(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kitsune, lol yr hb is so funny about the 12-claw setting! But hor, its true leh, I have a friend who lost her 0.8ct diamond cause she did a 4-claw setting, u can imagine how long she mourn for it.

tongtong, not sure if u wan to hear this, but labour pain is really quite unlike period cramps in my personal experience lol! Its like the worst tummyache u ever had in yr life (that kind that leaves you writhing in pain horizontally, cant even stand up straight) and multiply that by 10. Thats how it felt to me at least. But hey, I know that not everyone gets it that bad, v subjective, I actually have friends who say that theirs was bearable enough.

Epidural- I had epi despite vowing not to take any before I pop my first child lol. Hmmm my experience wasnt good, I was throwing up v badly for several hours after epi (side effects) and v giddy for a long while. But I know many mums who took epi with no side effects, so must depend on your body lor.

Berry, Oh no, your friend lost her 0.8 ct diamond with 4 claw setting? She must have been so heart pain. And I thought my hubby was ridiculous with his 12 claw setting. Looks like he's right after all.

I quite chor lor type, always knock my ring into things. If I lose the 'carrot' he bought for me, I think he'll never buy diamonds for me liao. :p

kitsune,
6 claw is definitely safer. or you can try 5 claw - also quite nice!

labour pains,
i wonder if it's close to the intensity of appendicitis pain...

Garfield, think I still prefer 6 claw like my Tiffany classic setting. Hee.
Anyway, this time bought from Lee Hwa, think they don't have 5 claw setting. The diamond came with free setting but only for white gold, prefer platinum setting leh but must top up another $500-$600. Bo hua. :p

hi Jaslyn,
heehee.. no lah.. got to go slow with durians... as i still having piles problems. still on medication...

Jess, enjoy yr er ren shi jie...

bkkgal,
maybe u can have 2 celebration? one with hb n the other with family?

garfield, today no class huh?

Andrea, ok!!!

Hi blueginger,

I was at ACJ clinic until 4 p.m. only. Don't think I saw you.

RE: gynae visit

My baby is 2.1 kg at week 35 day 1. I also put on another 0.5 kg. <sigh>

Anybody popped already or popping soon? Linda supposed to pop on 18th right? Dor, time to get your pop list up and going liao hehe. less than one month to go for me... so scary. even though i've read up and gone for antenatal class, still feel so unprepared!

xiaoyun, thanks again for the delivery. hehe. btw what diapers r u talking about? nv heard b4 but plan to use cloth diapering system so prob cannot join order with u le.

stephie, let me know the extra charges, pm me yr account number and total amount. thanks.

gathering on 24th... this time round a group of even bigger and clumsier pregnant mummies will get attention haha. what if one of us suddenly pop during the dinner...

Good morning, everyone.
I went for my gynae visit last evening.
Kinda emotional during my visit. My gynae was very tired den.
First is the bb scan which claimed that my baby is currently 2.5kg at Week35. Can't really have a nice photo. Next, I showed him a pimple-like redness on my pointer(3rd finger) tip which he claimed to be pimple. He suggested I applied some cream on it, but I preferred to have it popped myself.
He offered to do it for me, so I thought y not. Since he have another patient, he want me to wait for another 15mins before he do it for me. Meanwhile, he want me to do my payment, so I was puzzled. Never did I know that he wanna charge me $50 for his service just to pop the pimple. I was taken by surprise, I thought he offered to do it as a favour. At the end, I insisted to do it myself. Now after pimple was popped, my blood kinda flowing like tap-water. Wound nv heal. Mayb I should go for a GP huh? Any suggestion?

Hi, blueginger. Ya, maybe go to a GP first since cheaper. But if it's really bad or don't improve, you may want to see a dermatologist. May not be cheap but at least you'll know for sure what it is. Never heard of pimple on fingers before, it may be something else and I think a dermatologist will know best. Don't know why your gynae wanted to charge you, is it considered a minor procedure?

re: pop list
June, done already!!! waiting for updates!!!

re:gathering
june, hopefully, not so drama!

fairfield,
wow!!! that's fast... take care ok...

bluegin
did u ask him why there is a charge???
ya.. agreed with kitsune, go GP first..

i kanna PUPPP loh....

Pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP), also known as polymorphic eruption of pregnancy, is the most common rash in pregnant women. It normally occurs in first pregnancies during the third trimester with an average onset of 35 weeks. Thankfully, PUPPP does not usually affect subsequent pregnancies.

Appearance of PUPPP
The rash of PUPPP almost always begins in the stretch marks (striae) of the abdomen. It does not involve the belly button distinguishing it from other common rashes of pregnancy. The rash itself consists of small, red wheals in the stretch marks that grow together to form larger wheals on the abdomen. Sometimes the rash can include small vesicles. Over the next several days, the rash can spread over the thighs, buttocks, breasts, and arms.

This condition is harmless to mother and baby, but can be very annoying. It lasts an average of 6 weeks and resolves spontaneously 1 to 2 weeks after delivery. The most severe itching normally lasts for no more than 1 week.
Cause of PUPPP
The cause of PUPPP is unknown. It is not associated with preeclampsia, autoimmune disorders, hormonal abnormalities, or fetal abnormalities. Some investigators suggest that the rapid abdominal wall distension damages connective tissue and causes an inflammatory response. One study has shown that male fetal DNA can be found in skin biopsies of the rash. Since 70% of women with PUPPP give birth to boys, a new hypothesis is that male fetal DNA acts as a skin irritant.

Diagnosis of PUPPP
The diagnosis of PUPPP is clinical, meaning it is based solely on the appearance of the rash. There are no laboratory tests that detect PUPPP. Skin biopsies are not generally performed unless there is a question about the diagnosis.

Treatment of PUPPP
The treatment of PUPPP is symptomatic. High strength steroid creams or ointments, such as clobetasol (Temovate) or betamethasone (Diplrolene), used up to 5 to 6 times a day usually relieve the itching and prevent the spread of the rash. Once the rash is under control, changing to a lower strength steroid used less frequently is advisable. For severe cases, daily oral steroids may be necessary to control itching. Oral antihistamines such as atarax, benadryl, and zyrtec, are generally less effective for itching than steroids, but may be useful at night to help with sleep.

kitsune,

yes. so ciao. i'm in the same block as your mum. but just that when you are there, i am not there; when i am there, you are not there. :p

june,

oh ya. you bought the bum wear right? I actually going to use cloth nappies during day time. but will use diapers at night. that's why need some to standby. i also intend to use diaper in the first few days after bb is born because think the meconium is very hard to clean.

i searched this forum for review of GOO.N diaper. heard some good comment from Aug2007 mummies. the promotional price -- $13.80 is until 29 Feb. After that, it will revert back to $19.90

Order of www.diapers.com.sg for East (with $5 first purchase discount)
- collection at Bedok Reservoir Road
- close when $60 hits

GOO.N, NB (58 pcs), $13.80
(1) xiaoyun

GOO.N, S (63 pcs), $13.80
(1) xiaoyun

GOO.N, M (44 pcs), $13.80
(1)

GOO.N, Baby Wipes Box 70 pcs, $7
(1) xiaoyun

GOO.N, Baby Wipes Refills 3 x 70 pcs, $6
(1) xiaoyun

Huggies Dry Jumbo, M, 84 pcs, $15.50
(1)

Huggies Baby Wipes Box, 80 pcs, $6.50
(1)

Huggies Baby Wipes Refill, 160 pcs, $11.50
(1)

Pampers New Baby, S, 58 pcs, $25
(1)

Pampers Baby Dry, M, 62 pcs, $17
(1)

aiyoh..
i very greedy..
here's my new order:
Order of www.diapers.com.sg for East (with $5 first purchase discount)
- collection at Bedok Reservoir Road
- close when $60 hits

GOO.N, NB (58 pcs), $13.80
(1) xiaoyun

GOO.N, S (63 pcs), $13.80
(1) xiaoyun
(2) xiaoyun

GOO.N, M (44 pcs), $13.80
(1)

GOO.N, Baby Wipes Box 70 pcs, $7
(1) xiaoyun

GOO.N, Baby Wipes Refills 3 x 70 pcs, $6
(1) xiaoyun

Huggies Dry Jumbo, M, 84 pcs, $15.50
(1)

Huggies Baby Wipes Box, 80 pcs, $6.50
(1)

Huggies Baby Wipes Refill, 160 pcs, $11.50
(1)

Pampers New Baby, S, 58 pcs, $25
(1)

Pampers Baby Dry, M, 62 pcs, $17
(1)

i think I've accumulated $54.4.
$5.6 to meet the $60 mark...

xiaoyun,
haha.. think u can hit $60 on your own orders alone.. dun need to combine other pple orders lah.. u can order another baby wipe refills ($6).. hee..

happy,
i think so too.. hehe...
$6 for a refill of 210 pcs, not bad right?
just afraid that it's not good....

but thinking that it's a jap brand, my worry is less.

hehe.. i think i got a lot of the wet wipes liao..
in fact, GOO.N baby wipes with box is not very very cheap. just that i like the cute penguin design.

for half a year no need to get any wet wipes for sure..

Xiaoyun, ya you are right, so qiao. How long have you been staying there liao? My family moved there in Dec 93 and I moved out in Jan 05 when I got married.

By the way, when will you be dropping by my mum's place? I need to warn her first, scared they all go out. Hee.

kitsune, i moved in Mar 05.
again, when you are there, i am not there; when you are not there, i am there...
i will drop by on Monday, probably morning. if in case they go out, i just put it at the doorstep.

dunno if you can remember me, i only posted here once b4 :p

anyway, just an update. my original EDD is 4th feb but i just delivered on my 37 wk via c-section on 14 jan. dr wanted me to deliver cos baby has not been growing well since 32 weeks. her birth weight was only 1.86kg so she has to stay in hospital until she reaches 2kg.

so tired now being milkman to deliver milk everyday and visit my dd. =D

good luck to all MTBs whose EDDs are coming up!! kampate!

Hallo mummies! Wah today finally satisfied my one-week-old craving for korean food after watching the korean food movie last weekend lol! Yummy, now I'm a happy mummy! Also satisfied my craving for swordfish hehe (I know many of u wont eat sashimi when preggie, but I do, tho I make sure its really fresh :p ). I was telling hb, only weekends then got chance to satisfy my cravings for these food cause weekdays I usually cook and we eat at home.

Popping Date- Went to see my gynea today, we've decided to do my C-sect on 22nd feb, so I'm v v excited now, so much to do, I havent even started washing bb clothing yet.

Clothes- Now that we are nearing the end of the pregnancy, any of your tops is starting to be too short, or is it just me? Majority of the stuff I've been wearing is getting a lil too short, reaching just barely the end of my belly, so I'm only down to less than a few tops to wear. I bought 2 more today, really hoping that these few pieces can last me till I pop in a month's time.

berry,
glad u finally had a satisfying korean dinner..
huh.. wat's the reason for c-sec ?
i oso hv not started washing bb clothing/stuff yet.. oso hv not packed my hosp bag yet (my c-sec date is 14 feb).. hee.. mi really a last-min mummy..
most of my tops are not only getting short, they are getting tighter too.. :=P
dun really feel like getting new ones since i m gg to deliver in less than a month.. but with CNY around the corner, i think still need to get a couple new tops..

cheryl,
Glad to hear u r better.. do continue with the medication.. Hope ur rashes will heal quickly..

grumpus,
Congratulations!!
Hope ur gal reached the 2kg mark soon and can be at home with u..

<font color="ff0000">Congrats! Grumpus!</font> You are no. 1 on the pop list then.

Hppymum2b, Berrywife, I packed my bag in Dec, think now my clothes &amp; BB clothes are like "jiam cai" liao. :/ Just asked hubby to charge videocam &amp; camera today. Haven't packed my hair straigtening iron, stretchmark reducing cream etc in cos I'm still using it. :p

kitsune,
haha.. maybe u wan to take the clothings out &amp; aired in case there is a smell.. :=P
nevertheless, it is good to pack in advanced just in case..
for last-min mummy like me, i will sure be one gan jeong spider if i pop earlier than the edd.. :=P

happymum2be, haha I tell myself that the later we wash bb clothes, the cleaner it is for bb right (cause no chance for dust to settle on it)? You are still gonna be doing CNY visiting this year?

kitsune, Dec?! And u are gonna bring yr hair-straightening iron along too lol! Er, if u have not popped by CNy, will u still go visiting anyway?

CNY- dont think we'll be doing any visiting this year since its just 2 weeks before I pop. Will prob spend this period hibernating, packing/washing bb stuff and spending quality time with my dd.

Ya lor, cos that time all the Jan MTB popping so early so I kancheong and pack bag lor. Anyway, good also lar, pack early, don't feel so unprepared.

Won't be doing any CNY visiting cos my BB's edd is 1 Feb. Don't think she'll be overdue bah...

Date: 24 January 2008 (Thursday)
Time : Evening (dinner) 6.45pm ??
Venue : TCC Parco Bugis/Grand Plaza Hotel/somewhere central (any suggestion r welcome)

Interested mummies:-
1. dor11
2. vine_gal
3. happymum2b
4. kitsune
5. jeannie
6. artemis
7. bluegin
8. cheryl (TBC) if rashes gone or better will join
9. eliaw

kitsune
yah, were at the kkh talk yday afternoon
me suaku lah, 1st time managed to surf via hp so very excited :p

grumpus
Congrats! am sure your bb will reach the 2kg mark soon. keep us posted. any pictures to share?

CNY
don't intend to get any new clothes for the sake of CNY. will just wear my existing clothes.

Stephie, I even more suaku then you until now never surf web online with HP before... :p

Asked hubby to check with his IT collegue whether his laptop can do wireless surf at KKH. His colleague said don't think so, cos his laptop too old. Sigh. Looks like I got no internet access while at KK liao. :p

Garfield, thread so quiet. I'm so bored that I went to see the BP list and ended ordering ampoules. Hee. Do you knowing whether the bust firming ampoules can be used if BF? I'll only receive my goods after CNY though, don't know if it's after the CNY PH or after 15 days of CNY. :p

kitsune, wow u are due 1st feb, thats v soon, no wonder u are all packed lol!

Full month celebration- I think most of u shd be giving away cakes/eggs away to relatives for bb's full month celebration right? Where are you all getting from, any idea yet? For my first DD, I got from Choz, the service/quality is pretty okie, no complains. Wondering to get from them this time round or try somewhere else for variety. Any recs?
http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2007/home.php

Hi, Berry, I've tried Sweetest moments, packaging very nice but cake/ang ku kueh so so but cupcakes are nice. Also tried Melrose, their glutinous rice is very nice but packaging not very nice, especially the BB name just a computer sticker. But prices very reasonable, even got those below $5 especially if you got colleagues combining to give you present and the present not very big. :p

Anyway, recently my mum said bengawan solo voucher better, easy to give, easy to keep but relatives can top up for other things if they want. So I haven't decided. :p

haha, ya lor, me and dorothy are one of the no. 1 on the EDD list.

kitsune, I did consider vouchers for convenience, but its like very weird and informal, like giving money away lol (haha or maybe its just me who is weird :p). And my DD says also want me to order a box for her to eat too (she loves cakes n ang ku kway), I promise her liao. We are getting her to be as involved as she can be, so after deciding on the place to order from, I'll prob get her to pick from several packages, see wat she thinks is good. Hmmm I am now considering Choz and sweet secrets.

Hey girls!

I have a question ah...

2 friends recommended 2 post-natal massage ladies. The charges by these 2 are so different. One charges $40 per session (1 hr) for minimum 5 sessions. The other charges $400 for 7 sessions (1 hr), non-negotiable, must die die do 7 sessions. Does anyone know what is the difference? Why is one so expensive and the other so cheap?