(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Aiyo nowadays my legs and feet swell already. Difficult to squat down already. Drink so much water, milk and other liquid stuffs but seldom go toilet. Think I sweat out more than I go toilet. Anybody facing this situation? Is it bcos it's nearer the date already?

Thankful, my water retention also getting worse and worse. Before that only right hand swollen. Today, when I woke up, left hand also swollen. Feet also swollen that my usual pair of shoes pinch when I walk. Forgot to ask gynae today but I think could be because close to EDD. When's your EDD?

garfield,
i'm not the luckiest when it comes to not bathing during confinement lah.. in fact, feb is the coldest mth leh, i still need to turn on heater 24/7. But i am still planning on bathing etc lah, ( luckily my mum also thinks bathing is more hygienic) so probly the only thing i will follow regarding confinement is eating the pig trotters, cos its one of my fav foods.

tute,
dun think i will be having circumcision done for my bb too. I think i will feel a lot of heartpain seeing my bb cry after that.

kitsune,
congrats on bb being almost engaged!! I don't know if mine is already engaged cos apparently the docs here are only interested to know if bb is in head-down position. Mine's been in the head-down since 32 wks. BTW, will they do cervix check for us at every weekly checkup now?

happymum
your c-sec is scheduled on 14 feb? nice date!

kitsune
i heard from old ppl that when the water retention come and go for 3 times, it's time to delivery liao.

Tute,
Never cross my mind to do circumcision for my son. Don't think it is necessary. Ppl who do it, more for religious purpose.

Garfield,
cervix closed back liao but doc still order to be in bed till next week till I reach at least 36 weeks before I can more around at home. Cos he said can still aggravate and cause the cervix to efface and then dilate. So he doesn't want me to take the risk.

Kitsune, Congrats! Bb on the way liao!

Water retention
Actually I realise I am not suffering from water retention when I rest so much in bed. So gals, rest more to reduce the water retention.

Craving/Hunger
I find that now that I am 35 weeks, i tend to get hunger more easily and have more cravings leh. Is it the same as you gals?

Kitsune,
Congrats...you're almost there!! Must be feeling very excited =)

Thankful,
I am swelling also. can't fit my shoes in the mng and my nose is starting to look like rudolph =P i don't have any problem with going to toilet though. maybe should rest more in bed as moi dar suggests!

Moi Dar,
Dong one more week...today already Thur. Re hunger - ya, my appetite is better these days too. Weight gain also seems to be faster (maybe partly due to the water retention).

Fairfield,
I think it's easier to tahan not bathing in cold weather leh...when my hb was posted to Beijing - during winter time, it's sooooo cold that i don't even feel like bathing haha!! Your mum sounds like the new age / modern type so think you'll breeze through your confinement in terms of not having to adhere to all these traditional customs

kitsune,
re: 24 Jan outing
welcome to join us..
we thinking of gg tcc at bugis junction.. okie wif u ? r u working on tat day or start ML liao?

sunny,
14 feb easy to remember hor.. hee..
yes, i hv also heard abt the water retention, if come & go for 3 times means gg to deliver soon.. :=P

cheryl,
if ur ah boi really pop on 14 feb, will hv the same bday as my gal leh..
then i can visit u at your ward or u can come to my ward.. haha..

Hi girls, long time never post. Almost buried by the pile of work i have to do. So tired.......

Engage means the baby is coming? My baby was head down in the 32nd week. My visit to the gynae on Sat at 36 weeks show the baby still head down and its engaged according to my gynae...............

I am starting to feel nervous these days...

Wow Jess, you are the 1st to pop! Its only next Tue!

Sunny.. agree with u that if retention comes and go.. perhaps means ready to pop!! My colleague also told me thats its so weird.. just a few day before she deliever.. her badly swollen feet seems to get better...
Kitsune... u can get ready!!!
Think urs may be a Jan baby too!!

wow.. so many pp.. going to deliver soon.S\o i suppose the list is like that?
1. Jess/ Linda?
2. Kitsune/ Moi dar??

Happymum.. i also wanna join for 24th Jan outing leh.. B4 we deliver....but i can make it only in the evening..

Happymum.. 14th feb is a very nice date.. but ur ger lugi 1 present.. hehe..

Apple.. wow.. u are week 36 already.. thats fast.. so perhap 2-3 weeks more..

Jess
Congrats for being the first mummy to pop ;)

Fairfield
Think you are more fortunate than me! By the time i pop, its still summer. I hope by then there wouldnt be anymore 40C over my side!! Cooler weather is way better for me as I love winter =)

jeannie,
Come & join us on 24 jan.. meet evening shd be ok.. i waiting for kitsune's reply on her timing..

ya lor, my gynae oso said my ger will lugi 1 present.. but i told him, i will make sure my ger's future bf/hb buy 2 presents for her.. cannot bully her, juz buy 1 for both V day & Bday.. hee..

Maid
Sorry can't rem who was in the process of hiring a maid? Can someone point me to the MOM link to take the employer's exam?

Hb and me "sian" already. So many agencies, so many types of schemes, so many maids to interview. We just picked the first one, talked to 1 maid and decided to take a deep breath and jump in.

Btw, anyone knows roughly how much is it per month to feed, house and pay the maid? including her insurance, maid levy, medical expense?

bkkgal,

it's not at mom site
it's at sp poly site and you gotta pay $30 by credit card or e-nets...

here's the direct link : http://cec.sp.edu.sg/webapps/login/

Need to logon using your singpass...should take you around 1.5 hours...i did it with half eyes open coz was too sleepy...hahah...

HappyMum,

have not handover yet.............maybe next week I will go thru the stuffs with him. But even then I have to do as much as I can or else my colleagues gonna have a hard time cos there is no replacement and its only distributing my work to other colleague and I am only passing over the essential stuffs to them. The rest I will come back and settle after maternity leave..............

tute

Shld i get hb to be the employer and take the exam or myself be the employer har? just wondering for purposes of qualifying for the maid levy whether I shld be the main applicant...pls advise..

apple,
aiyo, u so poor thing.. nw heavily preggie still hv to work so much.. ur boss din hire a temp to cover u ah ? u r gg to hv alot to settle after ur ML.. **headache**

oops...didn't notice ur next questions...

Insurance (Medical + Bond Protector)
For me, insurance covered in the agency fee for the 2 year contract term...2 types, there's the bond protector so that you don't have to pay the 5k bond and also the accident medical coverage. But for my case normal illness e.g. flu, cough etc it's not covered. This one i gotta pay for them when they go GP.

Maid Levy
If you're a singapore citizen it's $170 else like me gotta pay in full $265/month. Levy payable to MOM via giro.

Maid Salary
Pay directly to maid, normally you will have to pay maid loan for a certain period of month depending on the agency, than the outstanding amoung pay to maid directly. My agent advise me to keep the pay first until she accumulates $500 then open a bank account for her so that she doesn't keep cash in the house.

Food + Other Expenses
I guess this one is relative, but you gotta provide daily necessaties...including soap, shampoo, toothpaste...but my agent say no need to provide pads coz that's consider personal...up to you though if you wanna provide...

Hope that helps a bit ! We've also chosen our maid, think it's really a gamble so just hope you get a good one...

I am new here and would like to join your thread. Am too having a Feb kiddo. He is estimated to be due on 22 Feb, and i wld be delivering in NUH.

Was wondering...anyone has any idea what herbs we can take during our confinement period while breastfeed'g? My confinement lady gave me a list of stuffs to buy but m not too sure wat's considered "safe" for the bb?

i am also going to go get a maid soon.. me so last min rite? haha... so i guess i will have to pop first then the maid will come in...
is the process very long?

re:bw,

i emailed my gynae asking her about this shaving thing, she said that normally for normal delivery will shave a bit around the v area, but for c-section just need to shave around the area where the cut will be made.

she said, of course if we do waxing will be cleaner and suggest should go around 36 weeks...which means either next or following week...hmmmm...should i go or not ? hahaha... soooo indecisive !!!

hi morning ladies!

snow: sorry for late reply... nv log in last nite. my email... [email protected] hehe waiting to see your photos

happy: hey ur son's bday same as mine haha
yeah if your ger arrive on 14 feb. then their bday will exactly be half yr apart

Thanks for the tips!

We had a phone interview with the maid yesterday. She sounded cheerful, worked for a Sporean before, doesn't mind taking care of babies, can learn to cook etc. So, cross our fingers and hope she's ok lor, not some sick psychopath in disguise or whatever.

Maid salary
I'm thinking we shld open a savings acct and keep the passbook for her. For the first 600SGD, i think better put in a time fixed deposit so she can't just take and go. the agency says sometimes the maid remits money and find that their husbands run away with their hard-earned money or they themselves get cheated by other foreign workers here.

hi Jess,
dun worry... cos i also getting a maid after i popped... cos cant stand another person in the house during this period....

hi jess
i think the process is longer if you take a fresh maid from phil/indon but shorter if you take a transfer maid. also depends whether maid has ready passport and visa.

cuz i won't have a confinement lady and our 2 moms will take turns to cook for me, we thot a maid will be useful for doing the baby's laundry, dumping diapers, general clean up. also i wanna have time to train her before i pop. indiv preference lah.

i also dun have CL. same as u, the 2 mothers will take turn to help me cook, and of cos my hubby too. hee...
so i guess i just take watever there is.

Nope. Hb and me are back for good. He ended his contract last year. For me, also good lah cos now I have parents' support and lots of pampering after delivery here. heehee.

thankful: yeah mi oso kena quite bad water retention. gave up on squatting long ago coz dun think i can balance properly oso. no ankles to tok abt now.

cheryl: hows ur rashes now? better already?

lelia: hello
erm.. not sure abt the herbs leh. sorry not able to help.

moi_dar: yeah.. i'm feeling hungry more oft. not much of a cravings thou

kitsune,
I'm into my 36weeks already. EDD 16Feb. Only have swollen feet and legs these few days. I'm not in bed all the time cos it's very "xin ku" to sit on the bed. So I'm usually sitting on chair/sofa with legs up. Sometimes also feel "xin ku"

Tute,
Me still undecided also on BW. Need to ask gynae tomorrow.

I find my appetite grow smaller already. Mayb no space for my stomach with bb pushing your stomach. Now only eat 1/2bowl of rice only. (Like going back to 1st trimester like that) Blurping all the whole day with stomach acid in throat. Aiyo! Yucks! My MIL ate the whole big plate of rice. Sometimes I wonder who is pregnant leh. Kekeke.....

snowbelle
asked my mum yday. she also dunno how to pronounce leh. sorry, can't be of help. btw, my hubby also said the name is very nice