(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeanie: mi planning to donate. i mean if keep in pte bank is quite costly and prob will have no use for tat. if donation can save others... y not?

tute
the last time when my gynae extracted the cord blood for my gal, he didn't charge us leh. so i assume it's the same this time. will check with him this sat during my checkup. i think the private bank will pay the gynae loh.

snowbelle
before the private bank store the cordblood, they will perform test to make sure there's nothing wrong with it, else they will discard (since no point storing if the cordblood can't be used in future).

desitin creamy is available at Mt A pharmacy. just that it's much more expensive. 2 oz cost like $12.

Stephie,
PM not working....my email add: [email protected]

Myanmar maids
Umm...i tried a myanmar part-time cleaner last week. Her eng was like very hard to understand and then she took 2.5 hrs to clean 2 toilets/BRs. When I went to look, she just splashed water everywhere and did not empty dustbins (which I told her must do) and then she almost yanked my wall plug out of the wall. I dunno, hb says must train, cannot expect them to know what to do. The best part is this cleaner is Myanmar lady married to Sporean. So I thot her eng should be at least ok.

I spoke to Myanmar maid agent. They said even interviewing the maid on phone also difficult cos they are in the province and very very hard to get access to telephone. So, everything must depend on agent's honesty. But yeah, the going rate is abt there - $300 salary and $20 for no off day. About $2400-2800 to fly them down. Btw, not all of them have passports, so if you want a Myanmar maid, you have to be prepared to wait for them to get passport, visa etc.

Cordblood
Actually, the list of diseases that can be treated using cordblood has expanded from a few to more than 15 in recent years. Cordblood is being used for stem cell therapy now. There are hospitals in Spore and Thailand that uses stem cell therapy to treat patients with cardiac disease, it's experimental still but so far, results have been satisfactory. It's really for end-stage/terminal patients but I believe in future, stem cell can be used for a lot for treatments.

Desitin creamy
I saw it in NUH pharmacy yest. About $13 for one (not sure abt the size tho). Mt. A sounds cheaper...

I have the following for sale. not sure if any of you are interested or any of your friends. Help me ask around ya. Thanks!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/climbabe/

Things for sale:
1) GRaco Stroller
2) Bum wear
3) 'The First Years' milk bags (4 packs)
4) Sofa set
5) 2 bags of milk caps for those glass milk bottles obtained from hospitals.
6) "Lindam" safety gate
7) Nuk Nuk and Pigeon milk bottles

Please PM me or sms me at 9489 9008 for fast deal if interested.

cheryl,
not kua zhang... cos i sit on the floor to play board games ma... then the tummy kept touching the floor when i bent forward... veri xin ku...

Jeanie
me decided to donate cos i din do it for my gal... also not 100% can use back when the child needs it... only certain illness leh... so instead of throwing away... just donated loh...

bkkgal
updated your email in my list. tks.

so far, those desitin i saw in singapore are the 2 oz type. half the size of what we get from BP.

cheryl
can wash milk bottles now. but sterilise only when you need to use later on.

bluegin,
I saw the both desitin creamy and original in KK pharmacy.

tute,
I went 2 weeks ago... going to see her again tomorrow... will check with her about the letter. When do we need to see her weekly huh? Btw, have you asked her about her delivery package? Totally forgotten to ask her about the charges...

Stephie,
dunno leh... maybe certain problems in cordblood can only be discovered later??? Anyway, will check with gynae and hear what she say first before deciding...

Jaslyn,
Thanks. I think I'll give my vit c and whitening masks to my mom

Stephie,
Food choice: I can take japanese, thai or local.

Snowbelle,
Epidural took 10-15mins to be effective. sometimes there are special cases where it take longer time. So if you cannot bear with labour pain, better take it early when only 4cm dilated. you need 8-10cm to give birth, hence by then, no need epidural liao.

Mrs Wong always use AVENT product. Is AVENT product sponsoring TMC?

Dorothy,
indo maid sometimes cannot understand your instruction.
Myanmar no comment leh. cos all myanmar friend I dun are diploma/degree holders. Those soft-spoken n dun get angry easily. they understand english, so not maid level. north myanmar mostly can understand mandarin.
Filipino no problem communicating. but very sly n smart in the wrong way. just be careful of them. of cos they are more expensive.

Garfield,
comment on the cream.
So far Desitin is still better than Drapolene to prevent nappy rash.

noted, blueginger.

Updates: - Pls help to add on to list below. Tks.

<font color="0000ff">Once everyone has indicated their choices, will proceed to place the order. Should still be on time if order is placed by tomorrow (since it's not peak season now). So ladies who have not voted, please do so by tomorrow morning can? tks

Catering from Eatz? Please indicate your choice under the respective category.

a) Japanese Set ($120 for 12 pax)
1) cheryl
2) garfield
3) piglettail
4) bkkgal
5) happy
6) blueginger

b) Thai Set ($120 for 12 pax)
1) snowbelle
2) garfield
3) blueginger

c) Singapore Set ($100 for 12 pax)
1) cheryl
2) snowbelle
3) stephie
4) garfield
5) piglettail
6) blueginger

cheryl.. i really wish i can start on my maternity as well. feeling pain just above my vaginal area.. haven see doc yet.. tmr going.. I really cant wait for fb to come so that i can deliver the baby.. want to see my baby!!!
Dun feel like working!!!!

Cordblood

Moi dar.. i also din want to store it at first cause think not much use. But still can use when baby grow up right.. cause they are stem cells so can be used to grow other cells??

bkkgal.. so cordblood can be used to treat more diseases now??u also storing urs??

stephie.. my hubby also say the same.. take it as insurance lor..

Snowbelle.. my goodness so expensive to draw the blood out.. they should give discount since we have donated before..

snowbelle,

haven't ask leh about the charges...maybe can call and ask the nurse...dunno why, i'm a bit paiseh to ask dr. wong directly about the charges :p eventhough she's v nice...eh, if you manage to find her charges can let me know ? i've book 1 bedder for now...

i went to see her last friday, and she gave me then...maybe she'll give you tomorrow. btw, if you have any preference for anaesthetics/pd better tell her straightaway. i realised in the admission letter, she put the pd/anaesthetics name after i left the clinic. i actually want to use the pd that my colleague recommends, so prob will ask if can change and if can arrange with the pd of my preference...

btw, do you have fbi card ? should have 5% off her charges right...

blue,

not sure if avent sponsor tmc or not. but then during class she actually use a lot of j&amp;j products as well and she does recommend other products...e.g. for bathing she recommends j&amp;j, avent and another one can't remember...she also said pigeon not bad but a bit too soapy...

jeannie

ya... i hope to give birth fast but hopefuly can be at feb, at least after cny.. but ttat nt up to me to decide also... haha....

nowaday the pain is getting worst and worst, plus the stupid heartburn, and the itching tummy, seriously it is making me crazy.... wan to scratch yet trying to endure. but got scratch abit... i wan go buy caramile lotion liao...

dor
wow, your hubby so sayang you. bought you fried durian all the way from old airport road to redhill!

Gathering
Have just sent an email to all mummies (both confirmed/KIV lists). Do let me know if any of you did not receive it.

Hi Xiao Yun, not sure if you have been trying to PM me on the milkbags. If you have, kindly PM me again, I have just changed my email address as I think the yahoo mail is not working.

Working from home today as I was too exhausted from work recently. Nearly fainted at work yesterday. Got up from chair after meeting and nearly keeled over. Luckily my colleague grabbed me and set me back in the chair. Then my ang mo boss say if I really not feeling well can work from home.
So blessing in disguise.

jeannie,
private bank very expensive. intial payment $1200, den annual payment $250 until 21 yr.
SCBB just donated. FOC. I scared my No2 is twins so better do it for No1. cos one of the condition is cannot be twins or triple to join SCBB.

snowbelle &amp; stephie,
really? I search high n low oso saw original. not creamy. thank for the info.
Still I believe 2 tube of 4oz are more than enough for our baby.

Stephie,
How early do we have to make decision to sign up SCBB or Cordlife?

cord blood,
i told my gynae dunno whether to bank or donate. and if it is proven to be useful. his answer - so far all the cases that have been successfully cured were using public bank.

that's good enough answer for me =)

Is it normal to feel pain/cramp near the hip area for ard 10s.. so far experienced twice but only on the right side.. the pain tingers through my thigh as well.. its a different pain compared to menses cramp..

blueginger
for cordlife, think as long as you sign up before you deliver, it's ok. cos the sales rep will give you the kit on the spot when you sign up.

SCBB though FOC but when need to use (*touchwood*), will cost a bomb (think snowbelle mentioned it's $26K and i think that's the figure i read too in an earlier article on cord blood banking).

jeannie,
yeah lor... should have discount... If really got problem and need to withdraw cordblood hor, quite jiat liat leh... coz may need to withdraw diff cord blood for testing... so will be $26k x no. of times...

tute,
thk last time when I just pregnant, I got asked the nurse, but seem blur-blur one... thk if tomorrow, I not paiseh, then I'll check with her... got a lot of questions tomorrow...

I booked the 4-bedder liao... but still got 2nd thought leh... my hb also asked me whether need to accompany me or not... if we take 1-bedder, the price diff is only the ward right? Any other charges such as delivery or emergency c-sect are the same regardless of the ward, right?

I think for PD, I'll just choose the one got give FBI discount and near my place one... more convenient... although I like the PD who gave the talk last night leh... but dun want to travel all the way to TMC...

I think I'll ask her about the placenta thingy too... btw, natural delivery is 3D/2N or 4D/3N huh?

anybody going for Mrs wong's class tonight??

yar.. cheryll.. i also want to wait after new year.. cause i want a minnie mouse.. hehe.. o... i should buy minnie mouse baby clothes for my ger hor.. u can buy mickey mouse.. hehe.. in time for new year leh..

PP.. can i ask a qn??? my colleague has just delivered.. can i go her hse to visit her??? is that any pantang thing???

snowbelle.. i also struggle.. dunno take 1 bed or 2 bed.. but i think i will go with 1 bedder.. cause my first baby.. i want to enjoy the peace..w my hubby and frens..

snowbelle
even if you had already booked 4-bedded, i think you can still opt for 1 or 2-bedded at the point of admission. to upgrade no problem if the room you wanted is available. however, if it's the other way round, i.e. booked 1 or 2-bedded and on admission want a 4-bedded, hospital will still charge you at the 1 or 2-bedded rate.

on average for natural delivery should be 3D/2N. depends on your gynae too, i.e. whether or not he/she decides to discharge you. the other time my gynae allowed me to discharge early. so i only stayed for 2D/1N

dor... i bought 2 boxes of durian too! hahah stinking my office now... wahahahah

artemis: ger... must xiao xin ok. next time try to get up slowly wor

stephie,
For SCBB, it's free if withdraw bb's own cord blood... $26k if withdrawing others. So the main thing is, if really got problem, can bb use back their own cord blood?

If cannot, then it's pointless to store in private blood bank too. Others cannot use yours and you will still need to pay the withdrawal fee to use others from SCBB + the private blood bank maintainence fee. Anyone knows is there any charges for withdrawal from private blood bank?

Hi Jaslyn,

Thanks. :p I rushing around to complete the project stuff so kind of forgot I can't take things too fast anymore.

snowbelle.. u confirm put with SCCB can withdraw own baby blood for free and that means store for free lor??? like that i might as well put with them since i will be using my baby's blood with private cord bank

actually the massage ladies really dun respond very fast hor.. i msg one yester never respond.. just msg 2 more.. dunno will respond or not.. sigh.. now stress..

Ya.. so far was given a letter of admission when gynae gives the cue.. he didn't say about booking a bed..mayb will check wif my gynae tonight..

Is it normal to feel pain/cramp near the hip area for ard 10s.. so far experienced twice but only on the right side.. the pain tingers through my thigh as well.. its a different pain compared to menses cramp..

jeannie,
That's what they said lah... but since it's a public bank, your bb's cord blood may have withdrawn by others before you do... there's a risk lor

according to my gynae - all the cases saved with cord blood were using other pple's cord blood, not the babies' own cord blood.

interesting statistic