(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

piglettail,
since many of them cannot make it today. Must well u postphone it to tmr or friday?

dorothy,
very notti recently... huh??? Mayb u r very relax now.

Stephie,
Hi. Yalor. New Year nice stuff leh. If I'm baby sure after that, cos milk not much taste as well.

piglettail
yalor, maybe postpone the appt.

blueginger
hope bb guai guai and listen to mummy and all the aunties here

Stephie,
Thanks. Really pray hard. If like me when I'm a child, FAINTED. (Now still can recall wat I did to my parents) Shhh... Dun let my bb know.

blue,
thanks for your concern...ya, he seldom look so pale i was also worried. he ran a very high fever last night and he's allergic to panadol, so can only use ice packs and put cold towel on his head throughout the night. end up didn't really sleep well.

he's like a big baby when sick...so the wifey needs to sayang a bit =P he's gone to the doctor already on MC today. later i'll bring lunch back and work from home in the afternoon.

stephie,
i tried the following:
1. Oreo Oh La! La! (Oreo cookie based with oreo crunchy bits in vanilla / chocolate cupcakes)
2. Chocolate Lovers (Premium chocolate cupcakes with chocolate filling, with chocolate ganache on top)
3. Fruity-Tooty (Vanilla cupcakes with a choice of strawberry / raspberry / blueberry / mixed fruit jam filling)
4. Donutella (A choice of vanilla or chocolate cupcakes filled with nutella filling)
5. ChupaChips (A choice of vanilla or chocolate cupcakes with chocolate chips on top)

all are nice except number 1 cos too dry.

stephie, thanks!

garfield,
nice huh... ok ok...i go browse...

blue
no choice leh.. cos to de-stress myself a bit...

vine
dun start my another craving

piglettail
jia you!!!

Updated (for linda)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB wt</TD><TD>Deliver Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grumpus</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.86kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mini</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.160kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linda</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Cheyenne</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>c-sec w/spinal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.225kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Stella</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Adrain W</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dylan Jin En</TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cuclainne</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.98kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hweiz</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Arianne</TD><TD>3.49kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tong</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Hii</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.33kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

stephie/vine gal, how about you book a 4-bedded, then on day of admission ask for free-upgrade to see have or not. IF really dun have then you ask to change into 2-bedded instead? This way you can still try your luck? cause not too late to change on that day mah?

sunny, I think it depends on availability. If you have already book a 4-bedded and they run out of 4-bedded beds for that day, they will upgrade u automatically to a 2-bedded (since they cant be turning u away haha).

haha...i think TMC's mgmt didn't study revenue maximization. there is an obvious flaw in their system.

cos everybody will end up booking a 4-bedder (in order to max out availability) in the hope of getting a 2-bedder!!!

garfield, but hor, I think its not a choice in some case leh, like if the 4-bedded is REALLY full, they cant turn patients away mah, also cannot give them a 6-bedded (if there a 6 bedded there?) wat, so have to upgrade to 2-bedded?

Eh I am beri impressed at how much thought u putting into the cupcakes u giving away haha, I didnt even try the fullmonth goodies I gave away when my DD is born, till now still dunno how it tastes like :p

berry
i think so too. but i also heard that if they have 2 bedder available, they will still gv you free upgrade from 4 to 2... don't know true or not. i wonder how many 4 bedder rooms they hv compared to 2 bedders.

berry
that's wat i'm thinking of. if no free upgrade to 2 bedded, then i choose 1 bedded. heehee.. only concern is that hospital will give priority to those who have indicated their preference first.

haha..berry that's true - but it seems like TMC has a reputation for giving out upgrades and i have not heard other hospitals with such a practice. from a room mgmt standpoint - it will seem like TMC accepts too many 4-room bookings upfront....far more than they can handle from empirical evidence (machum airline overbooking).

i used to work in SIA and passengers will try all sorts of ways to get free upgrades =P and our job was to ensure that we minimize the number of upgrades. so i guess certain concepts are ingrained in my mind already. occupation hazard!!

re the full month goodies - it's just an excuse to eat (guilt free) i guess =P

stephie, yar lor, I think most hosp will not give free upgrade unless they really have to, so its a risk u have to take. But then, if you dun mind either 2-bedded or 1-bedded, yr choices are more. So if u book a 4-bedded and dun get yr upgrade, u can ask to change to either a 2-bedded or 2-bedded, cant be all fully booked on that day right?

Re: upgrade of rooms
i wonder if there had been any cases where someone opted for 4 bedded but all the 4 bedded and 2 bedded are full and ended up with upgrade to 1 bedded leh. if got such a case, wow really 'tan tio' loh..

garfield, ahh, I see wat u mean lol! BTW, if u are giving out cupcakes, then isnt it kinda inconvenient to transport them when giving out? As in, the beautiful frosting on top might get 'damaged' unless cupcakes are 100% upright all the time during transporting?

garfield
i didn't know there're means to get free upgrade when taking SQ flight leh. haha.. next time you share share with us when we have our gathering.

berry,
the frosting / icing is kind of hard (almost like a meringue?) so it's pretty "hardy". the cupcakes fit snugly into the box so they can withstand some shaking and knocking without disintegrating. but yes, i think i would also try to make sure that the boxes are upright during transportation

okie stephie...trade secret *shhhhhhh*

sunny,
No lah... TMC have limited 4-bedder, hence if you choose 4-bedders very often will get the upgrade. I oso dun know how many. U might wanna call to check out or just go for their hospital visit that is held daily at 2pm.

garfield,
WOW... Give us some tips to free upgrade for SQ flight leh... If Have free upgrade in A380, wow.... that is fanatastic.

happy,
ok. let's set it tentatively at 1pm on CNY eve.
pls remind me the contact of the seller, I will contact her directly to arrange.
how I wish I can take some half day leave this week, so that can collect both all on 1 day. then no need to wait till so long...

blueginger
i went for the hospital visit liao. but forgot to ask that qn. haha... probably when i admit, i will ask if i will get free upgrade. haha...

garfield
ya, some tips to free upgrade for SQ leh. haha....

re: full mth celebration
will you be having the full mth celebration for the bb?

sunny,
still not decided whether i will have a celebration. but will definitely be giving out cakes to my colleagues and relatives. some of them bought bb clothing for my gal even before she's born....

for celebration - need to hunt for a suitable location. may be too much of a hassle

garfield, must see how u feel after u pop, cause I remember after I popped the last time, the frist month was the most hectic month in my life ever LOL! So much to do/adjust to, def no mood to plan or attend any celebration. But then again, we might have diff experiences, maybe u can wait till pop liao then decide so just in case you decided not to, u wont have to make yrself go thru it cause celebration is a joyous thing, u must also be happy to go thru it with bb.

Confinement food- I will be catering confinement food, have arranged for a trial from NewBaby this friday, see nice or not cause I read mixed reviews abt them. Anyone who has heard reliable feedback abt confinement catering, do share with me.

blueginger- I watched 27 dresses 2 weeks back, yeah quite nice! Its quite cliched in some way, as all romantic comedies are, but got some v heartwarming and touching moments that are v sweet, hormonal preggies might drop a few tears haha. Overall recommended.

sunny,
By the time, you warded. I dun think u have the mood to ask for free upgrade. LOL...

Full mth celebration
Initially, thot of having a family celebration. But my hubby's colleague n my ex-col n friend who are so excited for us. Bought pram, doorgates, etc for us. Now since like MUST have a open celebration. However, hv not decided on the location as well.

Hi piglettail,

I did ask Dr Lee abt the mode of delivery wks ago, without hestitation, he said "of cos natural! but if due 2 unforeseen circumstances, then will hv 2 c-sect"

My EDD is being pushed to 25th Feb leh based on last Sat's checkup.. B4 tat, it is 18th Feb.. Nw i aso getting blur abt it liao.. My bb hasnt engaged yet. Urs?

I din ask abt the set. I tink sure not enuff 4 the bb, esp the diapers. I'll be bringing extra 4 my bb (ok i knw i sound cheapo, keke..) but i jz dun wan 2 get "ke tou" by unnecessary charges.. ;p

For those mummies that gave birth at TMC.. anything to bring back for baby when discharge? need to prepare clothes for baby? list of things to pack.. pls advice..

cheryl,
the swollen feet wont go away immediately even after delivery..
my experience is, feet will still be swollen but shd be better than before delivery..
is it the same case for u ?
try to reduce on salt intake..

blueginger
haha... ya loh. but it depends on what situation i will be at lah. hopefully won't look so awful when i admit. i remember last round, my water bag burst and when i was at the counter, my pants was 1/3 wet. :p

re: full mth celebration
for me, it depends on when the bb is born. if his full mth is 100days after my hb's grandma deceased, then we will have a celebration, else we would save the energy to hold any celebration, mayb just distribute cakes.

berry
then, during confinement period, who will be helping you?

garfield,
u used to worked w SIA? as wat?
im w them for 4 years plus... quit 2006dec..
ya, pax try means to get themself upgraded... only those PPS got higher chance only...

dor, u really wanted to wait so long? your gynae will allow me, not scare bb pass meconium inside? for C-section, is it true that how long the cut will depend how big is the bb's head?

cheryl,
check your diet. i had macs + pizza on one day - next day feet swelled terribly. after that i cut back on salty foods and the swelling subsided after that.

Hi Loink

Your gynae at TMC would give you a list of things to pack. I already got mine 2 weeks back coz doc advised me to pack by this week.

My friend who gave birth at TMC says most of the things for baby to go home are are provided: Vest, small pack of diapers, swaddle towel, cord spirit. So essentially no need to bring clothes for baby to go home..unless you wanna dress him/her up.

Congratulations to all mummies who have popped!!!! So delightful to c all the cute and soooo... adorable babies... didn't get to log on for only abt a week and so many popping has
happened

Hi xiao yun,
cld i chk wid u whether u happen to come across medela breast shields? Understand that there are different sizes...

Hi garfield,
the cupcakes looked so pretty and yummy...absolutely drooling!!!

Re: JL sale
Does anyone happen to knw if JL is giving 20% off all bb items. Not 20% + 20% hor?

CHERYL,
Mayb u sit too much like me. Sit in front of PC for more than 8hrs a day. Walking can help.
My legs are oso like happymum like. Now I drank whole btl of cranberry juice. It works on me.

Oh ya more to add. So here is the rough list:

TMC will provide:
Small pack of NB diapers
Small pack of baby wipes
1 pair mittens
1 set of clothes
1 receiving blanket
1 bag to put all your baby stuff in.

So recommend that you bring a few more pieces of clothes and mittens/booties. Here's my complete list:

For Mom:
3 Sets Front open night dresses
Pair of Slippers
Set of clothes to go home
3 sets nursing bra
Pack of disposable underwear
Box of Tissue Paper
Towel x 2
Pack of Maternity Pads
Pack of Breast Pads
Pack of Cotton Wool
Comb and Make Up
Toiletries

For Baby:
A few sets of clothes/sleepsuits
Hat
Mittens and Booties
Baby Sling

Others:
Mariage Cert
Bank Book
CPF statement
IC
Antenatal Bill
Camera and Charger
Phone and Charger
Books/Magazines/Stationery
Biscuits, sweets, etc

linda,
small world!! i was with SQ from 97 to 2003. joined the admin officer scheme and was rotated within marketing planning division (based in airline house). my last dept before i left was loyalty marketing (in charge of krisflyer)