(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

berry,
i've been contemplating about the BF pillow. like you - it seems like a "frill" cos thinking that a normal cushion will do =P can you share in what way the BF pillow is better than just a normal cushion?

CNY shopping - so tempted to go...but lazy to fight the crowds esp with my big tummy!

Cheryl,
nice name! did you get it from geomancer? any ang moh name?

Dear Mummies who order the Organic Tea, I will order from drugstore instead of Lucky vitamin as it is ez this way and may save more on shipping. If all dun mind I will pass the list to Stephie for her to place order for us. Thank u and sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Stephie, if everyone do not have any objection, i will forward u the list. Thanks for helping to order.

Stephie,
I've transfered the payment liao. Thanks.

To Account: POSB Savings 135-00486-3 Stephie
Amount: S$1.92
Transaction Reference: 1545351302

Checkup,
Today went for checkup... put on 1.2kg within 2 weeks liao... gotta control diet again but luckily bb didn't put on too much weight... she's about 3kg at 37wks and engaged liao. Gynae checked my cervix, still closed... but felt really tensed when she did the checking (I hate all those v. checking...) She said I so tensed... how am I going to survive through the delivery process... they will keep checking my cervix one... sigh... dunno how leh... can't relax...

Garfield, the BF pillow I mentioned is shaped like a big "C", hence when u put it ard your waist, it stays put snugly. Meaning that there is no adjustment needed (bearing in mind that bbs can be pretty wriggly, at least mine was haha, so when I used a normal cushion, I'll have to keep adjusting the cushion that was slipping away so often, v frustrating when I am already trying to get used to initial BF pains). Basically for the BF pillow, u can let bb lay on it, latch, and support/hold bb's head with one hand, leaving your other hand to be free (can drink water, read mag, pump EBM, or just rest).

artemis, yeap, i'm first time mtb!

hweiz - when is your EDD? i supposed you already in hospital liao since you already got show?

fairfield - not sure whether doc will be on leave though.. but it's also good to deliver earlier than my EDD cuz dont want to crash with CNY :p

Linda - great to hear that your feng mo ok liao. i had feng mo before too, super itchy. initially i tot you got "jiu mo" leh.. my friend got it, so she couldnt consume alcohol during her confinement

cheryl - i also puzzled that you stop bfing leh.. anyway since you have decided, it's ok then.

kitsune - jiayou with bf! and hopefully your bb will recover from jaundice soon

berry,
thanks for your explanation! makes sense to me now. any specific recommendation on the brand? or are they more or less the same. did a google and moms in mind is selling one for $51.50

garfield, I just bought myself one for my bb boy from Robinsons this time round (that old was waaayy overused), I think its the same one I had back then. I did see several diff brands selling in stores but in terms of shape and design of the pillow, it all looked v similar to me, cant tell the diff, so I personally chose according to outing casing. Mine has little bb pooh bears all over it, beri cute! :p Honestly I dont think diff brands make a big diff, prices also all v similar, I bought mine for $50+ too.

Massage- Any C-sect mummies here have arranged for postnatal massage for yourself? If so, when will u start, when is definitely safe?

Also, for other BF (or will at least try) mummies (C sect or natural) who have arranged for massage, how will u make sure that bb dun need to feed during that hour-long massage? Cause in my previous experience I found it pretty impossible to arrange for a whole hour in advance to be away from bb cause I was TBF and bb's feeding was v erractic and there was no way I could tell when BB can go for a whole hr w/o milk, hence unable to arrange for massage leh. I am hoping to be able to squeeze in at least a few sessions of massage for myself this time round, but wondering how to go about doing it. Those who have booked yr massage ladies, can share yr plan with me?

Hi Berry,

My massage lady said for C-sect, most optimum to start after 10 days.

Actually I haven't thot of bb going without milk for the whole hour :p Will probably try expressing from Day 1 and build up a store of BM so that my mom/hb can feed bb while I'm engaged.

kitsune,
i also worry abt my girl cos she looks rather yellow. my husband n i kinda preparing ourselves mentally tat she'll b hospitalised when i bring her back 2 c PD next mon.

how's her condition now? when will raeanne b discharged?

gd tat ur BM has kicked in. mine came in ytd, breasts engorged n there were blocked ducts too. tried pumping, massaging, hand-expressing using hot towel but not much output. in e end, got my girl 2 latch more so much betta now.

berry
do u hv any help during confinement? cos u r having a c-sect n massage ladies only start their sessions abt 2wks after ur c-sect. unless u hv help during tat period, u can express n let someone else feed. some massage sessions can b >1hr too so u may 1 2 allocate abt 1.5hrs for each session.

4 me, i getting my helper 2 feed FM if my girl needs milk during my massage sessions.

Congrats, Linda & Kelly!

kelly, better bring your BB to check soon. If jaundice level too high, can affect the brain. That's why I decided to quickly admit RaeAnne instead of waiting to see. RaeAnne's jaundice level is 252 when I visited her today. Just 8 pts lower than 260 so still worried. Hope, it can drop more so that she can be discharged tom afternoon.

Garfield, when I delivered, so many nurses, PT, LC, gynae, paediatrician walk in and out of my ward while I was breastfeeding so I'm immune liao. Not shy anymore. Hee.

Aiyah, pen nai is only for a few nodules lar, my SS is still not fantastic but at least more encouraging then to see the milk drip drop by drop when expressing. Hee.

By the way, the photo I posted was after I combed my hair and put on some lip balm. The first one was a candid one taken by my hubby straight after delivery. I looked so pale and tired. :p

Oh ya, can't remember who was asking but I have a BF pillow. Maybe I'm an inexperienced mum but I find it very useful. Even though I tried to BF with pillows (up to 3), it's still very tiring to keep holding baby because pillows are soft, whereas BF pillow is hard and you can just rest BB's whole weight on the pillow and position her latch on angle with one hand. When I was using the pillows, my arms ached for 2 days. But there was a BF pillow in my KK room so I asked the LC to teach me how to use it since I already bought one. :p

hi bluegin,

how u noe of the tampines sale?which thread provide the info?got to keep a lookout for it next time,cos missed it

Hi Cheryl, congrats!!! I am a feb mtb and have been reading this forum and I understand that you are letting go of your milkbags.. can I check which type do you have, does it have a seal? How much you selling it?

june
thanks for the info.

xiao yun
i think our body should be able to delivery the size of the baby even it's quite big. my colleague's daughter delivered a 4kg+ baby at home leh. though it's 2nd time, i think 4kg+ is huge baby...

cheryl
ya, like other mummies, i also think that it's really sayang not to bf bb....

berry
different massage lady got different opinion on when is suitable for massage after c-section. you can check with your massage lady.
for me, normally i tried to feed my bb 1st before the massage lady came. but sometimes, it really clashed between the feeding time and massage session. my CL would try to soothe the baby and asked the bb to wait. :p i remember my CL commented that my bb very poor thing... hungry still cannot drink.

Hi Cheryl, hope you r feeling beta today..

Sorry for asking so much..Can i ask which milkbags have the ziplog type of seal? Cos i dunno how to seal them if there is no seal... Btw, how much you selling them? And how come I get it from you?

thanks for all your concern, but unfortunately, my feng mo came back this morning, immediate i took the medication to suppress it. my grandmother say my body is weak, never take enough "bu"during this confinement cos i insist of bf, dun wan to take alcohol, liitle ginger and sesame oil and some herbs that will reduce bm. so she say bb can grow well on fm, dun be so strongheaded, must take care of my body before i can take care of bb.
and moreover, been expressing these few days but my supply super low, only can pump abt 10ml for both side and today is already the 9th day liao, see some of u already have good supply liao, seems like my body cannot produce good quantity.

feeling so depressed now... cant give the best to my girl.. so ladies, if u have bm, try to give bb, mother like us wan to give also cannot... cheryl, convince your hb and mum, and of cos end of the day is yourself whether u wan to give or not. if u have supply, dun waste k?

i also bought a few items before giving birth thinking that i got milk to bf bb, but guess i got to find ways to sell them away instead, then buy formulae milk of my girl... haiz...

on hand i have:

1 box BN Avent breast pads (washable) 6pcs - $18.70

1 box BN Avent breast shell - $30.10

2 BN box (24pcs)and 1 open box (22pcs) of lucky baby disposable breast pad - $10

all items giving away 20% off.
i also have those glass bottles from the hopital to give away if mummies can get all these items from me, can pick them up together. help me to get rid of them ok? seeing them lying aroung make me feel upset.

and also soon, might wan to sell my used avent manual breast pump also.

I am gg to go out now..so I cant reply u immediately. If it's ok can i reply u this afternoon? But I am interested to buy the breast pads from u and if u have the glass bottles to give me..thanks!!!

hihi havent logged on for a long time.. really happy to see the cute baby photos here
Congratulations to all the mummies who've popped.. hmm.. make me really look forward to seeing baby
but i still got a couple more weeks to go before full term..

Once again Congratulations to all the mummies here.. and All The Best to all the mummies to be like myself

hi ladies...

xiaoyun,
i have transferred $2.17 to you, transaction reference is 100000907172141

Do i owe any other ladies money? sorry, really getting absent minded these days...

I have a le blooming chic voucher (maternity & nursing wear shop at delfi orchard) to let go. value at $60. going on sale for $50.

anyone interested can let me know.

gaefield

the name we think ourselves....

now we decided on jin en 罗谨恩.... as my younger bro got the word feng.. so mother say cant

kelly, I think by the time I am ready for massage (at least 2-3 weeks I think, for C sect), hb oredi go back to work liao, which means I have no help for bb in the day lor. I guess I will consider massage if bb can be put on a reasonably-reliable routine (quite unlikely hor lol), otherwise maybe I'll just forget abt the massage. :p

Linda, the best way to stimulate supply is not to pump, but to latch. The more u latch, the better yr supply will be. But having said that, I guess BF is not the same for all, some mummies have a much harder time than others when it comes to BF. If it gets too tough and you really have to give up, dont beat yourself up cause there are other wonderful things a mom can do for her bb apart from BF. Your well-being is just as important as the bb's, dont forget that. Just give yr best, at least you have tried.

sunny, thanks for yr sharing on massage.
Waah your CL beri excessive to make such a comment to yr bb huh.

berry
mayb if u dun mind e massage lady 2 come in e evening, when ur husband is back fr work, u can arrange wif e massage lady. i know my previous massage lady works til 8pm.

jeannie
u asked me abt whether e massage is meant 4 slimming or relaxing rt? for my 2 massage sessions done wif different massage ladies, i told them tat i wanna slim down, get rid of my belly so both ladies worked on it. i did lose all my pregnancy weight in 1mth but tummy still flabby n tat required other work 2 b done lah...like exercise & toning.

tis time, i booked for 10sessions cos i wanna it 4 relaxing AND slimming.

kitsune
i'll b bringing e baby back 4 checkup 2mrw so will let PD decide. based on my experience, *i tik* she'll b hospitalised n i kinda prefer it cos i know she'll recover faster fr her jaundice tis way. we tried sunning her on sat, she dun mind it. didnt sun 2day cos no sun shining in.

hope raeanne is back in ur arms soon. jia you on ur BFg.

Hi Xiao yun,

had transferred the $ to your account, thanks!

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiaoyun
Amount S$2.17
Transaction Reference 1546327136

linda
don't feel sad if you can't bf your bb anymore. but if you are determined to bf and the supply is low, you can always approach the lactation consultant. take care!

berry
i also find that my gal quite poor thing that time. haha... that's y i didn't get upset when my confinement lady said so. but since i insisted 100% latch without bottle during confinement, my gal has to bear with me and wait for milk for a while. :p in a way, i treated it as a training of her patience.... crazy mummy hor?

Vine,
Can I add a California Baby Calendula Cream 2 oz (60g) $10.29 to my drugstore order? Only if its still convenient for you & Stephie. Thanks!

BF Pillow,
I have memory pillow (material like tempur but much cheaper). Cos its not so soft like normal pillow, was trying juz now if I can do with it. Seems ok leh, if not tink I will get a proper BF pillow too. =)

Cheryl,
Tink you baby eyes will open even bigger! The photo like not fully opened yet.

Kitsune,
Envy your "milk production", tink you do not need the tea or any supplements liao.
Dun wori, believe your little princess can be discharged real soon since there is alrdy improvement.

hello ladies

i am now at kkh .. pumpkin was supposed to be born tomorrow morning by c-section but it seemed that she was more keen to be delivered earlier than her sister did. my waterbag burst yesterday morning and i went for urgent c-section at 5pm yesterday. she was BIG .. her sister was 3.42kg at birth and our friend weighed a whopping 3.98kg ..!!! even dr sf loh was taken aback .. ahahhaha .. anyways we are both doing well and should be going home in the next day or so ..

linda,
don't be discouraged. we know that you have already trying hard to give your bb the best. maybe you try to be more relax and give some fm if necessary. with some patience and relaxation, your supply may be increased.

piglettail and tongtong,
i will check later.. thanks.

cuclainne,
congrates!! big baby le... is it a girl or boy?

Krisci,
purelan can be found in mums and babes (united square and AMK hub has their outlet)

tongtong,
take care and jiayou for tomorrow!!

cuclainne,
Congrats! Your baby is big, share wif us pic soon ya!

Dor,
You have more & more updating to do le! haha

Tongtong,
Jiayou! sleep early so tmr got energy to PUSH!!

Xiaoyun,
Thanks! Will try to make a trip down after my gynae appt tmr. Tmr will be 38 weeks le.. so near yet so far from week 40...

Bouncers- any of you bought bouncers/rockers for yr bb yet? I am thinking of getting one, something v portable and light to be used ard the home, can put bb there for short periods when my hands are bz. Maybe one that rocks so that can soothe bb if bb is upset. Those of you who have bought, wat kind u buy and where u got yours?

Hi Berry,
I bought a rocker @ John Little. Its similar to Combi one but much cheaper, ard $150 before discount. Find it very useful cos it can be total flat for baby to sleep in & cradle forth & back. Height is adjustable, got rollers so moving abt is easy & can be converted to be a feeding chair when baby is older.

Hope it helps!

Berry,
The height is adjustable. It can be a highchair & can be adjusted to be even lower dan my sofa seats.
My friend who has a 1 yr old gal recommended me the combi one bcos of its versatility, but I spoted this cheaper one with same functions.