(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Congratulations to Vine_gal, Moi_dar, tubao and dorothy!!!!!

Xiao Yun,
thks for telling me abt the shop at united square, will go take a look...frankly speaking, i've never been to united square...hmmmm

Bkkgal,
i've not really spoken in detail abt the cordblood banking wid Dr Rauff yet. Will do so 2morrow at my appt. But I have spoken to the cordlife representative. So far the lady i spoke to has been quite friendly and responsive. She was quite nice actually, cos she tried to fit me into her tight schedule since i m due soon. Infact, i am meeting her tomorrow as well. What i understand from her over the phone is that NUH has a special tie up with them, so there's no need to pay doctor's fees for collection of cordblood. Furthermore,the one off fee for NUH patients is abt $800 (if i remembered correctly) instead of the usual $1.2k. So, mayb that's why u can't use the discount voucher further. Let me knw if u want her contact or want her to contact u shd u wanna reconsider cordlife.

hi ladies, i was still bleeding from my cervix check all the way till last nite. until now also got those fishy discharge, like those we get during menses. doc said it's normal leh.

i did some reading online. turns out that yr mucus plug can come off weeks before delivery or even in "stages" and you can also be dilated for weeks before delivery.

sweetpea, mine was engaged since 35 wks but nw coming 39 weeks still not delvering yet leh.

jeannie, fast dilation now doesn't mean anything leh. read about some who dilated very fast then stopped at 7cm and had to go for c-sec.

xiaoyun, yes i think i still have hope for the $8888!

bluegin, i don't tink my bb wans to come out leh. he's enjoying himself inside.

but i think i'm feeling quite anxious everyday. from morn till nite also checking to see if any signs of labour...

these few days forum very quiet ar. maybe all the mummies who have popped are busy looking after bbs and all the rest are too busy with cny and preparing for our impending labour!

To-date, there are 10 boys and 8 gals being popped.... wonder what's the eventual ratio be?? THese days, i note there seems to be more boys than gals. wonder if my son will have prob find'g a wifey in the future....hahaha!!!

Abt post natal firming cream...i was wondering too... if u do the malay postnatal massage, still must put the firming cream???

Dor
CONGRATSS!!!

Leila

What time is ur appt tmr? I"m also seeing Dr. Rauff tmr morning. Maybe we can say hi?

Sunny/Piglettail
I'm oso down with flu and cough.
Feel so lousy, can't take any medication, very hard to get well leh. Dunno how to push with a stuffy nose. You guys tried any home remedies? I've only been drinking a lot of warm water and panadol when I'm feverish.

bkkgal,
yep, it wld b great to be able to say hi to each other. my appt is at 1230. wat time is urs?

these days, i've been feeling sluggish and tired. when i c that some of u gals r still walking around so much, it really makes me envious...i also want a smooth delivery but can't seem to make myself walk around much. even when i need a glass of water, also must "summon" my hubby to go get it for me cos' it's just so difficult to get up fm the sofa...plus my left wrist is still sprained...really hope it recovers soon or else carry g a bb around wld be quite a challenge...any one has any thots on how to ease a sprained wrist???

hi ladies..

bkkgal,
hmmm..i've popped quite a fair bit of panadols (8 in 2 days) but didn't get well so went to see a doc. im the sort who will never get well unless i see a doctor, so home remedies don't work for me.

my gynae assurred me that as long as i inform the GP im pregnant, any medication prescribed will be safe to consume.

leila,
perhaps u want to consider wearing a wrist guard?

bkkgal
i am taking chinese medicine. dare not take western medicine 'cos scare got more side effect. i am more TCM believer. the condition is slightly better compared to last wk. i remember the last time i got flu during my 1st trimester, i didn't take any medicine at all and i took more than 1 mth to recover... but this time, cannot liao. 'cos i don't have 1 mth to wait for it to recover itself....
if you find that your body is heaty, you can boil some chinese barley to drink. and at the meantime, just eat more fruits....

Hi Leila

My apptment is at 10 am but you know sometimes, we have to wait so long to see her, esp when she gets called away to labour wards. My mobile is 9067 6379. Sms me when u get there, who knows, I may still be hanging ard NUH!

Movements
Yeah, I oso feel like it's so tough getting around with this heavy bump. I'm amazed with some of the moms here who are still walking, taking MRT, shopping. Very peifu!

Perineal massage
Any moms here who delivered massaged your perineum before delivery date? I was reading that this helps to reduce chances of episiotomy and stretches the area during delivery.

bkkgal, I also read the perineal massage help but i am scared i dunno how to and make it worse.

Actually i am more scared of episiotomy than the labour pain leh

apple
don't be scared. the labour pain is actually greater than episiotomy pain... that time my gynae cut there, i didn't even know about it.

yah sunny thats what most people tell me. but the thought of it freaked me out. At least labour pain people say its like intense menses pain. I used to have very bad menses pain so at least i have a feeling whats its gonna be like.

Dunno if you ladies subscribe to the What to Expect online daily messages but this is what came in today:

Week 37: A Special Rub
Anxiously waiting for the big day to arrive? Don't just sit there — massage your perineum! (Say what? Trust me, there's good reason for this piece of advice.) Perineal massage may help to gently stretch your perineum (that area of skin between your vagina and rectum), which in turn can minimize the "stinging" that occurs when baby's head crowns during childbirth. It may also help you avoid an episiotomy and tearing. Here's how to massage your way to an easier (and looser, if you're lucky) labor: First make sure your hands (or your spouse's, if he'll be taking on the task) are clean and nails trimmed. Next, lubricate your thumbs or index fingers (here's where the K-Y jelly can come in handy — literally — again) and put them inside your vagina. Press down (toward your rectum) and slide your fingers across the bottom and sides of your perineum. You can do this daily until D-day (and you can even continue the good work — or have your practitioner take over — during labor itself!)…or not at all if it makes you feel uncomfortable.

I'm just wondering if it's really worth the trouble to try massaging the perineum.

The thot of being cut there is just scary! I'm sure we won't know what's happening when we're busy pushing but it's just frightening.

piglettail,
yah, i tried the wrist guard thingy think g that it may help restrict my wrist movement...and u knw wat!!! my left hand turned almost paw like...whole hand swelled up...not sure whether it aggrevates water retention and/or blood circulation but it took 2 days for the swell to go down...that was a shocker! never thot such a thing wld happen....so scary!!!! aftr that episode, never put on that wrist guard thingy anymore...

bkkgal,
ok...will sms u when m there. Btw, i did ask Dr abt reducing the chances of episiotomy, she says can try the perineal massage that u mentioned but she also mentioned that asians not very stretchy there compared to caucasians, so the likelihood of being cut up is almost certain....sigh!

Came home yesterday afternoon but was so buzy attending to bb. Didn't have time to log in.

Thank for helping me upload my bb's Picture Happy.

Gotta go liao. Massage lady coming over in 10 mins time. Need to get ready first. Be back later to update your ok?

bkkgal,
errm...the massage sounds very complicated =P for sure i won't be destroying my french manicure so no experimentation this week hee hee

went for my 37th wk check last friday. b4 going for the appt - already have premonition that baby will arrive earlier (already planned to csect 12 Feb).

Doc checked and think stomach is getting tight...recommended to do it earlier....risk of bleeding...

Was negotiating with the doc on the dates...chosen 08-02-2008...but still too late...finally decided on 02-02-08 the very next day!!!!

suddenly everything is in madness....cos not packed....Rush home to pack, settle my boy...finally...

My 2nd baby - Jaymus has arrived on 02-02-08 on 0951 am at 2880 g. Just came home today!!

will try to post the pic later.

wow.. so many baby pics!!!

Andre and Gervaise both handsome!! yeh.. my baby ger got so many choices now... 10 boys and 8 gers.. hehe..

Strep B test
I have decided i think i better tell dr to do strep B test for me tmr... scared leh.. like a lot pp tok abt it.....O shucks.. then tmr will be the first time i expose myself to him.. How.. i very scared. should i wear pants or dress? Paiseh siah..

I'm very amazed at all the mommies who have popped, gone home and still have time and energy to post.

Think I'll be half dead by the time I go home with baby and struggling with breast feeding etc. :p

Jeannie
Wear dress easier.

pigglettail,
yes, u can ask ur family member to bring the red dates tea to hospital. My mum did it for me last time. Otherwise u can drink hot drink like milo or horlick, good for breast feeding too...

At home, during confiment, i wear the long dress pyjamas easier to b/f.

bkkgal
hahahaha, u r right. i m 3/4 dead, wif my newborn girl, my 2boys, BFg + pumping n lotsa other stuff.

only hv time 2 read but no time 2 post.

garfield.. hehe.. u make me seem so weird... Thats a good qn.. but i also dunno why he never check?? Must check what?? what did ur doc check for u???Think my doc.. sick of looking below.. haha.. so he never check lor..

yar... probably i will wear dress easier.. but must take off underwear har?? should i wait for him to tell me to take off or should i automatic???

paiseh.. really no experience lah..

thankful,
u interested in the milk bag? i m stocking up

I think that time ur shld be getting abt the same price rite? fr amazon.

jeannie,
no lah...dun mean to make you sound weird. just that during 1st tri, they usually do v-scans instead of ultrasounds mah. then got to do pap smear and culture tests for infection. so i'm just surprised how come you managed to "escape" all these tests *hee hee*

usually the nurse will help you. don't worry!!!

Dorothy, Congrats! Hee.. gervaise so cute, sticking out his tongue.

Garfield
so far, my girl is still ok with didi. alwys wanna sayang him but we are careful that she doesn't exert too much strength when doing so. plus she seems to be having slight flu, so we also dare not let her get close to didi.

piglettail
if ur family member really can't bring the red date water to you, can 'buy' from hospital. think they have but don't know what's the charges like.

at home i just wear t shirt and pants with slipper. wanted to wear socks when slpg but so far haven't done so. luckily these few nites weather quite cooling so no need to depend on fan/aircon

bkkgal, I read that some mummies who have a birth plan can actually include in their plan to have warm perineum massage carried out by the assisting nurses in labour ward when in labour, its said to be very effective in preventing tears.

Dor, CONGRATS! Haha yr bb prince is beri cute!

Jeannie, lol dun worry, the nurse will prompt you when to remove your clothing for the test. Dont worry lar, it'll be over in a sec!

Strep B tes- I kenna mine last week, almost w/o warning! Of all sudden just when I proceed over the ultrasound machine to scan bb as usual, the nurse told me to remove my pants n undies to do strep B test, waliao. Would be nice to get some advance notice huh. :p

congrates dor and all who popped recently. can't recall so many names liao.. sorry.

thankful,
the lansinoh milkbag i got is not this one. This one is about USD 5.25 per 25 pcs pack.
it's USD 9.97 for 2 packets of 25pcs. and plus 25% discount and free shipping.
turn out to be USD 3.74 per 25 pcs pack. about 29% cheaper.
I checked and found out that the merchant i bought from in Amazon no longer selling lansinoh milkbag now. very sayang last time didn't buy more.

QooSan,
in fact, you can directly get from www.target.com
it's cheaper there (USD 9.99 for 2 packets of 25 pcs), with free delivery too.

Congrates to stephie, moi dar, dorothy, casa, ade, tubao & jess.

Today finally I'm back home after MIA for so many days. It's really been a long long day for me in hospital 4 days somemore. Me natural birth still need to stay 4 days worst den c sec mummies.

Here is my labour stories... very long

31/1/08

10.15am Reach Clinic for check up
11.30am Gynae insert pill for induction
1.30pm Went to "chk in" to delivery suite
Stay here and wait and step on CTG on and off
7.00pm Mild contraction came (2 -3 min once but bearable)
8.20pm 2cm dilated
11.45pm Waterbag burst but leakage not alot

1/2/08
10.00am Gynae come to check and start to strip me for real induce
10.30am Contraction come real painful
12.10pm Cannot tahan anymore so administer epi (been tahan the contraction from last nite 7pm till today 12.10pm)
1.30pm Cervix dilated 4 cm
2.45pm Cervix dilated 8 cm
6.30pm Gynae say can prepare for delivery so he said wait for another 1 hr for bb down to come down
8.05pm Prepare for labour and start pushing
8.26pm BB Julian pop out
9 plus Sent to ward and rest.

Dunno why my ordeal need to take so long. Cos tong tong induce is short and quick and I did not expect my gynae to drag mine for 2 days. He say that the 1st day is sort of preparation for natural birth and the next day is the real induction. Weird rite cos in the 1st place induction is not consider as natural birth.

Anyway stay in hospital too long came back home was so weird and disorientate. Some more have to take care of bb. But today bb sleep very long since we left the hospital till 6pm he latch for 10 mins. He did take in alot of milk today so abit worried for him.

Stephie: I think I saw you being push to the lift when you admitted and saw u and yr bb being push out from the delivery suite. If im not wrong yr hubby shd be wearing long sleeve shirt. Den when you came to visit me den I realise ehh same person 1 saw twice! hehe

Latching: So far bb latching no problem except my left nipple sore from bb latch. Still give him FM as my milk is not enough for him. Also my MIL keep saying I'm vegan where got so much milk might as well feed him with FM. So sian half cos no use to have her concern for me. I know she meant well but I'm not really use to all these overwhelming concern.

vine_gal
yup, that should be me and hubby that you saw. haha.. let you see my 'lang2 bei4' look liao :p where were you when you saw us? delivery suite waiting area?

saw bb julian when i went to nursey. are those red marks on his head off liao?

Stephie

Saw you being push to the lift is when me and hb going to cafeteria for a bite.

Saw u being push out when i was bored inside the delivery suite so come out to sit at the waiting area.

Then i was telling my hb wah this mummy go in so fast and deliver so fast!

Garfield, thanks for the note, think then I better request during the next visit.

Jeannie, sorry i forgot, your gyane is also dr adrian woodworth right? so far I have not done any v-check too.