(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Bluegin..Can cranberry juice can help reduce swollen feet? I also sit in front of PC 8 hrs a day. Everyone who manage to look down to my feet are astonished at my swollen feet. Pig Trotters!
I'm squeezing into my shoes and wearing my shoes like slippers now..

Hi blueginger,

Precisely, I aso dunno y mine being pushed 1 wk later. In fact, I got so many EDDs every checkup. Oni once or twice the EDD is the same. Most r different. Keke...

I tink it depends on the gynae's measurement on the scan.

Anyone here tested postive for Strep B? I just got a call from the clinic during lunch..said I had some Strep B infection and need to take some medication. I was just reading about this Strep B and found that it can be fatal to baby when he is delivered. Anyone knows more about this bacteria? Was reading through the websites..seems like it can be a very serious threat to the baby.

Hi SweetPea,

I was tested postive too.
Read some info from the net, About 20-30% of women has this bacteria in our intestines, rectum or vagina. No harm to adult but may threaten baby through vaginal delivery if they happen to ingest it.

Usually gynae gives antibiotics then during delivery we have to be put on anti-biotics drip.

thxs stepie for the info!

hi sweetpea,
yep, my feet also terrribly swollen like pig trotters. That day wanted to buy another pair of sandals, a look in the mirror and i've got no mood to buy liao, even the sales assistant says why don't i wait till i deliver...hmmph! and my fingers swelled too...my fingers quite bad...till i can't really clench my fists! n it's painful when i try....

Hi Garfield

Not sure if all gynaes will administer this test. I also din know I had to take this test until the day of my check up last week. I was at week 35. I read from websites that not every doc in every country will administer this test as a standard practice, but think it will be good to check with your gynae.

For me I only know I need to take anti-biotics, no need for further tests again. But not sure if during delivery any more drip will be given..will need to check with my gynae next week.

Hi Hana...to me 20-30% sounds quite a large number. I also read that going C-sect does not mean baby will be safe from the bacteria..and that so far only the antibiotic drip is the best way to prevent the infection.

sunny, I'm not really into the confinement thingy cause I dun really believe in it hehe. But my hb will be on leave for a week or two to help out right after I pop.

Swelling- I think apart from water retention, blood circulation also plays a huge role I think. For me, my blood circulation at my legs are usually quite terrible when preggie, esp towards the end. Even though I walk and stand quite abit, doesnt seem to help at all, seems to worsen the pain if anything. Like just now I stood in the kitchen to do some stuff for less than an hour and now both my shin is feeling quite painful and numb liao. Haiz, luckily I only have 3-4 more weeks to go!

Strep B Test
I did my strep b test last week (36wk) during my visit to the gynae. The sample of my swab was sent to the lab for test and I will know the result this week. Its a standard practice in Australia to have it done by wk37.

TMC delivery- mummies who are popping at TMC night wanna bring extra clothing for your bb even if they provide. I remember that time when I was just abt to leave the hosp with my DD, she pooped and soiled her freshly changed bb bodysuit from TMC! And I didnt have anything for her to change into cause it didnt occur to me to bring extra bb clothing lol. So we asked for another set (we offered to BUY one more set), but the nurses actually told me cannot, cause its not for sale?! Anyway we insisted cause really dun wanna bring bb home in dirty poopy clothing, and in the end I think they sold us one more set after much convincing. I just thought it was real weird that they have such a policy then.

Vine,
Tink you did not take in my order of calendula cream, its ok.
I have trsf $33.83 to you alrdy.
Trans. Ref: 1549794386
Date & Time: 29/01/08 2.57pm

Strep B test,
I have done mine ard wk 35 & was given antibiotics oso, gynae did mention I need to take antibiotics during labour, but he didnt say its on drip, I tot its oral antibiotics?

Xiao yun,
Tink the dry shampoo by little dreamers shd be restocked le, cos there is a note "stock will be in mid Jan" leh. I have ordered a few items with them but have not rec'd.

Swollen Feet
Diet plays a very huge role!! That was twice where I ate dimsum on 2 different saturday and on sunday I woke up with those swollen feet! When i walk, got that "thumb-thumb" feeling on my feet, so uncomfortable.

Try to drink more water in the day and sleep with both feet slightly raised up.

Swollen legs/feet,
I have been using Usqueeze for like more than a mth, til now I dun have much swelling leh, I tink massage reali helps. Like Leila, my fingers starts to swell a little recently.

Berry..aiyo TMC refused to sell you the clothes..so weird. Yah anyway me kiasu will definately bring extra sets of clothes

Hi Krisci..hmm I'm not sure about how antibiotics will be administered during delivery..so I need to ask my gynae. Hiya..now I feeling a bit sad..coz my pregnancy has been rather smooth so far.

Swollen Feet:
I'm used to my swollen feet liao..raise or no raise also the same..i think its related to circulation as what Berry said. So other than raising now trying to walk more often. Think I should ask my hubby to massage also..now got a bit of prob walking..feet got a tight feeling. Me fingers also starting to feel tight, esp when clenching.

krisci, you been using isqueeze, can use ah? I have been thinking abt getting one but I heard shdnt be using electronic massage device leh. did you ask the Osim staff about safety of product during pregnancy? They said its ok? I imagine that it will be damn shiok hor, to get a calf massage whenever you feel like it hehe.

oh.. did those mummies who delivered at TMC request to get those glass bottles.. how many did they give if request? with caps?

Sweetpea,
Dun feel sad la, tink its rather common. My gynae din tell me wat is it actually, all the while I tot its UTI until you gals brought this subject up, I din even know its tt severe. I am seeing my gynae again tmr, will ask him how the antibiotics will be administered & update here.

Benefit Cosmetics/skincare
I am orderin some cosmetics from US as its much cheaper than Spore. They have free delivery to Spore with min $100 purchase. My stuff's alrdy $68, any mummies here wan join me let me know asap ok? Cos hope to get the cosmetics b4 my baby full mth celebration & be a pretty mom!

http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/home.html

Xiaoyun: I went to Guardian to check the dry shampoo at compasspt but they do not have stock for that. Not sure for other outlet at Guardian have or not.

i got 4 glass bottles....

swollen feet.

i knw it normal but problem is i have already given borth y it got worst instead of getting better

Berry,
My hubby bot me Usqueeze when my feet starts to swell a bit, dan I have been using everyday & my feet ok le. I have consulted my gynae b4 buying, he said ok. But to play safe, I seldom use the vibriating mode cos wori abt the acupunture points thingy.
Tink Usqueeze better dan Isqueeze cos it can be adjusted to dif angles. Cos both are not high enuf to massage your entire lower legs as you can see on the advertisement, I will usually move my feet out of the Usqueeze to massage the upper part. Its reali quite shiok after a long day of work or shopping.

Vine,
Its ok, no worries. I will order from little dreamers. You are delivering in 2 days time rite? Gan cheong mah?

Krisci: Gan cheong.. but happy also cos I can get to see my little one and i dun have to sleep with my big tummy. Cos now sleeping is a challenge for me.

I'm due on 7 Feb but Gynae want me to induce..he say to avoid the risk of bb stillborn inside cos during my 1st trimester i have bleeding (sort of like threaten miscarriage) so he is afraid that the placenta dunno wat so want to bb to be out early.

Vine, I feel excited for you! U know, I once read someone saying that for a pregnant woman trying to sleep in her last trimester, she spends more time altogether getting up to pee, finding the right position, and TRY to fall alseep than to actually sleep, lol! Seems truer and truer for me at least.

Vine,
Dun gan cheong, will pray for a smooth & FAST delivery for you. Wat time is your induction?

Xiao yun,
I just called little dreamers to add in my order of calendula cream & confirmed tt they have stocks for the dry cleansing powder. I only ordered yesday & they are delivering either tmr or day after. Efficient hor??!! If you wan order better be fast, cos they are closed from 1 - 11 feb.

krisci, ohh there is Usqueeze and Isqueeze, I thought only got one type. Hmm maybe I will go and check it out after all. Your hb is so sweet to you hehe, thanks for sharing!

btw some hospital gives out sample of milk for you to take home. those ready-mixed that they use to feed the bb in the nursary. very convinent . you can try to as for afew when you discharge.

those glass bottles are from these ready-mixed milk and the hospital sterlised them after use. take note that the cap can rust (found out when i soak them in water too long as i forgot to take them out after boiling water cools down.)

Berry: It is true for me!!! Tat why it is like a form of relieve for me if bb out early! hehe

Krisci: Thanks me "chk in" at 10.15am hehe

Berry

Someone once put it in a very nice way on frequent waking up in the last trim. it is nature's way of "training" you for the breast feeding expection when your baby is born. bf baby need milk every 2-3 hrs....

FM- Been wanting to share this but keep forgetting- for those of you who are planning to supplement with FM from day one (even just for a few feeds at night and so on), you might wanna pick out the FM of yr choice and bring some to the hosp cause the sponsered FM from the hosp might not be the FM of your choice, and I know for a fact that some bbs can be quite sensitive to sudden change of FM brands (not serious, but might cause diarrhea and tummy discomfort) presuming that you'll switch back to your own brand once discharged.

Cheryl,
Cranberry juice works for me. U might wanna check with Dr Adrian. I believe for the first month might still swelled.

Vinegal,
JiaYou.

Prenatal massage- anyone doing prenatal massage? The blood circulation on my legs are really getting quite bad so am thinking of trying out prenatal massage, but I have no contact of massage ladies leh. Any of you have tried any prenatal massage that you like and can rec to me? Or alternatively, can give me the contacts of your choice of postnatal massage ladies? I'll try them out for you and tell you how good they are hehe. Hope to get a few sessions done before I pop since I 99% wont have time to do postnatal massage later on.

berry: but how we know which brand suits our new born?

Andrea: Thanks!!

Twinkle: Hopefully i wont be waking up at nite most of the time! can peng san!!