(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
sorry a bit blur...
so she come to my house... take care of bb n also cooks for me? but can trust or not....

dor,
yup - that was the deal for me.

this nanny is my friend's (the one with triplets) family friend. my friend assured me that she loves babies and takes very good care of them. and very chin chye in terms of helping with cooking and housework.

not sure if the deal for me was better due to "friend advantage" or not.

garfield,
i wonder if i need her to help to take care of my gal for few hours before going to school.. wonder how much she charges...
do u know which part of bedok?
can recommend me?

o... i prefer leaving baby @ their house leh. erm.. feel strange if strange come over my place to look after bb leh. dunno also

to update cheryl's list of massage lady. rozie is from this spa call traditional wellness. they quote me $770 for 7 sessions. wanna faint!

Cheryl, my mum also like that. Everytime, close to Dec, will keep asking how much bonus I got and hint hint. She never ask me this year maybe cos I told her how much I'm already paying for CL, baby stuff etc. Hee.

Initially, I wanted her to look after my BB. She always goes to my auntie (who is a babysitter) who stays at Tampines to look after my cousin's kid. Thought it's convenient mah, since I also stay Tampines. Then, she say she's old liao, cannot do alone, will need auntie's help and Auntie cannot cope with 2 kids, I need to hire a maid and put the maid there. I was like, wa lao, then I need to pay my mum, aunt PLUS a maid somemore. My expenses will be sky high lor so told her no way. :p

Then, she said she and Auntie will try to look after without maid. but in the end, I weighed my options.

The boy that my Auntie is looking after is naughty, throws tantrums, doesn't call people, and acts like King of the house but timid like don't know what outside the house cos my mum & Aunt spoils him and also over protective. If I put my BB there, will he be jealous? Will she be influenced by his behaviour? My ILs only stay 1 street away.

FIL is retired teacher while MIL is housewife. End up makes more sense to put BB there so that it's easier for me in the mornings, can just walk over and 2 adults looking after 1 BB. ILs are comfortable financially cos PIL has pension so they are not fussed about how much allowance we give them. And more importantly, hope ILs can help to teach BB when she's younger, read to her, bring her to library, playground etc unlike my cousin's kid who stay at home and play with toys, & watch VCDs all day. :p

Garfield,
Thanks a lot!

It's the same list of ampoules as the BP one right? Can I sms you tomorrow? Later still got knitting class... damn sleepy now... btw, do we use ampoules like mask? Apply once every few days before moisturiser?

Your parents are very wei da leh! Really just think for you and family...

That day my mom also offered to help me to take care of my bb... she plan to cycle to my house in the morning, and carry my bb back to her house by bus... then evening carry her back and then cycle home... When I heard it, I almost fainted! It sounds so tiring... I told her my hb will send bb to her place, and I'll go fetch her back... already trouble her to take care of bb, cannot trouble further lah...

yes, i did think of MIL also. but she also not young le, she take care alot grandchildren liao.... she also got say she cant liao

hi gal, jst an update for playtex liner.

I hav received for the batch of Feb mum order

Will soon calculate out the shipping charges fr CGW and let urs know.
So where is the next gathering? is it still this sun at globetrotter? if yes, i m bringing my son there for class, maybe can pass to urs?

QooSan, I think it's at Jurong West. I won't be going though, will have to find a way to get from you leh. Dor/June, you all going for the gathering, can I get from one of you instead?

Garfield, you are very fortunate. My mum very good, arrow my MIL. Tell me to ask my hubby to ask my MIL to look after BB for me at night. If not she suggested that we go over to stay at MIL's place so that she can look after BB for us at night. Told my mum I don't know how to broach that topic to ILs and don't know if hubby wants this arrangement also. :p

snowbelle,
ur mum oso v wei da, willing to travel to & fro for ur bb..
but can she just take care of ur bb at ur hse so she dun need to travel to & fro ?

kitsune,
hv u & ur hb discussed b4 on the care arrangement for ur bb ?
i understand u prefer to let ur PIL look after her in the day time.
wat abt the nite time, u & hb will take care?

h@ppymum2b,
yeah... she has sacrificed a lot for us liao...

she will feel very sian in my house one... she prefer her own place, got karaoke and can watch tapes...

just that i'm a bit worried that my bro will get jealous coz my mom don't like to help him take care of his kids coz of past incidents... my mom lost her job because of taking care oh his kid...

dor,
will check on her availability cos we were exploring this two, three months ago.

snowbelle,
you're welcome! your mum also very nice =)

the list of ampoules is similar i think:
1. Vitamin C Ampoules
2. Mandarin Ampoules
3. Purifying Ampoules
4. Azulene Ampoules
5. Whitening Ampoules
6. Trace Element Ampoules (Hydrating)
7. Eye Pouch ampoules
8. DNA / Collagen Ampoules
9. Fresh cell Ampoules

The ampoules are like a concentrated serum and very versatile. I use them (a) for facial massage - by my beautician (b) under my mask (c) as a night time treatment (d) under my makeup.

HppyMum2b, If during ML, I'll look after but have asked him to ask MIL to come over and help after CL leaves. But if after ML, my hubby did jokingly say put BB at ILs place at night but I asked him how about BF? Unless I don't BF or give EBM after ML lar. If not, how to leave BB there alone?

Another thing is, I really don't want to stay with ILs. Even though they have 4 rooms, all the rooms are cramped & full of stuff. And there's no water heater at their place and only 1 designated bathroom. Can you imagine 5 adults taking turns to boil water to shower plus 1 BB? Arghh... :p

snow,
solly!! didn't know you are interested in the body ampoules...then you'll have to order from either of these two threads

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1175035.html?1199329315 (unit price lower, but has min order of 30)

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/194/589911.html?1198836115 (unit price higher, but no min order)

kitsune,
if you don't mind feeding bb EBM, then your options are more flexible. i will try for direct latching during ML but will switch to bottle feed with EBM after going back to work. can't be a purist as a working mum =P

snowbelle,
my mum oso like to sing karaoke at her own pl..
because of my son, she sacrifice alot too.. give up the karaoke, her friends back hme, frequent outings with her friends and come to stay with mi..
yes, i know it is v boring & sian for my mum too cos in new estate like Sengkang, everybody close their doors and she got no friends..
initially she did suggested to leave my son at her place day & nite and bring back on fri evening & wkend but i dun wan to be apart from my son in the weekday..
so she sacrifice & come over stay wif mi lor..

ur bro sure jealous one if he know ur mum is helping u to take care of ur bb.. but dun worry lah, anyway u dun stay wif ur bro..
most impt thing now is to hv someone we can trust to take care of our bb till they old enuf & go school, then we will relieve abit..

kitsune,
hmm.. so u hv to take into consideration if u intend to bf ur bb & ur IL house condition..

else u can put bb their in the daytime and take care of bb yourselves in the nite time..
will be quite tiring for u if u r working..

kitsune.. ya i think leaving ur w IL is a better opnions leh. at least attn is more abt and they can teach ur bb too. u guys not considering to bring bb home @ nite?

Garfield/hppymum2b, Ya lor, wake up 3 times at night to pee, i already like zombie at work. Don't know how to cope if I got to wake up so many times after BB is born.

Ya, will definitely consider EBM, I'm no purist too. But not sure about how my supply will be affected after going back to work if no latch on. Some mummies say their supply dry up soon after going back to work. :p

kitsune,
i'm reading this breastfeeding manual (ya, it's like a textbook that thick!!!) will try to find out how to sustain supply if we are only pumping with no direct latching. will post the findings here =)

hi ladies...

BB care
I am staying with my ILs so MIL will take care of bb during day...at night it'll be me. dunno if can cope or not. 2nd time mummies, any experience to share?

ML
2nd time mummies, i was advised by my friend (who is also 1st time mum) not to use up all the ML at one shot cos will need to take leave for bb injection,doctor visit, etc,etc. can i find out what is the frequency of this? did you ladies also 'save' some ML for this purpose?

QooSan,
If possible, can I meet you at city area during weekends to collect the playtex liners? you have my hp hor??

Jaslyn, so far, haven't decided on that. I feel like BB very poor thing if I 'abandon' her at ILs place. Machiam really become weekend parents.

But scared I can't cope if look after her on our own every night if working full time. Was thinking of working part-time previously so also scared not enough $$ cos my family commitment very high plus still got insurance to pay every month.

Think may have to try out pn our own first before putting her at ILs place. Hubby never spoke to ILs about the night arrangement, they also may not be willing.

Ya, Garfield. I also want to train BB to sleep through the night, that's why trying to start ML as late as possible. Will also extend 1 more week of own leave after that. Hopefully after 3 full months, she'll wake up less or even sleep through then it'll be much easier.

garfield,
i oso wish ah.. but 1st few mths, bb need to drink milk v regularly every 3 hr or so..
so gotta wait till they r older than can train them to sleep thru the nite..

kitsune,
although my mum helps me to take care of my bb at nite including night feedings, but i oso wake up to assist her as i m a light sleeper, easily awake by my son's cries.. so i know it's v tiring..
esp for the last couple mths, my son has been v cranky after i m preggie wif #2, he will wake up v often in the middle of the nite crying and dun wan to sleep and just wan me to carry.. so it's really v xiong for mi.. no choice lor..

Garfield,
It's alright. I go home check-check first, then let you know tomorrow.
Now hb forbids me to use elancyl slimming products after hearing the gynae said better don't use products with caffine... so need other way to slim now...

h@ppymum2b,
Your mom very wei da too... willing to give up so much for you...

My mom already sacrificed so much for us when we are young... really can't bear to see her give up those things now... and I think I'll prefer to try to take care of my bb together with my hb everyday instead of just be weekend parents...

My mom and cousin also asked me not to worry and ignore my bro... that day when he asked who's gonna take care of the bb, I just said dunno yet, didn't dare to tell him our plan... even before I'm pregnant hor, whenever they have argument about taking care of his kids or his wife's confinement arrangement, he will quote me as an example and said will see how my mom will treat me next time... like emotional threatening her cannot treat me nice like that...

piglettail,
yes, i oso din used up all 3 months in one go..
i took 2 mths ML and returned to work..
then slowly clear the balance 20 days (4 wks X 5) bringing my son for jabs, doc visit or simply spending some private time wif him at home..

but for tis round, i will take 3 mths in one go.. cos i still hv leave balance from last year.. so i not so worry..

Agree Snowbell, given a choice, who wants to be a weekend parent? I was also a weekend kid lor cos my parents left me with my maternal grandma while they looked after my younger bro. They only come and see me on Sunday. I went home when I was 3 years old only because my grandma had to look after my second aunt's baby so cannot look after me anymore.

Until now, I wonder why my mum do that when she herself is a housewife, not even working. But my dad is a hawker so she said she had to help him mind the business lor. Sigh, never fair one lah. :p

ya... i look @ mi fren who has given birth in Nov... she seems so tired nowadaes. not easy wor. Haha i'm trying to 'condition' bb leh. will sing lullbaby to him before i sleep. Hopefully when he is born he will sleep after the song too... dunno man. pray hard *wink*

snowbelle,
ya lor, my mum oso sacrifice alot for us esp after my dad passed away abt 14 yrs ago.. she was widowed at quite a young age and did not remarry and take good care of 5 of us..

aiyo, y ur bro still grudge on the past.. sigh..
if he come to know of ur arrangement, how ah ? will he react v strongly anot ?

happy,
the ang moh way is to start training at the end of 2nd month. i'm trying to reconcile how they successfully establish BM supply, cope with bb's feeding needs at night, plus train them to sleep through the night leh. i need to do more research

snow,
your gynae paranoid lah. can even drink coffee during BF why cannot use products with caffeine? my gynae says absorption of these skincare products is nelgigible wor....

ML,
I will take about 10 weeks and spread out the remaining 2 weeks + my 2007 carried over leave for another two months

Jaslyn,
EBM = expressed breastmilk. that is - feeding bb breast milk through a bottle lor

i very sian... feel like vomitting...sigh.. stress.. just now tummy ache.. uterus there cause i stood for almost 3 hrs consecu...: (

Moi_Dar,
Take care. I also taken the steriod jab for develope bb's lungs the last time I admitted.

Happymum2b,
Would you be going for the gatherine? Wondering whether can lobang you to collect the milkbag for me. Thanks.

Qoosan,

you somehow read my mind, was wondering what happen to the playtex milk bags...can't remember if i made payment and even forgotten who organise it! :p

is it possible for me to pick up from you coz i'm not going to the gathering ?

Dorothy,
Can update my Beetaimak name is Janeth.

Cheryl,
Sorry to hear that. But a few of my friends mother oso very money-faced loh. I suggested you offered to pay for the PUB bill. As for the maid, just ding-dong away, see how thing goes. My MIL oso nv give up on hiring maid. but she is too busy with attending taiwan wedding and her relatives coming over. So I guess will wait, she will mention it after my bb borned. Fortunately, my SIL oso disapproved her idea. Hope majority wins.

My pelvis and wrist oso ached, esp when getting out of bed. Just bear with it.

Snowbelle,
Your photoshoot very nice. Your husband posture very natural. Initially, I thot he is one of the model.

My PIL went cruise to Phuket last weekend. Bought 4pktx24pcs Huggies Newborn Diapers back. It was super cheap there. For these, only $8. I fainted, guessed I can do without cloth napkin.

Agree with snowbelle, Oso paiseh to ask parents or PIL to take care of baby. My husband suggested me to stay at home for a while before getting a new job, just to take care of our bb. At least for the first half-year.

Stephie,
12Jan gathering. I'm in. Thank.
Can you let me know the timing?

Hi MTBs

Sorry to interrupt. I am a Sept mummy and hv stopped pumping. Selling off the following pump for $200:-

Ameda Lactaline Electric Dual Pump
Used from Sept - Dec 2007
In good working condition.
c/w manual
Throwing in one box of Gerber Seal&Go Milk bags (25 pcs in sealed box)

Genuine buyers pls SMS 98803960

Thank u

hi MTBs, I've been lurking around reading a little here and there but never got round to posting (thread moves too fast for me to reply haha), hope I wont be intruding hehe. My EDD is actually 3mar but I'll be going for a C-sect sometime in Feb, havent no decided on date yet so far, need to see wat my gynea says.

I'm a sahm to my 3yo+ girl residing in the west/central part of sg, currently expecting a boy. Nice to 'meet' you all.

Is everyone done buying all the postnatal/bb stuff you need? My memory seems to be failing me lately, I *think* I might have everything I need (except newborn diapers!), I hope I dont leave out anything important. :p

hi ladies...

ML,
thanks happymum2b and garfield for sharing your plans

im planning to BF only during ML..so the shorter my ML=shorter period of BF. cos i have concluded im most likely unable to pump at work, unless i can 'train' myself to have BM only at night and morning before work.

Brazillian Wax
Er..i know im really wishy washy..i've decided to try!but the Revive Wellness is 1-for-1 promotion right? so anyone else wanna go with me? say either same day as happymum2b (14 Jan) or during the same week or week after?

hi qoosan,

cck is really far from my place leh...coz i stay in sengkang. any chance to meetup in city area either during weekday/weekend ?

or else, any of the mummies staying in sengkang going for gathering ? can help me pick up the milkbag from qoosan first ?