Each individual is diff... maybe your ss may just shoot up the next day? Did you drink lots of water and soups? I noticed that when I didn't drink enough, my ss dropped... Don't feel discourage. Let's work hard together

Red date tea,
Must the red date tea be thicker in order to be effective? The one that my mil made is very diluted, don't know got use or not leh?

Confinement,
How long is the confinement period? 28 or 30 days?

Full-month celebration,
Can I celebrate after bb full month or it must be before? 'Coz bb full month falls on a Mon, and I dunno am I still doing confinement or not... so thinking if I celebrate on the weekend after the full month, at least I can bathe liao...

Sigh... now my hair smells liao garbage...

moi_dar,
I've enagaged Mdm Suri, she's coming over tomorrow... Does she massage back as well? Anything we need to prepare for massaging?

tute,
I also have piles, it's normal for normal delivery coz of the pushing... I was worried about passing motion, so Dr Wong gave me a bottle of stool softener... it helps a lot... now after 1 week, think no more pain from the stitches, piles seem getting better also... but still feel no strength below...

tubao,
Your bb so cute... the 2 photos at the bottom, looks so big leh...

Water retention,
According to my gynae, ml can also help to massage away the water retention... actually now my feets damn swollen...

shaving,
I delivered in TMC, the nurse got helped me shaved a bit... dunno how's the 'result', didn't bother to check too...

vine/cheryl,
Re: swaddle
Cheryl, if ur bb slp better wif it, continue 2 swaddle him.. My mum keep my son in swaddle till 2mth plus to 3 mth.. Bb will not be frighten easily when in swaddle.

Vine, yes agreed d weather is hot n bb can perspire in swaddle. We use diaper cloth 2 swaddle bb as it is thinner.. Anyway, my gal will still manage 2 wriggle her hands n legs out of it.. Hee..

snowbelle,
My confinement period is for 40 days.. Tis means i ate confinemt food for 40 days. I shower at day 5 n wash hair at day 6. I continue 2 shower daily n intend 2 wash hair every 2-3 days.. I feel its impt to keep body clean since i n bf-ing my gal.

hppymum2b,
You use herbal water to bathe or just normal hot shower? I don't mind to eat confinement food for 40 days... but really need to bathe and wash my hair... I wonder I can tahan till when...

pleasant surprise,
This morning received a call... and it really made my day man... Few months ago, I sent my photo to New Mom magazine to join Happy Belly contest, and they really picked my photo... they said it will be published in the next issue... it's really a surprise to me... coz I never put on any makeup... just took the photo before swimming... they going to send me the gift this Wed :D

snowbelle,
I use both. Use d herbal one 1st n rinse myself clean n 2 get rid of d smell wif hot shower. Feel so refreshed n clean aft each shower..

Oh, n congrats tat they picked ur photo 4 d magazine.. U muz be v delighted..