(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeannie,

v itchiness-u seeing adrian tml evening again rite ? maybe u can check wif him..

M pics-haha.. last week then finally select the pics for Ben to develop.. :=P

medisave-for my son, only my hb's medisave was deducted.. my total bill was abt $5k, paid cash $800+, bal all deducted from medisave..

Piglettail,

Tat's wat Dr Lee said abt my bb 2. 2 wks ago, he mentioned tat bb is trying 2 engaged. Last Sat he said bb is diving into. Keke...

Regards 2 the V fungal infection, Dr Lee said can still natural, he will do the necessary "clean up" on tat day... I aso kena tat 4 many mths liao.. I tot i cant go 4 natural, but he say can...

Congrats Eliaw and Thankful!

Piglettail:- i feel the same way as you. Wanted baby to come out soon since tomorrow is my EDD but yet feel anxious and nervous about what is to come (being a first time mum). Menses cramp feeling is the contraction. Been feeling that everyday.

June: so far u are the first person i heard wanting to decrease milk supply leh......
Is episiotomy so painful? by the way they do inject you before they cut you right..............

Jeannie:- so good can take HL . I am taking my annual leave first until I give birth......

I am trying to monitor my baby movement. This whole morning feel no movement at all and i got quite kan cheong and keep tapping my tummy. I read from books that i should make sure there is 10 movements in the space of every one to two hours? But my gynane say 10 movements in a day?

haapymum.. was trying to clear email.. realised u sent me a breakdown of the cost b4.. paiseh.. still ask so much her.. hehe.. I think pregnant women tend to be very forgetful.. hehe

yar lor.. happymum.. will ask him tmr.. hope tmr not that crowded.. tmr he will do strep B test and think he will cjeck dilation already??? cause week 38 already..

U taking any leave b4 ur c-sec on thurs??

apple.. i no annual leave... u taking last ur annual leave?? if this yr.... like bo wah.. skali u go overseas how?? thot hospitalisation Leave can just take leh.. cause got 30 days.. plus mc also got up to 30 days.. wah.. 1yr got 60 days lor..

baby movement

Apple.. i also get very scared when i dun feel her move for say half a dya.. but my goc old me 10 movements per day... 10 movements in 2 hrs.. like a lot leh.. my ger not so active one lah

just checking... sidetrack a bit.. what broadband u all using at home starhub??? or singtel?? i thinking of switching to max online surf lite.. cheaper.. only $30 compared to $60 that i am paying now.. anybody using that??

hi ladies...

Esther, thanks! phew, for a moment i was worried i cant go for natural delivery if i get another fungal attack on THE DAY...

apple79, hmmm..u mean what im experiencing is contractions? it's not that serious for me to scream in pain but i have to 'freeze' my activities for that 2-3 seconds when i experience it. if this is only 1/10 of the contractions on actual day, then i think i will have to rely on epidural liao.

Baby Movement
I dun really keep count...just make sure there are movements from time to time. i think my bb more active from evening onwards when im off work.

Dor,
ya, i also kena more and more heat rash on my back/shoulders...not taking bu stuff anymore leh, i dunno what's the problem ;(

jeannie,
haha.. nv mind.. i oso tend to be v forgetful sometimes.. hee..

i m oso seeing adrian tml evening.. ya lor, hope it's not so crowded like last week.. wat time u be there tml ? i will be bring my son along cos my mum not ard tml.. :=P

for my 2 pregnancies, adrian nv do any strep b test for mi leh.. did u request for this test yourself ?

yes, i will start ML tml.. 2day is my last day of work..

so i will see ur son again.. he very cute leh and soo.. fair.. good skin...I think ur daughter will look a lot like u.

i requested for it casue if i got chance to do natural.. scared dangerous.. He actually never ask me to do lah.. think he says its optional.. but if u do c sect.. think dun need to do leh.. R u excited??? abt thurs?? Then tmr just do normal checkup lah.. for u..

I will be there abt 630 pm.. normal time.. think go eat first..

hungry now.. dunno eat what.. i go and find food.. come back later..

Jeannie:- I also dunno what leave i am taking. Think will settle with my HR later when i give birth. I just tell my boss on the 4th that i am not coming to the office from the 5th onwards. My EDD on the 12th mah and i tot i should be giving birth soon since my gynae said my baby is already engaged.

Piglettail:- Yah i asked gyane before I experienced menses kind of pain and she told me is the contractions. But i think now we only experience the mild one. The actual ones will be more intense.............Ooops

berry
thanks for the advice on treating heat rash. will try it out. tmr bringing bb to see PD. so will ask if need to apply any lotion.

jeannie
my mum is doing confinement with me. so she'll bring my girl to my place every afternoon (with my lunch) and next morning, my hubby will drive her and my girl back to HV. i know it's siong for my mum but that's the best option. i very gam dong for what my mum is doing.

re medisave for hospital bill. it depends on what type of delivery, etc. for c-section, the claimable limit is higher. for normal delivery, the max medisave claimable is $1350 for 2 days stay. assisted delivery is $1700 for 2 days stay. c-section $2750 for 3 days stay. there's an add'l of $450 claimable for cost of antenatal care (must brg receipt from gynae and submit at point of admission).

my total bill (excluding bb's bill) is abt $1.6k.

yes, your M photos nice leh. i'll never get a chance to take such photos liao. keke..

i wash my hand with tap water, also wash clothes/dishes with tap water.

winnie
don't think it's a norm for gynae to give mc prior to delivery. unless gynae feels that you are not fit for work?

cheryl
day time if it's pass bb's milk time, it's ok to wake him up for the next feed. only nite time don't need to wake him up if he doesn't wake for for his feed.

tute
i'm one of those whose breast doesn't leak milk during pregnancy. don't worry. it's not an indication of whether you'll hv milk later on.
june
you went shopping last nite? how you know your womb dropped?

i had epi wound. somehow this time it's not as painful as the previous round. are you still using the maternity pad? i find that the thick padding somehow helps to cushion the wound so that it's not so painful when you seat down. took abt a wk for the wound to heal completely.

jeannie, yar actually its like dat wan, pregnancy hormones will affect alot of women, will come with weight gain/water retention and alot of swelling. But nvm lar, like wat u say, we just need to lose it after bb pop and our hormones return back to normal. Its actually quite fast cause u are v slim to begin with, plus looking after a bb sure help u lose weight esp if u plan to be v hands-on!
FUlL MTH- I am not sure which package to take yet leh, still thinking. I didnt try personally but my MIL says the ang-ku-kueh is quite soft n nice tho quite small.

Sorry to interupt.

I have an opened bottle of Lecithin for sale. If you have recurrent blocked ducts problem during breastfeeding, Lecithin is recommended to combact the problem. You can read more from here: http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/vitamins/lecithin.html

Its from Nature's farm, Triple Lecithin, 200 capsules. http://www.naturesfarm.com/product.asp?ID=78 I took about 30 capsules only and it cured my blocked ducts problem. Bought at $64, letting go at $40. If you are interested, please PM me. Thanks.

vine_gal
just saw an email from CGW saying that they hv received the package on 11 Feb. Will be able to receive the package within the next 4 to 6 business day if there's no flight delay.

thanks all...phew, quite relief to know some mummies here dun leak as well...

piggletail,
u mention about fungal infection ? my gynae told me i have fungal infection too after my strep b test but i was given some sort of cream which needs to be applied inside v.

jeannie,
am staying at my own house with my parents whose currently staying with me till after a month after i give birth...my pil are not in spore...i also wanna see your m pictures...

i also dun have any cramps so far just that my tummy feels v tight and sharp pain around v area but gynae told me that's not contraction, mostlikely baby's head pressing some nerves... wonder if this means my bb will be overdue...am i overstressing myself ? sigh, still have another week to go... just hope i dun have to be induced...

June, I'm ok now. I had pain while at hospital cos my gynae said I pushed so hard, down there very swollen. Even had to put in a catheter the day after delivery.
I had episotomy and the area near the stitches hurt after a few days cos had abrasion.
Went back to see KK's 24hr clinic and they gave me a numbing cream which works. My CL also prepared a warm salt solution for me to soak the area (think it's called Sitz bath), you can try that too. By the way, KK nurse recommended me to use thinner pads and change more often so that the pad will not rub against the painful area. I got an inflatable ring that I use sometimes too.

Moi Dar, I did latch on as much as possible in the day leh. But must admit, at night, I'll be slack, will let the engorgement or leaking wake me up naturally instead of pumping every 3 hrs cos I always have headache when not enough sleep. :p

I have a sore & swollen nipples due to BF...
here i hd been recommended a MOTHERMATES* Hydrogel Breast Feeding Pads which works & help to release the sore. You can get it from hospital or pharmacy..

this is the the website:
www.mothermates.com/mmapply.asp

Hi I have been following this thread since I got pregnant but can't really find the time to join in the fun.

Now that my baby has arrived and into my 2nd week of confinement, I like to join in the chat if you don't mind.

This is my 2nd baby boy, csect on 020208 at ME. My first boy is now 18 mths old, also via csect.

Bottle Feed confusion

Xiaoyun: So far my son do not have bottle and nipple confusion. In the hospital my gynae and senior nurse also quite surprise he can latch on to me quite well.

Re: Putting bb in living room (Not neccessary in living room but prefer room which is more airy and not that super "conducive" for bb to sleep in the daytime). To train him only sleeping time can sleep in his comfy bed.

I still get to wake up 2 times to feed bb at nite despite that night bb wake up only one time. But still in the daytime, put bb in living room wake bb up half an hr b4 (feeding interval can stretch longer if the feeding amt increase, so far mine is 3 hr per feeding abt 80 ml now)his feed and after that talk to bb and play with them. Although bb sleep most of the time but I guess they also want us to communicate with them.

Jeannie/ Stephie/ Dor/ Sunny:

Actually you can close and leave the window ajar to allow some wind to come in. In this way also let the bb to get use to the wind but of cos not too windy. If really too windy, add another swaddle and remove it half an hr b4 feeding time.

Stephie: You can let yr daughter to play with yr son as this allow her to build the bond between the siblings but of cos u have to monitor her movement. Talk to him and play with him to make him tired in the morning so that at night he can sleep more.

Jeannie: To know whether milk intake is enuff for bb, check whether they are cranky or cry again a few min or one hr after the feed. If they do den increase the milk amt or feed bb with plain water.

Type of FM used.

Me feed my son with Similac as it is the expensive and it does not taste that sweet. However, it has yucky smell. haha

Sling: Happymum, yea pls tsf back to me. Thanks.

Episiotomy with stitches
June: My friend pass me a bottle of "New Mama Bottom Spray" to be use on the stitches although I have the wash from the hospital. This spray is quite effective for me it is organic, perhaps if u are interested u can ask yr hb to get for u. My wound heal within a wk. It is available at KK Hospital #01-22, Suntec City Mall #03-K03 and United Square #01-28. You can visit their website as well, www.momessentials.com.sg

h@ppymum2be

does your 1st boy still wait for for night feed? Mine still do - at least once....have you sent him for class or child care

Good for you - to have a gal and a boy. Was hoping but got 2 boys instead. Can't complain...as long as they are healthy

Happy
I have transferred the amount to your account already:

To Account POSB Savings
126-16066-6 Happymum2b
Amount S$108.00
Transaction Reference 1568820032

Please check.

Hello mummies, any comments regarding induction on the day of EDD? somehow i feel that i made the decision to induce in a rather tight time frame (doc ask me to decide on the spot), so now i duno if i am regretting or not. He's so pro epi as well that he has assumed i will take epi..initially i thought i will "lun" first then if cannot tahan then ask for epi..now it seems like i dun have a chance because now everything is already decided..induce with epi..hmm..i wonder if i back out tmr will he "kill" me..haha..sorry for the long msg...

Xiao Yun,
When are you ordering the Lanos milkbags? I might intend to order 2boxes. Update me. Thanks.

Still in KKH. Will only upload bb pics when I'm home.

jeannie, cos i already made up my mind nt to take epi long ago. on the actual day, i told myself that it's juz tt moment of pain. i've already gone thru so much, this is juz the last step and i'll persevere all the way. with each contraction, i juz smile and close my eyes as i visualise my cervix opening and my bb coming out. then when the pain got stronger, i juz squeeze my hb's hand while doing the other things for reassurance. just stay calm and relaxed, the pain is actually bearable till the final stage.

apple, cos reali v pain. like juz nw i was outside couldn't express milk, breast swollen till i felt giddy and backache.
episiotomy has no anaesthetic. can feel her cutting me, but it's juz one sec and no chance to react.

stephie, my massage lady told me cos sat she pushed back 4 me bt i went out w/o d binder on sun and today she said my womb dropped tt's y i felt pain d nite b4. my epi is v painful. dunno issit infection cos it feels swollen.

kitsune, my v area also feels numb. wad is this salt solution? i change about 3-4 pads a day, is it enough?

casa, where to buy this breast pad n how much is it?

vine_gal, thanks 4 the info. i'll check it out.

re: bm supply

i juz discovered something cos i always come online when i'm expressing my milk. when i squeezed my breasts, especially the blocked ducts area, there is more milk coming out. so maybe those who wan more milk supply, can try squeezing too? feel that it helps when my son is latching on too. he drinks more smoothly.

starry, after induction, the pain comes very fast. mine was within 15mins. pain was bearable until about 8 cm dilated, so din use epi. why not u ask him not to give u epi first? see if u can tahan the pain or not first. but anyway i think if too late into the labour also cannot administer epi... but i think u can try without epi first.

Xiaoyun & Sunny
Milk supply seems to be going down after continuously placing cabbage over my breast for the past three days. I think still have a little milk but no more engorgement.

Vine
I'm trying out your method. Will see if it works tonight. He he he.

jeannie
I'm also feeding my boy with Nan 1 HA. My strep B test took 3 days for the results to come back.

piglettail
For my case, I had strep B and the antibiotic was for 5 days. But i only had it for two days before my delivery so on that day itself, doc put me on drip to induce and add in antibiotic for my strep B too.

Cheryl,
I think 100ml plus is definitely too much for my boy lah. So I cut down to 60ml every two hours. If he wants some more, I will give 90ml but wait for three hours before I give him the next feed.

June,
That's what my gyane said. I will get inflammation/fever so gave me medication to stop. But the medication he gave me not strong enough... so after taking still produce milk. I think if you are keen in bf then better don't take the medication from doc.

My stitches still quite painful too... don't know whether I have tore it open or something cos I remember my first one, I heal quite fast.

Jess
Full month celebration: Depends on you whether you are going to give cakes for those who are attending the buffet or not. It very much up to individual. My MIL wants to give cakes to the relatives who are coming for the buffet so I have to but not intending to give it to friends cos i think it will be too expensive to give to everyone who attends.

June, not sure if i can still dun ask for it, because now the anesthetician is already arranged, already "decided" i will take epi..so now a bit luan also..i think i also very half hearted thus so easily persuaded by the gynae that i should take epi...hmm..now i regret not firming my stand..hmm..

Cheryl, mine even worse, if fart got a bit of poo come out, she scream until we change her diapers, while changing continue to scream cos she don't like pp wipe & clean her bottom. Luckily, I'm trying to clear stock of my Drypers NB, 1 piece only about $0.20 and she'll outgrow by next week if I don't use so ask CL to change, change, change.

June, get a small basin and fill with warm water (enough for you to soak), dissolve 2 teaspoons of salt in the water. If you have a small stool, put the basin on the stool, then soak your bottom into the warm water for about 5 mins. Can do this a few times a day. Also works for people with piles. Is your lochia still a lot? The nurse teach me to use those wider and longer pantyliner (with cotton surface, NOT dri-weave) so that won't irritate the bottom. I change a lot but really more comfortable, finished using 1 pack of Kotex pantyliner liao.

Starry, don't feel pressured to take epi just because he has already standby an anaesthesist for you. Have you signed the consent form for epi? Even if you have given consent, you can always back out. Patient's right always comes first.

Having said that, I took epi cos I've been open about taking epi for no. 1 all along. As the midwife said, if got lift (epi), why take the stairs(no epi)? But I know there are people who will be very happy to endure the experience of labour without epi. For me, if I ever want to take the stairs, it'll be for no. 2, when the stairs are shorter cos I got low threshold of pain, haha. Just do whatever you prefer.

Hi jeanice
I have been using Starhub maxonline all these while.... no complains!

If you need to subscribe, I know of someone who can do the subscription and installation very promptly. If you are interested, please pm me.

My EDD is 21 Feb... but my baby was engaged since week 34.... everyday is like waiting and waiting for me... am gg crazy with this wait...

My v area felt very pain as the baby keeps dropping, but my cervic is not opening... gynea said if it still doesn't open by due date, the most can wait for 1 week, then I gotta go for c-sec straight away..... I dun wish to have c-sec...

Congrats to those mummies who have popped!

emoments,

does your gynae give options to induce or no opening mean cannot induce and definitely have to go for c-sec ? think gotta ask my gynae tom...

moidar
glad to hear that no more engorgement. so, your bb still on BM?

julie
my gal is 25 mth old now. 2nd one is a boy, i haven't popped yet.

vine
the bottom spray sounds good. thanks for the info.

i tried your method when my gal was born. during daytime, i would let her sleep in my bedroom which is brighter and more windy. then, late afternoon brought her back to her room which is darker. but, she still woke up few times a night. sigh.... think your bb is easier handled than mine. btw, is your bb on FM full time?

emoments
like what tute said, probably u can check with your gynae on taking induction instead of c-section? don't quite understand y your gynae wanna do c-section for you.

Hi mommies!

So many have popped already. Congrats!

I visited Garfield at KK on Sunday. Her bb gal is so cute! Looks like her hb.

My blood pressure has been rising. Been increasing my dosage of hypertension medicine but minimal improvement in BP leh....I'm afraid my gynae will induce me. I'm seeing her today. Heard induction is more painful than natural contractions.

good morning all!!

congrates eliaw, thankful

re: pig trotters
i thought is for us to eat too. the vinegar used is a special kind - the logo is '2 dogs' (something like that). it tastes a bit sweet. not bad. asked my MIL if can make it less oily or not. :p

re: bottle feeding + latching on
seems not every bb will have nipple confusion. then i should feel 'fang xin' liao.

re: bb engaged
went for gynae visit yesterday. bb still not engage yet le. now worry is it because the head too big. gynae said i might have difficulty as bb head now is already 34 cm while i am now in my 38w4d.

sunny,
i may join you in the waiting game since there isn't sign for me to give birth early as yesterday night's gynae visit.
btw, my edd is 21.

moi_dar,
good to know that the milk come down. feel better now?

thankful,
there are already about 3 boxes order for the milkbag. i will order more to make the CGW charge more worth it.
i'm on MC today. think will order it today.
let me know how many boxes you need?

starry,
the anesthetician is for standby one. don't think u die die got to use him/her. don't feel too guilty if not using...

bkkgal,
my blood pressure also increased a bit as last night. but gynae didn't say anything. is that normal to have blood pressure increase nearer to delivery?

===========================================
www.target.com spree, i found another brand of milkbag. slightly more expensive, but don't know good or not.
(A) Lansinoh milkbag USD 9.99 for 50pcs (exchange rate keep it at 1.5 first-adjust later after get the credit card bill, so each is SGD 14.99):
(B) Gerber Seal n Go Milk Storage Bags USD 5.99 for 25 pcs (exchange rate keep it at 1.5 first-adjust later after get the credit card bill, so each is SGD 8.99):

Collection method:
(a) Postage
Local postage is about $1.50 for 1 box, $2.55 for 2 boxes
Registered mail extra $2.24
(b) Self-collection at my place (Bedok Reservoir Rd)
Please transfer to POSB Savings 198-15117-3

International Shipping method:
comGateway
Lansinoh considered as 2 units, Gerber as 1 unit

At the same time, please email me to littlecloud9 at yahoo.com.sg with your:
(1) Name
(2) Address
(3) Lansinoh Quantity
(4) Gerber Quantity
(4) Amount transferred: (UnitPrice x #box) + Postage (if any)
(5) Transferred Date/Time/ID
===========================================

Hi tute and sunny

I can't be induced this time 'cos of previous c-sec. I only got to know last week... all along, I have been telling baby not to come out too early (premature)... after last week's checkup, I have been telling baby to come out.. but I guess he has gotta too comfortable in my womb.

btw, tute... if I remember correctly, we have the same gynea - Dr Joycelyn Wong.

When is yr next checkup? Mine is this afternoon... praying hard my cervic has opened by now.

emoments
didn't know that you are also 2nd time mummy. how old is your 1st one?
did you explore with your gynae on possibility of having VBAC? my colleague had VBAC for 2nd birth after 1st delivery which was c-section.

xiao yun
your EDD is 1 wk before me.... today is my doc appt, hope the bb is engaged though my gut feel is that he's not. haha.... now praying hard that my flu recovers faster before i pop.... feeling so sick and tired now.

emoments, I have the same gynae as you too.

went for my checkup yesterday. Found to be 2 cm dilated. Only slight increase from 0.5 cm on 01 Feb. Dr Wong says that my girl is taking her own sweet time. At this rate, I willl only deliver probably next week (my edd is next wed). I am now at home wasting my ML.

good morning!!!

re: mummies to be in the waiting game
enjoy while u can... trust me once bb out no rest...
emoments
heehee.. we share the same problem. initially told bb not to come out so soon. ended up by 1st feb(edd), still no sign of labour. gynae said cant induce cos of previous c-sec.. also he felt that i cant push him down too as his head is pretty big. 37cm by birth...

cheryl,
mine also fart also will have abit poo come out leh..

re: full month celebration
cheryl, u doing huh...

sunny, my boy is 16 &1/2 mths old... u also 2nd time mum? What is VBAC? Natural birth, izzit? I'm still aiming for that.

bx, didn't know we shared the same gynea. So yr EDD is 1 day b4 me.. u started yr ML already? How come? You can take MCs first, rite? I have been taking MCs every 2-3 days a week.. .till now baby still dun wan to come out, a bit paiseh to keep taking MCs liow.

Dorothy.. wow 37cm is very big... my last checkup, baby head is only 32cm... find it quite small cos my 1st boy, being a small baby, 2.5kg at birth, also has 32cm head circumference. Currently, this baby is already 3.1kg as per last checkup.