(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

andrea
paiseh, forgot to reply you re the posting of your drugstore order. noted your request for registered mail. will check with you again when the package arrives. btw, where does your in law stay? if it's convenient, maybe i can just pass the items to them.

jas,
but ginger can help to remove the wind inside u leh.. u dun hv to eat the ginger, just add the ginger into the food to get the taste..

jas,
have you tried fried ginger strips (very very finely shredded like sewing thread and deep fried) sprinkled over stir fried sesame pork or sesame chicken? *drool* you may just get hooked onto ginger. that's what happened to me =)

or the type that you get at soup restaurant together with the samsui chicken? talking about that - can we eat those for our confinement? cos they sell the ginger dip in bottles at soup restaurant.....very yummy =P

Jaslyn, when its yr own bb, its different wan. Before I had my DD I was never a bb/kid person, has never once carried a baby/child before, let alone newborn. But the min my gynea put my dd in my arms, I just knew how to carry her liao hehe. Its really really amazing wat a mommy's instinct can do for you

berry: thanks for the encouragement. i hope i'll do ok. nv practice on any NB before coz i will hurt the neck or something.

happy & garfield: ya, i noe ginger is gd. but dun like the smell of it... like eat fish porridge is oso make sure i dig out all the little little bits. used to eat those thin fried ginger strips when i'm young.. then 1 fine day just find it yucks. dunno y. hmm... okok. wil take note the bottle dip @ soup restaurant the next time i eat there. i hope to be able to stomach some... coz dunno how to hide unfinished ginger fr mi mum and i noe its suppose to be v gd for confinement.

Jaslyn
My bb is still not engaged! My gyane told me if her head managed to move after she "pressed" on it, that means haven engaged =PP Bb engaged = head cant move

Weight
Gynaes over my side use the traditional way of measuring baby's size, ie, use a measuring tape to measure from the pelvis area to the top of the uterus. Not like in SG, whereby the scanning machine can estimate the bb's weight. So wont know bb's weight until actual day itself. Sounds like abit of guessing game.

Stephie
My in law place is at Chai Chee. If not convenient, mail will be fine k ;) Thanks you so much!!

dun worry jas. our taste preferences actually change over time, and sometimes when the body needs a certain type of food - you'll actualy find it appealing.

eg. when we're sick - the thought of KFC is repulsive and we yearn for something light like porridge. whereas normal days, porridge may be a turn off cos too plain =)

above is my hubby's theory...but i find it true to a certain extent! you may find yourself liking ginger during confinement =P

Andrea,
No problem. Yes, I found somebody who wants to buy the bag.

I fell in love with the bag and bought on impulse. Then realized that hubby and I have so many diaper suitable large bags (hubby has at least 2 crumplers that can double up as diaper bags, and I have a Le Sport Sac and a Kipling that can do the same). Plus we are getting the skip hop diaper bag. So really overkill....

andrea: o.. u are not in sg? where are u fr? my gynae use the scan machine to machine the circumference of bb's tummy then fr there cal the wt leh. oso dunno 'zhun' a not hehe. one time when bb is 1.1kg.. he initially well mi 2.2kg. scared mi.. coz i was abt 27th week then . then he realised tat he cal wrongly
jia you ok... probably bb will engage soon. pray hard

garfield: i like kfc no matter when... wahaha i will convince myself tat can yi du gong du. but ya... hopefully can get over the ginger smell part
will try to take some... probably just swollen if really cannot chew. hope it will work too.

garfield, eh I hate ginger leh, still hated it even just after I pop :p

jaslyn, hurting yr bb's neck is prob the last thing u will do, trust me. When yr precious bb is in yr arms, you'll instinctively never let yr bb's neck drop and get hurt wan.

stephie, yar I'll be on my own after hb goes back to work after 1 week leave. Actually the reason we waited till now to have bb no 2 is so that I'll be able to cope better. The age gap between the 2 kids will be 3.5yo so I think shd be fine. So far my DD has participated fully in my pregnancy, when I did my preggie test kit, I bought 3 sticks and saved the last one to do together with her after she came home from sch haha. I also bought her several books about pregnancy (simplified, written for kids version), body changes in the mummy, wat to expect, how bbs will be like when they are small, their needs and how older siblings can participate/help out so on. I think these shd help, I'm trying to stay v positive.
BTW how old is yr older child?

diaper bag- Hmmm come to think of it, I've never owned a single diaper bag! Of cos I had big bags to carry bb stuff when bb is still small and need to bring out alot of bb stuff, but all my big bags are regular big-sized bag, not real diaper bags. So far so good.

berry: wow... its great tat u let ur DD feel so involved in the pregnancy... knowing what is exactly happning to mummy and wat to expect. i hope i can be like u in future

hi ladies...

back from gynae check up...not so good news.
found sugar in my urine while doing the routine strip test, now i have to fast and and go the diabeties test on morning. sigh...

dunno what went wrong also leh, haven't been eating sweet stuff and also cut down my carbo intake lately (cos last three weeks sick plus MS) cos not been having good appetiate.

and in the end, turn out like this...? haiz. been eating like a monster in 1-2 trimester and all was ok leh. i wonder...if it's 'payback time'?

gotta watch my diet now until Monday, hope this is just a once off thing...

hi jaslyn,

Ang Ku Kueh
hmmm..im not sure leh, is bt. merah very near alexandra? can let me know the shop address of the alexandra shop u mentioned?

jaslyn

ya.... so consider i m on ML liao.... haha... it is still very itchy leh... i bought calamine lotion hope it can smoothen the itch...

piglettail,
it's quite common for preggie woman to have higher level sugar during pregnancy and shd return to normal after u deliver.. not so much due to your diet..

yah piglettail,

I have high sugar level in my blood too, but the next day when they test for the level, it went back down. So nothing to worry.

weight,
Past few days I've been controlling my diet, coz by right I should only gain 500g in a week, but I've gained 1kg instead! This morning went to see gynae, surprisingly, I lost 0.5kg! Think it's because of the weighing machine? However, bb gained weight too fast... now at about 34+ weeks, she's already 2.6kg... 600g more than 2 weeks ago... really don't understand, how come she absorbs so fast...

bb half way engaged,
doc said bb's head is half way engaged and I may deliver early... She said it's better to deliver early, if not bb will be too big liao... so after next fri, I have to exercise more and hope bb will pop soon... else bb's weight may hit 4kg man! Btw, she said once engaged, bb will pop about 2 weeks later... Initially still hoping my bb can pop after cny... at least can be a little rat... now maybe piggy liao...

tute, emoments,
Did you take up the maternity package only or the doc delivery package?

hi ladies...

thanks kitsune and moi_dar

moi_dar,
yes, i hope my suagr level will return to normal when i do the test on Monday. it's such a co-incidence...i was actually 'planning' for an ice-cream after the gynae visit but obviously didn't/cant have that now.

bb weight
bb's wt is 2.2kg at 33wk 5 days, gained about 0.5kg in 2 weeks. still in ok range but dr says if i continue at this 'growth rate' bb may be too big for natural delivery at full term.

Jaslyn, can wan, as long as u want to.

pigletail, wat weight did yr gynea say shd be right for bb when born? As in, exceeding wat weight then he will consider it as too big for natural delivery?
Dont worry so much, these things sometimes happen w/o it being your fault. Also, I hear of many moms who had the same problem (sugar in urine during preggie) but none of them turned out to have long term problems or bb problems. So just do yr best and see wat yr gynea says.

snowbelle, maybe u can try walking more (to burn off some calories) and try to limit yr food intake to eating till u are not hungry anymore instead of till u are full. It shd help? Wow 4KG is really no joke, but to look on the bright side, bigger is better than too small (I had a friend whose bb was born at 1.7kg, v problematic health for several months, luckily it all turned out ok)

piglettail,
heehee...dun worried too much abt sugar level...like what happy said... it's common that preggie ladies sugar level higher...

berry,
ya.. agreed with jaslyn... like the way u involved yr gal in this pregnancy...
hope i wll be like u if i have the 3 round round... cos this time round, i just tell my gal that i got bb... n try to arrange checkup on day whereby she is free...

happy,
no news.. dun wan to carry them n ask... later tho i veri greedy...

snowbelle,
wow!!! jiayou!!!!
so exciting for u!!!my colik's wife gave birth to a 4kg bb last year!!! natural!!!

checkup
tomorrow is my turn... finger cross... hopefully, i got good news to share...

cheryl
rem to exercise regularly... dun keep sitting down or laying down..

Berry,
Until next Fri, I cannot walk or exercise too much leh... coz it will make bb move down further and hence, early delivery... can only start to walk more after next Fri to speed it up... control my diet liao... eat less carbo... sometimes, eat liao still feel hungry and only dare to eat apples...

dor,
I scare leh... so fast gg to deliver liao... hopefully can be natural lor...

still haven't decided whether 1-bedder or 4-bedder...

Moi_dar,

Haha.... "Monkey tied to bed"
Just bear with it for another 2 weeks lah.

Snowbelle,
My MIL saw me look so tired, and asked me whether baby will come out earlier. I prefer rat baby neh, don't know whether I can tahan to cny.

snowbelle,

wow...ur baby engaged already ? so fast ! when is ur edd actually ? i didn't take up the delivery package...but now that u mention it... might ask about it next week when i go for my check :p

tubao,
I also prefer rat bb... less confusing lor... born in 2008 and yet bb is a pig... but really dun want bb to pop at 4kg... I'll faint...

tute,
only half way engaged... so that's why cannot walk too much now... scare she engaged too early...

actually i also very confused with the delivery package, the ACJ nurse said it will be cheaper and we no need to specify that we want the delivery package one... very confusing

Snowbelle,
You are so tall, hehe... maybe 4kg baby to you is like 3kg to people like me.

I read birth stories of <<pregnancy>> U.K magzines, some mums gave birth to over 10 pounds babies, and some mums gave birth to breeched babies. And they sound like so natural. Maybe Ah Moh just take it easy.

Hppymum2b, thanks but I also heard of someone whose BB head was only engaged when she's in labour. So, looks like anything can happen. :p

Just had my massage with Jah. She was 30mins late so I wasn't very happy at that. But decided to give her a chance and not harp on it when she came. Her massage skills were not bad especially if you like the hard massage type. The oil she used smelt quite nice. She said I got 'wind' on right shoulder blade, left arm (near elbow) and right calf. Seems to make some sense since those parts were more painful. Anyway, she said some people who were not able to sleep at night, can sleep better at night after her massage. Well, I'll wait and see.

snowbelle,
heehee... break yr meal to smaller one lah...
but snowbelle, y must wait til next fri leh?

aggreed with tubao, u(snow) n yr hb are so tall...so wont be surprise that yr bb will be bgger...

cheryl,
oh.. doc asked u not to walk so much huh...
aiya... walk in the house ok lah...

happy, ya loh...
hard to communicate with them