(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bbkgal, actually I have many friends who are v close and bonded with their kids even tho they are FT working mums like u. Even if you work fulltime, u can still spend quality time w yr child after work n on weekends, and that counts alot too. I feel that its more of how you spend your time with them when u are around. Ultimately, u are the mom and you will always be irreplacable to your kid.

Coffee- haha I am guilty :p No choice leh, my coffee fix is the only way I can stay awake enuf for whole of one day. I usually only stick to one serving a day if I can but on some rare days when I am sleep-deprived and really need it, I will have one more cup lor, but thats really the max. Oh, and I usually try to take cappacino cause its alot more mik than caffaine compared to those kopi-tiam kind of local coffee.

Garfield, waah thanks for the HK link, really appreciate it
BTW, have u ever bought from her before? Are those authentic HK items? I know that there are quite alot of ppl selling unauthentic HK stuff thats made to look like the real thing, even have the sanrio logo on it. Do u know how to tell the diff?

Jaslyn, I have no experiencing hiring nannies, but I think it shd be similar to when I am interviewing schs when deciding which PG to send my dd to haha. Heres wat I would ask if I were hiring a nanny- stuff like daily routine she usually does w bb under her care, find out more abt wat nanny believes in, feeding/sleeping schedule, is she willing to follow everything u ask or does she have her own set of thinking she would like to carry out (some experienced nannies may feel they know better?) in certain areas. Then later when bb starts eating, expense-wise how much more she will expect from u, who will do marketing (u or her?), etc. I would also be concerned abt things like would she pick up bb when bb cries, or she is the sort who will let bb cry on his own after a certain period of time (some nannies might feel carrying too much will spooil the child?). And stuff like will she use a sarong for bb to sleep and so on (cos some mummies dun like, but nanny might want that). And pacificers too? These things are all v subjective, so best to ask if her thinking is similar to yours, or if she will willing to do it yr way if there are differences (cause its yr child after all).

tongtong,
thk the nurse just follow the price list they have, better ask the doc...

milk,
initially I drank the ante-natal milk formula every day in the morning and HL milk at night, but put on a lot of weight in that month... so decided to switch to Meiji low-fat milk... but only drink it few times a week + soya bean curbs...

btw, heard that anmum milk is very fattening...

Eatz,
quite surprised that the deep fried food tasted nice... thought it will become soggy by then... can consider for full month celebration leh

American ginseng tea,
Can we drink this?

I just came back from viewing a very scary place! hb arranged with property agent to see a unit, turned out to be a dang kee/temple!!! i stood outside the door but minute i saw the altar, my bb gave me a HUGE KICK, I said "no, i dun wanna go in" . So scary and really made my heart feel so uncomfy.

snowbelle,
anmum milk very fattening huh ? oops... but it's one of the ones that taste better... some more i drink the choc flavor one... :p

but i drink the milk in between meals, like around 10.30 and 4pm so that i don't snack :p hmm...think i still have half a can of anmum now in office and around 7 packs of cold anmum at home...maybe i'll switch to normal milk after this...

Jaslyn, np hehe, just rattling off the top of my head. Haha I am quite particular about things pertaining to the care of my child, so will think of heaps of questions to ask wan. But some mummies are more easy going, might not be as particular as I am, so gotta see your parenting personality also.

snowbelle, I think american ginseng tea is mildly cooling and has the properties of revitalising yr energy (ti2 shen2) right? I personally think its fine as long as not too much (like 1-2 cups shdnt be a prob?).

berry,
i'm not familiar with this organizer and honestly, i can't tell the difference between genuine and fake stuff. my rule of thumb is - if there is no potential danger of using the product then i would buy from BP else will err on the side of caution. i wouldn't buy stuff like the water tumblers, snack boxes etc. cos we will ingest whatever harmful contents (if any). but bags, umbrellas, tissue boxes are fine for me.

bkkgal,
*yikes* so gross!!! aiyo, must get your hb to scold the agent. the good ones will give you advance warning so you don't get a rude shock.

ginseng tea,
snow - my chinese physician says to avoid ginseng cos it's too heaty and too bu3 for preggies.

milk,
actually i think the supplements provided by the anmum milk and multi-vits are similar...so overkill to take both at the same time.

tute,
That's what I heard about anmum milk from other threads lah... but it tastes quite nice... the worst is Enfa mama... luckily I didn't buy, tried the free sample instead... almost puked... very yucky... in the end I throw the other sample pack away...

american ginseng tea,
does it apply to all types of ginsengs? heard got 2 kinds... 1 heaty and 1 cooling one... dunno american ginseng belongs to which category...

after last sat gathering hor, my hb started reading this thread liao... next time got secret to tell must post under another nick or find another forum to post liao... hahahaaa...

hormone,
sigh... just now my mom and sis came to my house and they got some arguments (that is none of my biz at all)... and for no reason, I exploded... in the end, got tightenings and cramps... told my hb and gotten scolding from him... really gotta control my emotion liao... hopefully, will feel better later... but how come the cramp is constant one?

ginseng tea
ya got different kind. some kind heaty some cooling. i got take ginseng beard tea w wolfberry. my mum say cooling. dunno wat ginseng oso

snow: hope u are feeling better now. relax ya
maybe the cramp will go away.

berry: its better to find out more now then at the later stage realised tat caregiving style differs. will be quite tough to handle. really appreciate your help
i'm oso the kind who is more fussy abt certain things lah. hehe

winnie: hope u ur headache is better liao. take care ya

Jaslyn, thanks.

Mums to be, I know it is a bit late to ask this question, suddenly the question pop up....

Are you all attending to bank the cord blood? If you are, may I know how do you decide between stemcord and cordlife?

I am really torn apart, not sureif we should bank. And if we should, then where?

Wonder if there is any special discount coming up, though I know it is a b it late already.

snowbelle
it's the hormones.... i also get irritated like dat even if the issue doesn't concern me directly. try to tune out this "noises" for sake of baby. we want our babies to come out happy and laughing yar?

garfield
which other amp hv u tried? can u pls recommend? i hv dull, uneven skin tone, pores at t-zone area n oily skin condition at t-zone, rest of e area is dry.

wat would u suggest huh? i badly need something 2 fix my face.

RE: irritability

I find that my temper is much, much worst since I have been pregnant. My poor HB has been putting up with my mood swings. From violent anger to deep weeping :p And all over some very minor issues. But really hard to control the emotions at times. :p Thankfully, my HB takes it in his stride.

Thanks mummies for your replies on BF during hospital stay. I think it's a good suggestion to get cleaned up first before latch on :0 I'm a first time mummy and shall try to go on TBF despite the lack of rest. Hope TMC is also pro-BF.

garfield, snowbelle, jaslyn
i'll share my birth stories 4 my 1st 2deliveries. long story hor...dun fall asleep while reading. hahahaha

1ST DELIVERY IN OCT 2004
my 1st boy was born 35wks + 5days at 2.8kg

8Oct - spotting discovered at 6pm+, called gynae, told 2 monitor until 2mrw n c her 1st thing 2mrw. spotting continued thru out

9Oct - left home at 10am 2 c gynae cos still got spotting. water bag burst at void deck. completely in shock cos not ready, hospital bag not packed, cot not here, bb clothing not washed, etc
Reached MAH at 12pm. Put on CTG, got regular mild contractions but i dun feel a thing. gynae came abt 6pm, did a cervix check. only 1-2cm dilated.
As bb is only 35wks+, i received 2jabs 2 strengthen bb's lungs

10Oct - fr 12am i started getting stronger contractions n i cant sleep at all. I was up e whole nite.
8am - moved fr labour ward 2 delivery suite
930am - gynae came 2 check on me, said i still 1-2cm dilated n i NEED epidural cos i too tense n IF i dun take epi, at e rate i going, i wont even pop by midnite.
VERY UNWILLING 2 take epi cos i was psych-ing myself e whole time not 2 take BUT e contractions were getting stronger n it's FREAKING painful (my pain threshold is EXTREMELY low).
bo pian, took epi.
by 10am+, i was in "heaven". didnt feel e pain, was even able 2 watch tv n catch some sleep.
wif epi, e problem is i got numb fr lower half (as in i dun feel a thing) so it was hard 4 me 2 push. in e end, it was an assisted delivery.
i popped at 6pm.

2ND DELIVERY IN JUL06
bcos of my experience wif epi, i badly need it so told my new gynae tat i MUST hv it. my 2nd son was born 36wks + 6days at 3.2kg.
1wk b4 13jul, gynae checked me n i was already 1-2cam dilated.

12Jul - contractions felt at nite but not regular
13Jul - stronger contractions every 15mins fr 12pm
reached MAH at 415pm (another long story y i took so long).
gynae came at 445pm, pricked my water bag n i was 4-5cm dilated
drip & epi was administered bet 515-530pm.

tis time, e epi didnt kick in 4 me. i continued 2 feel every contraction n when my boy was pushing himself down, i could feel everything. abt 8pm+, i already felt tat i was ready 2 push but my gynae wasnt here yet. he was delivering other bbs at TMC (he delivered 13bbs on tis day, my boy was e 11th).

i gave birth at 9pm+ n i could feel everything fr my bb coming out of me n i even felt my placenta being pulled out. it was an assisted delivery too cos i no energy 2 push liao...imagine feeling all e contractions since 5pm+

i had episiotomy 4 both deliveries but both gynaes gave me LA around tat area cos they could tell tat my pain threshold was very low.

bcos of my experience in e 2nd delivery, whereby e epi was administered late, i felt tat i can go without it tis time round, esp when i experienced all e freaking painful contractions liao.

1st time mummies cant compare wif me cos tis is my 3rd cos cervix tend 2 dilate n soften faster. i've known of a friens whose delivery timings got shorter n shorter wif every pregnancy.

Hi, Xiaoyun, didn't receive your sms leh. Don't know why. Can you email me at [email protected] instead? Thanks.

Pte cordblood bank staff very dao? When I went for the Cordlife seminar, the staff quite good leh. Maybe because I buay paiseh and went straight for the more senior staff so they answered my many queries patiently. Hee hee.

Garfield, intend to put BB with CL in BB's room. If not, pay CL so much for what. Hee.

Of course, will still need to wake up if BB needs feeding lar but at least CL will bring her to me.
May need to bring BB back myself though if not CL will watch me BF, not sure whether will be comfortable with that. Hee. ;P

Pregnant milk powder
I was told by TMC gynae that pregnant milk powder very fattening and will gain weight very fast. This milk is for those whom are very thin or thin. Not suitable for medium or large built ladies.

My friend and neighbour told them during pregnancy. Now their bottoms very big and they find difficult to loose weigh on their bottom.

garfield,
bb furniture cheap in US meh? i think its quite ex leh.. heheh. My bb will not be having his bb room for the time being due to space constraint, unless i move house lah, so will have to sleep in our bedroom.

RE: Coach bags
Since u will be in US in May/June, get it here lah, much cheaper, more choices too, and if u dun mind older season items, those are at much lower prices too.
I also have a brand-new never used Coach bag to sell. Havent had a chance to use it yet. Interested, let me know?

Jeannie,
yeah, medical costs a lot in the US, even if u have insurance coverage. One of the MTBs is right-- u got to buy the prescribed medication from pharmacies after u visit the doc, quite troublesome lah.

kelly,
wow...very drama leh...at least you managed to deliver naturally and not end up with a c-section. my greatest fear is to endure long labour (like 20+ hrs) and end up under the knife eventually. i would rather just opt for the knife right away if i have a choice *GRIN*

re the ampoules, i've used a few types and my experience so far is as follows:
1. DNA - skin is clearer eg. little red bumps disappear, fine lines disappear, skin is less oily and overall the texture is very smooth
2. Trace elements / collagen - these are like an intense moisture drink - and provide an immediate radiance (noticeable)
3. Lifting / Firming ampoule - for anti-wrinkle and deep lines. they soften the laugh lines around my mouth and frown lines between my eyes/across my forehead). also seems to make my pores smaller, may be due to the firming effect. The lifting one could be too strong for sensitive skin cos i can literally feel my skin tightening up....the firming one has a slightly sticky texture after application (compared with the other ampoules which give a silky smooth texture). so i think unless wrinkles are an issue, best to skip these two types.

The ampoules are no wonder drug (i think short of botox or some serious cosmetic surgical procedures....no order product can yield perfect skin). However, i find that they do improve skin quality over time. The way i use it is to have an intensive treatment over a period of 5 days a month, and then subsequently maintain by using it 2 times a week.

Kitsune,
haha...that's what i say too. CL is very very ex so i intend to maximize usage haha. i paid $2700...heart pain man.

Vine gal,
was it painful?

Gar: Not that painful for me, except for certain part. Still bearable..quite an experience for me =) Will go for BW again! hehe

vine, wow good to hear that its not painful LOL! I read/heard before that its about the skill of the therapist. A truly good therapist will know how to prepare yr skin and wax in a way that hurt minimum. So do how u feel now?

garfield,

the BW current promo is $88 for 1-for-1. still interested?

im really half half...always very onz to go..until i start to pluck my own arm pit hair, haha!

berry,
yes, the skill of the therapist and breathing technique will help minimise the pain..
my therapist quite ok lah, she do really small portions for mi each time cos i keep stressing to her how low my pain threshold is.. haha..
she told mi to try all off after i delivered.. :=P

morning pp.. so happymum/dor/cheryl/vinegal... do u all feel better now?? will u all go again??

the therapists are all skillful?? did u all sign package??

jeannie,
i feel so neat & clean.. haha..
Yes! i will definitely go back again..

my therapist was quite ok.. no, we din sign any package.. they din really hard-sell to us..

btw, u mentioned u wanna do 2nd time b4 u pop.. but the length will be rather short rite, can still do ?

garfield,
dun feel paiseh.. juz treat them like gynae.. haha.. anyway they hv done so many times, see until numb liao.. :=P

Rebonding
last sat i asked my gynae if can do rebonding. he said go ahead. asked him won't the chemical be harmful? he said not as if we are drinking it. furthermore baby is already fully formed. if it's during the 1st trimester, then maybe he would advise not to.

so now i'm very tempted to cut and rebond my hair. at least no bad hair day during confinement. else i have to 'dong' for another 6 mths after delivery to rebond my hair. by then i think will look like mad woman.

happymum.. i also dunno.. actually now after 1 week plus still not much regrowth.. but i super lah..hehe.. i will pluck out any regrowth too.. hehe.. cannot stand it.So i got a feeling may not need to go back cause will still be very short..

garfield.. i agree leh.. actually afte letting them see for first time.. i more daring to let gynae check already.. cause i keep telling the therapist that my there looks so ugly and wrinkled cause i got some itchness below.. then she say its like this one.. a lot pp also like that.. Sigh.. makes me feel so much better.. hehe

stephie, I know countless friends who go for perming/rebonding/colouring jst before they pop so that they can look good for the first month and so far havent heard of any of their bbs having any problems. I think it shd be fine, anyway my gynea (the previous and this one) also said so.

Jeannie, er... u can still SEE yrself clearly enuf to pluck out stray hairs? I cant even see my feet. :p

jeannie,
ya lor.. u can still pluck the hair there yourself???

berry,
haha.. i can still see my feet lah, just cant see tat area only.. hee..

berry/ gar: My therapist (Believe it is the boss) is quite good and skillful. She kept talking to me so is kind of like distracted my pain. She share lots of child birthing and taking care of children stuff to me. But of cos certain part can be abit painful, still it is bearable.

Now feel very clean haha..I would sure go for BW again.

I think over there Lynn was one of the staff being raived. I think she is good, careful and patience. Overall, revive wellness staff is nice, good and polite.

Gar: dun have to feel paiseh cos to them is just hair and skin. They are very professional... I dun feel uncomfortable at all.

berry.. i not so flexible lah... hehe.. i use mirror.. but actually when i sit on bed.. i mian qiang can still see myself below leh.. hehe.. amazing right.. i also think so..

but nowades sit on the floor.. my tummy is touching the side of my thighs already.. so disgusting.

jeanice,
felt veri naked!!!

garfield, ok lah... not as bad as in labour.. of course, still veri painful...
my n happy are doing it separated by a "wall".. so i overheard her "reaction" n she overhead"mine" too..

FUN!!

Stephie,
I just transferred $22.60 to your account. Trans ref is 1528826054

happy,
i got to muster up courage haha

rebonding,
wooooo.....stephie, berry - now i am tempted to do it too!!