(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tongtong: I understand wat u mean. Not enough sleep and latching on bb can be so tired, i also felt like fallen asleep when i latch my son. My bb also have like acne on his face. So everytime after finish his FM or BM I would use warm water with cotton and wipe his face. But it is common to have pimples dun worry.

Ytd nite i also break down cos mum n hb not ard and bb keep crying dunno wat he want too. I also din really drink lots of alcohol for this one mth confinement. My mum din really force me but somehow I forget to drink dom at nite. I guess right now we are still trying to get use to another new life. it is ok to stress and cry..but do not give up! Give pour yr woes here and share with us can liao.

Hi Kelly,
If your baby not latching on, then must pump to stimulate the ss.

Tong tong,
I have been going out like nobody business. Didn't really stick to the confinement rules and still feel ok. Only thing is must get enough rest and eat sufficient will do. Don't need to keep eating more and more. I started bathing the min I got home even and still feel as fit as a fiddle! This is my second time delivering, first time confinement also the same thing. Main thing is don't get stress up by anyone.

Baby may be crying becos he/she is feeling uncomfortable especially shortly after a feed. They may have burped but still have alot of wind in the stomach. The other reason could simply be that they are going through growth spurt. So feel more cranky.

Kitsune,
If you gal still clamping tightly to your nipple, then you have to stick your finger into her mouth and gently force her to open it, if not your nipple is going to suffer. I didn't have more sore/crack nipple problem this time round cos of the breast shell and latching. But have to stop cos same reason as June. Doc advise better to stop first before problem arises.

moi_dar,
What is ss? My bb does not since to be full. Besides, BF for 30mins, I oso bottlefeed her with 60ml of FM. Still she is hungry. How?

tong,
i think you need some "me" time. take a break from the confinement rules if they are driving you nuts.

like moi dar, i also bathe every day and that's my "me" time to destress. also have gone to parkway parade and ikea =P not to mention trips to the polyclinic to test bb jaundice.

i think everything should be done in moderation. some confinement rules really no basis one. if you find it causing you too much stress, just push back and say no.

kelly
like what moi dar said, you can still express the milk out to stimulate the ss. my friend gv full EBM 'cos her gal didn't wanna latch on. she managed to bf her gal for 14 mths. jia you!

tong tong
after each feed, try to let your mum to take care of your boy so that you can get enough sleep. tiredness can really make one feeling depressed.
like you, when i was doing my stressful confinement period 1st round and took care of my care full time during maternity leave, i told myself that i would never want 2nd kid anymore 'cos i was really tired of all the cryings of the bb and the naggings from ppl around me. but when my gal grew up gradually, i decided to try for another one.

before i had my elder gal, i never handled bb before, not even carry bb before. so, during the confinement and when i handled my gal full time, i kept telling myself that both me and my gal are adjusting to the new changes.
cheer up!

vine,
my boi also takes ard that amt but at times, 1hr aftr a 70ml feed, he wld fuss again and my CL wld say he wants his milk again since he can't sleep. So,no choice, i've got to monitor sometimes, scared overwk his system since it's FM. And he's now become smarter, don't wanna take water liao....
btw, do u use a pacifier?

faten, happy 3 wks old to ur little one

kelly, i also feel sad that i have not enuf BM and earlier on i was always tearing but now i feel bb's healthy is most impt. i really don't wann feel miserable and miss out the days as he grows older...btw, 2day is the first day he peed on me. hahaha! :p

tong tong and cheryl,
how do u know the amt of FM to give ur bb?

tong tong, dun be sad. i oso feeling miserable. bb slight jaundiced. sore breasts. insufficient sleep. being ordered around. and worse, i find that i cannot trust others to take care of my bb. hence make myself very stress.

tong, +hugz+
guess u are not alone.. my mil is watching me like a hawk! when bb cries, i will try to attend to him, then my mil will stand n watch me!so piss

like what u said, kept asking me to zzzzzzz....machiam i like pig!
ask me to eat n eat,siao...
so now when bb cries, in the day, i totally shut off... let her handle since she so keen

tong, have more kids..they are blessing

linda, heehee.. i kanna fly kite by someone..so i let my boi fast fast use it. u using drypers? i find them not so good. cutting veri small... wont recommend anyone to use..

moi_dar,
Thanks. Maybe I'll try to see a Lacation consultant to solve my engorgement and latching on problem... But as long as total EBM is possible, I'm happy enough.

kitsune_sg,
Once I put my nipple into her mouth, she will cry... or will suck a bit then let go and cry like someone torturing her like that... gotta give up and feed her formula instead coz I scared too much wind go into her stomach after crying so long...

sweetpea,
I totally agreed with you... I missed the time when she's willing to latch on and suck for a little while... sigh... dunno will there be a way to solve it by seeing the LC or not... Do you still feed him with EBM?

I think the cabbage leaves works for me too, feel better compared to using hot towel. But somehow the area near the areola is always hard even after pumping.

stephie,
Thanks. I tried your method and gotten slightly more milk now. Before that I tried to massage first before pumping, then ended up most of the milk dripping away, not much left when pump... Thk will pump and massage at the same time, then after pumping, I'll massage the hard areas that are covered by the pump, hopefully my whole breasts will soften.

I'm a bit given up hope on latching her on... maybe when milk flow is better, will try to latch her on again... but afraid that she already got nipple confusion liao... won't want my breasts even got good milk flow...

Engorgement,
After we clear the engorgement, will it come bak again?

xiaoyun, Andrea & tute,

bluegin,
Wow... your bb got lots of hair leh... so dark somemore, did you eat a lot of black sesame paste? Next time long hair very nice one... For name, I would vote for qizhen.

hi good evening all mummies,
i'm discharged from hospital this afternoon..
20th midnight ~230 am: start dripping to induce
2am: contraction started
4:30 am: cervix opened till about 3-4 am. cannot tahan the backache anymore. ask for gas.
5:30 am: even cannot tahan. ask for epi.

2 pm: gynae came in and check finally 10 cm dilation.
2:15 pm: starts pushing but feeling so numb and don't know how to use the force.
2:30 pm: gynae suggested vacuum. no choice agreed to use.
2:45 pm: gynae suggested forcep. bb finally came out with distorted skull and scratch on right eye.

anyway, breastfeeding is tough. latching on for about 4~5 times in hospital until nipple sore and bleeding. borrowed the pump in hospital. a few drops of pathetic colostrum came out. bb was supplemented with fm in hosptital.

came back and pump again cos nipple really painful. pumped until muscle ache, 15 ml came out from both sides.
bb finished them in 10 mins.
keep crying..
no choice, latch on she satisfied for 1 hour.
cried again, latch on another side for 1/2 hour now she slept for 2 hours already.

i think my milk is coming in. breast feeling full. will latch on again when she wakes up later. pumping with manual pump is really tiring and troublesome cos need to sterilise everytime to use.

i used the avent breast shell. they are really good in protecting the sore nipple. nurse gave me the purelan to use. she suggested to mix with bm to apply. i think they are useful too...

already 3 days never bathe and wash hair. now smelly like shit. tomorrow will ask hb to sponge clean me..

my wound down there is very big because using forcep. have difficulty walking, sitting down and standing up. hai...

Hi mummy ,

for those going to celebrate ur bb full month , if u all need to print small little card or invitation card , i got lobang , with affordable price , nice n good printing ! And the card can be design to ur liking =)
Interested can email me at [email protected] for more info .. or can PM me =)

Leila, if the amt is ok how much milk powder did you put in? maybe milk powder not enough? Or u want to try adding a little milk powder? My son now also dun like to drink plain water but sometimes when he cry my mum will try to feed him plain water. He very funny dun like plain water when drinking make alot of funny noise! No choice he still have to take a sip or two. haha But, as a guide line at least one day try drink half a bottle of plain loh if possible. Nope, I dun let my son use pacifier and hopefully he wont use it.

Tongtong dun let this experience discourage u from having another child. Just that my mum not that loso have to eat this and tat have to sleep etc. Although she did initially but den she have to run between my hse and her hse so I guess she is tired and did not nagged at me so much. However, when my mil or relative visit me..they will start the whole thing again. For bb I will let my mum handle him but i will step in when she is not available or not ard. At nite try to get more sleep if not u will be stress out, tired, cranky and depress.

Like the rest have mention, if u dun feel like doing just tell them no. I also run out 3 times, to do chk up, visit chinese physician and went out to post stuff. Best is my mum and bb also accompanied me. Sometimes we really do need a break n walk out of the hse sometimes. Chill and relax "hugz"

Xiaoyun: yr induction also drag quite a while hor.
take care of yr wound ok also rest well.
Pumping manually or electronic is always a chore for me too. cos tired and the ss is not much but jiayou!

Blueginger,
Usually around 2nd-3rd week, babies tend to drink more than usual as they are experiencing growth spurt. May have to supplement with FM if your milk supply is not enough.

Snowbelle,
Engorgement will keep coming back if you don't empty out your breast.

if you want to increase your milk supply, try not to put cabbage on too often as it will reduce the milk supply.

moi_dar,
If no more milk coming out after pumping, the whole breast should be soft without any lumps, right? If there is, means engorgement right?

congrats emoments!

Linda, here's wishing u a smooth and gd delivery. When's ur EDD?

vine, i pro-rate the milk powder accordingly to the recommended amt. eg. if stated use 40ml of water, mix wid 1 scoop of milk powder, if 80ml then mix wid 2 scoops...shd b enuf rite?

Avent breast shields, can someone advise me if they are better than the breast pads? also, are the breast shields big? cos i was wondering if i need to buy a bigger nursing bra to accomodate the shields.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Xiaoyun!
</font> You doing confinement at home ya? Next time, can I go visit you and your baby after confinement?

Snowbelle, ya, continue to pump and SS will increase. But I think LC can advise you on the best way to latch your baby, the first time I managed to latch my bb successfully was also when the LC was around while I was still in hospital. It was such a relief for me then. Jia you jia you.

Tongtong, hugz. Don't feel sad, I was feeling very overwhelmed during the first few weeks of my confinement too. BB crying, SS low, cannot do this cannot do that, keep having to drink hot soup or hot red date tea but keep sweating. Cannot use fan, cannot shower. Kept complaining to hubby, or just stare into space and stone. Today is the first day I can shower cos confinement finally over. I agree, can be very pek chek, but jia you and take it one day at a time and before you know it, confinement over liao.

Dor, I'm suffering from sore nipples these few days too. BB keep on pulling on my nipple and turning her head and searching. Very painful!
Now, my nipples are long and pointing south, really scared that it will be irreversible.

Kel, I'm buying Avent ISIS pump this Sunday since Metro got 20% discount. Your price is even better but don't wanna to buy from you because don't want to encourage you to stop BF lar. I know you must be feeling so tired and stressed with HFMD now but if you stop BF now, you may regret later. Just keep pumping every 3 hours to maintain supply until your princess come back. Next Thurs is just 6 days away. Jia you jia you! Ganbatte!

thks 4 ur advice, encouragement &amp; concern. am so touched &amp; glad i hv mummies like u. i often feel very bad tat i cant come in 2 share my experiences &amp; comfort some mummies.

i've been taking goat's rue n i guess it helped. at 330pm, i expressed 20ml but at 930pm, i managed 2 express 60ml. i didnt drink more water in tat 6hrs, in fact i didnt even eat much dinner cos e ulcers in my throat still bother me a lot.

i was taking fernugreek but no use on me. heng, i got some goat's rue.

kitsune
so totful of u. i m very touched. actually i hv 2 avent manual pumps. i got myself a BN set on thur nite cos i wanna express more 4 my girl since she's now at my mum's plc but since ss suddenly dropped, i tot i might as well sell e BN set off cos e present one i hv is gd enuff 2 help me express some milk.

Xiaoyun,

Kitsune,
so envious....your confinement over! talk about sweating all the time. i feel like i'm going for a sauna each time i BF cos struggling with bb and getting her to latch on just makes my perspiration pour down non stop (even with air con on full blast)! i take my hat off to you can tahan one month without bathing. i showered during my 3rd day in KKH *hee hee*

btw, how do you find the medela PIS? do you know the difference between original and advanced version?

Kelly,
jia you!! must persevere for sake of stella okie?

BF - latch on vs EBM,
me oso starting to get stressed. have been on almost 100% latch on till recently. i think my gal going through growth spurt - need to feed every half hour sometimes. my breast cannot refill so fast leh =P so use EBM. but i think hb not keen....ask me why never rest enough that's why milk not enough =(

Heres my Birth story

18 Feb
11pm - admitted hospital for induction
11.30pm - nurse put me on drip
12mn - Doc came to break water bag

19 Feb
1am - Contraction start
1.30am - injection of Epidural
4pm - pressure of bb coming out, ask for nurse.
4.15am - push to delivery ward, nurse prepare equipment.
5.30am - Doc Adrian arrive, ask to push.
5.45am - Bb is out.

Carlin Neo
2.795kg

It is really good to come in to read and share the experience on BF. sigh, i thot pregnancy is tough, i think BF is now even tougher. It seems that I am just sitting around waiting for time to pass and then feed again. Nothing else... so far, I dont have a lot of spare EBM, I just have enough to last one day....

Baby is demanding really alot, makes me doubtful if I can really meet her demand.....

I realy hope I can push on.... but sometimes really a bit tired. esp now, hubby is down with a stupid flu, and i am trying to make sure i dont kanna too. Took a flu tablet last night after confiming with gyane that it is safe to do so.

EEEE, wonder if milk supply dont goes up, does it mean i need to use FM totally when I go back to work.......

hi pp.. i am back home!!So happy that my baby is finally out
Will share my birth story but quite the same as everybody.

19th feb

11pm: Checked into TMC, doc Adrain came in bermudas and T shirt.. hehe then inserted tablet in.

12 pm - 7 am: Alone in observatory room.. imagin there are 5 beds but i was the only person there.. actually quite shiok. Contractions came.. uncomfortable to lie down and sleep. Watched korean dvds till morn.

20th feb:
730 am: cleared bowels and nurse wanted to shave then realised i am "bare" down there already.

8 am: pushed to birth room

910am: Doc adrain came and burst water bag. COntractions started to intense...was tearing.Drip was being set up as well to ripen cervix. Nurse asked whether i want epidural b4 she turned the drip on. Doc Adrain also asked me to take and enjoy the labour.

10 am: Epid administered, then drip was turned on.

11am-2 pm: Whole body numb instead of half body,epi dosage reduced immediately. Baby's heartbeat irregular becasue of drip then need to take oxygen mask. dilation only 3cm throughout. very slow.Fell asleep cause do not feel pain any more.. just waiting for cervix to open.

2pm -255 pm: drip dosage increased when baby's heartbeat stabilised.

255 pm: nurse checked, 9 cm dilated. Called doc in and doc says can start to push.

305 pm: Started to push but dunno how to, was very nervous..started crying. Doc says baby heartbeat dropping, used vacuum. Pushed 3 more times and finally baby out at 313 pm.

Actually i felt a bit lousy that i did not tahan much pain, took epi so early and even need doc to assist in delivery.Feel like i haven gone thru the labour pain. Then my hubby was quite shocked that i did not shed tears when baby was out and placed on me.. but i was too tired and too overwhelmed to cry. Am i abnormal.. should i be tearing??

Anyway.. baby's eyes open big big when she was out then when baby was placed on me.. i blurted out: Why no double eyelids..? Then doc was quite shocked and say.. "wah.. just come out and u want double eyelids..."

oki.. bb crying now.. come back and update later..

vine,
ya. mine also a draggy one.. luckily everything is fine now

kitsune,
i am doing my confinement at my PIL place, which is also bedok reservoir rd. but 2 streets away. come visit me la
. just sms me first, i will let you know the address.

my milk was dripping this morning. now using breast pad.

for the avent breast shield, good thing is it can collect bm on the other side when you doing the latching/pumping. so the milk won't be wasted.

bb is sleeping now. it's about time for me to clear my breast. hai... need to pump again. so tiring. really looking forward for my electric pump which is coming on Monday...

congrats xiao yun!wow!! so fast dripping milk...so envious. can i knw if the breast shield is big and it can be slip into the bra izit?

congrats jeannie! me also the same...when bb was put in front of me immediately aftr birth...i did't have much emotion shown...no crying or stuffs that i c on tv...jus tired fm the pushing but m really glad he came out fine and healthy

mummies who feed FM to their bbs, may i knw how many times ur bbs poo per day? mine only 1 day once and he looks kinda constipated. Try to feed water but he doesn't quite take. shd i bring him to the PD?

thx vinegal,moidar,garfield, sunny, dor, kitsune and all mummies for your comforting words and encouragement! *gan dong** now i realised i'm not alone
today dont feel stressed, maybe hubby is not working tody and can help handles my boy.

Re: EBM

Sunny, can we give EBM all the time and only latch on one to 2 times per day? i find that giving EBM all the time is easier than latchig bb on because bb will not sleep for long if i latch him on. so issit ok to only give EBM? i find it not so stressful too cuz i dont mind pumping every 3 hours and feed him in bottle

eliaw, yea i started to freeze BM liao. why?

bx: i'm referring to the suggested feed on the FM tin, also trying to gauge whether my son has enuff from his behaviour after feeding. yea!! inthe same ship with u. i dont trust others to take care of bb, so feeling stress. now taken care by mum is the best. but worried after my mum back to KL ..

xiaoyun, take care! your wound will heal very soon one.

jeannie: i was laughing away when your doc said "wah just come out and u want double eyelids, haha

leila,
Mine on half-half, she poo only once in a day or two.

Snowbelle,
I din rem I drink black seasame...
Saw your photo. Very cute. I oso like the clothing she wore. the one that have mouses on it.

All,
how to improve your BM ss. I'm kinda stress when my bm is still 30ml only on Day 9 today.
Suggestions pls. Could EBM more help to improve the flow?

Eliaw,
thank you for the clarification.

Malay Massage Lady,
Mine got something urgent and cannot to start massaging session with me... Anyone you have tried before and is good to recommend? Thanks!

Hi Happy, Erlene sooo cute and lovely.. looks like u!

Bluegin: Drink more fluid and drink more soup, keep the ss coming in slowly.

Tongtong: Glad u r ok now! Dun worry you are not alone! At least yr ss are ok that is a plus thing better den me haha!
Massage Lady:
Snowbelle, u can try Mdm Tutik, she help me to massage. Her charges are $400 for 1 wk inclusive of medicine and bathing for bb. Her contact is 96971378. Mdm Noor:90048804 recommended by Happy. Hamidah 91124903

kitsune,
Thanks. Last night tried to latch my girl... though she only managed to latch on for short while, I'm happy enough... I think it's due to my ss increase slightly...

garfield,
I just got a medela PIS, so far not bad... Last time I asked the salegirl, she said original only has 1 mode (can only pump), whereas advanced version has 2 modes (let-down and pump).

jeannie,
Don't feel lousy lah... although I wanted to deliver without epi, really can't tahan the pain... also asked for epi when the nurse tempted me... Thought my butts big can deliver smoothly, in the end, also kenna forcep... but main thing is baby and mummy are safe and healthy will do, right?

I also thought I'll shed tears when bb placed on me... I have a weird feeling at that time... very strange... look at the bb in warmer, feel like very alien to me... only when the nurse passed bb to me for bf, then feel slightly more normal...

xiaoyun,
The breast shield also need to steralise, right? Thinking of getting it... to collect bm and got sore nipples... pain-pain...

hppymum2b,
Your bb so cute... so alert... looks diff after 6 days...

bluegin,
Thanks. When doc said I might deliver early, I was a bit worried... coz bought the mouses clothes liao... then skali deliver before cny, not rat anymore :p

happymum,
Erlene is so cute. She have big eyes like you.

snowbelle,
I have not tried mine. But she is Mamik 96175345. Give her a call.

Feeding:
bb keep shaking head means the supply cannot meet her demand. Not enough milk coming out. Suggest you change another breast to lactate her.

linda

my uti recovered.. :D

jeannie

i think maybe too tired to cry liao? hee.. i rem i cry when i hear my son crying the 1st thing he being carried out of my womb.... he cry damn loudly...

Snowbelle,
After emptying out your breast, they should feel soft. But if you have blocked milk ducts, then some parts of the breast will still feel lumpy. Then you will have to massage very hard and literally squeeze the milk out. Will hurt but better than having engorgement.

Snowbelle,
My massage lady is good. Her name is Mdm Suri 92431341. She charges $60 per session. I'm done with my massage already but decided to ask her to come down once a week still for massage.

tongtong
of course can give EBM and latch on fewer times in a day. it's just like what those working mums did after they go back work after maternity leave.

latch on has its benefit especially 1st few week so that your milk supply can be stabilised. if giving EBM can make you less stressful and tiring, y not, right?