(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

leila
welcome to the thread! me too not sure what herbs are safe to take during confinement. i just eat what my mum cooks.

Hi moi_dar,

Jia You! End of the week coming soon.

Hi blueginger,

Your photos very nice!
Looked very natural.

Hi leila,

Welcome!

RE: circumcision

I think PDs advise to do earlier within the first few days of the baby's delivery so that it can be done under LA as they are mostly sleeping. This is lesser risk for the babies (in case any allergic reactions to GA) and the procedure is also quite different. I think the PD (during the last antenatal class by TMC) described it as simply putting a ring around the penis and the foreskin will drop out after a few days. For doing it after the baby is discharged, they normally awake and have to go through GA and sometimes actual cutting. This is also more expensive and traumatic for the baby. So if you decide to circumcise your baby, do it early. Personally, I think after circumcision is more hygenic as mummies will not have to draw the foreskin back to clean. My antenatal instructor said some first time mummies forget or never draw back the foreskin sufficiently to clean and end up there is an infection.

RE: water retention

My mother also told me that after 3 times water retention means going to deliver soon.

Hi cheryl,

Sorry to hear about your condition. Take care!

RE: appetite

I find that I taking smaller but more frequent meals recently. Maybe to stop myself from feeling bloated. But keep thinking about sinful stuff like KFC, roti prata, bak kwa and laksa. :p But I scared eat these heaty stuff I again kana rashes.

RE: confinement

I'm a water baby (Love to bathe). Don't think I can tahan whole month never bathe. So told my MIL and she said bathe hot water with lemon grass and rice wine should be okay and make sure dry dry then step out of the bathroom. Bathroom should not open window. Fan/aircon should not blow at me directly. As for food wise, she only told me must eat a lot of ginger stuff, fish, pig trotters with vinegar, drink lots of longan water and fried glutinous rice water. Hope she will cook some of the stuff from the book I gave her too cause they look quite delicious. :p

artemis: ya... i oso feel like ba kwa too... think wanna go and Q for the lin zhi guan wan leh. hehe~

re: confinement
o ya... my mum told mi during confinement cannot drink water. can onli drink longan water.. dunno y oso.

Jaslyn,
Sent liao.

Stephie & Dor,
Thanks. I guess we will have to check with the Hakka association... if not, maybe just convert into my dialect or use hanyupinyi liao...

anyone knows average bb medical bill (assuming bb is normal and health)
1. bb vaccinations cost (at GP vs PD)?
2. average consultation fee to see PD?
3. jaundice treatment at hospital which is common?
4. anything else?

ya tong...my coy offering $175/mth insurance to cover US$9K for my maternity expenses, US$1.6Mil for any maternity complications, and US$36K for bb healthcare.

dunno whether to take up or not

Garfield
You shd just take it up (if allowed to do so at this stage) cos I researched some insurance coverages for maternity last year (b4 getting preggy) and was told that I have to take up policy at least 9 mths before conception. But 1 mth after talking to the agent, I found I was preggy already, so cannot take up lor. Pity.

Insurance
Which mom here is an insurance agent? I rem reading a post on getting coverage for bb. Please PM me cos hb is keen to talk to someone knowledgeable abt endowment funds/insurance etc.

garfield,
my comments (in arrows)..

anyone knows average bb medical bill (assuming bb is normal and health)
1. bb vaccinations cost (at GP vs PD)?
---> When i checked for my son, the 6 in 1 package by PD is abt $450 and by GP is abt $300+
2. average consultation fee to see PD?
---> Abt $60 & above. If repeat visit, ard $50. (exclude medicine)
3. jaundice treatment at hospital which is common?
---> My son undergo jaundice treatment few days after he was borned and the cost was covered under the main hospital bill.
4. anything else?

Aiyoh, i start to bleed again this morning.... maybe baby cannot wait to come out. Will monitor and check with doc to see when the bleeding is bad enough to go to the hospital.

Haven't thought of bb's name yet. Waiting for the delivery first and then go to Yu Long Zi to calculate the strokes for the chinese name.

Water Retention
Is it really true about the 3 times thingy? Don't scare me coz i experience twice so far already!! I want a rat bb!!

Hi Bkkgal,

my gynae's Mary Rauff too
. When is ur due date? mayb we wld be "screaming" at the same time in the delivery suite. Went for the hospital tour last week, the delivery suite and maternity suite both look pretty nice and quiet.

Hi artemis and jaslyn
me too! i have craving for sinful stuffs, yestr jus had a whole pack of tapioca chips and prawn fritters. 2day, summoned my hubby to go buy pineapple balls fm le cafe. v yummy !! kinda afraid i wld b too heaty oredi but can't seem to stop myself!

Garfield, I think PD charges varies depending on who u go to. Some PDs charge from as low as $40 inwards for first consult, and $30+ for subsequent consultation. Some PDs charge from $70-$80 and above, and $40-$50+ for subsequent consult. Of cos the cost is not definitely indicative of a PD's skill, but personally I feel that its v worthwhile to find and have a PD that you trust and go to for all BB's illnesses/concerns, and I also feel (and speaking from personal experience with my DD) that its not true that all PDs are the same either. A really good PD will be able to disgnose bb's illneses v accurately and hence prescribe meds accordingly so yr bb wont take longer than needed to recover, neither will s/he play safe by over-prescribing meds (this part is v impt, takes a v experienced and responsible PD to not prescribe strong meds/antibiotics for every ailment, this might harm bb's health unnecessarily). Just my $0.02's.

moi_dar: take care wor... bb might be v excited to meet u!
are you having boy are ger huh?

RE: Ba Kwa & CNY goodies
Just went chinatown to buy Lim Chee guan ba kwa... 1kg $44. no Q yet @ chinatown branch. Got quite a bit of CNY goodies for paretns and PIL and myself... v heavy. Now knee pain coz walk so far.

lelia: hahah i will console myself and drink liang cha and starfruit juice so i wont be heaty

Berry
agree with your views. that time my gal was having fever on and off for a few days so brought her to see PD. He didn't prescribe antibiotic immediately. Instead he said to observe and see if fever goes away after x days. when i brought my gal to see a GP during another ocassion, he immediately prescribe her with antibiotics. somemore must take for 10 full days! i personally don't like to take antibiotic and will avoid giving to my gal if possible.

moi_dar
take care and keep us posted of your development.

jaslyn
you are fast leh. just said you wanna eat bak kwa at 11am+ and now you are back with your bak kwa liao! enjoy

thanks ladies for all your advice.

ya, this insurance plan allows me to sign up even though i'm already pregnant. coy managed to arrange for waiver of the grace period (actually, maternity is not covered within first 10 months of signing up). and i just realized that the monthly premium is $75 and not $175.

for hospitalization stay...roughly how much cash upfront do we need to pay less medisave? is there a big difference between the cash upfront for natural vs c-section?

moi dar,
oh dear...hope bb stays inside longer!

leila,
welcome!! i didn't have cravings thru out my pregnancy till now....today craving for chocolate pralines =)

garfield: can share abt ur insurance plan? the plan is for u or bb? i'm looking into some hopistalization plan for my boy boy too. not sure wat is considered sufficent. probably not endowment yet. thinking more in the line of covering all the medical aspect 1st.

good afternoon ladies!

moi_dar,
take good care!

Welcome leila!

Ba Kwa
now u gals mentioned it, i feel like eating too! oh dear the starting px for Lin Zhi Yuan ba kwa is already $44/kg...cant imagine when it gets nearer and nearer CNY! *faint*
i remember i bought Lin Zhi Yuan in Nov, it was $40/kg

Craving
im on a sugar rampage this week...hahaha.

garfield: btw.. there is this stall @ clementi selling ba kwa 1kg only $32 * eyes light up* Bought half kg to try last week. Quite good. Each slice v thin but a bit too sweet lah. but i like sweet stuff so ok for me
Long Q thou...

price of bak kwa already increased? there's still 3 more weeks to CNY leh. this year, everything also increase. bengz. if wanna eat, better buy now else nearer to CNY laggi ex and gotta queue somemore.

personally i don't find lim chee guan nice leh. maybe the last time i tried wasn't good. still prefer mei chen xiang or xiang wei bak kwa.

stephie: think dbs got promo for xiang wei ba kwa.. think its like 5 bucks off or something.. but then now near cny.. dunno still got promo a not

jaslyn, i was having lunch at chinatown and was waiting for bus in front of lim chee guan! but think you left liao cuz i was there at 145 hehe. yea started to see the queue liao.

think my appetite getting better cuz i had meehun for lunch, then 1pc of honeydew, 6 pcs of thai tiny pancake and 1 cup of mr bean soymilk! so full now.

tongtong: haha so qiao... we are @ ard the same place again
yeah i went early lunch todae. coz i thot might need to Q. left lim chee guan @ abt 1 like tat
haha ur bb must be feasting now.

jas,
my insurance package is negotiated by coy, it is underwritten by BUPA international mainly for expatriates (hence the very generous coverage). it's heavily subsidized by my coy that's why the premiums are relatively low. if i were to leave the coy, the laymen premiums are super ex lor =P

$32/kg bak kwa is cheap?!?!?! but now so heavy liao....abit lazy to queue. Mei zhen xiang already increased prices to $43/kg. $1 difference i might as well buy Lin Zhi Yuan. I think i will buy this weekend and start feasting!

oh no....all the bak kua talk is making me salivate too! thk will ask hubby to go 2morrow and buy...he's been quite poor thing recently, always kena sent by me to buy stuffs fm everywhere.

And of course my gynae wasn't too pleased when she saw that i had put on 3kg over a span of 3wks!

Pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy (PUPPP), also known as polymorphic eruption of pregnancy, is the most common rash in pregnant women. It normally occurs in first pregnancies during the third trimester with an average onset of 35 weeks. Thankfully, PUPPP does not usually affect subsequent pregnancies.

Appearance of PUPPP
The rash of PUPPP almost always begins in the stretch marks (striae) of the abdomen. It does not involve the belly button distinguishing it from other common rashes of pregnancy. The rash itself consists of small, red wheals in the stretch marks that grow together to form larger wheals on the abdomen. Sometimes the rash can include small vesicles. Over the next several days, the rash can spread over the thighs, buttocks, breasts, and arms.

This condition is harmless to mother and baby, but can be very annoying. It lasts an average of 6 weeks and resolves spontaneously 1 to 2 weeks after delivery. The most severe itching normally lasts for no more than 1 week.
Cause of PUPPP
The cause of PUPPP is unknown. It is not associated with preeclampsia, autoimmune disorders, hormonal abnormalities, or fetal abnormalities. Some investigators suggest that the rapid abdominal wall distension damages connective tissue and causes an inflammatory response. One study has shown that male fetal DNA can be found in skin biopsies of the rash. Since 70% of women with PUPPP give birth to boys, a new hypothesis is that male fetal DNA acts as a skin irritant.

Diagnosis of PUPPP
The diagnosis of PUPPP is clinical, meaning it is based solely on the appearance of the rash. There are no laboratory tests that detect PUPPP. Skin biopsies are not generally performed unless there is a question about the diagnosis.

Treatment of PUPPP
The treatment of PUPPP is symptomatic. High strength steroid creams or ointments, such as clobetasol (Temovate) or betamethasone (Diplrolene), used up to 5 to 6 times a day usually relieve the itching and prevent the spread of the rash. Once the rash is under control, changing to a lower strength steroid used less frequently is advisable. For severe cases, daily oral steroids may be necessary to control itching. Oral antihistamines such as atarax, benadryl, and zyrtec, are generally less effective for itching than steroids, but may be useful at night to help with sleep.

hi mommies

Sorry to intrude... Im from the Jan MTB thread. I have a Ferrari Stroller to let go @ $350 (bought it for $439) used it once only during bb's full month on 12 Jan. Interested mommies, pls contact me at 9007 2223 or email me [email protected]

Condition: Almost Brand New
Reason for selling: DH's friends gave one for bb's full month and I dun need 2 strollers.

Features:

- comfortable newborn stroller
- mutiple recline positions
- suitable from birth up to 15kg
- large under basket
- removable front saftey bar
- handle height adjustable
- This is an official licensed product

1204212.jpg

leila,
that's the privilege we hv when we r preggie.. can ask hb to go & buy watever we craved for..
haha.. :=P

huh, u put on 3 kg in 3 wks? tat's quite alot..

Cheryl: heng the PUPPP is onli in 1st pregnancy. i think i have getting a mild case too. lower abdomen and some part of thigh.