(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kitsune
i bring my kids 2 tis PD at tamp st 80+. i cant recall e exact name & add but i bring stella tis fri. i get e details 4 u. their PD is dr loke. husband n i r very pleased wif her. a few of my kids' friens use her too.

i'll PM u later abt dr lee.

wow, didnt know kidslink is so ex.

hi kitsune

may i knw which nan 1 did u use? the nan 1 ha or the nan 1 starter? cos my bb's poo is yellowish but not watery. It is soft and mashy kind. Is that normal?

Any mommies using this PD, Angeline's BB clinic located in woodlands? Or any recommendations for PD in Woodlands? My bb now has sticky and yellow right eye discharge. Anyone encountered that?

CONGRATS SNOWBELLE AND HAPPY!!

kelly,
thanks! yes, still on TBF. i think she is getting enough cos she is peeing and pooing quite a bit and i understand the way to gauge if a TBF bb is feeding enough is through the output. but i could be wrong. will give you a buzz later today.

how are your boys? recovering? is Stella ok?

Hi vine-gal,
sorry for the late reply as I have my hands full with TBF for the little one. My husband will collect from you, how can he contact you?

Dor,
can I trouble you to change baby Kate's birth weight to 3.188 instead of 2.3kg? The figure must have switched another mummy!

vine,

i am going to induce tomorrow.
gynae also said will need more than 1 day for induction.
first day is to soften cervix, second day is to put on drips.
can't go home too. got to stay in the ward after put in pills..

bx
for the 1st month, i suggest you sterilise all the pump equipments before using it.

xiao yun
3.3kg very big ah? the gynae is comparing the weight to your size is it? try to tell your bb to come out before the scheduled induction date. that's what i did last round. 'cos my gynae told me that bb was not growing anymore in the womb and scheduled a date for me for induction. so, i kept asking my gal to come out before that and it works. :D

re: frequency of poo
my gal was on TBF last time. she pooed after every feed.

kelly
can share your experience in dealing with TBF bb jaundice here? i intend to TBF my bb this round. last round my gal got jaundice and i don't think i handled it well enough.

sunny,
yup. he said i very small build. afraid that 3.3 kg cannot come out. and she's big headed somemore..
hb kept telling her to come out play liao. but i think she's just too comfy to enjoy food inside...

xiao yun
haha..... hope she come out today.
today is my gynae appt, not sure if he would perform VE to check for dilation.... i hope my boy come out tmr. then the date would be easier to remember. 20022008.
initially want him to come out on 22nd... but mil not around, scare no one take care of my gal when i am in delivery ward.

CONGRATS HAPPY AND SNOWBELLE!

leila, I've always used only Avent bottles for my DD when she was smaller, this time round also using Avent. I like Avent cause easier to wash properly (wider bottle neck). No experience with Dr Brown's but looks kinda troublesome due to all the additional parts involved.

BX, by right u are supposed to wash/sterilise BP (breast pump) after every use, but one way of 'cheating' is to stick the pump on aclean dish in the fridge in between uses, esp if u are pumping v frequently. This prevents bacteria from breeding rapidly which might happen if u just leave it out in room temp w/o washing.

Garfield, I tihnk how much pain u feel when BF even with the right latch depends alot on how sensitive you are also. For me, the 2-3 mths I was BF my dd back then was constantly painful. The sharp pains did reduce somewat after the first month but it was nowhere near painless/comfortable even though I'd seen an LC numerous times and they confirmed that the lactch was good/right. I was told that for some people, its a matter of getting used to it and 'toughening' up your nipples which will only happen with time.

POPPING- I am scheduled for this friday. Now feeling v excited and anxious all at once- the excitement comes from being able to see my bb finally, and the anxiousness comes from all the stuff I have not washed/prepared lol!

Hi Xiaoyun: Same scenario as me. Have to tong the contraction for more than 25 hrs. If really cannot take it den go for epi if not by the end u do not have the energy to push. But if u felt u can do without epi den u can try go with yr instinct. The 1st day they put the pill in you still can eat some food, the 2nd day when they drip you you cant take anymore food, but they will drip you to prevent you from hungry. I pray hard for yr cervix to soften faster den u dun have to tong for 2 days so long.

vine,
can i check with you does ur bb engaged when you go for induction? mine not yet engaged. was thinking should i directly request for c-sect if bb still not engage after the first day

sunny
will share my experiences when my boys nap. both r down wif HFMD. e 2nd son is extremely cranky so hard 4 me 2 type my grandmother stories.

berry
i totally understand ur feeling. i was dying 2 pop too but also anxious cos not sure if i can manage. our babies r exactly 1mth apart cos stella's going 4 her 1mth checkup tis fri.

Xiaoyun: My bb already engaged when my gynae ask me to induce. But somehow the 2nd day induction when early afternoon, bb head is still abit high therefore have to wait will late evening for the bb head to be lower to give birth.

Try talking to yr bb tell bb to be engage and the head to be lower.

leila,
np. i think so far so good for avent bottles. but i heard that dr brown not bad too... cos my gal used to use avent so i stay put.

kelly, can give me the contact for this PD in tamp?
do u know how much they charge for the 6 in 1 jab?

bkkgal, np.. sorry cos i did the updates in the dark...

xiaoyun/berry,
jiayou!!!

Congratulations to snowbelle and h@ppymum2b!

Hi kelly,

Must be tough taking care of your 2 boys and your gal now. You take care too okay? God bless!

Wow, all the recent births seems to be adorable gals. Now quite excited for mine to arrive. My HB has been telling me to put sheets on the bed, in his car to prevent any accidents. :p

Other than backaches and occasional tightenings of the tummy, I don't have any signs. <sigh> Hope my baby will come out soon cause all the waiting giving me strange dreams.

Just the other day, I have a dream in which my mucuous plug came out and within minutes the baby's head was out and I could not make it in time to the hospital. :p Hope in reality won't be so ka lang ka bo.

dorothy,
so pai seh, i dun even hv e no. i'm going 2 my mum's plc 2mrw. she stays very near e PD. i'll swing by 2 get e full name, add &amp; contact no then i post it here.

goodbaby, wat I did was to place the used BP into a clean ziplock bag, then put the bag on a clean plate and stick it into the fridge in between uses cause I was pumping v frequently that time, waste of time/water/energy to keep washing/sterilising every other hour right? but still must wash/sterilise at least twice a day to be safe casue after all you will be storing the BM that you pumped, must make sure the EMB is perfectly clean n safe for bb to drink also.

kelly, oh yar hor, one mth apart! Hope u are feeling better about stella now. I can imagine how u feel actually. Jia you, things will be better when ed is fully recovered and Stella is back in your arms again!

artemis, haha if your bb's head comes out so fast n easily then u are considered v lucky liao, minimum labour pain! :p

hi June, my PD is at East Shore Medical Centre - EH Low. I will double check n confirm his charges for the jab.. seems like very cheap rite!

hi bx - if u just pump to throw, then no need to sterilise la..

just curious, how do bb come out with just one push? with help of forceps or vacuum? or just purely pushing?

Thanks, Kelly, have replied your PM. Waiting for Dr Loke's contacts. Interested to know the 6-in-1 price too.

Leila, I use Nan 1 HA but may be changing FM soon. Cos after we switch to soy milk for BB yesterday night after seeing PD, she got no poo from last night until now. CL thinks Nan 1 too similar to BM, too much poo, not suitable for my BB. She asking me to buy Enfalac to try.

GoodBBB, polyclinic no PD think they are only Medical Officers (similar to GPs).

eliaw,
am interested in your PD's charges too. i stay in katong so east shore is very convenient for me. thanks!

kelly,
jia you!! hope your boys recover soon

dor,
how was your first day handling both kids alone?

kitsune,
nurse at KKH told me if want to use FM, don't keep switching brands can cause bb to have diarrhea. they recommend sticking to one brand for at least a few months.

massage,
had my first session with mdm sadiah yesterday. very effective man, one session and my tummy is back to pre-preggie flatness! but hb says won't last one haha....2nd session today. mdm sadiah is very professional - she will confirm date/time two days before coming, and msg again in the mng to remind me. very punctual also.

my hb is back at work today. so me alone with mum helping here and there with washing etc. wish me luck =)

On this coming saturday 23th Feb will be my son Andre's full month already... wow how time flew past!

So excited coz bb growing really fast ;)

I am also scheduled for induction tomorrow afternoon. Mine is by inserting gel not tablet and I heard no drip as well. Moreover I was told that I will need another dosage of gel in the late evening or night. BB's already engaged but am not dilating

just came back from gynae appt. gynae didn't do VE. he commented that the bb is at quite a low position already, but he's still growing... 2.9kg now.

leila,
thanks. ya i think will go to KKH to see PD tmw. bb is passing quite a lot of pee and poo leh. i go through 10 to 12 diapers a day...using pampers newborn so that's like $5 - $6 a day!

so is leonard's jaundice ok already?

andrea, berry, xiaoyun,
jia you!!! all the best!!

hi cheryl,

u started ur postnatal massage with mona?how is her massage?good?how many sessions u had with her?

hi garfield,

how much did mdm sadiah charge u for postnatal massage?pay by session?

hi goodbaby,
mdm sadiah charges $35 per hour. the good thing is - don't need to fix number of sessions. she will assess based on how fast / slow a mummy slims down. for me, she said she will let me know on 3rd day of massage if i need more than 3 sessions. pay at the end of all the sessions (so she didn't collect any payment from me yesterday).

Gar: very "siong" to use pampers leh. Why not use cheaper brand of diapers in the morning and at night let yr princess use pampers cos absorb pee better.

Gar:Yr ML charge so cheap ah, mine is Mdm Tutik charges $400 for 1 wk and inclusive of bathing bb. But she is good as I get to ask her lots of qns on how to take care of bb and she will help me with it. Massaging also damn painful. Sometimes I wonder why I pay ppl to make me "suffer" haha but after that it is "shiok"

kelly: huh, how come your bb will got HFMD one??

cheryl: you mean when delivered in hospital your bb already taken first hep b. and one month later, you need to take 2nd hep b jab? So for TMC for sure bb already taken heb b and bcg? i read his medical book only saw Bcg, so dunno whether my bb got the hepb jab or not... blur me

stepie: i'm not sure whther my understanding is correct. that means, when born, bb got BCG jab and first hep b jab. Then if my bb taking 5 in 1, at full month, he take 2nd hep b jab, then one month later, take 5 in 1 jab. is this correct? if bb taking 6 in 1, then after the bcg and first hep b jab in hospital, bb only needs to jab on 2nd mth. is this correct? sorry ,i'm very blur la

vinegal, i fed bm also got loose stool leh, i tot it's normal? sometimes watery type..

Re: poo
my boy poo quite a lot of times, sometimes changed diaper liao then poo again, can change up to 3 diapers each change leh. so i'm still putting disaposable diaper on him, and havent started putting cloth nappies yet. vinegal, wah your son poo only 2 times a day ah! so good!

goodbaby, i think 300ml bottle quite big leh. i use the 125ml one. and i got at least 4 bottles and sterilise when using up soon. other bigger bottles like 260ml one i use to keep EBM. avent VIA cups can only be used for 6 times meh?

garfield, is your bb's eyeball very yellow? did you give him full FM now? i think dont give him bm now first if the jaundice is high. you want to get more advice or not? if yes then go PD perhaps?

june: did you burp your bb? if burp then maybe wont regurgitate so much.

bx: i find it very troublesome to express the milk after every feeding. so i only use hot boiling water to wash leh. i find it still not very good enuff. so after i use the pump each time, i will sterilise in electric steriliser and keep in the boiling pot which my mum did ( traditional method) . she said after washing, use normal cool boiled water to clean again and put back in the pot. But i find that this method not very "clean" somehow. i will only pump once or twice per day now. other times will latch bb on.

xiaoyun, jiayou!! dont worry about being induced la! mine also induced :p also dont worry about bb engaging becuase my gynae said sometimes bb ony engage during delivery process.

leila: i used avent bottles too. but i find that my boy likes NUK teats leh. mauybe he used that when he was in hospital. cuz NUK teats much softer tahn avent one.

kelly: yea pls share with us your experience in dealing with TBF bb jaundice. my bb already 3wks+ but i think still got bit yellowish in his eye.

I'm from the Dec 2007 thread and I have some unused items to sell.

1. 7 packets of Da Feng Ai (herbs for bathing)
2. 1 box of pigeon breast pads + 4 loose pieces
3. 1 can of Friso Gold milk powder (900g)

All 3 items bundled together selling for $38.

Alternatively, item 1. and 2. bundled selling for $18. Not sold separately

Item 3. alone selling for $23.

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

Jaundice

Gar: Perhaps you can ask Mdm Sadiah whether she got any way to help yr ger to reduce the jaundice. For me I will sunbathe my son in the morning at my room cos 10.20 am my master bedroom have sunshine. Also during these 1 wk my ML, Mdm Tutik help me to buy s sort of flowers (only available in geylang) to bathe the bb, the flowers need to be boil with hot water and mix with it with the bathe water. Mdm Tutik say will reduce jaundice and true enuff it does. So perhaps ask yr ML.

Poo Poo

Tongtong: For my son poo poo 2 to 3 times. I also change alot of diaper for him. Using nepia, goo.n and mamy poko poo packet. I find that Goo.n very thin not that thick. Nepia still ok. Since everyone mention their bb also poo poo watery so i assume it is ok for my son too.

Leila: Me also using avent bottle for my boy. Wide neck bottle ez to wash. I also use nuky for my boi to drink plain water. Nuky teats good in a way when bb suckle only water will flow out if not not a single drop of water will drip out.

Pumping of BM
Too lazy to use pump now so latch bb direct ezier. Cos i find that pump too slow and supply very little.

Jab

Tongtong: My son have bcg and hep b taken in MT A after one day he is born leh. So I think after one mth will let my boi take 6 in 1 and rotovirus.

BB throwing milk
My boi also vomit milk from mouth and sometimes from nose. He normally will be scare if milk comes out from mouth and cry very loud if milk flows out from nose.

casa,
congrats on yr bb full month! =) milestone hor

goodbaby,
ya, each session is 1hr. mdm sadiah just left, she said my tummy a lot less wind already *yeah*

vine,
hb likes pampers cos have indicator. i like pampers cos much softer. nepia not bad but a bit big for my gal. huggies also ok. drypers is a bit stiff and hard, so i don't think very good.

ya, the massage very painful right? ok lah, at least got result.

tong,
my bb's eyeballs very yellow. still on TBF, not on FM at all. we feed some water in between feeds too. stopped eating ginger completely liao due to her jaundice. have decided to heed all your advice and go to PD tmw instead of relying on polyclinic doc.

Gar: yea pampers the best and ex. Nepia, pampers and goo.n have indicator also. Same like happy her boi can only use pampers. hehe

Yea massage painful but really after that all the muscles and bones are much relax.

new updates. i am going to admit to hospital tonight after 12. hope bb will come out on 20th.
cos oldies said bb born on 21st (15th of lunar calendar) is not good..
if cannot come out naturally by 20th evening, i think i will go for e-c-sect liao.

Pumping of breastmilk:
Tried pumping today. but so little came out. really worried that baby does not get enough if i really solely on latch on.

Last nite tried to give bb FM, but she doesn't know how to suck on the bottle (Avent wan).

Baby rash:
My bb's arms and back very red, like having rashes. Anyone encounter the same problem?

Post-natal massage:
Do you bathe after the massage? i feel so oily and sticky. she oso massaged my head, so hair is oily too. Plus eating all the confinement food, i perspire alot.

Bx: Anytime is ok for me. Me already pm u my addy and contact.

Xiaoyun: How come 15th Lunar calender not gd?? Tot shd be ok leh?

sunny/vine,
think every year 15th of first month is not good.
that's what the 'tong shu' says. i just follow. better be safe than sorry..

thanks all for the wishes...
will update once i pop

pumping of bm
bx: the more u pump the more supply will come. the tea is here perhaps u can try to see if supply will boost. if not u can get fenugreek at GNC to try.

baby rashes
My boi also have rashes, my massage lady ask me to apply tapioca flour on bb diaper and shirt when wearing. Cos tapioca flour can be eaten and not too sensitive to bb skin.

Post-natal msg
I bathe once the next morning after massage, if not i hardly bathe, just change my clothes. But feel better after msg. The last day will be scrubbing all the dirt and oil will be scrub out, painful but "shiok" after tat bathe and wash off! U will feel yr skin super smooth and white! haha

im a dec mummy, sorry to intrude on your thread. Ive a BN pack of Drypers diapers (S size 64 pcs) for sale cos baby has outgrown them. Packaging torn cos elder daughter tore the packet but diapers are unused. Bought at $12.80, selling at $11.
Self collect at tiong bahru, khatib or yishun mrt. Other areas pls sms me at 94248246 to arrange.
Thanks alot! ;)

thx all for ur advise on the Avent bottles.

bx,
my boi also had a an issue suckling on Avent teats lor cos harder compared to NUK and Dr Brown's. So now switched to Dr Brown's. But i jus realised as he grows older, he is able to adapt to Avent teats and my nipples too...so, that's gd news for me!!!!

garfield,
boi's jaundice still under observation. me not enuf BM so had to also use FM to ensure he had enuf poo and pee.

xiao yun,
have a smooth delivery!!!!