(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tong, with the kind of food we eat during confinement.. poo poo is a challenge... so think maybe u wan to standby some fibregel?
or like what kelly say... prune juice...

Kelly,
KKH did gave 1bottle of medicine to soften poo. Not sure abt other hospital thot.

Dor,
Don't take fibregel. The last time I took, bb have watery poo. Lact nurse said it will pass thru BM and affect bb poo.

piglettail,
What time all of you intend to go?

kelly,
Thanks. Just now my mom told me cannot bath for 1 whole month... I almost fainted... thought just first few days... She said last time although she bath with boiled ginger and lemongrass water secretly after 1 or 2 weeks, she almost died... can't remember whether she was sent to hospital or not. I dunno whether I can tahan not bathing even for a couple of days...

Can we eat those small bananas as well? With the type of food we eat during confinement and episiotomy, must make our poo poo as soft and smooth as possible...

Hi Thankful,

The therapist said each session will take about 1.5 hrs.

I think the probable arrangement for now will be

5.30pm (or 5.45pm): Garfield, Jaslyn

7.00pm (or 7.15pm depending on previous ladies): Piglettail, Tute and bbkgal-tbc

Do you want to come too?

Jaslyn,
Have to chk with gynae this Fri. Dunno whether she have plans on when to deliver me. It also depends on bb condition and weight I suppose. When will I need to confirm with all of you? Dunno whether too adventures for me to travel so far. Gynae said cannot walk too much leh...

Hi snowbelle,

I think not bathing for a whole is not very possible in our humid weather. Plus during our antenatal class, the instructor emphasised that we should keep clean. Especially if we are breastfeeding and/or have episotomy. In fact, if have episotomy, have to clean the area 3 times a day with a cleanser provided by the hospital. If breastfeeding, we should keep clean to prevent the baby from getting oral thrush (fungal infection of the mouth).

RE: fruits

I think we can eat payayas too right? Payaya and fish soup good for breast milk generation right?

snowbelle
i was told tat bananas r a no no too. 4 wat reason, i cant recall. tat's y i was eating apples every other day during confinement. very sian lor but supposedly e safest fruit.

Garfield,
I've enough front-buttoned clothing. Won't be buying the pyjames from you.

Dorothy,
U excited? Counting down liao.

I'm gng for my gynae visit this friday. I saw Linda on my last visit, but her tummy still look small leh. Dun seem to be really for delivery. Who is her gynae?

piglettail,
She said "wind went in" and her whole body started shaking uncontrollably... I also not sure... at first thought she didn't use hot water to bath, but she did leh... maybe depends on individual body bah?

the safest fruit to take is APPLES. The rest not sure.

For confinement food, I just bought watever that my mum want us to buy. Not sure wat she is preparing too. =P

snow: mi mum say can bathe.. but onli w warm water mixed w some herbs. dunno wat kind. coz mi aunt who gave birth last yr pass to mi. herbs are packed in packet form wan. but gotta warm hair.. blow dry then bathe. hahah cant do everything tm. dunno y oso... she say so tat wont 'catch a cold' zhao2 liang2

snowbelle,
It is best not to bathe for 1 full month, but if you cannot tahan, den take warm herbal bath or wipe as an alternative.

artemis,
That area have to wash frequently but thk bathing is another thing...
Definitely if can't bath, got to sponge clean... I dunno whether I can stand it even for a day...

kelly,
I c. Apples also cannot eat everyday meh? Now I'm trying to eat at least 2 apples a day to help my poo poo...

garfield,
Thk not all veggie can eat during confinement... some are too cooling... but this is also another way to help in our big biz

Do not eat cabbage after delivery. Cabbage will produce wind in bb thus cause wind in bb stomach. This was told by KKH course.

confinement food,
my mom and mil didn't ask us to buy anything yet... think will get them after deliver bah...

Jaslyn,
my mil said those herbs used for bathe one, got yucky smell... after bathe, our skin will feel sticky, worst then before taking bathe leh... so she said just boil ginger and lemon grass in water will do.

bluegin,
Hopefully I can tahan not to bathe even if just for a week... honestly... pity my hb leh... got to sleep beside me... hahaa

garfield,
hopefully by the time we do our confinement, weather still cooling lah...

Btw, no fan and natural breeze is it? only aircon allowed?

Blueginger,

When i have really bad heartburn i'll take liquid antacid. Im taking Gaviscon now but have tried Mylanta before and it also works.

blueginger, yea i heard that apple cider drink can help too.

snowbelle- my hubby said maybe he wont be sleeping on the same bed with me and he will sleep on the floor!! haha

Anyone interested to meet up again, probably for the last time before most of us start popping ?

Date: 24 January 2008 (Thursday)
Time : Either aftn (Hi-tea) or evening (dinner)
Venue : TCC Parco Bugis/Grand Plaza Hotel/somewhere central (any suggestion r welcome)

Interested mummies:-
1. dor11
2. vine_gal
3. happymum2b

Confinement
I bathed 2-3 times a week during confinement (with herbal water). Washed my hair twice a week. Can't tahan if don't bathe for one whole month. Will be 'chow sng' liao. :p

Me on fan when sleeping at night leh, else so hot how to sleep.

Fruit wise i didn't take any during the first 2 weeks, then after that can't remember wat fruits i took. only know a lot of fruits cannot take. so deprived.

Gathering
i can't make in on 24 Jan

Confinement,
Can we take pears? Is it consider cooling one?

stephie,
can use fan meh?

Gathering,
Can't confirm yet... will have to see whether I'm feeling better or not next week.

I dun have apple cider now. Will try honey.

Piglettail,
Where to buy liquid antacid? The brand you took Gaviscon or Mylanta.

Confinement food
I know nuts about herbal stuff except for ginseng. But MIL bought a lot in Taiwan. Something that look like dried roots but big pieces and lots of dried longan.

Stephie & Snowbelle,
No fan is a no-no for me. CAnnot sleep in room without fan. Siao liao.

Hi Blueginger,

The liquid antacid can be bought at Watson or Guardian Pharmarcy. The brand im using now is Gaviscon. I think Cheryl is using Mylanta now. Previously before preggie, i have used Mylanta too and it also works well.

blueginger,
i take mylanta too...but it's a bit like taking liquid colgate (very minty), some pple dun like the taste. you can opt for pill form also.

confinement:
think cannot have fan leh.. coz got breeze leh. either... tong or aircon. mi aunt got use fan coz cannot tahan.. then now complain now here pain there pain.

can drink apple cider ah? i've a bottle of apple cider vinegar. checked with the ladying selling it and she said pregnant woman should not drink. hmm..

oh, blueginger, doesnt look like u leh.. maybe you din wear specs in the photo.. hehe. thanks for sharing! you and your hubby look so sweet and en ai!

tontong,
thank you.

Stephie,
YAP. the website is by my photographer.

BKKGAL,
The first couple is the photographer and his wife. They are my friend.

jeannie,
Thank you. See under "Package" for the charge.

Jaslyn,
Hi Honey works on me. I'm feeling much better now.

Blueginger,

Before preggy i already a sensitive stamouch/gastric...so often get heartburn.

I think our heartburn now is caused by the the 'lack of space' as bb is squashing our gastric.